BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rountree-Moore, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rountree-Moore, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 15
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rountree-Moore, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1925 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated: 01/01/1948 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Moore, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Rountree Moore Ford Toyota Rountree-Moore Chevrolet Cadillac Nissan Rountree-Moore Ford Kia Rountree-Moore Toyota
Additional Information

The Bureau has requested basic information from this company. The Bureau has not received a response.


Additional Locations

  • 2588 W. US Highway 90

    Lake City, FL 32055

  • P.O. Box 1647

    Lake City, FL 32056

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (386) 752-6933(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 11, 2014 I dropped off my vehicle at the collision center for repairs under my ***** insurance. The parts arrived on May 13, 2014 and it was estimated to take 12 business days to repair. On June 10, 2014 my vehicle was finally completed (after 16 business days). Now, however, the shop won't release my vehicle top me. They are holding it hostage because they claim that ***** owes them additional money for the repairs. This shop is a "***** express repair center" which according to the website means that the shop is supposed to be working with ***** to get any additional costs paid promptly to ensure "a hassle-free experience."

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my vehicle, a 2013 Toyota Corolla, released to me immediately.

Business Response: ***** was contacted and arrangements were made for Mr. ***** to pick up his vehcile.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used 2011 Kia Optima from Rountree ***** Ford on January 30th 2014. Car was supposed to be completely serviced, good tires, new alignment, oil changed etc. They asked us to bring car back another day and they would take care of everything. We brought it back (when we bought the car it had a low tire pressure light on) and when we got the car back it was off. They said everything was taken care of and so we left. Received a call shortly after asking for a copy of a pay stub that was already given to them once before but was misplaced on their behalf. We delivered another copy. Then March 20th we brought car in for oil change. We were given a receipt and the keys. Receipt stated all services done and charges made. Received a call April 22nd in regards to oil change done March 20th. We were told of suggestions that were made that day that were never gone over with us. We were never made aware that we were in need of a new alignment and 3 new tires which we would need to pay for. This was me and my fiancs first time buying a car and it has been a complete nightmare. When you buy a car I do believe all of those things should be tip top shape especially when the dealer selling you the car assures you that everything will be tip top shape for you if the decision is made to purchase the car. They have misplaced paperwork and have come off as very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: New alignment and new tires as promised.

Business Response:

I have made contact with Mrs. ********* and made arrangements to take care of the issues.

Thank You,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

We were contacted by Mr. ***** on the day of the filed complaint. He was concerned of our issues and was not hesitant to see our needs met. The results are very satisfactory.

 Thank you,

**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to rountree moore in lake city fl sat the 8th, to look for a used car. I asked the salesperson we worked with, ***** ****, if the car we were looking at had satellite radio, because if not, I did not want the car! she told me it did have it. my brother was with me and he also heard me ask. I contacted her the next business day, to let her know I did NOT have the module needed for the satellite radio. It was hours after closing when we left saturday night and they are not open on sunday, so I contacted her on monday. I called her and left her a message on voicemail, she never returned my call. She texted me and we texted a few times and she told me she would talk to her boss, *******, about it that night (Monday). It has been a few days and I still have not heard a word! I sent her another text message and an email on Wednesday and not a word back from her. I am very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I want my satellite radio installed. I should not have to pay someone else for what I was told was already included.

Business Response:

The part necessary for Mrs. ****** to have satellite radio has been ordered.  She will be contacted soon to schedule the installation at no charge.  We at Rountree-Moore would like to apologize for any inconvienience.

Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9*****9, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Should have it fixed soon!

Regards,

****** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE WENT IN FOR REPAIR FOR ROUGH AND SKIPS ISSUES , THEY RAN SAID THAT THEY RUN A CHECK ON THE CAR AN FOUND THE ISSUES. SO THEY SAID THAT THEY FIX THE ISSUES BUT THEY DID NOT FIX IT , SO WE TOOK IT BACK TO THEM THAN THEY SAUD IT WAS NOT ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR,SO WE WENT TO GET AGAIN THE IT WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WE FRIST TOOK IT IN FOR. SO THEY DO NOT FIX IT. so we contact the upper head they said that they will look into it that was no better, the tell us is an old car and would we like to get a new one the answer was no, we just want this one fix, so they look at it again now they came up with a another problem, an they want to charge us $1150.00 and they sould have fix the same problem the frist time because that we frist took it in for, they did all this work the frist time and said it was fix and it was not fix, we took it in three time for the same problem we are not willing to pay another $1000.00 for the the same problem that we took it in for.

