This business is not BBB accredited.

Armstrong Fence Co.

Phone: (904) 356-2333 View Additional Phone Numbers 3226 Talleyrand Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32206 http://www.armstrong-fence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Armstrong Fence Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Armstrong Fence Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2007 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 01/01/2007 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Miller, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3226 Talleyrand Ave

    Jacksonville, FL 32206

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed an agreement to replace my fence on or about June 25th 2013 for $4,850.00. (I do not have the contract in my possession since I gave it to Mr. ***** ******** who came out to inspect the fence due to my complaints). The fence has numerous construction errors. For example, instead of moving a 4x4 post laying on the ground, the installers cut a hole in the new fence to go around it. Instead of following the route of the old fence, they laid it partially on my neighbors property. Same thing around my AC unit, they moved the fence about one foot to the left of where it should and stepped on and flattened a french drain gutter. The fence has many variant changes in height. Near my AC above they cut a hole in the bottom of the fence to accommodate a bush which would have been unnecessary had they followed the correct route. Mr. ******** took pictures and said he would get back to me in a few days. That was the last that I heard from him or anyone else.I also notice that they did not put up an ARMSTRONG SIGN on the fence and they only charged half the amount ($2,425) on my card. Despite many calls to the co., no one has ever returned my calls. I was always told that Mr. ******** was not in, nor was Mr. *** ******, the owner.

Desired Settlement: Replace the fence correctly.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** is meeting with Mr. **** at 2:00pm on 7/31/2013 to discuss the corrections needed in the fence.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: 9641949

I am rejecting this response because: This is a follow up to my initial complaint which was assigned ID *******. Today I noticed on the internet that my complaint had been resolved. Nothing could be further from the truth. After not hearing from Armstrong even though I called many times, I had no recourse but to file the above complaint. A few days after I filed I finally heard from Mr. ***** ******** who came to my house and told me he had tried to call me four times. I told him I had not received any calls. He then proceeded to review the many mistakes in the fence construction and had me sign a service order and said he would e-mail me a finished copy. He e-mailed  a copy but it did not contain all repairs so I called and Mr. ******** said he would resend. After not receiving a corrected copy, I made the corrections and faxed them to Mr. ********. On August 7, 2013 I called him and he said that he had not received the fax. I asked him when the repairs would be made and was told not until next week. He would not specify a day. He said that when he receives the fax he would call me. That is where the situation stands. Replace the fence correctly.

 

Regards,

******* ****