BBB Accredited Business since

Kia of Orange Park

Phone: (904) 771-6078 View Additional Phone Numbers 6373 Blanding Blvd. , Jacksonville, FL 32244 http://www.kiaoforangepark.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia of Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kia of Orange Park include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Kia of Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kia of Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2008 Business started: 12/16/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated 07/01/2008 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E. Hogan, Vice President/COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
R. H. Cars, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kia of Orange Park has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6373 Blanding Blvd.

    Jacksonville, FL 32244

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name Is ****** ******* i am a single mother of 2 small children a dull time worker and a Navy Veteran. I moved to Jacksonville Florida 1 year ago for a better life for myself and most importantly my children. In taking those necessary steps to better ourselves I went to Orange Park Kia to purchase a vehicle. I let the salesman know i had no down payment whatsoever. I was completely transparent. the salesman at that time went and ran my credit he then had me call a cosigner to which i obliged. After running the credit for myself and my co-signer we were told we were approved. We were were offered a deal on 7/16/2016 of no money down and payments of $410 per month. We signed the papers with Josh Morris in finance we were given the keys and told the vehicle is ours.We received temporary tags and were told they had processed for the regular plates. We also were told we needed to obtain full coverage insurance so we can take the vehicle home. I obtained and paid for a full coverage policy through ***** and even had the vehicle inspected. I stayed in touch with either my sales rep or the finance department on a regular basis because i never heard back on my tags etc. EVERY TIME i spoke to finance he told me MY TERMS were the same no changes everything looked good. On 8/1/2016 i recieved a call from Orange Park Kia when i called back i was bounced from person to person finally someone in finance told me they didnt get me a deal and i need to return the vehicle. I explained wht i had been told explained i purchased insurance and everything basd of the contracts my cosigner and signed at the time of purchase. My cosigner also contacted ia of Orange Park and was advised they could legally do this to us . However if i am to understand under Florida Statute 501.976 Actionable, unfair, or deceptive acts or practices it is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, actionable under the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, for a dealer to:- (9) Obtain signatures from a customer on contracts that are not fully completed at the time the customer signs or which do not reflect accurately the negotiations and agreement between the customer and the dealer. When my cosigner called he was told now the only way we could do a deal was by providing $5000 down. However we had already discussed and agreed upon and signed to 0 down $410 per month. Since I had already been in the car 18 days and insured it and was driving it I have no set my life activities, work and the activities of my children around having this vehicle. To then be contacted and told you need to bring that car back today. 18 days later. No consideration was given to the fact that i work and i have two children there was no effort on their part to at least have the empathy and the general human decency to say we made a mistake we apologize and own up to it understanding how this may inconvenience you we give you this amount of days to figure something out and bring us the vehicle. I feel lied to mislead manipulated. The behavior of Orange Par Kia and everyone involved in this deal was simply egregious I am hopeful that you can assist me in finding the appropraite steps or actions that i will need to tae going forward. As Eleanor Roosevelt said "freedom makes a huge requirement of every human being. With freedom comes responsibility. For the person who is unwilling to grow up, the person who does not want to carry his own weight, this is a frightening prospect. Justice cannot be for one side alone, but must be for both. Orange Park Kia should not be allowed to treat people this way especially not a single mother and definately not a veteran. Due to being told this was my vehicle. This is my primary and only means of transportation at his point in time. Orange ParK Kia needs to stand by their initial agreement we signed for on 7/16/2016..************************** **** ****** *******

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for Kia Of Orange Par k to honor the terms they agreed to. in refernce to the purcahse of the 2014K ia soul plus

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I have reviewed the complaint and wish to respond.

Kia of Orange Park does not finance vehicles per se; we do, as a customer service convenience and to expedite the transaction, work with certain third party lenders. These lenders make the sole determination as to whether the customer is approved for financing, as well as the terms and conditions. They use criteria such as time on job, time at residence, past and current credit history, income, and debt to income, etc etc.. We make our best effort to assist the customer in this endeavour, however, the third party lender has the final say. Sadly in this case they would not approve under the, terms and conditions requested by customer. We often will "Conditionally Deliver" the vehicle to a customer and we explain both verbally and in writing that the vehicle is Conditionally Delivered pending third party approval. This is exactly what was done in this case. The was fully explained to this customer. Quite simply, there was no fraud, deception, or misrepresentation perpetrated on this customer.

Please understand that there would be absolutely no advantage to Kia of Orange Park for a customer NOT to be approved by the third party lender. We are in the business of selling cars, we want to get everyone approved.

The customer has the ability to seek and obtain credit on their own; they do not have to use our services.

We value this customer and her service to our country. We regret that the third party lenders would not approve. We tried our best.

 

Sincerely, 

 

****** *****

 

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/05/15 I traded my 2013 Chevy Malibu for a 2016 Kia Sorento. Over a month later the loan for the Chevy still haven't been paid off! Today is 12/12/15 and I spoke to **** in the finance department of Kia to find out why the process was taking so long and to explain that I now have a negative hit on my credit because of it. I was told by **** that they waited on me for 5 days... so I guess that's why I'm waiting now. That "maybe" Monday or Tuesday it will be handled. I'm still getting constant calls from my bank because the loan account is considered delinquent..even though I no longer have the Chevy. I can't use my debit card or get access to my money because there's a hold on my account because of the delinquent car loan...even though I no longer have the Chevy. It seems as though Kia employees that I spoke to...don't even care about what I'm going through! Like **** said...without saying...I'm being punished because they waited on me for 5 days.

Desired Settlement: Apology and correction to report!

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. Please ask customer to reach out to Mr. Kurt Obermeyer at Kia of Orange Park - **** would be glad to assist. Call at ###-###-####.


