BBB Accredited Business since

Keith Pierson Toyota, Inc.

Phone: (904) 771-9100 Fax: (904) 899-5860 6501 Youngerman Cir, Jacksonville, FL 32244

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keith Pierson Toyota, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keith Pierson Toyota, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Keith Pierson Toyota, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1982 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 10/01/2001 in FL
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Pierson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Keith Pierson Toyota

Additional Locations

  • 6501 Youngerman Cir

    Jacksonville, FL 32244


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by the dealership about purchasing my current vehicle and trading it in for a pre-owned or new vehicle. Once I found a vehicle in their inventory that I liked I went in for an application and an appraisal on my current vehicle. I specifically set my guidelines of affordability with the sales rep (******* ******) and then another rep (someone she calls Mama) came to assist her with the transaction. This rep led me to believe that she was a manager the whole time and told me that I was not allowed to have the vehicle I wanted, and would not even look into it to see that it were possible. Why? I have absolutely no idea. Then she tried pushing me towards a car completely opposite of what I wanted, and 6000 dollars higher than my budget. After I specifically stated that I could not be bothered with such transactions, that it was just not possible. Finally, after much hassle and persistence, I found a car on the lot similar to the one I wanted and asked them to run a credit app with my cosigner and then to let me know how much the vehicle costs. For reasons unbeknownst to me, the absolutely REFUSED to tell me the price of the car! How am I supposed to agree to apply for and purchase a vehicle if they refuse to tell me the price? So therefore I left, and was promised that I would be called with a final price. Hours passed and nothing. So I called the sales rep and she told me that they refused to let her tell me the price of the car. This frustrated me because I am not going to purchase a car without knowing the price. I proceeded to call even higher up and asked for a better manager. Marcus, the manager I was told about, then informed me that the original woman was indeed NOT a manager like she had told me, and that the ORIGINAL car in my budget that I wanted, was available to me! So he said he was going to appraise my current vehicle and call me back. All of this was after I asked SEVERAL TIMES if it was OKAY to add negative equity to my financing because I knew my car was not going to be worth the total balance still owed. After he ran the application, he called me to tell me that he could not add negative equity and insisted that I could not possibly do that anywhere else (which I can, I've been approved at three other dealers). So I told him thats fine I'll just tell him goodbye and be on with my day after thanking him for trying. He then insisted that I try to buy a NEW car that I COULD NOT AFFORD after me telling him several times that it was not possible and he argued with me about negative equity. He tried lying to me about dealerships he didnt even work at. I refure to ever go back to this business or even lead anyone to believe they offer great services because the whole time they wasted my time, were rude, lied to me, didnt listen to my needs or my budget, and then continued to harass my father and boyfriend the next couple of days trying to get them to purchase vehicle. NOT GOOD FOR BUSINESS. I really hope that Mr. Keith Pierson becomes aware of the nonsense that goes on in his Toyota dealership here in Jacksonville, Fl. Now I'm stuck with my old car because they couldnt be decent towards me.

Desired Settlement: Apology from the dealership please. Also, I would like Mr. Keith Pierson to know about what happened. If I could have his contact information or if he could contact me, that would be great. I don't want this overlooked and another customer to go through the same ridiculous waste of time and hardship. Even a better deal on a used car would be nice.

Business Response: When Ms. ****** was in the dealership, she was interested in a vehicle at another location. We showed her a Mazda 3 on our lot that she showed interest in. Due to her credit situation, we required a cosigner to help achieve the terms she was hoping for. After getting the cosigner information, he was unable to assist in the purchase of the vehicle at this time. We don't make a habit of discussing other people's credit without their permission, so when Ms. ****** requested payments and financing details, we were unable to provide them based on the fact that the cosigner was unable to assist in the purchase.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, parts of the dealership's protocol prevented the customer from getting service in the order that she requested, and for that, we apologize. Our previous response was an attempt to explain exactly what happened as it relates to the transference of information in the case of a co-signer. The intention, of course, was not to incense her further and at no time do we seek to make an enemy of a potential customer.