Desired Settlement: they need to fix it or working out somthing else

Business Response: In April of 2013 Mr. ******* brought his 1990 Cadillac in with the
engine running rough.  We found the vehicle had bad spark plugs and wires
and replaced them.  In June Mr. ******* returned with the engine skipping
and missing.  We could not confirm the condition at that time.  In
September Mr. ******* returned with the same condition which was
verified.  The results of our diagnosis were that the air intake had
failed and was causing the issues.  We then advised Mr. ******* that due
to the fact that the vehicle had sat unused for an extended period of time that
it was going to be very costly to make the vehicle road worthy again and to
think long and hard about continuing to invest further as sitting unused for an
extended period is not recommended.  Mr. ******* declined further repairs
at that point.

 

Thank you,

***** ***** 

Consumer Response:


[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******* *******
the response is not true they said that they fix the problem they do not fix it at all, that's way the car was return back to them, them they said it was something else. If they did not know what it was they should have told was they just fix something to make money, that's is not wright.


BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent an online quote for a truck that they had posted on there website for $3,000. I sent my information into so I could get an online quote and they sent me back a quote of $3,000 that had the vin# and stock # of the truck. Well when i got that quote in I decided to call the dealership and purchase the truck over the phone since i live 2 hours away and did not want anyone else to buy it. I first asked him does your dealership honor the internet quotes and he said yes .When I told the guy the price they quoted me he told me thats not right and they could not sale it to me for the quoted price. I offered to email the sales guy my quoted price and he did not believe me and said that he would not honor that price.

Desired Settlement: I would like to buy the truck for the price that they quoted me for the price they quoted.

Business Response:

The vehicle in question has long since sold therefore Mr. ******’s desired outcome is not possible.  We would be glad to assist Mr. ****** in purchasing something similar.

 

Thank you,

***** ********* ******************** ***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While traveling in FL I had a tire problem. The Rountree-Moore Ford Dealer plugged the tire incorrectly and I'm fortunate the plug coming out of the tire did not cause an accident. I have tried to advise the dealership that this endangered me and I had to lose another day of my vacation, utilize my *** roadside assistance and have another Ford Dealership complete the repair of my tire correctly, which to date has held, and have only requested that they at least refund my money for the repair and the expense of faxing documents to them, only to be mocked. I did speak with the Service Mgr., ***** ********, who belittled me and would not honor the disrepair. I then was only able to leave a message for ***** ******e, the Mgr. Of the dealership and he had ***** call me only to mock and speak very rudely to me. I have been patient and given this dealership many opportunities to amend this situation and quite honestly have been a loyal Ford customer for many years. I would think they would treat a loyal customer better than this.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $23.12 for the inefficient repair and $5.00 for the fax charge that ***** ******** advised me to send.

Business Response:


Today the desired $23.12 for the inefficient repair and $5.00 for the fax charge  will be sent to the customer.

****** ***
HR Manager  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This particular dealership's website, rountreemoorekia.com offers "Internet Pricing" on select vehicles. Upon visiting the dealership and mentioning the "Internet Pricing" one is told that 'pricing' only includes those eligible for military discounts, education rebates and customer loyalty rebates. There is NO indication of this on the website, and when asked, a gentleman named ****** came over to the computer, clicked on a few screens and pulled up the privacy information screen and said, "it's in there, you have to find it". My belief is, if "Internet Pricing" is listed, one chooses to make a purchase based upon that and visits the dealership and receives the deal for finding it via the internet.

Desired Settlement: Rountree Moore KIA, and all affiliated branded dealerships owned by this automotive group need to be required to specifically list any rebates that are tied to their special "Internet Pricing" or remove this feature from their website, as it is deemed false advertisement in my opinion. If an "Internet Price" is listed on their website, that price should be valid and given to customers. If this price is tied to rebates, etc, they need to provide that in writing.

Business Response:

In response to complaint *******, Rountree Moore Auto Group has re-evaluated the manner in which disclosure statements are displayed on our web site. While the price is accurate and the statement of good faith with the qualifying discounts was present; the customer did have to click several times to determine what the discounts were for. Rountree Moore desires to be as transparent as possible in our business practices. As a result of this misunderstanding, we have moved the disclaimer statement to be displayed right under the price of the vehicle. This will be much more visible for the consumer.

We also have attempted to speak to Mr. ******* in regard to our disclaimer statement revisions, but have been unsuccessful in reaching him.  
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Sincerely,
 
**** ****** *********
Rountree Moore Auto Group

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9613730, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The business did leave a message for me yesterday and I have not had a moment to call back. I have read their response and it is acceptable that they have made this effort to listen and to make the needed change to be more transparent in what is shown as "internet price" and how it is determined. I did take a quick moment between schedules at work to glance at their website and the changes have been done. I feel this will definitely assist others in the future when browsing their site.

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service