Thank you

10/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 6th, I purchased a 2015 kia soul; I was given temporary tags that day. Around July 18th I went back into sign a new contract for a lower monthly payment and lower apr. They asked me to bring in all of my paperwork again. August 4th I had to go back to the dealership for new temporary tags as they said they were still working on everything. August 10th I called again to see if we still owed our first payment on the 20th and they said yes. I asked how to pay and they said to call closer to payment due date. August 17th I called again and was again told that they are working on it to call again on my due date. (please note that I am speaking to the front desk lady as I am told every time that the finance manager is with someone, I leave my info and they never return my call) August 20th I call trying to find out how to pay my first payment. I am told again he is with a client that they are open until 9pm to call later. I find my contract and call again 2 hours later (because the manager has not called me back) The manager is still busy but the front desk lady said that if I had my contract I could get the bank name and pay them. So I looked and it says kia motors financial, she gives me the number and I contact them. Only to be told that they can bring up my soul by the vin number but have no account for me for me to call kia dealership again. But that my bill is infact due today and that it will not be reported to the credit bureau for 30 days. Also said that if it does get reported before I can make a payment that Kia of orange park should write a letter and get it taken off since I can pay my bill; I just have to wait until I have an account to do so. I called Kia of orange park for the 4th time and told them what the bank said. She said that she had given the manager my info but that he was very busy and assured me that he would call me back. I called kia consumers number and explained everything, while they were apologetic they could not help me and told me to call kia dealership again. After calling kia of orange park again and being told that I still can not talk to anyone the front desk lady tells me that the manager said he is still working on getting my account set up. Desperate to find out something I called Kia motors financial again, who understood my concern and put me on hold to see if they could figure out anything. They were able to tell me that July 30th they sent some paper work back to the dealership and have not received them back; that if the dealership needed anything else from me that they should have contacted me. They advised me to go to the dealership to try to get this resolved since I am not able to get a return call from the dealership. They also notated that I am calling and trying to pay my bill but that they cant take any money until they have an account number; which cant be given until they have all the paperwork back from the dealership. The DMV here told me that I can only have two temporary tags, my second tag will expire September 4th. I am to the point that I didn't know what else I can do and so am reaching out to you for help. Also on a side note: the paperwork we were given from the dealership shows my car with a msrp of 18,999 but on my contract and paperwork shows me paying 21,999 before any taxes or extra fees. Is there a reason that I am paying well above the msrp?

Desired Settlement: I would like this to resolved and me given an account number so that I can pay my bill. I would also like my contract changed so that I am paying the MSRP. Additionally I would like the real tag for my car so that it does not become illegal to drive. Or allow me to return the vehicle and receive my down payment back in full ($500) with this experience not impacting my credit in a negative light or me owing anything additionally to kia. Allowing me to wash my self of the situation completely. thank you.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I will ask our managing partner there in Jacksonville , Mr. **** *********, to reach out to this customer and see if they can resolve her concerns.

Thank you, 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is the same thing they have been telling me since I signed the second contract. Saying you will have them call me or resolve this matter but not actually following through and getting me an account number does not resolve the manner. In 29 days this will hit my credit for no payment, right now my payment is currently late but without an account number I can not pay it. I do not want this to affect my credit and can not make my payments if I don't have an account number to pay them on. So while I appreciate them saying that the local manager will reach out to me it does not help me, as the local manager knows about this situation and has done nothing to help resolve it. Kia motors financial sent Kia of orange park back the contract and requested additional paperwork on July 30th, 2015; they can not go further without getting the forms back. Kia just keeps saying they are working on it; but almost a month after the have requested is enough time; this manner needs to be resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Mr. ********* has reached out and spoken with them. They are aware of certain items that they have agreed to provide in order to have the loan funded. Without such information, the loan will be denied and the car must be returned. We are doing our best to assist. They must do their part.

***

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It states tax tag and title in the promotions for the purchase of a vehicle but after they get you to buy the vehicle and your tag comes in your sent a letter stating that you owe them money for the tag.I was not aware that I had to pay them f8r a tag when I was told it was included in the price of the vehicle. If you cant hold up to your word when its always put into the price of the vehicle you should tell people before they buy a car. I will never go back to them again.

Desired Settlement: I would like the tag given ro me like it should included in the price of the vehicle.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention and the opportunity to respond.

Kia of Orange Park does not establish the price for state tax and registration fees, nor do we profit on these items in any way. Upon the purchase of the automobile we estimate, based on a what the state provides, the cost of such fees. The majority of the time the estimate is higher than the actual charges and we in fact return money to the customer. However, in some cases there is an additional charge. This is disclosed to the customer at time of purchase.
We are sorry the customer is unhappy, however, as I have previously stated, these charges are not dealership fees or financial items we control. It is a legitimate state charge.
Thank you, 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I was not explained I would be charged for the tag. Nothing was stated to me that I would have to pay an additional charge.

