BBB Accredited Business since

Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC

Additional Locations

Phone: (843) 525-4100 View Additional Phone Numbers 103 Robert Smalls Pkwy, Beaufort, SC 29906 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Vaden of Beaufort
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 103 Robert Smalls Pkwy

    Beaufort, SC 29906

  • PO Box 14217

    Savannah, GA 31416

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technicians at Vaden of ******** failed to properly diagnose and repair my vehicle. I, ******* *****, paid $724.55 for vehicle repairs and experienced problems leaving the lot of Vaden. I returned the vehicle and was later notified that I would have to pay more money for technicians to discover the problem that was supposed to be taken care of at that point. Associates of Vaden continued to steer me into the wrong direction by suggesting that I may need an expensive electrical part. In the end, all I needed for my vehicle to function properly was a new oil filter for the price of $6.35 . Vaden of ******** did not solve a problem for me but created one. I asked for at least most of my money back and made several calls over the past few days but to no avail. Thanks in advance.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Mr. ***** has filed a ***** Case in the ******** ********** *****. We are  sorry that he chose that route as we would have preferred conversation, but that is his right.

We appreciate the BBB's attempt to bring the two parties together.

Sincerely,

***** *******

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a 2000 **** ******** from this dealership on January 16th, 2015. I just want to say that we had a great experience with the ******** and we felt good about our purchase. About a week after, we started having problems with the car not going into gear. We immediately contacted the service department and told them what was going on. Your service department advised us to bring the **** in to have it looked at. We brought the vehicle to ******** from ********** and then we were told that it would cost us $1300.00 to replace the clutch. My husband spoke to several different people within the department to see if they could lower the price of the repair but was unfortunately unable to negotiate anything. He finally reached out to the ***** ******* who was willing to cut the price in half. We agreed to pay $656.17 to have the vehicle fixed. Once the part was replaced, we noticed a few days after that the car was still having the same exact issue. My husband was reluctant to call the service department based on his previous experience but he contacted them anyway and they gave us the run around. They promised us a call back from the ******* *******, which never happened. Every time we called the department, they were "checking" on it. Needless to say, the vehicle sat in our driveway for month's until my husband went out and bought the part again and replaced it himself. Upon fixing the repair, my husband noticed that the ********** forget to put the clutch fork retaining spring back in. Also, none of the bolts were put in good and they were coming out of the fly wheel. The throwout bearing was destroyed because the clutch wasn't put in right. I finally took it upon myself to reach out to the dealership and the only way that I could receive a call back from the ******* *******, was to leave a review on their ******** page and I sent a private message on there as well. The ******* ******* finally reached out to my husband and apologized for our situation. She offered to refund us the amount of what the part cost when they fixed it. She told my husband that she would send him an invoice for the refund through email and we've yet to receive it. My husband and ******** have been in contact since the 1st of June. It's almost the end of June and the problem has still not been taken care of. I am extremely disappointed in the lack of customer service that we have received since our purchase. I understand that things happen but to always get the runaround becomes extremely frustrating. I am now out about $850.00. We paid $314.18 on a part that doesn't work, $341.99 worth of labor that didn't even fix the problem, plus almost $200 more for another part so that my husband could fix it himself. I am completely dissatisfied with the response and lack of resolution with this issue. I feel like we should be totally refunded based on the fact that the ********** failed to correctly repair the issue in the first place. Thank you so much for your time. I hope we can resolve this soon.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like to be refunded the amount for the repair which includes $314.18 for what we were charged for the clutch itself, plus the $341.99 for the labor that never fixed the problem.

Business Response:

Our response to customer. 

From: ************************
To: ************************
Subject: RE: Service Issue
Date: Thu, 9 Jul 2015 19:53:10 +0000

I am very sorry you have been having these issue with your recent purchase from us, it appears you have emailed me quite a bit but your emails have been going into my spam folder. I will  refund you the $656.17 you paid to our store for the repair. Please provide me with the mailing address and I will send the check out that day.

 

The check has been sent out to address customer provided.

 

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a part, and they had an issue with an outside company, breaking off a key in there door. I went to pick up my part and it wasn't there I received no call or anything, I was just told it would be in later that day, towards the end of the day I still didn't receive a call so I called in and was treated very rudely by an employee who said he was the***** *******, then when I asked to speak to his boss, the******* ******* told me they had no ***** *******, and she was very unpleasant, she told me some of the customers were called and some were not, making me feel like crap, that I don't matter. She did say she would discount my order. I stopped in and saw the ******* ******* and he basically told me I don't understand their business.

Desired Settlement: I want a sincere apology and the discount that I was promised and wasn't deliver on.

Business Response:

Company's response below:

 

Dear BBB,

 

In response to complaint #******** Vaden ** ******** submits the following:

 

The customer is correct in that his parts were delayed due to our vendor not being able to deliver the parts due to their key breaking off in our delivery door.  This vendor brings our parts before business hours.  The vendor said he would “swing back by” later in the day to deliver the parts.  This order would have included several other customer’s parts as well as parts needed for repairs being done in the service department.  Our ***** ******* ******, ******, explained the situation to the customer and told him that we would call him as soon as the vendor delivered the parts.  That was about 8:30 in the morning.  Around 2:00 pm the customer called inquiring about his parts and was told that they still had not been back to deliver them.  The customer became very belligerent with our other***** ******* ****** and he was directed to our******* *******, *********.  She apologized for the inconvenience but the customer was again very belligerent to the point that other staff could hear him through the phone.  The customer came in and spoke with the ******* ******* who also apologized for the inconvenience and explained that we would do what we could to learn from this going forward.  The customer again was not satisfied. Unfortunately, the vendor did not return with the parts until the next business day.    A couple of weeks later, the customer returned some of the parts for a refund and was again extremely rude to several employees, including an ********** ********, saying that he couldn’t believe that it was taking so long to get a check cut and signed. The********** ******** apologized that he felt it was taking too long, but we require 2 signatures on checks and we had to get the other signature before releasing the check.   Another customer witnessed his behavior and was in disbelief that we were continuing to be as courteous and professional after his verbal abuse. 

In closing, there were several Vaden ** ******** employees that did everything in their power to rectify the customer’s original parts issue, which was out of our control and he did receive the parts once they were delivered; and his subsequent complaint but were met with disrespect and belligerence that was uncalled for in a place of business.  The customer was apologized to by 2 ***** ******* persons, the ******* *******, a***** consultant, an ********** employee and the ******* *******.  We are in a customer driven business and know how important it is to make and keep our customers satisfied.  We made every effort to rectify the customer’s problem and satisfy his complaints.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *****

******* *******

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to have my truck serviced for a door lock problem and when I was getting ready to leave I noticed the trim under the steering column was cracked. I notified the ******* ******* about the issue and she informed me that nobody drove the truck. I told her that when I came in it wasn't broken. I said that I want it to be replaced and she informed me that her ******* wasn't in and that she would get in contact with me before the week was over, which she never did. I called back the next week and she informed me that the dash could be replaced for a $400 deductible and I told her that it isn't the dash. She said that she would talk with her ******* ******* and contact me again. She never contacted me back about the issue at hand and this happened on July 21, 2014 and it has been over a month and nothing is being resolved.It should not take this long to contact me to have the trim replaced free of charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like the trim under my steering wheel to be replaced with no out of pocket charge.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for bringing our customer's concerns to our attention. When ***. ******* came in for her appointment, her concern was that her right rear lock was not working. We replaced the actuator under her extended service contract. As she was leaving, ***. ******* asked our ******* ******* to look at a crack under her steering column. The ******* explained that our repairs had been completed on the back door - nowhere near the steering column. The customer stated that she was not saying that we cracked it, but wanted to know if it was covered under warranty - she proceeded to point out some cracks on her dashboard as well.

The ******* ******* explained that trim items are not covered under aftermarket warranties, but offered to contact ******* ****** to see if they would offer any goodwill assistance. ******* ****** has offered to repair the dashboard if the customer will pay a $400 deductible.

I apologize that ***. ******* did not receive a more timely response, but ultimately, we cannot take responsibility for cracks that have occurred to her vehicle trim. Unfortunately, we see many vehicles that share the same attributes. The heat generated inside vehicles here in the South can induce cracking through the failure in the polymer bonds. (Sounds complicated, but essentially, the material simply dries out!)

If she would like to pursue **'s offer for her dash, we would be happy to assist her.

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

It wasn't cracked when I took it in for service and before I left I brought it to the ******* ******* attention she stated that no one drove it. I said someone had to drive it to the service area.  She said that her service ******* wasn't in that day and she would call me on that Friday, which she didn't.  She mentioned that the dashboard is a common problem in the Tahoe and I told her that the cracks isn't my concern it is the cracks under the steering column that wasn't there prior.  When I spoke to the service ******* on two weeks ago she informed me that the ******* ******* did have to drive my truck to be serviced and that she would speak with her and contact me back within an hour, she hasn't called back yet.  I have called twice and left two messages. I wouldn't be pursuing this issue if it was already cracked before hand and it there responsibility to replace it without any cost to me. 


Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

While it is certainly our desire to satisfy the wants of every customer, we fear that in this instance this is something we will be able to accomplish. It is not unusual for a customer to do a thorough examination of their vehicles after being left in our care - and it is not unusual for them to find items they had not previously noticed. Perhaps this is one of those instances - or perhaps not. But, regardless, we feel strongly that we were not responsible for a crack identified under the steering column.

As a gesture of goodwill, we will be happy to discuss a discount on a repair should ***. ******* wish.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

***** *******

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This happened while in there care.  I would not be pursuing this matter if it happened in my care. I just purchased this vehicle in June why would I look to pay an expense for something that I did not do that would be an extra bill on my behalf.  I don't accept their offer for a discount because I should not pay for something I did not damage. 

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We responded to ***. *******'s prior email with an offer of goodwill which she has rejected. At the time of her service ***. ******* asked if ** would cover the crack under a recall. ** will not cover repair of the crack. We will not cover the repair of the crack. We are sorry that she feels differently, but at this juncture, it is clear we will be unable to satisfy her wishes of a free repair.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I never asked for it be covered under a recall.  I simply stated that the piece under my steering wheel was not cracked when I brought it in for service.  The ******* ******* said she would talk to her supervisor who wasn't in at the time. When I  spoke to her again she said ** would do a goodwill for both for $400 and I  stated that I didn't inquire about getting my dash fixed because that minor crack was there when I  purchased it but the steering trim wasn't cracked.  I  don't understand why I they won't take responsibility for something that they did.  This is very stressful and frustrating because this happened a month after I purchased my vehicle and the only response that I'm getting is that this is a common problem and that I  should pay a deductible.  If it were cracked when I  purchased it I would have asked then about it getting it repaired or not get it all but that isn't the case here. My truck didn't  have that crack there when I took it there and when I noticed it before I  left I immediately brought it to the service advisor's attention.  I really don't think they understand my point. 

Regards,

********* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Vaden Chevrolet, Buick, GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart