BBB Accredited Business since

Havoline Xpress Lube

Find a Location

Phone: (904) 482-0224 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 24300, Jacksonville, FL 32241 http://www.nflinc.org

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Havoline Xpress Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Havoline Xpress Lube include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 54 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

54 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 52
Total Closed Complaints 54

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Havoline Xpress Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1994 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 01/26/1995 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Fowler, President
Business Category

Lubricating Service - Automotive Oils - Lubricating Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair - Maintenance Car Wash & Polish

Alternate Business Names
Napa Autocare Center North Florida Lubes Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 202-6800(Phone)
  • (904) 261-7426(Phone)
  • (904) 321-1599(Phone)
  • (904) 641-7237(Phone)
  • (904) 727-9921(Phone)
  • (904) 739-2716(Phone)
  • (904) 786-4983(Phone)
  • (904) 464-0074 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a used 1999 Acura 3.0CL. I immediately took it to Havoline which did note an oil leak on the remarks area. It came to be the time to have my oil changed again and Goodyear was offering a coupon. So, I took it there because I am on an extreme budget. Within 30 minutes of taking the car Goodyear called me to inform me that the plug in the oil pan was too large and the threads were unthreading as he was removing to drain the pan. The Goodyear representative asked me who last did it because the plug that was put into my car was too large and stripped the threads. I can only assume that the only oil change with this vehicle (recently purchased) - the original plug was dropped, lost - whatever. But I really feel that HAVOLINE could or should have done the same thing which was pick up the phone and explain the situation like Goodyear did. Thus, I feel that Havoline did indeed put the incorrect oil plug into my car and expect it to just fix itself. I spoke with the Regional Manager, Mr. Vincinnes, I believe was his name. He was rude to me and told me that GOODYEAR was only interested in having me buy a new oil pan. That's not the problem. They should have told me about the large plug was in the oil pan from the first time they serviced my car. How come the next oil change I got, I got a call from them immediately and was apprised of the problem. HAVOLINE acted like I was just a dumb female and did not want to assist me at all. SO, TO SUM IT UP: I BOUGHT AN OLDER CAR, HAD IT SERVICED AT HAVOLINE, WENT TO HAVE NEXT OIL CHANGE AT GOODYEAR AND MY PLUG HAS SUDDENLY GROWN. But, I was told it was an old car. But I didn't realize that they could grow oil plugs!!

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR HAVOLINE TO REPLACE THE OIL PAN SINCE IT WAS AN OVERSIZED PLUG IN IT IN THE FIRST PLACE AND HAVE THE PROPER PLUG PUT IN PLACE AND NEVER TRY TO DECEIVE ME AGAIN. THAT IS WHAT I WOULD LIKE. I HAVE BEEN A GOOD CUSTOMER TO HAVOLINE WITH PREVIOUS CARS .... IT WOULD BE TOO BAD NOT TO BE ABLE TO USE THEM AGAIN. ALBEIT, I CANNOT IF THEY ARE GOING TO BE DISHONEST, OR TRY TO BLAME THE AGE OF THE CAR, ETC. I WOULD LIKE TO BE TREATED LIKE A RESPECTABLE HUMAN BEING BY REG.MGR.

Business Response:

 Thank you for forwarding this complaint to me, I have reviewed the complaint and discussed the matter with our Director of Customer Service Joe Vincennie. 
 
  > Please note, the complaint notice indicates "FINAL NOTICE" however, this is our first notice.
 
   The vehicle in question is 16 years old with more than 145,000 miles and was driven for six months without incident following the oil change. This was the first time our company has serviced the vehicle. There were no reports of oil leaks or problems with the oil change until another repair shop recommended a new oil pan.
 
   Acura's have a history of oil plug problems and there is no indication that any damage to the drain pan were caused by the one oil change performed by our company. Regarding the "oversized" oil plug, this a common occurrence and it is likely the lower bay technician did not even notice.
 
   In conclusion, this is a first time oil change on a sixteen year old Acura with more than 145,000 miles. This model vehicle has a history of oil plug issues and the vehicle was driven for six months with no reports of problems with the oil change.
 
  As a show of good faith to the customer and a means of resolution, I will offer $100.00 towards repairs of the vehicle.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i came to the havoline location 2985 east bay drive, largo, fl for an oil change the last time i had my oil changed. yesterday i took my vehicle back to the dealership i bought it from and they revealed to me that the engine cap was stripped and would have to be replaced. after taking my car to 2985 east bay drive, and then inspecting it first, they told me they did not have the proper tools to take off this cap on the engine. i was then given the option of taking my vehicle to pinellas park or the clearwater location. i chose the pinellas park location. after driving my vehicle to 6903 66th street north and waiting for a long time, i was told my vehicle war ready to go. i was also told that there was a part that needed to be replaced, and would be replaced on my next visit. i was told that it would not leak oil. i took my vehicle to the dealership where i bought it from yesterday, and was shown where the wrong tools were used and saw that the part was stripped and broken. my dealership offered to replace it for $50.00. havoline was the last company to work on my vehicle, so i feel they should fix the problem. i got no full explanation about what the problem was. i was just told that there was a problem, and to bring my vehicle back to them for my next oil change and they would fix it. the dealership let me know what was wrong, and upon coming back home my service engine soon light came on.

Desired Settlement: all i want is for havoline to come tow my vehicle to one of their nearest shops on 02/20/2015, and take care of the problem.

Business Response: ***** ******* ****** **** **** ******** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ************ ****** ************ *** *** *** **** *** *** ****** *** *** ***** ****** *** ****** * ****** ******** ***** *** *** ********** *** ******** ********* ** *** I have discussed the matter with our Director of Customer Service *** ********** The vehicle in question is twelve years old and allegedly has a damaged oil plug which the customer alleges the damage was caused by our service. The customer was contacted immediately by Mr. Vincennie. After speaking with the customer, Mr. Vincennie was under the impression that the oil plug had already been repaired and requested a copy of the receipt for reimbursement as a show of good faith. The customer has not forwarded a copy of the receipt because, as it was discovered this morning, the oil plug has not yet been repaired. Mr. Vincennie is arranging for a tow truck to pick the vehicle up (as requested) and we are paying to have the oil plug replaced. We consider the matter resolved. Brian Fowler President North Florida Lubes

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 8/8/2014 I called Havoline Xpress Lube and spoke to ********* about a transmission fluid change for my 2008 Ford Explorer. He advised that they would replace the fluid with the Mercon V fluid Ford specifies for my vehicle. Upon arrival on 8/9 I again asked what kind of fluid they used and was told Mercon V and that they have all the fluids for different vehicle types. Upon completion of my service I noticed that the fluid being installed was not Mercon V. I advised them of this and they said they put in an additive to make it compatible. This was not what I was told prior to service. I advised them that I wanted the fluid they promised me. ********* kept telling me that what they put in is fine. I advised that they needed to take out what they put in my truck and put in what was promised before they damage my vehicle. They refused to do so. After going back and forth they put me on the phone with their ******** ******* who said they were refunding my money and that I was to leave their store and was not welcome back. Nothing had been done to fix my truck and he bluntly told me he wouldn't do anything and to leave that they didn't need my business. I went to leave and realized that they took my receipt showing the transmission fluid change so I went back in to ask for it. At that point I was told they were calling the police on me. I left and went to Ford to get the correct fluid. When I arrived home a police officer was there to get me to sign a trespassing warning. As a customer I was treated very badly by both the **** ******* ********* and over the phone by ***** *********, the ******** *******, who would not even listen to what I had to say. Havoline Xpress Lube is very deceptive in their tactics and once they have the service done they refused to correct their errors. Had they told me that they didn't use my exact fluid I would have never let them touch my transmission. Instead they lied to get me in the door and tried to bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: I would like several things to resolve this matter before I turn it over to my ********. First I want them to pay me $179.95, the cost for Ford to replace the transmission fluid back to the correct fluid. Second, I want a written apology from their ******** ******* for the rude and highly unprofessional way he spoke to me on the phone. Third, I want them to contact the **** ****** ********s office and rescind their ridiculous trespassing warning.

Business Response: ***** ******* ****** **** **** ****** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ************ ****** ************ *** TO: BBB FR: ***** ****** RE: ******* ***** ******* I discussed this complaint with our ******** of Customer Service *** *********, Mr. ********* was familiar with the matter. Upon completion of the requested transmission service, a dispute arose regarding the type of transmission fluid used during the service. The staff assured Mr. ******* that the fluid and additive used was correct and that the service was completed properly, which was the case. Mr. ******* was not satisfied and as a means of resolution Mr. ******* received a full refund of the service at that time. In conclusion, the service was performed properly and a full refund has already been given as a means of resolution. It is our position that the complaint was handled promptly and fairly and we consider the matter closed. ***** ****** ********* ***** ******* ****** ***.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business admits they did not use the fluid that was specified for my vehicle. I was told twice by *********, the ********* ******* on duty that they were using Mercon V for my vehicle. Only after I watched them put something else in my vehicle did they admit that they were not, in fact, using Mercon V, but another fluid and an additive. I advised them that is not what I asked for and my vehicle needed to be serviced according to specifications. The business declined to do that. They got very defensive that they were caught in a deception. They then parked my vehicle outside of the business and told me that I was not welcome there anymore. Their ******** ******* would not listen to my complaint, only telling me to leave and that they didn't need my business. What kind of corporation has a ******** ******* that treats customers in that fashion? Then to insult me by calling the police and filing a false report saying I was creating a scene in their business? Any discussions I had with members of their staff took place outside the business and away from any other customers. I did that out of respect for their business...respect that was denied to me in this matter.  

They may not need my business, but my ******** does and if I do not receive what I am asking for in this matter, which is an apology from ***** ********* and the amount to replace my fluids with the specified fluids from Ford ($179.95) then I will be forced to seek legal means to resolve this. I am also in contact with several members of the ************ media, who I am associated with through my ***** program, and they are very interested in this story and the deceptive practices of ***** ******* ***** ***.  ***** ******* ***** assured the ******** ******l of the State of ******* that they would " ***** ******* ***** shall adhere to and abide by the provisions of The ******* Deceptive and Unfair Trade practices Act as contained in Chapter 501, Part II, ******* Statutes, as well as any and all other laws, rules, regulations or ordinances that regulate business practices and competition, including all of the provisions in ******* Statutes § 559, Part IX regarding "Repair of Motor Vehicles" in November of 2013, as a result of an investigation to their deceptive and unfair trade practices. 

I will trust that ***** ******* ***** will do the right thing in this matter. Thank you for your attention.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: ***** ******* ****** **** **** ****** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ************ ****** ************ *** August 14, 2014 As stated in my earlier response, the customer was refunded the entire cost of the service immediately as a means of resolution. The service was performed properly and the customer's complaint was addressed in a fair manner.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Refunding the cost of their service and correcting their error are two different things. As I stated in my earlier response, I am requesting a written apology for the manner in which I was treated by their ******** ******* ***** ********* and I want the amount of $179.95 to replace the fluids they drained out of my truck back to Ford specifications. I will not accept anything less than this. If ***** ******* ***** is unwilling to do this then my next step will be to turn this over to my ********, which will result in a much higher cost to ***** ******* ***** than the $179.95 as I will be including damages for both my truck and my reputation for having the police called by the shop. I will also be contacting my sources at channel, channel **, and channel**  local news to expose ***** ******* ***** deceptive trade practices. Finally, I will be filing a complaint with the ***** ** ******* ******** ********s office. I am sure there will be some interest in my complaint in light of their investigation into ***** ******* ***** in the past. I will not rest until this matter is resolved to my satisfaction, nor will I accept any resolution from the business to my BBB complaint until then either. 

Regards,

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, provided ***** ******* ***** completes their end of the agreement between myself and their **** ********** 

Regards,

******* *******

 

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Havoline Xpress lube today for an oil change. I go there when an oil change is needed of my vehicles. I was sold the most expensive oil change. Then, I was haggled to buy their fuel system service of $49 which I denied. They changed the 5.5 quart oil capacity with 6 quarts oil and charged me extra for half a quart. How can you put 6 quarts of oil in a 5.5 quart tank size? Then the most ridiculous thing happened. I was standing outside,as I had a suspicion that they are not changing oil filter, due to my prior experiences. After changing oil and washing fluid, they wrapped up all and about to give car back to me. That is where I questioned, " did you changed the oil filter?" At first, the guy said," Yes." I said, " I am standing here and watching it since beginning and you have to take the plastic cover off to access the oil filter, which you have not done it." then the manager went down stair and opened the plastic cover , changed the oil filter and have car ready.They did not even apologize for their cheating. I want to let you know about their business practice which is nothing but fraud. How many customers they must be charging fraudulently for extra for oils and not changing oil filters?

Desired Settlement: I need to know, why they are cheating customers who are fully paying what was asked for?

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to me, I have discussed the customer's concerns with our Regional Manage* ******* ******** who happened to be at the store during the customer's visit. The service was completed and the oil filter was changed during the service. Mr. ******** stated that he did address the customer's concerns at the time of the vehicle being serviced. As a show of good faith, I am mailing a gift certificate for a complimentary oil change to the customer that he may use for his next service. Should the customer have any further concerns, he may contact our Director of Customer Service *** **********

Mr. *********** contact information is listed on the customer's invoice.  


Thank you,


***** ******

President

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/22/14 at 5:48 I pulled into Havoline and requested a transmission oil flush. **** informed me that they did not have the transmission fluid available for my vehicle. He proceeded to tell me that he was not going to be able to flush the transmission but that he could still do the front transfer case as my vehicle is 4x4 and the rear end differential. He also stated he would give me a discount price for it. He asked if he can also change the motor oil and I told him the oil in the motor was good as I changed the oil myself not too long ago. So I agreed on the service he was going to do for the front transfer case as well as the rear end differential. They drove my truck in and completed the service. Upon completion of the service they stated "everything is great". Six days later on 4/28/14, I was about 50yds away from my job when I heard a loud "boom" as well as a crack and my rear wheels locked. My draft shaft, which is attached to the differential, completely fell off! as if the barings had overheated from lack of oil. I called the 800 # and explained to *** ********* what happened. He showed up at my job within an hour, looked under my vehicle for 10 seconds without touching or inspecting anything and proceeded to tell me that it wasn't his problem. He accused me that I knew that this was a pre-existing problem and that i was trying to blame the company, walked away from me, got in his car and left. As he was walking away, he stated "all i can do for you is give you your money back" and i declined because when i took my vehicle in for preventive maintenance, they drove my vehicle in and there was no noise or any notation on any paperwork that showed this was pre-existing. The guys that did the job did not mention anything was wrong. They completed the service and not a word was said of anything being wrong! There is no way this was pre-existing damage. If it was, the shop would not have performed the service as it would have been a liability to them. Clearly the damage wasn't there b4 svc!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to, at least, replace the rear axle and I will handle the installation.

Business Response: North Florida Lubes, Inc. **** ****** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ###-###-#### Office ###-###-#### fax APRIL 30, 2014 I have discussed this matter with our Director of Customer Service *** *********. On Monday, April 28th, 2014, Mr. ********* received a phone call from the customer stating that there was a problem with the service that had been performed a week earlier. Mr. *********, along with Area Supervisor **** ********, arrived at the customer's place of employment within 30 minutes to inspect the vehicle. The customer stated to Mr. ********* that when the vehicle was serviced, fluid was not added to the differential which "caused the drive shaft to fall off". When Mr. ********* looked under the vehicle, the drive shaft had already been entirely removed from the vehicle by the customer. The drive shaft was disconnected from the differential and the transmission. Mr. ********* explained to the customer that there was no indication that any problems with the drive shaft were a result of the service performed at Xpress Lube. The vehicle in question is a ten year old Dodge 4x4 pick up with 133,000 miles. As a means of resolution, Mr. ********* offered a refund of the services performed on the 24th which the customer declined. In conclusion, there was (1) No evidence of poor workmanship and (2) The drive shaft was already disconnected from the transmission and differential upon arrival. As a means of resolution and a show of good faith, I will offer $250.00 towards repairs to the vehicle. Thank you, ***** ******

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved

 Complaint: 10030903

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ******

His statement is false, not once did i say " i removed anything"  something inside the differential broke and it spit my drive shaft out on to the middle of the street , I had to jump out my truck to get it,with bolts and CV joint still in tac  and with the part that broke off, from inside the axle,  *** ********* would not know this because he only did a 2 second visual inspection from the rear of my truck and I am not exaggerating, a whole 2 seconds and walked off and said this was not his problem,  and accused me that i knew this was damage as he walked away he said " all i can do is give you your money back"  and he drove off,  he didn't even give me a chance to  discuss this matter with him.. as a matter of fact , he did not even inspect the drive shaft which was sitting in the bed of my truck.  I  just thank god this shaft did not fall off on highway 95 , which i had just gotten off . Here are some pictures of the shaft,  with some bearings that fell off  from inside the axle . 

Business Response: North Florida Lubes, Inc. **** ****** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ###-###-#### Office ###-###-#### fax May 1, 2014 I just spoke with Mr. ****** this morning and the matter has been resolved. Thanks for your assistance. ***** ******

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on sept 28 I had a coupon to get my oil change and they change my oil but they had problems with the drain plug cause the gentleman came back and told me.so he said he gonna try get it off but I did not know that they broke it until yesterday when I went and had my oil change at the wolkswagon place I was told that during oil change found previous hop to have broken bit off in drain plug which it was unabe to rmove without damaging drain plug,safely removed drain plug and replaced with new plug! sub total $120.82 so I called them and let them he gonna get nasty with me telling it was like that he is lying .mr *** ******** dind care about what I was trying to tell him all I want is my money back cause it was wrong what they did

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back I had to pay out off pocket for this

Business Response: North Florida Lubes, Inc. DBA: ****** ****** **** ***** ******* ******** ***** *** ************* *** ***** ###-###-#### Office ###-###-#### fax FEB 24, 2014 Thank you for forwarding the customer's complaint to me, I have discussed the matter with *** ********** Director of Customer Service who has already spoken with the customer. The customer's complaint is in regards to the oil plug/oil pan being damaged during service which was performed five months ago. Per Mr. ********** the vehicle is eight years old and has been serviced by Xpress Lube one time. At that time the location manager notified the customer that the oil plug was damaged prior to servicing the vehicle. There is no evidence that any damage to the vehicle was caused by service performed at Xpress Lube. However, as a means of resolution and a show of good faith, I will reimburse the customer the $125.14 as requested. The check will be mailed out this week. Thank you, ***** ****** President

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/12/13 I went to the Texaco Express Lube to have my oil changed. The salesman came into the waiting room to show me my air filter and said it needed to be replaced. He comes back in and says my transmission needs to be serviced and he can do it for $69.99 - a discount off the $139.99 service - flush and new fluid. I give the okay to do the job. On 11/15/13 less than a 120 miles later I am moving down I-95 when the automatic transmission will not respond. I contact the Texaco place and they tell me to have the car towed to Bill's transmission off Phillips Hwy. The customer service guy Joe Vincennie says the transmission was properly completed - plugs and fliud levels are good. must have been wear. As ashow of good faith I'll refund the service fee of $69.99. I have a $2,039 transmission rebuild and this guy wants to offer $69.99. I want to have the transmission replaced and Texaco Lubes cost - $2,039 + tax.** ********* * **** *** *** ***** ******** ******* ************ ***** ******* **** *** ********* ******** ******* *** **** ************ ** ********* * ******* ******* *** ******* *** ********

Desired Settlement: To pay for the transmission rebuild - of $2,039 + tax.

Business Response:

I have discussed this matter with *** ********** our Director of Customer Service. *** ********* did speak with *** ****** and the owner of Bill's Transmission regarding the transmission. The vehicle in question is 13 years old and has approximately 196,000 miles. Per the transmission repair shop owner, the damage to the transmission is not related to service performed at Xpress Lube and this particular model has a history of transmission failure. In addition, the vehicle is currently on its' 3rd transmission.    

   As a show of good faith, *** ********* offered the customer a refund on service performed at Xpress Lube, however, there is no indication that any transmission failure was a result of service performed at Xpress Lube.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The car is 13 yrs old, however, a brand new transmission was installed by Duval Acura in 2008. The transmission had less than 90k miles. The Director of customer service *** ********* and the owner of ***** Transmission knew this. The issue was the service provided by Xpress lube forced sediments into the transmmission filter to cause failure. The technicians at Xpress Lube do not disclose this to the clients as "an act of good faith" or simple plain good business practice.. Small wonder the Florida State Attorney General investigated Xpress lube in Dec 2011. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

TO: BBB

FR: ***** ******

RE: Richard Devane


Follow up,

Again, per the owner of the transmission repair shop, any transmission problems that exist are not related to the service performed at Xpress Lube. This has been discussed with *** ******. *** ******'s business is greatly appreciated and our offer of a refund on services was a good faith effort to resolve the matter.


Thank you,


***** ******

President


11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/26/13 Van taken for oil change(told all fluids checked). Attendant asked if any OTHER WORK wanted done, "NO" just the oil change.10/1/13 Son putting new brakes in van, noticed CV RUBBER BOOT CUT off completely!(ring from boot was left). Bought NEW CV AXLES 9/8/11,have receipt). Axle was still clean from dirt/grim. Son bought a snap/glue together blue boot because whole axle had to be pulled to replace original type on van. Van did not need brakes, returned for refund.10/2/13 Son drove van to Tarpon Springs, van started to knock, smoke and was overheat. Was NO OIL/NO WATER in van! The radiator end melted/broke off from NO oil which made engine HOT and radiator over heat! There were NO leaks/puddles on ground under van or on road. I bought a gallon of oil for the van. Had re-connect the radiator hose to the "little piece" of radiator that was left and filled with water. Son drove van home and parked it. NO OIL/WATER has leaked out of van since! My van had NO leaks BEFORE this oil change was done!91 miles on van now since oil change.10/3/13 called sheriff dept, told civil matter call xpress lube. can report to *************** 10/4/13 called *****(*******)about problem with NO oil and NO water, knocking,melted radiator part, etc. *** ***** called back(area supervisor). Came to see papers and look at van,radiator,boot/took pics. will hear from company by monday or tuesday.7th-8th10/11/13 No calls or letters from anyone!10/14/13 I called ******* *****, asked for Mr ***** Phone #, he said could not give out. I left my # to call me.10/17/13 Still NO CALLS or letters from Mr. *****, Shane or the company!Driven van 4 times short distance. Scared to drive too far because worried radiator part that broke off will come loose again or something with the motor again because of the knocking and overheating with NO OIL/NO WATER in it. How long the boot will last now? I believe they didn't put enough oil in van/cut boot off,caused radiator break.10/18/13 reported freshfromflorida.com Account_Number: U4942W

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like my van checked out by a "certified mechanic" of my choice(not their company-don't trust them now)to see if there are any other problems that were caused by their negligence. I would like a NEW radiator and NEW cv axle w/boot put in my van. Also REFUND of $60 for the cost of the oil change, cv boot and gallon of oil. And $50 a week for the inconvenience of not being able to drive/use of my vehicle for my BUSINESS and personal use longer distances inc

Business Response:  

   Thank you for forwarding Mrs. ******'s complaint
to me. I have discussed the matter with our**** ********** *** ******, Mr.
****** is familiar with the matter.

 

   The vehicle in question is a fifteen year old work
van with 144,000 miles. The vehicle came in for an oil change on September
26th, 2013 and that is the only service performed.

 

   Approximately two weeks later, the store was
notified of a problem with the van and the **** **********, *** ******, drove
immediately to the customer's residence to inspect the vehicle. Mr. ******
checked the oil level which he determined was on the full mark.

 

   The customer states that (1) the vehicle
had "no oil" (2) the "CV Rubber Boot was cut
off" and  (3) the radiator was broken.

 

   In conclusion, the vehicle's oil level was full
upon inspection, there is no reason to "cut off the CV Boot" while
performing an oil change and the radiator was not serviced. The customer was
informed by Mr. ****** that there is no evidence that any damage to the vehicle
was caused by services performed at Xpress Lube. However, as a means of
resolution and as a show of good faith to Mrs. ******, I will offer
$100.00 towards repairs of the vehicle. If this is acceptable please let me
know.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
?

 

 I DOCUMENTED every day of the events. The incident with NO OIL and NO water from broken radiator happened on 10/2/13,  ( just SIX Days after oil change and less then 80 miles on van!). I have talked to TWO mechanics that said when not ENOUGH oil put in or they FORGOT to put OIL in will make engine over work and start knocking and that is what caused the vehicle to over heat and end of radiator to break off.  I had a mechanic there "at the time of incident" that was ONE of the WITNESSES to all of this and he re-connected the hose to radiator.  I BROUGHT the gallon of oil that was put in  the van at the time to be able to have van driven back home. (I still have the oil jug and it  is NOT the OIL Xpress Lube put in my van) (or should I say DIDN'T put OIL in my van!). It was late at evening, so I called sheriff dept next day (10/3/13) to REPORT the incident.  I could not load 5 daycare children in vehicle and attempt to drive over to Xpress Lube because I couldn't risk the safety of  5  children and  being stranded. Xpress Lube would be closed by time children went home. I did CALL Xpress Lube next morning on 10/4/13  (8 days...NOT TWO WEEKS!!) as sheriff recommended me to call the manager. Mr. ****** did come and inspect vehicle that day. OF COURSE the oil level was FULLl when Mr. ****** checked it....because it was the OIL I had BROUGHT to put in the van.  MY OIL is still in there........NO leaks!....What does that tell you?  Xpress Lube is responsible for NO oil and damages to my van!!

Is it just a coincident that the attendant asked if "any other work" wanted done on van? (no other oil change places ask this question when you go in for an oil change). Also if he did inspection of fluids and also changed the "oil filter", why didn't he bother to say anything that CV boot was missing? I still have the ring that shows it was cut off with shape knife type tool! ( Mr. ****** did see it). Mr. ****** DID NOT inform customer that there was NO evidence of damage caused by services performed by Xpress Lube. He informed CUSTOMER would be hearing from Xpress Lube, himself or head company by Monday 10/7/ or Tuesday 10/8/13. NO ONE RESPONDED...so I gave plenty of time for responses from anyone before I reported this! Xpress Lube is responsible for NO oil in my vehicle, radiator over heating and breaking off and my CV boot being cut off.  Xpress Lube is lucky at this point so far that their negligence didn't crack my head on my van or lock the motor up tight!   Your offer of $100 WILL NOT cover the repairs on my vehicle for parts and labor. Without the  repairs I  feel the van is now NOT SAFE if I need to  transport children.  I am still asking for inspection, repairs, refund/reimbursement to settle this negligence of Xpress Lube.
I will take this matter further with investigation. I have witnesses, sheriff report, my oil type in van, ring from cut CV boot  and receipts for everything.

 

Regards,

****** ****** ******

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Sept 2013, I took my vehicle, a 2003 Nissan Maxima to the stated quick lube facility for a routine oil change within a 2500 mile radius, within the recommended 3000 miles change period. The vehicle received a basic oil change, to include filter which was changed & subsequently, I received my receipt & departed the service center. Approximately, 822 miles later, my vehicle broke down on the Interstate 95 AT 12:00 AM on 13 October 2013. The vehicle was towed to a service shop in Jacksonville, which advised me that there was NO oil in the vehicle, at which time they added two quarts of motor oil in order to receive a proper reading on the dip stick. The mechanic Mr. **** with the shop advised me due to no oil being in the motor, the motor locked up & further stated there was no leaking oil underneath the vehicle. For the record, there was not any prior problems with my vehicle prior to the service at Havoline on Cassat St. because I regularly serviced my vehicle. A complaint was filed with the ****** *** ***** on Friday 18 October 2013 regarding NO oil being in my vehicle & the vehicle was towed to my home by *** ****** in Jacksonville due to it not cranking after lost of oil & the was engine inoperable. On 19 October 2013, I received a phone call at approximately 0830 hours from the Vice President for Customer Service with North Florida Havoline Xpress, ******* V., who stated he received a complaint and wanted to come by my home to look at the vehicle. Approximately 2 hours later, ******* arrived with his service mechanic to inspect my vehicle & observed the vehicle would not crank. Photographs were taken of the oil filter being on the vehicle properly as well as the seal for the oil pan. One quart of oil was applied to the vehicle by the service mechanic on-site. ******* advised me he would check his video surveillance at hand and stated he would get with me on Monday 21 October 2013. On 17 October 2013, ******* advised me the could not show me the video in store & declined to satisfy problem.

Desired Settlement: Replaced my engine or give me the amount of money for what it cost to replace my engine used or new for my vehicle. If this is not resolved, I am prepared to seek legal action.

Business Response:  

     Thank you for forwarding *** ********'
complaint to me. I have discussed the matter with our Director of Customer
Service *** ********* and he is familiar with the situation.

 

     The vehicle in question is a 2003 Nissan
Maxima with 203,000 miles. The vehicle was serviced on September 5th, 2013 and
Xpress Lube was contacted by *** ******** on October 18th, 2013, 838 miles
after the oil change was performed.

 

     *** ********* immediately drove to Mr.
********* residence to inspect the vehicle. *** ********* determined the oil
plug and oil filter to be tight and free of any leaks. The oil level was
slightly low at that time (838 miles later) and thus *** ********* topped off
the oil level. At no time following the oil change did the oil light come on.

 

    *** ********* concluded that any damage to the
vehicle was due to ordinary wear and tear of a ten year old vehicle with more
than 200,000 miles. There was no evidence that any damage to the vehicle was
caused by service performed at Xpress Lube. In addition, *** ********* reviewed
the service being performed on our in store security system and noted that the
service was completed properly, oil was added to the vehicle, the oil level was
checked by an employee and the oil level was verified by another employee prior
to the vehicle exiting.

 

    As a
courtesy to *** ********, we are going to pay for the vehicle to be taken to a
reputable repair center that will inspect the vehicle and determine the extent
of damages if there are any

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Havoline Xpress Lube 9/12/13 had transmission and power steering flushed. Parked it in the driveway at home for an hr, then went to work. There was transmission fluid stained on my driveway . went today 9/13/13 and spoke with ****,he said that there was nothing they could do.their workers are not certified mechanics. he did add more trans fluid because it was low. so it was leaking transmission fluid. it is now at a certified transmission shop getting checked and fixed. I had no leaks prior to my service at xpress lube.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) it is in a certified shop right now and repair cost will be determined within 24 hours. I would like to be reimbursed for the repair of the transmission. I also lost a day of work because of it which I would also like to be reimbursed.

Business Response: Director of Customer Service has left two messages for *** ******** to contact him regarding his concerns. At this time, *** ******** has not returned Mr. Vincennie's call. I'll notify you once we speak with *** ********.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See correspondence below from attorney **** ****** to North Florida Lubes, Inc., dba Texaco Xpress Lubes:**** ******, ******* **** ****** ****** **** ************** ** ***********************************July 18, 2013 NORTH FLORIDA LUBES, INC.***** ******* ******* ***** **************** ** ***** RE: ******* *****, 2001 Chrysler SebringDear Sirs:Please be advised that I have been retained as attorney to represent Mrs. ***** in her dispute with you regarding oil change services obtained at the Texaco Xpress Lube, located at **** ***** ******* ************* ** *****, and resulting damage to her vehicle. Subsequently, ***, the Regional Manager went and checked out her vehicle at the Service, **** ******** ****** ************* ** *****, where it was located, took photographs, and verified that there was no oil in the vehicle, and that there was no oil leak. Despite the same, this matter has not been satisfactorily resolved. In the instance that you do wish to resolve this matter without the necessity of litigation, by refunding Mrs. ***** her money, paying damages in full (including paying the greater of either diminished value to her vehicle or costs of repairs, lost use, etc.), plus attorneys fees and costs, please contact the undersigned in writing, immediately, and let me know. Otherwise, we will go ahead and file suit. Time is of the essence. Thank you kindly in advance for your anticipated, expedient cooperation. Please be governed accordingly.Very truly yours,**** ******cc:Correspondence File Exhibit File******* *****

Desired Settlement: As aforestated, in correspondence.

Business Response:

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

DBA: Texaco Xpress Lube

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">***** ******* ******** ***** ***

<st1:city w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">************* *** *****

************ Office

************ fax

July 22, 2013

 

    Thank you for forwarding this complaint to me. I have discussed the matter with Regional Manager *** ********* and he is familiar with the customer. Mr. *********, as a show of good faith will finalize reimbursing the customer today.

 

***** ******

*********

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9628187

I am rejecting this response because:
Do you have a contact number for this Mr. *** ********* ,referred to in the business correspondence to BBB? When I call the business they say he has another number which he uses, but they cannot give it to me so that I can try to contact him to resolve this unsettled dispute.

 

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: how a simple transmission service turned into a 400.00 dollar nightmare. On 6-17-2013 i brought my car to HAVOLINE XPRESS LUBE#1094 121 n.14th street Leesburg fl.34748, one of the many quick lube places this company owns,to have a oil change and transmission service done.I have been there before and every thing was great, this time not so much! It seems one of ther employes wasnt as familar with the transmission as he should have been. Thinking he was removing the fill bolt he backed out the outer case plate bolt. After that was broken something should have been said right then but NOOOO! After sitting in the waiting room for 4 hours they sent me on my way with a wave and a grin knowing full well they have screwed something up. I know these guys arn't the best grease monkeys around or they would be turning wrenches somewhere else. After driving approx 10 miles i find i have no reverse or overdrive,so i turned right around and went back. Well it seems I I I have broken something and there is nothing they can do. I am no tech. I don't pull wrenches. I go have it fixed at a shop that has done major work on this car before,thats where i find out all the stuff about the outer case plate bolt blah blah blah.After 40 days, 3 trips to the lube center, 7 phone calls, and 1 fax later,I get told the guy that did the work says he didn't touch that bolt. OF COURSE THAT IS WHAT HE SAID!!I was also told i didn't get the car back to them in a set amount of time. I BROUGHT IT BACK 20 MIN AFTER I LEFT. This whole crew is great at giving the run-a-round. I am writing Angie's list next. SHAME on u north florida lubes for not doing the right thing.

Desired Settlement: $404.19 for repair. Also refund on the transmission service $59.95 plus tax

Business Response:

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

DBA: Texaco Xpress Lube

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">10175 Fortune Parkway, Suite 301

<st1:city w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Jacksonville, Fl. 32256

************ ****** ************ ***



Aug 21, 2013

 

TO: BBB

FR: ***** ******

RE: ***** ******A

       # *******

 

       Thank you for forwarding this complaint to me. the matter has been resolved by Regional Manager *** *********. As a means of resolution, *** ******* was issued a full refund of $468.34.

 

Thank you,

 

***** ******

President

North Florida Lubes, Inc.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in on 7/9/13 to get an oil change. They informed me that my transmission fluid was dirty and that it needed to be changed. I said ok that they can change the transmission fluid. The need next day my car start making noises. I took it back, they flushed my transmission again. Then my car started making even more noises and started not going into gears. I called them and told them what's going on they was told me to stop calling them they arent taking any more of my calls. I first took my car to TJ automotive then I took it to *** ************ an Edgewood to get it fix.

Desired Settlement: For them to take responsibility for what they did to my car and pay the $2000.00 to get it fixed. I have been informed that because my car has a lot of miles on it that the transmission shouldnt have been flushed.

Business Response:

 

 

      Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond to Mrs. ******s' complaint. I have discussed the matter with the location manager ***** ***** and the Regional Manager *** *********. Both are familiar with the situation and both have spoken with Mrs. ******s in person.

 

      > The vehicle is a 2002 Dodge Stratus with 134,000 miles.

 

      Per the store manager, Mrs. ******s inquired about the transmission service while being greeted and stated she was told the fluid appeared dirty by another person and asked if the fluid could be inspected. It was determined the transmission was due for service and the service was performed. 

 

      Mrs. ******s returned the following day stating the transmission was not operating correctly and as a courtesy, the transmission was serviced again.

 

      The vehicle was then taken to a transmission specialist for inspection. The owner of the transmission shop (*** *******) informed Mrs. ******s and Regional Manager *** ********* that there was no indication the transmission failure was due to the service at Xpress Lube. Mr. ******* stated that the problem was internal and due to ordinary wear and tear. This was communicated to both *** ********* and Mrs. ******s. *** ******* also indicated that the transmission has most likely been malfunctioning prior to Xpress Lube service.

 

      In conclusion, Xpress Lube management responded to Mrs. ******s immediately and along with *** *******, determined there was no evidence that the transmission failure was due to poor workmanship at Xpress Lube.

 

***** ******

President

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my pick-up for an oil change. After it was done the auto mechanic told me my Serpentine Belt needed replacing. He said it would cost $89. When I looked doubtful he offered to give me the oil change for free. When I still looked doubtful he asked if it was the cost, and when I said yes, he immediately offered to charge only $49. At that point I completely distrusted him so I said no thanks and left. I took the pick-up to another mechanic who checked it and said there is nothing wrong with the Serpentine Belt. I believe he tried to con me because I am an older female, and I bet he does this to all his new customers. I don't remember his name but he was the manager.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please check this guy out as I think he is dishonest.

Business Response:

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

DBA: Texaco Xpress Lube

*********** ********************** *************** ******* ******** ***** *** ********* ******************** *********************** *** *****

###-###-#### Office

###-###-#### fax

July 12, 2013

 

     Thank you for forwarding the customer's concerns. Please advise the customer that Regional Manager *** *********  will be contacting her today to address her concerns. 

 

     All recommendations are computer generated based on the year, make, model and mileage of the vehicle. We have not received any similar complaints on this location manager, however, we will promptly discuss the matter with him.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *****r

President

North Florida Lubes, Inc.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service