Regards,

*** ******

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have included all the information about the situation. The primary nature of my complain, apply to just a few items. You just be the judge. I also have copies to prove my problem. Please let me know where to send this information, it doesnt give me the option to do the attachement. 10/5/14 My husband (******* ******** and I (******* *******) decided to buy a *** **** at KIA of Orange Park. Mr. ****** ******* came to show us the car and the next day at 1:00 pm we were there to buy the car. Mr. *******, a very attentive and helpful salesman helped us through the entire process, and we made it very clear to him that the car needed to be free of any accidents and vibrations because of a previous bad experience we had with another dealer. My husband also asked for the ****** report on the car, but Mr. ******* was trying to hurry through the paperwork, because that Sunday there was another person trying to buy the car at the same time and we forgot about it. The first week the car was running ok, but into the second week one day I was running late to work and was going 80 mph and that’s when I felt the vibration of the car. On 10/23/14 I went to the dealer, but they told me that the vibration was normal on these cars and to not worry about it. I made them aware that I didn’t believe it was normal and that if it happened again I would come back. On 10/30/14 I went back to the dealer because the vibration continued and they told me that they had run the car and didn’t notice anything wrong and they cannot do anything about it. On 10/31/14 the engine light came on and the next day 11/1/14 the tire light came on. I took photos of the lights while they were on to show proof. The engine light went off by itself on 11/3/14. That same day I went after work to the dealer and told them that they’ve been telling me nothing is wrong with the car and I was telling them about the lights that were turning on and I showed the photos I had to Mr. ****** a service department worker because he didn’t believe me. Mr. ****** told me to bring the car the next day, but I was busy at work and I called Mr. ****** ******* to excuse myself that I would be there the next day. On 11/5/14 I had met with Mr. ****** in the service department and he had told me that I would have to pay for all services with the car because it had no guarantee on it. And he insisted I would have to pay everything myself. I then went over to the ******** Mr.*** and Mr. ******* and explained to them about me having to pay for the services on the car, and I told them that’s not fair it’s not my fault and they could keep the car, or trade-in for another one. Mr. *** then personally went up to ****** and had told him I do not need to pay for the services. Mr. ****** came up to me to sign paperwork, I asked him what it was that I was signing? He said that it was consent to work on the car and another for an audio system upgrade that was found to be recalled on the car afterwards. I had signed 4 papers front and back. At the same time I let him know about the wheel lock key and that I needed the key because I never received it. And he said they didn’t have it and I needed to buy the whole set. And once again I said I would not pay for it, and went back to Mr. ******* and Mr. *** to explain the issue now and Mr. ****** had followed me as I went to them and Mr. *** had asked Mr. ****** where the key was? And he responded that he didn’t know where the key was and that the car wasn’t inspected, and they continued to argue back and forth about the key and Mr. *** told Mr. ****** that it was his responsibility to have the key and that he would pay for it. And that I would not be responsible for it. I also asked Mr. ****** for the paperwork that I signed and he said I didn’t need to have it. And I insisted I needed it for records and he then told me it’s for them only and I could not have copies and I said once more I need the papers I signed and he came back and gave me back only 2 papers and left afterwards. And when he came back I asked for the rest of the paperwork and he said once again I didn’t need them because the other 2 pages that were missing were just in case something were to happen I could not sue them. I then told him he was a liar because that wasn’t explained to me, and that if I knew that, I would not have signed it and that he needed to bring back the papers because I was going to write on it I don’t recognize it and he told me he cannot give them back to me. He then left and never came back with the copies. I went to his ******* and he said that the papers did not state that, and he gave me a copy of what I signed but without my signature. The papers did state what Mr. ****** said about not being able to sue them afterwards. I asked the ******* for the ****** on the car and he only gave me “Kia History”. After about an hour Mr. ****** had come back and told me the car was fixed that it was unbalanced. As I drove home, the car started vibrating once again but instead of at 80mph it was at 40 mph!!!! I Immediately turned back around and went to the dealer and approached a salesman outside and told him to ride in the car with me to see that it was worse, and he told me he did not feel anything in the car and I turned to him and said to” Tell me the truth that the car was vibrating at 40mph” and he then told me that the vibration was NORMAL in these cars and when we went back to the dealer he would let me drive a newer car to prove to me that it was normal, and I did drive it and it did do the same thing , and I told him that if I would have felt the vibration in the car at the beginning ,I would not buy it because it’s not NORMAL and I’m not stupid. Going home on the highway I was driving at 80mph and the vibration was at its worst! not only did you feel, but heard the vibration. That same night I saw a 50+ years’ experienced mechanic and he looked at the car, and he told me it could be the tire air pressure, to let them know about that. And I took it back to the dealer and told them that and they did release some pressure, but the car continued the same. 11/7/14 Next day I took the car to prestige auto imports to get a second opinion on the car, and after they drove the car they told me it could be a bad tire, that even if they are new they can be bad. Or maybe it was in an accident and something was wrong. I went back to Kia in the morning and spoke to a lady in the service area and said it was still vibrating and I left the car there. And when I came back from work I stopped by the dealer to pick up the car, they told me nothing was found wrong and it was “NORMAL”!!! At that moment I was very upset and stated that “I don’t want the car, because I made it very clear to Mr. ****** in the beginning that I did not want a damaged car or with any vibration. That I did not trust that it was “NORMAL”!!! That they would need to return my money or give me a trade-in “. Then another ******* came in and told me that could not be done. And I told them that “I was going to go somewhere else for another opinion, and that if they tell me there was anything wrong, that they would be responsible for the repairs”, but that before I go I needed in writing that they are going to pay me back. They brought me back a paper stating that they would pay for a diagnostic, but not fixing anything and they would give me the money back. 11/10/14 I went to *** **** of ******** at **** ***** ****** **** ** *****, phone#************, asked to speak with the ******* Mr. **** and explained that I need a diagnostic and he told me he would personally do the job. My son and I were there and he told us that after running the diagnostic 3 out of the 4 tires were bad. 11/11/14 I returned to Sun tire and they did an alignment diagnostic (they never charged me)! And the problem was worse than I expected, they even gave me copies of the before and after pictures. Because they tried to fix it, but the ******* told me it wasn’t fixable and it was a manufacturing issue and they can’t do anything about it. They even made a note stating “one or more values are not within specifications. Tire wear, handling and safety problems may result”. That same night I went to the dealership and I didn’t recognize anyone there, and I asked for a *******. They brought me ******* *********** and I let him know about the problem that I was having, and he told me that the bank and I would be responsible for the car not them anymore. I explained to him that they said to take the car for a diagnostic and to bring back the results. And he raised his voice very loud! And said” What did I want from them, that it was my responsibility because I bought a used car”. I asked him for the ****** or previous owner car history, and he was trying to intimidate me and paced towards another desk and threw a pencil across the table, and that “Who did I think I was? That it’s a previous owner history and that’s personal!!!” he was screaming and raising his hands and he said to me” he wasn’t going to deal with me because I was crazy!!!” And then I told him that if they don’t do anything I wanted my money back or trade-in. because I’ve been asking from the beginning for this, but they were always lying to me. He told me maybe they can do a refinance and I told him that if they did that, it would be more expensive that way. And he said very loudly “This is crazy, I’m not going to deal with this no more”! And I told him “I will see you tomorrow and if I have to bring the news I will”. I then left the dealer. Earlier that same day I already contacted the Kia headquarters, and spoke with ****** ***********, and let her know all the problems with the tires. And as soon as this other incident happened with ***********. I called again and spoke with ****** at 9:00pm and told him everything about the attitude and I was very upset, crying and with very high blood pressure and did not sleep the whole night. Because I did not know Mr. ***********, and did not do anything to him for him to be yelling at me or to be with attitude towards me. 11/12/14 around 1pm I tried to talk with *******, but here extension wasn’t working so another worker had advised me to go to another Kia (********) to be further assisted. At 1:30 pm I arrived to ******** Kia, I asked to speak with the ******* and asked for the ******, and I explained that Kia of Orange Park didn’t give it to me. That the headquarters told me to come here, because the car wasn’t working properly and I wanted to know what could be done to fix it. He went to give me the ******, but I saw him make a phone call and started whispering on the phone and looking at the computer screen at the same time. He then showed me the ****** and showed me there was no accidents, and gave me the copy. He then told me he would do some numbers and call me back. He never did call me. As soon as I was leaving ******** Kia Mrs. ******* called me, and she advised me to go back to orange park Kia and give them the results of *** **** diagnostics. And that Kia of Orange Park told her the same thing that the vibration was “NORMAL”. At Kia of Orange Park, I met with Mr. ****** and we walked towards Mr. **** he was at his counter close by to Mr. ***********. As soon as *********** saw me, he jumped out of his seat and threw his pencil and said very loudly” This woman is back over here again”!!! Mr.****** told me don’t worry about him! Because I asked him what is wrong with that man? And that he has had issues with me since last night, and I have not done anything to him. Then Mr. *** asked me for the *** ****  papers, and I showed him that the problems were worse than I thought. He went to the service dept. area and when he came back, he told Mr. ****** to show me the new cars for a trade in because it was wrong what was going on. They showed me a new manual green 2014 fully loaded model and he let me test drive it. And I even joked with him saying” Oh my goodness it’s a miracle it’s not vibrating, and everyone said its normal the vibration”!!! He started laughing and said don’t worry you’re going to have a better car now. While we were doing the trade-in papers Mr. ****** told his ******* Mr. , that he can do all the papers on the internet even if my husband wasn’t present. Everything was going smooth until! Mr. *********** went to the counter with Mr. *** and Mr.**** *********. I overheard *********** saying that this process is not like that and it will not happen.!!! Then they started talking very quietly. I saw Mr.*********** walking to other desks back and forth about 3 times, and then went back to Mr. **** and then they called Mr. ******. Mr. ****** then came back to me and said they would not be able to do the trade in after all and that Mr***** wanted to talk to me. And we went to the car service office with the service ******* also. Mr.**** asked me for my side of the story and I explained everything in all details, including the incident the night before with ***********. He excused his behavior to me, and asked me again about what happened with *** ***** and then he started saying that they could not offer me the trade in, because it was something that didn’t match with *** ****. That what I had said is not what they were told by *** ****, because they had called them to verify. I told them I was going to call the *******, because I didn’t believe that since I dealt directly with the ******* myself. He then said he doesn’t care about “he say, she say”! He doesn’t care about my mechanics or what they have to say”! “I just have here one check in your name for $600 and something (I forgot the exact amount). That was the estimate *** **** gave for the repair. And that since I believe more in them I will go back to *** **** to do the repairs, so I don’t have to come back. And I said I didn’t believe them anymore and I wasn’t going to accept that, because not only was it tire problems, that the engine lights turned on and now more issues are happening in the car, when I accelerate it sounds like a rattling sound coming from the engine. That I believe the car was in an accident and it was never reported. That I was just asking for fair treatment and that I was only receiving lies from everyone. He then told me” no one lied, his only offer for me was to take the money or leave it”. I repeated again I will not accept it, and that what was going on because just a few minutes before the other ******* approved for the trade in, and that we were just waiting for bank approval and when Mr.*********** came in everything changed all of a sudden. I don’t understand what he had against me? , he then interrupted me and stated “he was his boss and he has the last word and *********** has nothing to do with his decision making”! I answered back to him saying “that I was very disappointed that since I started coming with these problems with the car, I came in a friendly way trusting and believing in them and respected everybody. And I was asking for just a trade-in because the problem was a major issue just as I thought. And that even if that man without knowing me treated me in this horrible way, I was willing to do a trade in erasing all the negative incidents, because as I said before I really like the *** ****. And that I was only receiving more lies and more issues, that I felt because I was a woman doing all this by myself because my husband works out of town only coming on the weekends. And they were taking advantage of me. That I feel I’ve been very discriminated as a woman and a ********, I feel betrayed, mentally and verbally abused and very offended. Because *********** even called me crazy! I feel that I was being made fun of! And that the night before I didn’t sleep because I was so frustrated with the incident with *******, and it’s been a nightmare for me. Then he said “I don’t care if you’re a woman or man, I treat everyone the same. And that he’s sorry but he can’t give a trade in, but that he doesn’t have to give anything, but since I was a customer and they want them happy, that he was going to do the check in my name and I can do whatever with the money. That I could buy clothes, or do my hair, buy toys, fix the car if I wanted, and if I don’t want to fix the car, I don’t have to and that it was my money I could do whatever with it, that was his last offer and I could take it or not and not come back anymore”!!! I told him ok, that since that was his last offer I knew already what to do. They know I spoke with their headquarters already, but because they don’t want to negotiate he’s still trying to take advantage and offending me and continuing with the discrimination, because that is the way I feel. That sadly my last option is going to call the ***** ********** office, he was very surprised as I said this and he jumped up and said “oh you are wrong, totally wrong! That’s the worse you have said! For real! Are you threatening me?! Now that is worse!” and for real that’s my last word were not giving you the deal. And I responded back to them “you already told me that was your last offer, and the same way you feel that I am threatening you, I feel threatened by you”!!! Because you started threatening me first, and he responded back “I didn’t threatened you”! And I told him when he stated “you either take the money or leave it” that’s threatening, and again you offended me. And like I said before… (I repeated again how I felt). All this time I’ve been quiet by talking with respect and I’ve received the opposite treatment by all of you. So I stood up and continued to say “I know what I have to do now, even if God knows it isn’t the way I want to proceed, but you guys don’t give me any other option, thanks for nothing, see you soon”. He responded back to me “have a good night” and I said “I hope you don’t have a good one, and sorry I don’t believe you deserve one” and I left. I then called *** **** and asked for the *******, they told me he wasn’t there, and gave the phone to someone who had spoken to Kia of Orange Park. And the gentleman on the phone, I asked why he said it was fixable, or what did Kia ask him. I told him the problems of the car with the tow and camber and the ******* told me it was not fixable, because it was a manufacturing defect and he responded back that this was not what Kia had asked for, that they just asked for the rims and tire, not the real issue. And that shows once more that Kia was lying about everything. 11/14/14 Mrs. ******* from headquarters called me asking if I went to ******** Kia again and what happened with Kia of Orange Park? And I told her I didn’t do it because everything got complicated. I was already very disappointed, frustrated and depressed. And I was talking to her crying and I let her know everything that happened at orange park Kia with Mr. **** and his last offer and the conversation we had. And I let her know what I decided to do in my next step, because I felt nobody was doing anything at orange park Kia, and I know she was concerned and trying to help the situation, but everything got out of hand. That she knew I was only asking for something fair, or trade in, not anything for free. And also I explained the way I felt, the same way I said it to Mr. ****. I also made her aware that they lied to her when they said the vibration was NORMAL! Because when they were going to do the trade in they let me drive the new fully loaded *** **** and there was no vibration at all. And I told her I even joked with Mr. ****** that it wasn’t even vibrating. She apologized 2-3 times about the way they treated me and that I should do what I have to do. I feel they have more car history in my personal opinion hiding. On 9/13/14 on Kia history they painted the full bumper (rear bumper) why? Then a few days do not match with the ****** dates and Kia car history. For example: 7/22/14 inspection/ Kia history; 7/9/14 inspection******* history. Something that let me know that the car wasn’t inspected before they gave it to me, because it was the last inspection. I have attached copies of everything as proof as well as notes on a few of them. I also have personal references, one client and my primary doctor who has had bad incidents with Kia of Orange Park. And that if I needed statements from them they can provide it.

Desired Settlement: I do not want the vehicle described above, I expect another vehicle in better condition, full exposure to the car fax. A trade-in in better contidion...I think I deserved, with all that I went through.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I am familiar with this particular customer. Please allow me to respond;

We have inspected this vehicle on several occasions. The vibrations she speaks of, we were unable to duplicate. First of all, they note in their complaint here that is happens at "80 miles per hour". They informed us it happened at 90 miles per hour. Eighty or ninety (80 or 90) miles per hour is well above the legal speed limit and while this customer may choose to drive at unlawful speeds, we will not. Thus our techs cannot drive at 90 miles per hour to test the concerns. However, at legal limits we were unable to duplicate the "vibrations"
We informed the customer of our findings and suggested that they take it elsewhere and get another opinion. We would welcome that opinion and if they find something, we would work with them to correct the issue. They took to a tire dealer. That dealer was unable to duplicate, but did note something about tire wear and alignment. They did not find a vibration issue. 
We again met with the customer and informed her that purely as a gesture of goodwill, we would pay her the amount the tire store quoted for 4 new tires and an alignment. Some $673.00. The customer declined and informed us that they had "legal counsel"
Since the customer has:
1)declined our efforts to assist, 
2) and since no one (including their own chosen independent inspector) has been able to verify or duplicate the situation 
3) indicated they have obtained a lawyer
We will not be able to provide any further assistance. All further inquiries from this customer must be directed to our attorney.
Thank you, 
*** ***** 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 (NOTE:  pictures is in attached file, to prove my response)

As I stated before... since purchasing the car, 2 weeks later I started to feel the vibration in the car...then, the car check engine light and tire light turned on...And also, when asking for the tire lock key... was when I heard Mr. ****** arguing with the used car ******* and staying that the vehicle was not inspected. For proof of this matter you can check the kia’s history, and the dated do not match with the ****** history. The last inspection date on ****** shows 7/9/14 and on kias history shows 7/22/14. (Attached are copies). Within 2 weeks of noticing the vibration I took the car to kia of Orange Park. They were saying they did not feel a vibration. And another day, a salesman said the vibration was normal on the *** *****. First, if I had known this I would never had bought the car, Second of all, when the used car salesman approved for the trade-in, they let me drive a new model and there was no vibration noted on the car, I even joked with Mr. ***** ****** about this, because everyone had stated the vibration was normal.

I do not drive fast or go at unlawful speeds, I was only passing another vehicle on the road and had accelerated for a short period and was at 80mph and noticed the vibration in the car( luckily I found out about this issue with the car sooner than later). I have never stated (55mph or 90mph) as they had mentioned when they "fixed" the problem with the balance, and they type on the papers 55mph-90mph) I always said 80mph, and I never said anything about the way they put that, because I believed these were basic parameters they used for any vehicle. (Provided are copies for proof). But when they returned the car to me, supposedly "fixed", the vibration continued and now STARTING at 40mph. I asked one of the salesman to ride in the car with me and he did feel the vibration and stated it was normal.  By the way, he let me drove another "new" car (vibration also noted) and I stated if you try to sold me a car like this, I will never purchased the car at all. BUT the car that I was approved for a trade-in was not vibrating!!!  MIRACLE??

I am the one that suggested to take the car for a second opinion and that they would pay for the repairs (but I wanted in writing first before) but they only approved for a diagnostic. I took the car to *** ***** and the same ******* was the one who did both diagnostic and try to fix the alignment, and also said it was not “fixable”... that any tire that is placed on the car would get damaged quickly. And the balance he said was ok! But the tire was jumping a lot and this was when he said 3 out of the 4 tires were damaged (copies are provided).

