BBB Accredited Business since

Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc

Phone: (352) 372-1221 Fax: (352) 372-1214 4607 NW 6th St Ste A, Gainesville, FL 32609 http://www.gainesvillerestoration.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2009 Business started: 07/08/2004 in FL Business started locally: 07/08/2004 Business incorporated 07/08/2004 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Pickering, President Mr. David Dyer, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Dyer, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Pickering, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Electricians Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Painting Contractors Plastering Contractors Plumbers Roofing Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Cabinets Construction & Remodeling Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4607 NW 6th St Ste A

    Gainesville, FL 32609 (352) 372-1221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came home on February 19 after 4 days. Had water coming up through laminate floor. Called plumber. Very quickly another plumbing company and 5 or 6 men came in. Was told to sign work authorization form before work could begin. I was told the only purpose of the form was to let them begin work on the damage. I signed and did not ask for copy that day--I was extremely shaken up. I asked for a copy of form repeatedly but never got one. I asked when work would begin but never got a definite answer. On March 6 dry wall was installed. In three weeks time that was the only work done. On March 9 I told Chris Pickering the owner of the company his services were no longer needed. Mr. Pickering told me he would put a lien on my house. He also e-mailed me a copy of the form I had signed Feb.19. I think I signed the form under duress and that the took advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: I would like Gainesville Restoration and Remodeling to submit a bill for all work performed to Mr. ***** ********, Sr. Claims Adjuster with ASI insurance company which should satisfy all that is due for services and cancel any right to put a lien on my home.

Business Response:

 

In response to the letter dated March 31, 2015, concerning the complaint from **** ********* ******* #********:

 

We sent a copy of the work authorization to Mrs. ******* the day following her request of one.

 

Initially we were called to Mrs. *******’s home because of a slab leak that required water mitigation, which we handled. We discussed the problems arising from the water leak and then submitted an estimate to Mrs. *******’s insurance company for the repairs needed. 

 

The work on her house began 3 days after we received approval from her insurance company that they would honor her claim and they approved the work to be done. This was when the dry wall was installed.

 

The work authorization she signed is a standard form authorizing Gainesville Restoration to perform the emergency water mitigation and also needed structural repairs, dependent on the insurance approval.  As far as we knew there was no issue until Mrs. ******* decided to finish the work herself.

 

We are sorry she feels the way she does, but we feel we did all we could to work with her.

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday, January 22, I had new kitchen cabinets to be installed. Gainesville Restoration and Remodeling informed me that my water and electricity would have to be shut off for them to do the work. As a result of that, my elderly parents who live with me and my wife had to go to a hotel for that one night while my wife and I stayed in the house. No one from GRR informed us that the electricity and water would have to be shut off. The hotel stay was on the evening of 01/22, my parents checked out the following morning on 01/23. The bill was for one night only. A copy of the bill was sent to my insurance company. On Tuesday, February 9, a Mr. ***** ********* of GRR telephoned me and was rude on the phone, demanding that payment be made in the amount of $6000 and that payment has to be made by 02/12. He explained that "I'm in a bind" and he needs his payment this week. I did not understand what he meant about him being "in a bind". On 2/10, I went to make a credit card payment using a VISA card. Their establishment clearly showed that they accepted VISA as payment. Upon trying to make the $6,000 payment on the card, I was told that their credit card machine and their internet system has not been working well over the past two days. The GRR secretary suggested that I come back on 2/12 to try make the payment again. I said I will return on 2/12 to make the payment. I went on that day 2/12 and the payment was made. On 2/20, Mr. ***** ********* emailed me and wanted to know "when will I get the rest of the payment". My wife and I were out of town at this time and we decided that we will go see him in his office on Monday morning (02/23). I showed up at his office at 9am and was informed that Mr. ********* has not been seen yet in the building/office. I informed the secretary that I will return later. At 9:49am I emailed him and wanted to find out when will he be in his office. He responded back "1pm-4pm". I went home and decided to go see him at 2. I got to his office at 2pm and the same secretary informed me that Mr. ********* is not in at his time and did not know where he was. I don't know why he keeps on doing this, but this is not the way to relate to your customers. It appears that all he is interested in is getting his money and getting it quick.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice to have Mr. ********* behave or respond in a more caring way. Show some personal concern for your clients. Just don't show concern about being paid. Money is not an issue with me. How do I get treated by the company is more of a concern for me. Are they respectful, do they have my best interest at stake, do they communicate well while the job is being done, GRR is poor in all of these. I just want them to realize and take a note of their actions.

Business Response: After completing the work at the *****’ property we requested the remaining insurance proceeds for the job, which is normal and customary. We asked to be paid only after we made sure the ***** were satisfied with the work completed. As for the electrical and water problem mentioned, we apologize about this as it was both unseen and unexpected. However, once the problem discovered it was immediately addressed and rectified. We do not understand the problem Mr. ***** has with the electric and water being shut off for as Mr. ***** states in his Customer Statement of the Problem to you, “Gainesville Restoration and Remodeling informed me that my water and electricity would have to shut- off for them to do the work,” and they apparently made arrangements to stay in a hotel because this was going to occur. They are being reimbursed by their insurance carrier for the hotel expense. In regards to the credit card payment issue, we feel it was more a matter of bad timing than anything else. Mr. ***** came into to pay his bill with the credit card and we could not get the payment to go through using the credit card payment company we had at the time. We generally do not need to process credit cards and were unaware that it was not working properly. We had to find an entirely different credit card payment method and company to accept credit card payments and this took some time to set up. I was unaware that the ***** were going to come by our office and was expecting me to be there, and I apologize for any inconvenience he may have experienced by my not being there and by the problems we had attempting to accept his credit card payment. I will be more than happy to meet with the ***** and apologize personally. *********** ********* President 

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a roof on mine and a partner's rental house that was going to be looked at by Gainesville Restoration (GR)for an estimate. The day before that appointment the ceiling caved (07/23/13) in one of the rooms of this house. I called GR since they were already supposed to come the following day and **** told me they could come out and take care of it in about the next hour. It was raining at the time and I kept having to call as he had not arrived and it got pushed back but not too far. He said they deal with this all the time and can take care of it. I was told they needed to tarp the roof, remove the debris in the house where the ceiling caved, and put in fans and dehumidifiers. They did this while I was there and said they had to go 5 minutes down the road to their shop to get another fan and/or dehumidifier and put that in. This would have put their time there at about 1.5 hours. If they took extra time for some reason since that is all they had left to do, its possible it ended at close to 2 hours. I signed approval for them to do remediation. I was given no estimate and figured it would be a few hundred dollars. I received a call when I was out of town on 08/03/13 from **** telling me my bill is $3605.00. I asked him if he meant three hundred and sixty dollars and 5 cents because that seemed more realistic to me. He assured him that it was correct and due to the equipment running for however many hours. There is a ridiculous amount charged per hour the fans and dehumidifiers run. So if you round up and say 3 total hours on the actual amount of work done counting picking up their fans and dehumidifiers this price is unbelievable. GR would not accept our $1000 insurance check as a compromise and offered us the price of $3000 for their work. I have since only met 2 people that were familiar with this company. One did not get work done by them due to their estimate and the other was not happy with what GR did and said she would not use them again.

Desired Settlement: GR accept the $1000 we got from insurance for their less than 3 hours of work and equipment use and refund $2000.I can provide their bill. They can not provide an estimate before this was done because they did not give me one.

Business Response: We Work off of "Xactimate" pricing(Industry Standard).

Per our contract signed, this is how we proceeded with the work.
Attached is a copy of the signed contract and the estimate for the work.
sincerely,
******* * *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  All the owner provided for his response is the bill for the remediation which was given to us after the less than 3 hours of work and of course the outrageous pricing for their equipment running which is according to industry standard.  They did not give as estimate or tell us about this "industry pricing" before work was authorized or during when their fans and dehumidifiers were running up this giant bill.  I guarantee no one has an idea of the industry standard pricing unless they are in this business.  And no one would never agree to this pricing if it was given to them before the "work" considering they could go buy their own fans and dehumidifiers for thousands less.  The only part of the attachment he sent which is an estimate is for the actual work of repairing the damage inside and the roof and we wisely got someone else to do after receiving this outrageous bill for the "remediation".

Regards,

**** *********

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes, my health has been compromised, by the complete failure of this company to address the water problems in my home. They failed to do anything solid. Failed to find leak, failed to attempt to find leak, failed to help complete drying home, failed to provide an estimate (17 days). The did not give me a time estimate for handling, and I finally gave up, and told them I wanted to cancel contract after 17 days with no action. They did not come out to take off their lock box (required on the contract), and so I took off the door knob, replaced it, and then it took them over 24 hours to give me the combination, to get out my key, before returning the box. They then decided to exercise their option to charge me $500 for doing absolutely nothing!!! Except for walk around my house in shoes, leave hand prints for me to clean off of walls, and claim they were trying to work with ******** to get an estimate, but never sending me anything at all in writing. I finally gave up, sent them the cancellation letter.. When I went to give them their lock box, after getting my key out (I had to take it out: I feared they would come in and pretend to work (I found out they told ins co they'd findings they told me they did not have), and then charge me for that. I video'd the house to confirm they had done absolutely nothing. And they give me a bill for $500 for cancelling for lack of action. I signed the contract because of my ins co having them as preferred, meaning, according to the rep, that they are trusted, but they were so bad. And now, they threaten me with everything (in the contract) if I do not pay them $500 for doing nothing. I have sent them a letter and my ins co a letter. I don't know how many others they are doing this to, but they do move around. I would rather spend $1000 on an atty than pay them $500 for doing nothing.

Desired Settlement: A written letter from the owner, *** *********, that they have invalidated the contract, which implies that they will provide services, but they have not. And a confirmation that this contact has been invalidated, and no payment is expected. And apology is too much to expect. That is what an honest person would have given when I returned the lockbox.

Business Response:

On 10/30 during the lunch hour, our answering service received a call from *** ***** stating that he had a possible slab leak and that it was a Non Emergency.  We responded to him and on 10/31 we were assigned the insurance claim by his insurance company. We went to *** *****’s house after the water had been cleaned up and the area had been dried by the owner.  He described what had happened and this is what I had to go on.  I removed the damaged toe kick on the vanity and a section of the toe kick in the kitchen.  Leak detection was called out and the leak could not be duplicated.  The water valve was turned on and left this way and periodically monitored to see if there was any change.  During this time nothing changed. 

An estimate was not provided to the owner during the time stated as an agreement had not been reached with the insurance company.  The owner was informed of this and seemed to understand there was no need to provide him with a document that was incomplete.  Once the estimate was finalized one would have been provided by Gainesville Restoration.  Once a completed estimate was established a time line could and would have been provided.

Two subcontractors entered the residence during the time we were working on this project.  The technician from the leak detection company spent over an hour thoroughly looking for a leak that could not be duplicated and the cabinet person came with a tape measure, a pad of paper and a pencil.  Though plumbing can be a dirty job, the technician was cleanly dressed, wiped his feet every time he entered the home and didn’t touch anything not required to establish the cause of loss.  The cabinet person is an elderly man that entered the home once.  He took his measurements and left touching nothing that was not required to accomplish his job.

As the project manager, I spent many hours working on this loss.  From the physical labor at the residence, diagramming the residence, estimating, estimate revisions, phone calls, text messages, site visits and meeting with subcontractors the cancelation fee is more than warranted.  The contract including the cancelation fee was explained to *** ***** before the contract was signed.

**** ****** ******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on Gainesville Restoration & Remodeling, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart