BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mike Murphy Kia

Phone: (912) 342-4190 Fax: (912) 342-4194 View Additional Phone Numbers 6150 Altama Ave, Brunswick, GA 31525 http://www.mikemurphykia.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike Murphy Kia include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mike Murphy Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 15, 2008 Business started: 09/01/2008 in GA Business started locally: 09/01/2008 Business incorporated: 09/01/2007 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Murphy Sr., CEO/Owner Mr. Mike Murphy Jr., Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Murphy Sr., CEO/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Tire Dealers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Hometown Motors IV, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6150 Altama Ave

    Brunswick, GA 31525 (912) 342-4190 (800) 836-3934

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 836-3934(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started at mike murphy kia in brunswick. I was avoided by the first salesman who asked to help me because he "couldn't make any money off of me!" I then went to a different salesman who got me approved. After heading 45 minutes to choose my car I was told id have to fork out a large deposit to the bank to get it. Discouraged and angry for the bad service and false approval I decided we should leave. When we went to walk away they suggested we try their ford dealership in darien. We went for it and got an approval. They were even willing to work on my down payment. Part right then and the other portion on a certain date that was agreed upon by salesman and sales manager. My husband and father in law were there and were witnesses to this agreement. We were told to put the current date on check because it is illegal to post date. We said ok and verified several times that we would be safe to give them this check until we got paid on the 26th. Well it already came out EARLY and ruined our bank account and now we may possibly be kicked out of our home because our rent check cannot go through. I called and have not got a prompt response as to how they plan on fixing it. I am very disappointed with this whole experience. To top it all off the guy who sold us the car supposedly quit or got fired. I feel like they played me for a fool just to get my money with no regard to keeping their word on our arrangement! Very poor service and I am not satisfied with how I have been treated. I have tried to give them the chance to fix it but I feel my situation is not important to them.

Desired Settlement: They should have to compensate me somehow, especially the fees I have accrued because of this and just something for all the aggravation...I dont know. Just show me that my problem matters.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern,

My name is **** ****** ** and I spoke with ******** **** the same day this compaint was emailed to me-Friday March 21st. I agreed to cut her a check and have it mailed to her for the inconvienence. This matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ****** **

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern,I purchased a vehicle through Mike Murphy Kia in 2012. I then had a lot of issues with my 2013 kia Optima throughout the year. I called and complained about my issues, and they talked me into purchasing a new 2014 Kia optima at the same amount I owed on my 2013. Included with this new purchase would be free oil changes for life at any dealer, as well as full window tint. Thinking what my salesman Oliver had told me was true information I tried to get an oil change at the Kia dealer in North, GA. When I got to the dealer, they told me they didn't see anything about Oil changes in my file. I immediately called Mike Murphy Kia in Brunswick, Ga. I spoke with Taylor the service manager, she told me she would have a manager call me as soon as possible. Within ten minutes, Oliver my salesman called me with a response. He had told me he NEVER said I could go to ANY dealership for free oil changes. I know 100 percent, that is was I was told or I would have never made the deal. My husband is Military so we are always moving around, that is why I know he told me I could go anywhere for oil changes. He then proceeded to tell me I was "hearing things", that he "never said that", and that "I was wrong". I then told him I needed to please speak with a manager, and he flat out told me "no". I then told him again, I need to speak with your manager, please put him on the phone. Oliver responded by saying " you will not tell my manager that I said that" and HUNG UP ON ME!! I am sorry but any professional would never hang up on a customer, especially when I have purchased two vehicles through them. I called the dealership back and I could hear oliver screaming in the background about myself and I felt very angry he was speaking of me this way in front of his colleges and potential customers. I then told the girl at the reception desk I needed to speak with a manager immediately or I would be going to Kia corporate and the BBB. She said she had given him the information, he NEVER called.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should get what I was told, getting oil changes for life at ANY dealer. I do not think it is fare I was told one things, and told I was "hearing things" by my salesman. I also think Oliver needs to be spoken to about how he treats his customers. I have had the WORST luck with this dealership, and will NEVER purchase a Kia ever again because of it.

Business Response:

Called and left a message with the customer. Free oil changes are good for our store only for oblivious reasons- it's a courtesy for our customers and we pay for them to keep all records and maintenance. Have attempted to call customer and explain. We will offer reimbursement for this one but future oil changes are only good at Mike Murphy Kia in Brunswick. 
Sincerely,

**** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2009 KIA Borrego LX 12/22/2011 i paid $10,000 down and made payments of 282.89 until 5/10/2012 i then financed it at my local bank where i paid 367.68 on 4-11-2013 the suv burned from a unknown fire under dash. the suv had a box to scan before you could crank it. I have searched other suv just like mine but i havent found any security boxes and the hot spot was where the box was in my suv.

Desired Settlement: $10,000.00 down payment plus $5,461.24 and all my items lost to this defect of fire. Which is around $3,000. Total $18,461.24. If Mike Murphy dosent want to then i will be forced to take the next step to legal actions.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Conern:

On behalf on Mike Murphy Kia I am responding to a complaint we received from a ****** ******. I do want to point out the fact that I found the complaint in the junk box of my email today on 5/29/13 and the complaint was sent on 5/21/13. I have not heard directly from ****** and the email adress in the complaint is different then the one we have on file here at the store. Regardless, we want to help ****** resolve this issue in any way that we can and take care of our customer. Please have her contact me directly *** *** ****.

Sincerely,

**** ****** **

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9551285

I am rejecting this response because:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9551285, and I never met Mr. Murphy after the SUV burned. Yes I dropped gap insurance due to I got it refinanced at my locate bank and I got gap through them. I'm happy with my car but I feel Mike Murphy should at least be head responsible for the black box m2m that was installed. If Mr. Murphy wasn't worried about it why did he ask me to take it off BBB and scheduled a meeting so him,his dad and myself could sit down and talk about what happen. If he doesn't want to try and settle this I will have no other choice but to seek legal advice. I have already been in contact with a lawyer and was gonna pursue with it until Mr. Murphy called and wanted to meet. But I will pick it back up fine doesn't want to settle this matter. I also will like for Mr.Murphy to know that what he is telling people on the radio is misleading people. Next step is a lawyer.

 

Regards,

****** Rogers

 

 

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

   On behalf of myself and all our associates at Mike Murphy Kia we are so unhappy to hear about your accident. I beleive that this is an insurance matter as discussed when we met in person. We would be more than happy to try and trade you out of your current vehicle for a lower payment if possible. Our records indicate that you cancelled gap insurance and the extended warranty on the Borrego May 15th, 2012. Had you not cancelled thrgap insurance the gap insurance company would have paid the balance on the vehicle plus your deducatable. I share in your frustration.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and I never met Mr. Murphy after the SUV burned. Yes I dropped gap insurance due to I got it refinanced at my locate bank and I got gap through them. I'm happy with my car but I feel Mike Murphy should at least be head responsible for the black box m2m that was installed. If Mr. Murphy wasn't worried about it why did he ask me to take it off BBB and scheduled a meeting so him,his dad and myself could sit down and talk about what happen. If he doesn't want to try and settle this I will have no other choice but to seek legal advice. I have already been in contact with a lawyer and was gonna pursue with it until Mr. Murphy called and wanted to meet. But I will pick it back up fine doesn't want to settle this matter. I also will like for Mr.Murphy to know that what he is telling people on the radio is misleading people. Next step is a lawyer.

Regards,

 

****** Rogers

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1