This business is not BBB accredited.

Tuffy Auto Service Center

Phone: (850) 385-4411 Fax: (850) 205-4411 2501 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303 http://www.tuffy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tuffy Auto Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tuffy Auto Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 2004 Business started: 05/19/2004 Business incorporated 05/19/2004 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Myers, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service

Alternate Business Names
Vested Motors VIII, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2501 N Monroe St

    Tallahassee, FL 32303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is concerning 1979 Ford LTD with approx. 27,000 miles. Selling for my mother law. I took the car into Tuffy, North Monroe, for a pre-sale diagnostic immediately after leaving ***** **** to top off fluids. ***** **** looked under the car and topped off fluids. ***** **** stated the Car's in great shape, but they do not do buyers inspections. I was present during ***** ****'s review of the car.I was not allowed to be present for any activity at Tuffy. They were to simply perform a buyer's inspection. Tuffy manager (****** wrote up an estimate for repairs which included repair of the radiator, which ***** says was pouring out water as soon as he lifted the car. No water was present at Tuffy, at my house, or anywhere I parked the car over the past year.I drove the car in in great condition. As soon as I left Tuffy, the engine immediately ran hot. I called back and spoke with *****, asking him what did he do the car. Also, made him aware that I had no previous problems with the engine overheating and that I felt he had punched a hole in the radiator. ***** told me to bring the car back in, but he continued his lie that the car was pouring out water which I feel he whould have showed me immediately when he saw it. Instead, he would not even allow me in the repair area. The car was parked in Tuffy's parking lot for 20 minutes. No water was on the pavement where the car was parked which would indicate there is no way water was pouring out when he lifted the car.I was afraid to take the car back, because this was such a case of malicious destruction to warrant unnecessary repairs to my vehicle. I was afraid he would destroy something else in an effort to make money. Especially since he would not admit his act, or show me the leaking water before I left the facility. If water was leaking that bad, he was negligent, in that he did not even let me see any water.

Desired Settlement: Admit their malicious act, replace the radiator at no cost, stop creating problems in other customer vehicles to cheat people who trust and rely on their expertise. If this was an honest mistake of punching a hole unintentionally, admit the mistake. While I was there I witnessed what seemed like the breaking of another customer's antenna, which they threw in the garbage. That's when I made an attempt to see what was going with my car, but I was not allowed in the repair area. Be honest!

Business Response:    

   On the 21st of sept the 1979 Ford LTD was brought to Tuffy Auto Repair to do a buyers inspect. We did a buyers inspect and found 2 issues. The rear brakes need ajusting and it needed a radiator because it was leaking. 
 We gave the customer an est of the repairs. The customer did not want to do the repairs. The customer left and the car overheated because it was very low on water.  
  I am now being told that we damaged the radiator maliciously.  
  We are here to repair cars and give good customer service while we do it. We would in no way damage a customers car with intent to defraud...EVER!  
  We invited the customer back in to look at the radiator so we could show the customer the leak, customer declinded. 
  The car is 36 years old and the radiator looks like it might be close to that age as well.
 The customer never asked to look at the car in the shop or the water leak. 
 We invite customers back in the shop to show needed repairs everyday and have for the 12 years I have been there. 
 We never broke anyones anntenna and threw it in the trash either.
 We are honest repair shop and I make sure that we give great customer service everyday!
 WE will not pay for the radiator or the labor to replace it, We did not do anything wrong. 
 

Business Response: We asked that you bring the car back and we would show you where the radiator was leaking

And you could see that the radiator had a leak. The radiator looked like it might be the one that came with the car.
  We asked the customer back so we could show him, but he refused. We did not damage his car!! What are we to do?
If we damaged a customers car by mistake we will fix no charge, this is not the case here at all. We did not damage this car.
The tech said it looks like it might have been leaking slowly for a while.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sir is it your normal protocol to deem something is broken on someone's car after inspection, write up an estimate, put the car off of the rack, place it back for the person to leave, when you find a major problem as such as a busted or leaking radiator without showing them first?  It appears to now that your story has changed from telling me that water was "pouring out" when you put it on the rack to now it may appear to be a" slow leak".  That's a huge change in what was stated to me by the manager via our initial conversation.  It is obvious there was something happening between the communication from the technicians view and what the manager stated to me and subsequently signed off for repairs and quoted estimates for.  Sir, I'm a more than reasonable person when it comes to human mistakes, but to outright lie about this matter is uncalled for, I'm an educated honest businessman that works hard for everything I earn and diligently give back to this community in hopes that every effort produces a good work to make this world a better place.  This matter is challenging the peaceful platform that I stand firm upon in trying to live peaceably with all mankind.

The fact that you are unwilling to take full responsibility  for damages caused by your organization and, at a minimum, admit that you should have inquired of me to come and observe or look at what you deemed were major concerns (repairs) as someone in your profession normally would rather than depend on the customer to ask such questions after the fact.  It appears that this can not be resolved through reasoning and professional courtesy; therefore, I may need to seek legal recourse if we can not get this done amicably and chalk this communication up as "Lessons Learned" on each of our behalf (my behalf, because I trusted (but didn't verify) that this was an honest operation and noteworthy business and on your behalf that the customer has a right to know and inspect (question) things that are found needing repair at the time of the inspection or work being performed). You got paid the price you quoted to do a job and somehow you impacted the environment so you would get more and damaged a beautiful, clean classic vehicle.  In your profession you should feel bad about this occurrence and use whatever resources to make this right.

 Do the right thing.  Again, I can admit to the age of the car and many parts on it (including the radiator), it's an antique,  but in this age and time antiquity doesn't equate to malfunction.  The car was running fine when I brought it there and afterwards it was not, something known or unknown to you occurred while it was in your shop and you need to take ownership and responsibility for it.  You have yet to communicate an action for correcting this, if that's going to be your final stance please let the record reflect so and let's move on to the next stage.

Regards,

******** ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tuffy Auto Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)