BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Kia of Orange Park

Phone: (904) 771-6078 View Additional Phone Numbers 6373 Blanding Blvd. , Jacksonville, FL 32244 http://www.kiaoforangepark.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia of Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kia of Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 04, 2008 Business started: 12/16/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated: 07/01/2008 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E. Hogan, Vice President/COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
R. H. Cars, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 238-5293(Phone)
  • (864) 662-4855 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called in to Kia Of Orange Park because there was an ad on television about the 2014 Kia Soul for purchase and not for lease. When I called to speak with someone about the ad, ***** ***** told me, "If I think that I'm going to pay for a brand new 2014 Kia Soul for $12,000 I had another thing coming." He also said that the 2014 Kia Soul was not a purchase it was a lease, but I have proof from their ad that it is a purchase.

Desired Settlement: I would like some compensatory recompense towards the purchase of a 2014 Kia Soul.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this to my attention. I have spoken with those involved and determined the following:

 
Customer was informed it was a purchase, the price was $12888.00. An appointment was set up for Saturday for him to come in and see the car. However, customer can lease or purchase at that price. Completely up to customer.
 
If customer has any questions he can conga **** *********, General Manager, at ###-###-####. Kurt is there and will be glad to assist further.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used Kia Soul at the end of September. A couple weeks later I got a letter from Kia asking me to trade in that car for a new car and that they would get me a great deal. I came in and looked around and found a 2013 Kia Soul that I really liked. I traded in the 2012 Soul for the 2013 Soul on October 23, 2013. As of today (2/4/14) I still have not received my sticker for my transferred tag. My tag expired on 1/26/14. I have been into the dealership about 6 times trying to get this resolved. Each time, *** told me he would take care of it. He has not. He assured me that he would talk to ***** in tags and get me a new sticker along with the refund check they owed me. I finally got a hold of ***** myself on Friday morning (1/31/14) and she tells me that *** has NEVER said a word to her about any of this. This tells me that either *** is a liar, or ***** is a liar. Either way, one is definitely a liar. ***** then tells me that she will have my sticker and refund check ready for me to come pick up on Monday (2/3/14) and to call her first to make sure. I call ***** at 4:45pm, giving her plenty of time during the day to get what they owe me, and she tells me that the tag is in, but she was too busy to cut me a new check (a check they have owed me since 10/23/13). Every time I have had a problem, whether in the dealership or on the phone, I have asked to speak to the owner or a general manager. Every time I have been denied that request. I have left messages for the general manager, (**** or ****, I've only heard his name mentioned once) and have not received a call back. To top it all off, I was told that the car I purchased was brand new and the reason for having almost 1500 miles was that it was a demo car. My paperwork says they sold me a new car. I have recently discovered that this car was registered and insured by someone else a month before I bought it. That does not sound like a NEW car to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my tag sticker and my refund check overnight mailed to me immediately. I am no longer wasting my time and money on gas driving to the dealership just to be told they don't have what they owe me. I want to find out which associate is lying to me and I want the general manager to take action against that employee along with an apology about how I was treated.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding to my attention. **** ********* will reach out personally to customer and resolve the issue.

 
Thank you, 
 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Mr. ********* was extremely helpful in resolving this issue.  He brought me my sticker and check out to my job site along with a couple of free oil changes and car washes.  He was very apologetic.  I still believe that ***** was the one who caused all of these problems, along with the finance guy who couldn't seem to transfer an address accurately onto the paperwork.  ***** was rude from the very beginning to both me and my mom and her attitude told me that her work was more important than helping a customer each time I had to deal with her.  I sincerely hope, for the sake of your business, that she is dealt with appropriately before this kind of thing happens again.  Art, although treated me with respect and told me what I wanted to hear, never seemed to follow through with anything he told me.  I feel like if he would have followed up with ***** to make sure she did what he told her to do, this would have been resolved a long time ago as well.

 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband ,******* *****, and I, ******* *****, purchased a 2014 kia forte from kia of orange park on October 29, 2013. On friday Novemeber 1, 2013 my husband recieved a phone call stating for us to come up and re-sign paperwork. On saturday we both drove there to find out that the bank they said they got us approved through fell through and we had to sign with a new bank. They also said we now had to put $500 down on top of our trade when before they said we did not need to put any cash money down since our trade was valued at $4175. We told them we could write a check but it could not be cashe until My, ******* *****', next paycheck which would be November 14, 2013. On November 13, 2013 Kia of Orange Park cashed the check for $500 one day earlier than we agreed which then bounced our account and we were charged a $35 fee. It took 3 days to get ahold of someone who could help me on the phone so I went to Kia of Orange Park and they put a request in to repay me for the overdraft fee since they cashed my check early. I recieved the $35 check from Kia via USPS and deposited it into my account. I now recieved a notice from my bank, Bank Of America, stating that the check was returned and I was charged a $12 fee! So now Kia owes me $47 and I am upset because they should not have cashed my check early, then when they gave me the $35 check, I deposited it and it was returned from the bank for non sufficient funds so they took the $35 fee out of my account and added a $12 fee for returned check service fee. I dont understand why it is taking over a month to get resolved! We have been lied to and taken advantage of!

Desired Settlement: I want the $47 back to recover the $35 overdraft fee charged from my bank because Kia of Orange Park cashed my check early and I want the $12 fee back for the returned check fee that I recieved for cashing the bad check they gave me.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I have asked that our controller, *** **** ********** get in touch with ******* and resolve the matter. 

 
Sincerely, 
 
** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 22, 2013Kia Motors AmericaP.O. Box 52410Irving, CA 92619-2410To whom it may concern:On October 19, 2013 my wife and I went to KIA of Orange Park, Jacksonville, FL to purchase a new KIA Sorrento. We explained to the salesman, *** ********* we wanted a V6. ********y took us to a 2014 Sorrento with the 3rd row seat that my wife really liked. We did not realize the 2014 KIA Sorrento LX we purchased was a 4 cylinder until after the sale was complete. We brought in a letter from KIA stating they would give us 110% trade in for my 2011 KIA Forte. I do not believe we received the correct amount for the trade in and when I asked a Sales Manager, Arthur Ayers I believe he skirted the issue and I cannot recall exactly what he stated.We believed we were purchasing a 2014 KIA Sorrento with a V6 and 3rd row seat and it was financed with KIA motors. We had this set up with our Allstate agent to show the lien holder as KIA motors. We later found out the vehicle was financed with Sun Trust Bank. The V6 EX we eventually ended with was financed by Ally Bank yet none of the paper work showed which company financed the vehicle.On October 25, 2013 I took the vehicle back to the dealer because of loud noises in the engine and was told the vehicle was recalled for a bad motor and they would put a new motor in the vehicle. I drove the LX vehicle for only 110 miles. The service department gave me a loaner car to drive while my car was in the shop. The parts department called me the following Wednesday stating my parts was in and asked I make an appointment so they could install the gaskets etc. I explained I did not own that vehicle. (It appears they were not going to replace the motor as I was told). I spoke to ********y explaining we could not trust that vehicle. ********y stated he was concerned about his 2013 Sorrento and asked the service department to check his vehicle VIN. ********y also stated the General Manager, Jeffery Norman would allow us to return the 4 cylinder vehicle. On October 26, 2013 my wife and I arrived at the dealership, meeting with ********y who stated they were giving us a new vehicle with the V6 motor that we wanted in the first place but without the 3rd row seat and they were giving us the full purchase price back for the 4 cylinder LX. (Our understanding was the deal would be as if the 4 cylinder LX vehicle was not involved in the trade). The net effect was we traded our 2011 Forte for the 2014 Sorrento with a V6 EX.On October 31, 2013 we went to the dealership and asked to speak with the *** ******. *** ****** was not available so we spoke with a Sales Manager, Don Monahan. We brought to Monahans attention the amount allowed for the trade in (4 cylinder LX.) of $27,000.00. We paid $30,145.00 ($29547.00 + $599.00) before (taxes, extended warranty etc.). Monahan dismissed our contention by stating there are taxes, extended warranty etc. Monahan also stated they cannot resell the 4 cylinder LX as a new car. I stated the vehicle was on recall for a bad motor and should have never been sold in the first place. I asked what he could do and Monahan agreed to give us an installed trailer hitch which was installed on November 2, 2013.We believe we paid an additional $3,146 for the 2014 KIA Sorrento EX with the V6. A difference that we should not have paid. If the dealership had given us the vehicle we asked for, none of this nightmare would have happened. This dealership has manipulated the numbers to pacify our inquiries. Others problems (to name only a few) with this deal are as follows: On October 26, 2013, ********y stated the Sirius Radio was for 6 months yet we received a letter from Sirius today stating it expires is 3 months, January 19, 2014. On October 27, 2013, I asked ********y about the directional display on the mirror and was told it is on the dash. It is not in this vehicle per the manufacture of the mirror that I spoke to. The Forte should have been paid off by October 29, 2013 but was not paid until November 4, 2013 causing a under payment that the dealer paid. On November 21, 2013 I spoke to the accounting department believing I should have received the registration for the V6 as the temporary tag expires on November 24, 2013. I was told they had just mailed the paperwork to the Florida registry on November 21, 2013.This deal is so confusing and we do not believe the whole deal can be explained because we feel KIA of Orange Park is not a reputable dealership that manipulates the explanations to get you out the door!We believe every financed vehicle must be explained to the purchaser exactly how much is being financed, who financed the vehicle and how much the vehicle cost, amount of trade in, taxes, fees etc. Explaining exactly how the amount financed is determined. This is just a good business practice that prevents the problems we have experienced.Respectfully,

Desired Settlement: Refund the difference of $3,146.00.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. *** **** *********, store manager has reached out to the customer and has resolved this issue.

 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you and *** **** ********* for resolving this issue.

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1