This business is not BBB accredited.

Hall's Lawn Service/Handyman, Pressure Washing, Sod

Phone: (904) 315-3277 Fax: (904) 692-1947 View Additional Phone Numbers 2800 County Road 13A S Lot 17, Elkton, FL 32033


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hall's Lawn Service/Handyman, Pressure Washing, Sod include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hall's Lawn Service/Handyman, Pressure Washing, Sod
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2005 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

St. Johns County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 9001, St. Augustine FL 32085
http://stjohnstaxcollector.governmax.com/collectmax/collect30.asp?sid=C3758B61D2484BC998580A3C52AD38DC
Phone Number: 904-209-2250
Fax Number: 904209-2283
dennish@sjctax.us
The number is 37977.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Hall, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hall, CEO
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Mulches Pressure Washing Sod & Sodding Service Deck Cleaning & Sealing Home Improvements Handyman Services Landscape Contractors Lawn & Tree Care


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hall's Lawn Service/Handyman, Pressure Washing, Sod has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2800 County Road 13A S Lot 17

    Elkton, FL 32033 (904) 692-1918 (904) 315-3277

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Halls lawn service provides a service to replace lawn with new sod. The sod that was brought to my residence was brown and was hit with a frost. This took place on 3/14/2013. I waited a reasonable time about three weeks looking for growth and green flush lawn. The majority of the sod brougth was either brown or burnt. I have been very patient and have made a dozen or so calls to see when they are going to come out and replace my lawn. Excuses after excuses and ****** **** is not willing to work with you. He has said you have my word, but his word means nothing. I paid $3,000 to have this lawn in place plus sprinklers to be added or replaced. The ones that were added never worked and the ones replaced never worked as well. His business is not adequate and his son did not know how to use the equipment nor replace the sod or sprinklers. I am out $3,000 and wanted him to replace even the dead spots but again here excuses after excuses. I am not hiring a new lawn service to fix the sprinklers and probably will have to replace what they did. I am moving forward to take them to small claims court. I would not recommend them and they should not be part of the BBB. There add on ESPN should be removed. I am also telling our HOA in my neighbor to advise anyone not to use them. I spent alot of money and trusting a local business guy with 35 years of experience, a bunch of grap that was. thanks

Desired Settlement: I have been reasonable up to a point to talk with the owner to replace my lawn as needed along with the sprinklers that were added or replaced. I am beyond that because the trust factor is gone. That company is unreasonable and does not stick by their guarantee. Just another company.I would either like to have what ever cost it would to replace necessary parts of my laown or replace what is needed.

Business Response:
               
Sod was installed at Mr ******* residence on 03/14/2013. He was advised before we installed that due to weather (freeze) that sod in fields did have a lot of brown color. I told him that once it took root and the weather warmed up thatit should start to green-up with PROPER CARE. (water). I do offer warranty with sod installation if we provide lawn services. He declined our lawn care. I also advised him that the sod MUST be watered. He said he was having problems with his sprinkler system and we offered to help him with that and he declined.

I feel that every attempt was made to remedy this situation and he was very uncooperative. I even went to his home and he refused to answer the door.
        
Any further questions , please contact me. I will be happy to cooperate in any way possible.


                                     
Sincerely, ****** **** *** Hall's Lawn Service

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9562414

I am rejecting this response because:
I loved mr. *****response.  I called him at least 25 times and repair my lawn, excuse after
excuse would not come out.  Being advised about the brown sod, he installed it an told me I am stuck with it.  I paid him additional $300 to fix my sprinklers and never did.  I would love to show anyone all the phone calls I made.  This is how someone treats a customer who claims to be in business for 35 years.  This is a joke.  He should lose his BBB rating.


 

Regards,

******* ******