BBB Accredited Business since

Best Fence Company

Phone: (904) 268-1638 View Additional Phone Numbers 5404 Race Track Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32259

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Fence Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Fence Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Best Fence Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Grubbs, President
Business Category

Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Gates Ornamental Metal Work Fences - Wood Aluminum Products Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Door & Gate Operating Devices Fence Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Best Fence Company of Jacksonville

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Best Fence Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5404 Race Track Rd

    Jacksonville, FL 32259


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been trying to get quote updated on putting fence in my backyard. Even worked with the owner. They just don't communicate with the customer and never follow up on what they tell you they are going to do!

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

I'm very sorry we didn't give *** ****** an update to his proposal in the time frame he wanted. 

Estimator ***** ***** sent *** ****** a proposal for a fence the morning of April 20th, 2015. That same afternoon *** ***** passed out and was taken by rescue to the hospital where he has been fighting for his life with pancreas issues for over 3 weeks now. I personally called and explained to *** ****** what had happened to *** ***** and that I, **** ******, would sent up an appointment to go back to his property in Fernandina and update his proposal as soon as possible. My General Manager sent an email to *** ****** to setup another appointment for me to meet with him and he responded, "WELL LETS SEE!  I TALKED TO THE OWNER AND HE ALSO DROPPED THE BALL ON THIS BID SO I WILL JUST GO WITH ANOTHER COMPANY!"  *** ****** said he even worked with the owner.  I am the owner and I only had a 1 minute conversation over the phone with him while I was out of town to explain what had happened to *** *****.

I have owned Best Fence for almost 19 years now and have always had an A+ rating with the BBB the entire time. You don't get that type of rating for that long unless you earn it. We work hard every day to keep that rating and I am very proud on my office staff and my field crews.  We did reach out to *** ****** but were turned down. I'm very sorry it came to that but there just wasn't much we could do to make it there any faster under the circumstances.

**** ******
Owner / President

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ########

I am rejecting this response because:


*** *******

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the month of May 2014 Best Fence placed a Vinyl Fence around my property. The fence was saggy on 09/2014 which was fixed by Best Fence. In the same month i complained that the fence gate was right above my sprinkler head. On 01/12/2015 they decided to move my the gate to better provide irrigation to my lawn. On 01/17/2015 the installers moved the fence but created a big mess in my lawn. Basically killed a green lawn by leaving all the dirt in the work area(~200sqft) this is total negligence of the improperly trained workers. Also they haven't covered the hole that was dug originally; It rained and made this whole place a lot worse. There is a hole that is 2 feet depth and 4 feet wide. An inspector came by on 01/19 but was of not much help so far. It is shame for best fence reputation, i have personally recommended this fence to my friends and neighbors in Nocatee.

Desired Settlement: Please fix this mess and retain my property to its original state by placing St. Augustine lawn on the damaged areas created by your own installers. The reason i am asking for this is because i want to ensure the rain doesn't damage my property by lifting the dirt again. Please do it sooner because i don't want to see a letter from Home owners.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

I personally met with Mr. and Mrs. ****** (very nice people) concerning their problem with dirt left on the yard and the hole.  We filled the hole with fresh top soil and took out the old sod and replaced it with new sod. I did explain to Mr. ****** that a lot of the sod was dormant because of winter.  We also raked up some of the dead thatch around the area and cleaned the fence with soap and water. Everything was to Mr. ****** satisfaction when I left their house.  I also gave them dinner out at a restaurant of their choice on me for their trouble.  Mr. ****** said they were going out of the country the following day but would respond back to the BBB.  If there is anything else I can do please let me know.


**** ******

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ######, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** ******