The same day around 7pm, I went to kia dealer to show them the *** **** papers, and I received verbal discrimination and abuse from Mr. ***********.  And also the next day when I went back to the dealer, Mr *********** saw me again and displayed another act of discrimination when he stood up abruptly, throwing back his chair and pencil, and saying loudly “again this woman is here”!!!

When Mr **** asked me to tell him my side of the story (about *** ****) his last offer to me was a check in the amount of $673.00 made out in my name, and that he doesn't have to do it, but that he wants his clients happy. That I can fix the car if I want, or buy clothes, toys, etc…that it was going to be my money. And all that because supposedly someone from the dealer had called *** **** and said the opposite from what I had said (about the car being fixable, when it was not)!!! The same day I called *** **** and asked to speak with the ******** but he was not there, so they gave the phone to the person who spoke to kia. I then asked him what kia had said to him, and he stated” they only asked about the rims and tires” and I asked if they mentioned about the “toe and camber”? And he stated “no”!!! So it’s very clear they did not ask about the real reason and problem of the car!!!

It’s true that I did not accept the money, because as I said to them” I wasn't going to accept it, because I wasn't going to believe in that answer, because something else was going on, and I didn't know what it was, because I heard Mr. ********* making a comment stating” it wasn't going to happen” when I was doing all the paperwork for the trade-in already approved, and a few moments later they called me and denied me the  trade-in.  I told Mr. ****, not going to accept his offer because of all the discrimination and verbal abuse. I was also insulted because they were taking me for a liar and I clearly showed all proof of everything, (they told me to bring) that I was stating was wrong with the car.

I really understand that as a salesperson, they do not want to accept this situation because they do not want to lose, but they have been abusing the situation because as a woman, and dealing with this issue by myself (because my husband was out of town working). I am amazed at the unprofessional-ism and unethical behavior displayed to me. When I was just asking for something simple and fair! A trade-in, nothing for free! Because from $12,962.00, we are going to end paying $18,341.88 (almost or same, like a new car). The same as I told Mrs. ******* from kia headquarters. (Who was following my case).

By the way this past Saturday 11/22/14, I received a letter from kia (copies are provided) that my husband and I did not qualify for the car because of our credit. When first of all, Mr.***** told me all he had to do was transfer all the information for the trade-in. As he told me, they were going to almost give me the same price, and that they were going to use the same financial papers and nothing more.

Doing the trade-in paper work…before we received the confirmation from the financial place, Is when they called me, and Mr. **** told me he was not going to do the deal with me. We did not give him permission to run our credit, because Mr. ***** said everything was going to be the same from when we bought the car. And the financing we did it with “121 financial credit union” not kia!!! I don’t know why they ran the credit history, we don’t even sign on the papers, for that report/ permission. Also, when they approved for the car we bought, the credit score was a few numbers below...but now, the score a little bit higher...we don't qualified???!!! 

 

Regards,

******* *******

( I will add more attachments) 

Business Response: Again, we tried to assist this customer. The customer claims she has legal counsel. Therefore we have turned this matter over to legal and we will not respond further.

Thank you
*** *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Right now I don't have any legal advicer. I just want to resolve the problem with my car.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: As we have previously stated, this customer has advised us of legal counsel. We will not respond further.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because;

I have already stated that I don't have legal advice. I will like to resolve the situation with my car, having a fair solution to this problen. 

BBB I will like to keep this file open, until this matter is resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

10/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a vehicle on 9/16/2014, t is now 10/22/2014 and they have yet to send the payoff check to my finance company for the vehicle I traded (2013 Kia Rio). I have been getting collection calls because it has not been payed off for a vehicle I do not have in my possession. I called the store and they told me to just make the payment they are still having financing issues for my NEW (2014 Forte) car. I have gone in several times to resign paperwork, and it is still not fixed. They are now wanting me to go in AGAIN to have a bank interview. I feel if they were not able to finance me then they should have just let me keep my old vehicle and not try to sell me a new one.I am now having to pay for a car payment that I do not have in my possession, which is entirely unacceptable. They need to take responsibility for their mess up and file all paperwork.

Desired Settlement: They need to take care of all paperwork needed and payoff the financial institute for the other vehicle. I will also need to be reimbursed for the car payment I am making on the vehicle I do not currently own.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. 

 
I have sent this concern to **** ********** Kurt is in charge of this dealership. **** will reach out to this customer and try to address her concerns.
 
Thank you, 
 
*** *****

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern,I purchased a brand new 2014 Kia Rio from Kia Orange Park in Jacksonville on May 12th. I have encountered several problems with car.1.Technical issue. The technical issue happened three times. First time was on May 24th night. We were in Disneys parking lot, trying to go home. But the car couldnt be started for at least 10 minutes. The electric was turned on, no alert messages were shown, but the engine just didnt start. We sent the car in to Kia Southside(advised by the customer representative), but they were not able to reproduce the problem. However, they promised us they did a full check on the vehicle and everything was fine. But on May 28th, the car had a second problem. I was driving home from work at the speed of 45 miles/hour, and with no signs, the car just started to jotting severely. I had to pull over and call a towing car to take it to the dealer. While waiting, I had to call a police officer because my car broken down at a dangerous area. The second day, Kia Southside was again not able to detect the problem and refused to further assist me. I contacted Kia Headquarter, they agreed to take care of the issue and exchange my car if necessary. As requested by the representative from the regional office, I took my car to Kia St. Augustine, and had the car in for a whole week. They were not able to determine the problem but they said they will contact me asap. But up till now, its been 3 weeks, I have never heard back from anybody. I am still driving this defected car everyday. Third time was this Monday. My phone was connected through Bluetooth with the car. I can answer and make phone calls, but when I tried to play the media on my phone, the entertainment system showed theres no device connected.2.False information. When I first purchased the car, I was told that this Kia Rio 2014 is equipped with Kias e-services. The dealer tried to register me for that service as well but failed. He told me to go home and do it myself. However, I did the research and find out that theres no e-service on any Rio model. So I called him back several times and confirmed with him if this function is on my car or not. Along with other dealers at this location, he promised me my car has this service. Later on, I was told by the corporate representative that no Kia has this service yet. So I had been given wrong information the whole time when I made the purchase.3.False pricing. The price I agreed with the dealer was $19,500 plus tax. However, later on I found the final price on my purchasing contract was $24,273.65, almost $2,000 more than I was told and agreed on.4.Discrimination on interest rate. The initial APR for my car loan was 7.99%, and we all signed the contract. However, on the second day, I was told by the dealer that since my partner, whos also the main applicant of this car loan, was not either a US citizen or a permanent resident, they wanted to raise the interest rate up to 8.89%. I refused to sign the new contract at first, but the dealer threatened they will tow my car right away if I dont. And I would not have a vehicle to use to commute from work and home. So I had to sign this new contract despite the fact that we were unlawfully discriminated.All these problems have not been resolved at all. Whenever I tried to contact with the dealership, both Kia Southside and Orange Park, I was being yelled at and told that they dont care once the car was sold. The regional office promised me to resolve all the issues, but had not fixed my car nor exchanged it, let alone dealing with other issues. As a matter of face, I have not heard from them for almost 3 weeks now. Hence, I am filing this complaint to BBB, hoping to get the appropriate help. Thank you.Best,Anthony Beatham