Re: the matter of sales associate whom she believed to be a manager: The customer was working with ******** (a brand new associate) when **** (a senior associate) offered her assistance as she was walking by and saw ******** working on an application. Both ******** and **** were interviewed separately but agree that at no point did **** tell the customer that she was a manager, but, in fact, reports that Toya clearly identified herself as an associate. As management was not present during the interaction, we can neither confirm nor deny that the events did or did not occur in this way; however, we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding, but would like to assure the customer that the sales staff was only attempting to assist our newest members to ensure the best possible experience, rather than intentionally misleading the customer. 

Again, we hope that Ms. ****** will consider accepting our sincerest apology for her poor experience and we wish her the best in her next car buying experience.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I feel that this business is trying to cover their tracks now because they were caught in a lie. Especially seeing as how I was treated unfairly and I was specifically lied to about more than one piece of information. After that I was then pushed with another offer out of my budget and they had the audacity to ask if I wanted to try applying for a NEW more EXPENSIVE deal. Not to mention they contact my boyfriend over the next few days upon me leaving the dealership, then we specifically asked them not to, and they called and texted him a few more times. I have proof on both cell phones and can easily have AT&T pull up more records that the sales rep and the dealership text and called both mine and my boyfriends phone before and after I was treated terribly and after they were told to quit calling us. I don't care anymore. But know that I'm not happy, you are all liars, and you will forever receive bad reviews from myself and my entire Naval family. Thank you for doing such a terrible job. I really hope lying to your customers is worth losing so many sales.


***** ******

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Keith Pierson sales person indicated a selling price over the phone. Price was not honored when I went to the dealership. I clearly stated the price I was willing to pay via email.Father in law had a similar example with the service department.I would not trust the people or practices at this Toyota location.

Desired Settlement: Cost of gas and time4 gallons of gas @ 3.25 per gallon = $13Time driving and and at dealership = $100

Business Response:

This customer contacted us via email and telephonically and wanted a special deal. What we agreed to was $19,500 + $500 for the new tag. When the customer arrived at our dealership he claimed that we told him $19,500 out the door. At that point the manager who agreed to accept the deal, ***** *** ****, came over to speak to Mr* ***** in person, reiterating what we had agreed to. At that point, the customer left the dealership. We have the correspondence of email (as does the customer) and are not sure where the disconnect is. We were then and are now willing to honor the deal we agreed to which resulted in significant loss.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Dealership facts are incorrect.  Sales person asked me to call and indicated that she presented my offer to the manager and manager said "when is he coming in (implying we have a deal).


******** *****

Business Response:

Please find the excerpt from the salesperson/customer correspondence pasted below, outlining the terms of the deal. Of course, it will be necessary to start from the bottom and scroll up to follow the conversation in chronological order. Immediately following the most recent (top) message, the customer was quoted a price of $500 for the purchase of a new tag in addition to the sales price of $19,500 (a $2,000 profit loss) and asked to come in. 

Re: Corolla
1 week ago 12:18 PM
Didnt get it.
Give me your number again - I can call you.

Sent from my iPhone
On Sep 21, 2014, at 2:36 PM, ***** ****** <******************> wrote:

left you a message did you get it?

On Sep 21, 2014, at 08:55 AM, ******** ***** <*******************> wrote:

How much does a tag cost?
Sent from my iPhone
On Sep 21, 2014, at 11:20 AM, ***** ****** <******************> wrote:

Manager said 19,5 if you can pay for your own tag. 

Sent from my iPhone
On Sep 21, 2014, at 10:59 AM, Jonathan <*******************> wrote:

Thanks *****,
How about $19.5k or less out the door (includes all tax, fees, etc.)?
I can be there today in the next couple of hours.

8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Ford 150 for $22,??? plus sales and taxes from Keith Pierson Toyota on **** ******** **** ************ ** ***** in July of 2014. I was in the process of purchasing a truck from Keith Pierson Toyota at **** ********** ***, but the sales person was with another client. After waiting for about 15 minutes my wife and I decided to return another time but we passed by another Keith Pierson Toyota car lot about 1-3 miles from the 1st Keith Pierson's and we stopped in to see what types of trucks they had. I received excellent service, they were fast and polite with their service. As we drove the truck I thought I needed to learn how to adjust to the way the brakes were operating. So, I purchased the 2012 truck, a couple of days latter after the purchase of the truck my wife said why is the truck jerking. When I drive the truck and press on the brakes to stop the truck would jerk and when I release the brakes it would jerk again. So, I called Keith Pierson Toyota and spoke to ******* the sales representative, he advise me to take the truck to Keith Pierson Toyota on 6501 Youngerman Cir in Orange Park and their mechanic would look at it. After the mechanic look at it, I was told that the mechanic could not figure out what the problem was and had to call the "***** ****" car dealership and spoke to the mechanic there. From that conversation it was told to me by the manager of Keith Pierson Toyota on Blanding Blvd, that it was not a hazardous problem and Keith Pierson Toyota will not repair it. Now, I'm not mechanically incline but when it involves someones life, and the brakes are not working properly that is a hazardous. I'm afraid for my safety, my wife, and our grandchildren s. I feel uncomfortable for them to ride in the truck.

Desired Settlement: All that I'm asking is that Keith Pierson Toyota dealership repair the problem that they already knew about.Problem: When the truck is driven,and you press on the brakes to stop the truck would jerk, and when I release the brakes to proceed it would jerk again. Now the cost of the truck if I remember correctly was about: $22,??? plus sales taxes.Why should a person spend that much money on a truck to repair? That was not my intentions.Solution: Repair it!!!I'm afraid for my safety, my wife, and our grandchildren s. I feel uncomfortable for them to ride in the truck.

Business Response:

Keith Pierson Toyota sent the 2012 Ford F150 in question to Ford for accurate evaluation and it was determined that the jerking mentioned by the customer is a characteristic of the vehicle. Ford recommended drive shaft kit to minimize jerking motion. Mr. Pierson advised that he will fix the vehicle according to Ford's specifications as soon as parts have been received. Contacted customer to schedule service appointment to no avail. Will await customer call back.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* *******


8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I bought a car just over a year ago and when I purchsed it I asked that there be new tires on the car. Fast forward to 1 year later and only 8k miles I find out that the tires are not new, they are almost bald now and they need to be replaced. I found this out yesterday and I am going out of town tomorrow morning at 5 am. I work until 11pm today and can't get over there to get this resolved (it's 45 minutes away) when I called the dealership I asked if someone could come pick up the car and I got a no, I got a response of "well you bought a used car" and when I said I am going to use this as a lesson to not buy a car from your dealership ever again I got an OK. I asked if there weas another dealership I could go to and was told no...I will never be able to bring this car to this dealership because I am going up north and the car is not coming back down south.

Desired Settlement: I just want my tires replaced before I leave town...or atleast at another dealership that this dealership then can reimburse.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** purchased a used 2010 Camry SE from Keith Pierson Toyota on 4/19/13. At the time of purchase, the service department conducted a full and extensive check up on the vehicle to make sure that it was safe to drive and, at that time, service determined that it was in perfect working order. The customer declined any type of extended warranty or maintenance plan when offered in the finance department. Since then, the customer has not returned to Keith Pierson Toyota at all for regular maintenance. Unfortunately, there were no allotments made for new tires in the customer's deal, and we are not permitted to alter a deal for that purpose fifteen months later.

******** ********* our Assistant General Manager, spoke to the customer this morning and asked him to bring his car in so that we could take a look at it to see if there was anything he could do to assist. The customer refused due to his work schedule and pending move to Maine tomorrow. Had we more time, we may have been able to provide additional services, but as it stands, our hands are tied.

7/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues