BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3109 W Tennessee St

    Tallahassee, FL 32304 (850) 933-6683 (850) 251-6453 (850) 224-5466 (850) 562-2102 (904) 720-5466 (850) 574-6464 (877) 251-6453 (887) 251-6453 (850) 222-1147

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mikes Moving asked for an itemized list of items to be moved and gave me a quote of $500. I moved some of the items myself prior to the move date and they had less items to move than they quoted me for. Nevertheless, they charged me nearly double for the move. They say I signed a contract that was open ended but they have charged me a ridiculously high amount for moving less furniture than they quoted for the move. They then fraudulently claimed to my credit card company that I had MORE items than I had on the itemized list - which is a lie. By saying that, they persuaded my credit card company to allow them to max out my card and charge me an additional $443.02 over the original $499.14 that I agreed to pay.I respectfully request that they be ordered to return the funds they charged to my card over the original agreed upon amount. I bought their drivers lunch and moved everything in the house other than the large furniture. Mikes Moving knew what pieces were going to be moved and if they are not aware of how long it takes to move those items, their lack of expertise should not be billed to me. In addition, they destroyed two armoires - one of which was worth over $1000 (it's an antique) and I cannot sell it for anything near what it is worth. They have not offered to compensate me for either of the items they destroyed. They also were given a full living room set which Goodwill was going to come get. I bought their drivers lunch and provided cold beverages during the move.I would never have agreed to the move if the office manager had not assured me that the quote for the move was accurate. It was a 2 bedroom apartment - not a house. And there were 4 men moving the furniture. This is a company that is purely taking advantage and is not concerned in the least about customer service or their reputation. Any assistance that you can offer in this matter would be greatly appreciated. I cannot afford to pay twice the amount that was quoted. That was the whole point in getting a quote. - Jill

Desired Settlement: I want Mikes Moving to refund every penny over their original quote - $443.02 - to my credit card account or in a check.In addition, I think they should pay me at least half the value of the armoires that are now torn up - at least $500.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband is deployed, he's part of the **** **** out of ***** AFB, so I moved back to Tallahassee because I was due to have our second child while he was gone and wanted to be with family. I had called them to get an estimate to move back to ***** AFB prior to his arrival back home. Originally gave me an estimate over the phone of $1,200, then the next time I called, $1,400! When they e-mailed me the estimate breakdown, the total said $2,284!! I had already given them my card number because she said "the deposit will be half of your total.... So that'll be $638." Sooo the deposit REALLY would have been over a grand. I had to sign a authorization form for them to take money out of our account, but I never did and we decided to cancel after reading it would be almost double what she originally estimated. Now I see why she called me 3 times in one hour asking where the authorization form was. They tried to run my card anyway, but it was declined because I hadn't transferred the money from our other account over. Thank GOODNESS. She was very rude when I politely cancelled saying "I'm sorry, the estimate was way over what you said. My husband can I cannot pay double what we had budgeted. We have chosen a different route, but thank you for your time." She goes "Thanks." in a snippy tone and hung up. I just checked our account for unrelated reasons and they took a couple $200 out WITH OUT me signing ANYTHING. Definitely going to be calling them in the morning DEMANDING my money back. I don't recommend that ANYONE use this company.

Desired Settlement: All I want is the money they stole from us back.

Business Response:

From: ******** *******************************
Sent: Monday, September 09, 2013 9:59 AM
To: ***** *****
Subject: ***** ******* *******

 

I have advised our bookkeeper to refund the monies today unless it was already done

 

******** ********

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Delivery Issues