BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 06, 2009 Business started: 07/08/2004 in FL Business started locally: 07/08/2004 Business incorporated: 07/08/2004 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Brownstein, Office Manager Mr. Chris Pickering, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Brownstein, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Pickering, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Electricians Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Painting Contractors Plastering Contractors Plumbers Roofing Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Cabinets Construction & Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

  • 4607 NW 6th St Ste A

    Gainesville, FL 32609 (352) 372-1221

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a roof on mine and a partner's rental house that was going to be looked at by Gainesville Restoration (GR)for an estimate. The day before that appointment the ceiling caved (07/23/13) in one of the rooms of this house. I called GR since they were already supposed to come the following day and **** told me they could come out and take care of it in about the next hour. It was raining at the time and I kept having to call as he had not arrived and it got pushed back but not too far. He said they deal with this all the time and can take care of it. I was told they needed to tarp the roof, remove the debris in the house where the ceiling caved, and put in fans and dehumidifiers. They did this while I was there and said they had to go 5 minutes down the road to their shop to get another fan and/or dehumidifier and put that in. This would have put their time there at about 1.5 hours. If they took extra time for some reason since that is all they had left to do, its possible it ended at close to 2 hours. I signed approval for them to do remediation. I was given no estimate and figured it would be a few hundred dollars. I received a call when I was out of town on 08/03/13 from **** telling me my bill is $3605.00. I asked him if he meant three hundred and sixty dollars and 5 cents because that seemed more realistic to me. He assured him that it was correct and due to the equipment running for however many hours. There is a ridiculous amount charged per hour the fans and dehumidifiers run. So if you round up and say 3 total hours on the actual amount of work done counting picking up their fans and dehumidifiers this price is unbelievable. GR would not accept our $1000 insurance check as a compromise and offered us the price of $3000 for their work. I have since only met 2 people that were familiar with this company. One did not get work done by them due to their estimate and the other was not happy with what GR did and said she would not use them again.

Desired Settlement: GR accept the $1000 we got from insurance for their less than 3 hours of work and equipment use and refund $2000.I can provide their bill. They can not provide an estimate before this was done because they did not give me one.

Business Response: We Work off of "Xactimate" pricing(Industry Standard).

Per our contract signed, this is how we proceeded with the work.
Attached is a copy of the signed contract and the estimate for the work.
sincerely,
******* * *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  All the owner provided for his response is the bill for the remediation which was given to us after the less than 3 hours of work and of course the outrageous pricing for their equipment running which is according to industry standard.  They did not give as estimate or tell us about this "industry pricing" before work was authorized or during when their fans and dehumidifiers were running up this giant bill.  I guarantee no one has an idea of the industry standard pricing unless they are in this business.  And no one would never agree to this pricing if it was given to them before the "work" considering they could go buy their own fans and dehumidifiers for thousands less.  The only part of the attachment he sent which is an estimate is for the actual work of repairing the damage inside and the roof and we wisely got someone else to do after receiving this outrageous bill for the "remediation".

Regards,

**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes, my health has been compromised, by the complete failure of this company to address the water problems in my home. They failed to do anything solid. Failed to find leak, failed to attempt to find leak, failed to help complete drying home, failed to provide an estimate (17 days). The did not give me a time estimate for handling, and I finally gave up, and told them I wanted to cancel contract after 17 days with no action. They did not come out to take off their lock box (required on the contract), and so I took off the door knob, replaced it, and then it took them over 24 hours to give me the combination, to get out my key, before returning the box. They then decided to exercise their option to charge me $500 for doing absolutely nothing!!! Except for walk around my house in shoes, leave hand prints for me to clean off of walls, and claim they were trying to work with ******** to get an estimate, but never sending me anything at all in writing. I finally gave up, sent them the cancellation letter.. When I went to give them their lock box, after getting my key out (I had to take it out: I feared they would come in and pretend to work (I found out they told ins co they'd findings they told me they did not have), and then charge me for that. I video'd the house to confirm they had done absolutely nothing. And they give me a bill for $500 for cancelling for lack of action. I signed the contract because of my ins co having them as preferred, meaning, according to the rep, that they are trusted, but they were so bad. And now, they threaten me with everything (in the contract) if I do not pay them $500 for doing nothing. I have sent them a letter and my ins co a letter. I don't know how many others they are doing this to, but they do move around. I would rather spend $1000 on an atty than pay them $500 for doing nothing.

Desired Settlement: A written letter from the owner, *** *********, that they have invalidated the contract, which implies that they will provide services, but they have not. And a confirmation that this contact has been invalidated, and no payment is expected. And apology is too much to expect. That is what an honest person would have given when I returned the lockbox.

Business Response:

On 10/30 during the lunch hour, our answering service received a call from *** ***** stating that he had a possible slab leak and that it was a Non Emergency.  We responded to him and on 10/31 we were assigned the insurance claim by his insurance company. We went to *** *****’s house after the water had been cleaned up and the area had been dried by the owner.  He described what had happened and this is what I had to go on.  I removed the damaged toe kick on the vanity and a section of the toe kick in the kitchen.  Leak detection was called out and the leak could not be duplicated.  The water valve was turned on and left this way and periodically monitored to see if there was any change.  During this time nothing changed. 

An estimate was not provided to the owner during the time stated as an agreement had not been reached with the insurance company.  The owner was informed of this and seemed to understand there was no need to provide him with a document that was incomplete.  Once the estimate was finalized one would have been provided by Gainesville Restoration.  Once a completed estimate was established a time line could and would have been provided.

Two subcontractors entered the residence during the time we were working on this project.  The technician from the leak detection company spent over an hour thoroughly looking for a leak that could not be duplicated and the cabinet person came with a tape measure, a pad of paper and a pencil.  Though plumbing can be a dirty job, the technician was cleanly dressed, wiped his feet every time he entered the home and didn’t touch anything not required to establish the cause of loss.  The cabinet person is an elderly man that entered the home once.  He took his measurements and left touching nothing that was not required to accomplish his job.

As the project manager, I spent many hours working on this loss.  From the physical labor at the residence, diagramming the residence, estimating, estimate revisions, phone calls, text messages, site visits and meeting with subcontractors the cancelation fee is more than warranted.  The contract including the cancelation fee was explained to *** ***** before the contract was signed.

**** ****** ******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service