Desired Settlement: I want this vehicle to be either fixed or exchanged. Also I want to be compensated for all the loss, time and effort I put into resolving this issue.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention.

 
It appears that there is some issue with the vehicle that according to the complaint - 3 separate dealerships have been unable to duplicate. If we cannot duplicate the condition we cannot determine anything. So far, no one has. The dealership does not build the vehicle and performs warranty service according to the policy and procedures set forth by Kia Motors America. I suggest that the consumer continue the dialogue with Kia Customer Service.
 
As for the other customer comments set forth in this complaint, we strongly deny and dispute such allegations. The customer was well aware of all equipment on the vehicle, signed delivery agreement and checklist indicating such and there was absolutely no discrimination regarding the interest rate or financing. The dealership offers the financing through third parties as a service, and each customer is free to either pay cash or provide their own financing. No one has forced this customer to utilize our financing services.
 
If the customer would like assistance from our General Manager in reaching out to the manufacturer he would be glad to help. His name is Kurt Obermeyer. Kurt stands ready to assist and can be reached at ###-###-####.
 
Thank you

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called in to Kia Of Orange Park because there was an ad on television about the 2014 Kia Soul for purchase and not for lease. When I called to speak with someone about the ad, ***** ***** told me, "If I think that I'm going to pay for a brand new 2014 Kia Soul for $12,000 I had another thing coming." He also said that the 2014 Kia Soul was not a purchase it was a lease, but I have proof from their ad that it is a purchase.

Desired Settlement: I would like some compensatory recompense towards the purchase of a 2014 Kia Soul.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this to my attention. I have spoken with those involved and determined the following:

 
Customer was informed it was a purchase, the price was $12888.00. An appointment was set up for Saturday for him to come in and see the car. However, customer can lease or purchase at that price. Completely up to customer.
 
If customer has any questions he can conga **** *********, General Manager, at ###-###-####. Kurt is there and will be glad to assist further.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used Kia Soul at the end of September. A couple weeks later I got a letter from Kia asking me to trade in that car for a new car and that they would get me a great deal. I came in and looked around and found a 2013 Kia Soul that I really liked. I traded in the 2012 Soul for the 2013 Soul on October 23, 2013. As of today (2/4/14) I still have not received my sticker for my transferred tag. My tag expired on 1/26/14. I have been into the dealership about 6 times trying to get this resolved. Each time, *** told me he would take care of it. He has not. He assured me that he would talk to ***** in tags and get me a new sticker along with the refund check they owed me. I finally got a hold of ***** myself on Friday morning (1/31/14) and she tells me that *** has NEVER said a word to her about any of this. This tells me that either *** is a liar, or ***** is a liar. Either way, one is definitely a liar. ***** then tells me that she will have my sticker and refund check ready for me to come pick up on Monday (2/3/14) and to call her first to make sure. I call ***** at 4:45pm, giving her plenty of time during the day to get what they owe me, and she tells me that the tag is in, but she was too busy to cut me a new check (a check they have owed me since 10/23/13). Every time I have had a problem, whether in the dealership or on the phone, I have asked to speak to the owner or a general manager. Every time I have been denied that request. I have left messages for the general manager, (**** or ****, I've only heard his name mentioned once) and have not received a call back. To top it all off, I was told that the car I purchased was brand new and the reason for having almost 1500 miles was that it was a demo car. My paperwork says they sold me a new car. I have recently discovered that this car was registered and insured by someone else a month before I bought it. That does not sound like a NEW car to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my tag sticker and my refund check overnight mailed to me immediately. I am no longer wasting my time and money on gas driving to the dealership just to be told they don't have what they owe me. I want to find out which associate is lying to me and I want the general manager to take action against that employee along with an apology about how I was treated.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding to my attention. **** ********* will reach out personally to customer and resolve the issue.

 
Thank you, 
 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Mr. ********* was extremely helpful in resolving this issue.  He brought me my sticker and check out to my job site along with a couple of free oil changes and car washes.  He was very apologetic.  I still believe that ***** was the one who caused all of these problems, along with the finance guy who couldn't seem to transfer an address accurately onto the paperwork.  ***** was rude from the very beginning to both me and my mom and her attitude told me that her work was more important than helping a customer each time I had to deal with her.  I sincerely hope, for the sake of your business, that she is dealt with appropriately before this kind of thing happens again.  Art, although treated me with respect and told me what I wanted to hear, never seemed to follow through with anything he told me.  I feel like if he would have followed up with ***** to make sure she did what he told her to do, this would have been resolved a long time ago as well.

 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband ,******* *****, and I, ******* *****, purchased a 2014 kia forte from kia of orange park on October 29, 2013. On friday Novemeber 1, 2013 my husband recieved a phone call stating for us to come up and re-sign paperwork. On saturday we both drove there to find out that the bank they said they got us approved through fell through and we had to sign with a new bank. They also said we now had to put $500 down on top of our trade when before they said we did not need to put any cash money down since our trade was valued at $4175. We told them we could write a check but it could not be cashe until My, ******* *****', next paycheck which would be November 14, 2013. On November 13, 2013 Kia of Orange Park cashed the check for $500 one day earlier than we agreed which then bounced our account and we were charged a $35 fee. It took 3 days to get ahold of someone who could help me on the phone so I went to Kia of Orange Park and they put a request in to repay me for the overdraft fee since they cashed my check early. I recieved the $35 check from Kia via USPS and deposited it into my account. I now recieved a notice from my bank, Bank Of America, stating that the check was returned and I was charged a $12 fee! So now Kia owes me $47 and I am upset because they should not have cashed my check early, then when they gave me the $35 check, I deposited it and it was returned from the bank for non sufficient funds so they took the $35 fee out of my account and added a $12 fee for returned check service fee. I dont understand why it is taking over a month to get resolved! We have been lied to and taken advantage of!

Desired Settlement: I want the $47 back to recover the $35 overdraft fee charged from my bank because Kia of Orange Park cashed my check early and I want the $12 fee back for the returned check fee that I recieved for cashing the bad check they gave me.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I have asked that our controller, *** **** ********** get in touch with ******* and resolve the matter. 

 
Sincerely, 
 
** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

12/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 22, 2013Kia Motors AmericaP.O. Box 52410Irving, CA 92619-2410To whom it may concern:On October 19, 2013 my wife and I went to KIA of Orange Park, Jacksonville, FL to purchase a new KIA Sorrento. We explained to the salesman, *** ********* we wanted a V6. ********y took us to a 2014 Sorrento with the 3rd row seat that my wife really liked. We did not realize the 2014 KIA Sorrento LX we purchased was a 4 cylinder until after the sale was complete. We brought in a letter from KIA stating they would give us 110% trade in for my 2011 KIA Forte. I do not believe we received the correct amount for the trade in and when I asked a Sales Manager, Arthur Ayers I believe he skirted the issue and I cannot recall exactly what he stated.We believed we were purchasing a 2014 KIA Sorrento with a V6 and 3rd row seat and it was financed with KIA motors. We had this set up with our Allstate agent to show the lien holder as KIA motors. We later found out the vehicle was financed with Sun Trust Bank. The V6 EX we eventually ended with was financed by Ally Bank yet none of the paper work showed which company financed the vehicle.On October 25, 2013 I took the vehicle back to the dealer because of loud noises in the engine and was told the vehicle was recalled for a bad motor and they would put a new motor in the vehicle. I drove the LX vehicle for only 110 miles. The service department gave me a loaner car to drive while my car was in the shop. The parts department called me the following Wednesday stating my parts was in and asked I make an appointment so they could install the gaskets etc. I explained I did not own that vehicle. (It appears they were not going to replace the motor as I was told). I spoke to ********y explaining we could not trust that vehicle. ********y stated he was concerned about his 2013 Sorrento and asked the service department to check his vehicle VIN. ********y also stated the General Manager, Jeffery Norman would allow us to return the 4 cylinder vehicle. On October 26, 2013 my wife and I arrived at the dealership, meeting with ********y who stated they were giving us a new vehicle with the V6 motor that we wanted in the first place but without the 3rd row seat and they were giving us the full purchase price back for the 4 cylinder LX. (Our understanding was the deal would be as if the 4 cylinder LX vehicle was not involved in the trade). The net effect was we traded our 2011 Forte for the 2014 Sorrento with a V6 EX.On October 31, 2013 we went to the dealership and asked to speak with the *** ******. *** ****** was not available so we spoke with a Sales Manager, Don Monahan. We brought to Monahans attention the amount allowed for the trade in (4 cylinder LX.) of $27,000.00. We paid $30,145.00 ($29547.00 + $599.00) before (taxes, extended warranty etc.). Monahan dismissed our contention by stating there are taxes, extended warranty etc. Monahan also stated they cannot resell the 4 cylinder LX as a new car. I stated the vehicle was on recall for a bad motor and should have never been sold in the first place. I asked what he could do and Monahan agreed to give us an installed trailer hitch which was installed on November 2, 2013.We believe we paid an additional $3,146 for the 2014 KIA Sorrento EX with the V6. A difference that we should not have paid. If the dealership had given us the vehicle we asked for, none of this nightmare would have happened. This dealership has manipulated the numbers to pacify our inquiries. Others problems (to name only a few) with this deal are as follows: On October 26, 2013, ********y stated the Sirius Radio was for 6 months yet we received a letter from Sirius today stating it expires is 3 months, January 19, 2014. On October 27, 2013, I asked ********y about the directional display on the mirror and was told it is on the dash. It is not in this vehicle per the manufacture of the mirror that I spoke to. The Forte should have been paid off by October 29, 2013 but was not paid until November 4, 2013 causing a under payment that the dealer paid. On November 21, 2013 I spoke to the accounting department believing I should have received the registration for the V6 as the temporary tag expires on November 24, 2013. I was told they had just mailed the paperwork to the Florida registry on November 21, 2013.This deal is so confusing and we do not believe the whole deal can be explained because we feel KIA of Orange Park is not a reputable dealership that manipulates the explanations to get you out the door!We believe every financed vehicle must be explained to the purchaser exactly how much is being financed, who financed the vehicle and how much the vehicle cost, amount of trade in, taxes, fees etc. Explaining exactly how the amount financed is determined. This is just a good business practice that prevents the problems we have experienced.Respectfully,

Desired Settlement: Refund the difference of $3,146.00.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. *** **** *********, store manager has reached out to the customer and has resolved this issue.

 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you and *** **** ********* for resolving this issue.

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kia of Orange Park
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart