BBB Accredited Business since

Calvin's Carpet One

Phone: (904) 260-0109 Fax: (904) 268-1699 8956 Philips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32256 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Calvin's Carpet One meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Calvin's Carpet One include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Calvin's Carpet One
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1977 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 01/11/1978 in FL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Calvin Modling, President Mr. Dick Bach, VP Sales & Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dick Bach, VP Sales & Operations
Principal: Mr. Calvin Modling, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Contractors - Flooring Fire & Water Damage Restoration Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Tile & Grout Cleaning Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Carpet Installation Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Alternate Business Names
Carpet One Floor & Home

Additional Locations

  • 8956 Philips Hwy

    Jacksonville, FL 32256 (904) 260-0109


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The hardwood flooring this company provided and installed is sub-standard. The floor preparation was done in an arbitrary fashion and left the floor uneven. The flooring itself, when installed, has numerous splinters of wood missing from planks, gaps between planks and otherwise is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a partial refund based upon the shoddy installation. I have emailed and called numerous times to the business and have received at most two callbacks, both after hours. I have offered to meet with the owner/owner's representative to no avail to this point. A financial adjustment of monies paid is in order.

Business Response:

Gentleman :

It is unfortunate Mr. ********** thinks the hardwood installed in his home is sub-standard. We have had the Vendor's representative and our company product representative personally do an on site inspection of the material and the workmanship, and both were reported to be  with in tolerance for the type and quality of product that was installed. The inspection was done on Monday September 30, 2013. Mrs. ********** was present, Mr. ********** was not able to be there. All agreed a little touch up work would be required. Our professional floor mechanic Gene Young completed that work on October 9, 2013. Mr. and Mrs. ********** seemed to be very happy at that time.

Before the hardwood could be installed, extensive repair to the concrete slab had to be done. Mr. ********** was quoted $1,600.00 to do this repair work. He agreed to pay that amount and the work was completed prior to the wood being installed. During the on site inspection, there were no mention of the floor preparation being   Arbitrary " or uneven. The leveling compound used, makes it nearly  impossible for the substrate to be " uneven ".

I have personally reached out to Mr. ********** several times with an offer to meet with him at his home to see exactly what it is he does not like about his new wood floors.  My last e mail contact was November 7, 2013 and that was to determine a day / time that they could be available. I personally never received an answer. All other communication has been e mail's from my sales rep. **** ******* trying to collect the past due $1,600.00 that Mr. ********** has not paid.

Mr. and Mrs. ********** have been great customers so we will agree to his request for a partial refund of the $1,600.00 they still owe. We will agree to a 50% split of $800.00 credit on this past due amount. We are still here for them and their job still has all the warranties.

Please advise,


V. P. Sales & Operations







9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing remnant carpet from carpet one on August 26, 2013, I realized I over paid for the carpet. I looked on their website on August 30, 2013. (The website offered carpet and padding for 1/2 as much). I called the sales rep I worked with, and he told me to call back on Tuesday Sept. 3, 2013, while he checked with the "powers that be". I went to the store, **** was not there. I was told he would call me at 3p after he called the "powers that be". He didn't call at 3p. I called him at 330p and he told me I did not overpay for the carpet, and the carpet I purchased was of better quality than that advertised. I ultimately told **** that I wanted a refund. He said he needed to check to see if it was cut or not. He still has not called back!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund...that's it! I just want my money back!

Business Response:

Re : ID 9******

******* *****

Full refund of her Visa Credit card was ran on September 10, 2013.

Cancellation of her order has been completed. Claim is closed.

**** ****

V P Sales & Operations