BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1912 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1912
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Walter Lewis, Vice President Mr. Mike Offer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Lewis, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Offer, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
J. C. Lewis Motor Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9505 Abercorn St

    Savannah, GA 31406 (912) 925-0234 (912) 921-1320

  • PO Box 60759

    Savannah, GA 31420

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 28, 2015 I dropped my 2007 Ford Mustang off at J.C. Lewis Ford for a clutch repair. It came in via tow truck with NO ISSUES other than the clutch being out in it. I spoke with ***** in service before the vehicle arrived because it was being towed in and she quoted me $1050.00 for the clutch, flywheel, and slave cylinder. I was told when I spoke to her that the vehicle would be diagnosed on Monday, November 30, 2015 and I would be contacted with the final outcome midday that day and that the vehicle would be ready for pickup on Wednesday December 2, 2015. I was not contacted on Monday as agreed, until I reached out to them and after 2 phone calls was finally told that yes, the mustang needed a clutch, flywheel and slave cylinder. I was also assured that they had found a KIT with the clutch and fly wheel for a cheaper amount. Wednesday, when the vehicle was supposed to be ready for pick up, I called and it wasn't ready due to "appointments having priority and an emergency at Gulfstream". That it would be midday Thursday. Midday Thursday I called and no one knew what was going on with it so around 4pm ***** called and said "You really aren't going to like me today, but this mustang needs a master cylinder too." If the vehicle was diagnosed before the parts were ordered on MONDAY why wasn't that included until the day AFTER the original pick up date that the vehicle was suppose to be ready? How did it go unnoticed? When asked how much that would cost she said "$325" I looked the part up myself (On the JC Lewis parts website) and the part was $125 so where was the additional $200 coming from? You are already in there, there should be no more labor. I called and spoke to the General Manager, Mike, and he went over and got the part installed for $130 and gave me a rental car because I only had transport for the three original days. On Friday of the same week, I called checking the status of the vehicle and they said that it was driving, but the mechanic wasn't happy with it and since I had the rental, he was going to have the Master Mechanic look at it and see what was going on. At this point, my repair is quoted at $1180. Monday, I reached out to them again after having not heard anything from them at all on the weekend, and was told I needed a flywheel. I was under the assumption that I had already purchased a new flywheel as it was in the original quote of $1050. Then I was told by *****, that the one that came with the kit was not allowing enough space for the clutch to let out. When questioned as to why I had to purchase another flywheel I was then told that when he resurfaced mine he took too much off and it was allowing too much space in between... So which is it? They didn't quote me for this portion of the repair until my husband (Who lives out of town temporarily) called them because they were giving me the run around. He was then told that my total would be $1336.09 OUT THE DOOR. When I was called on Wednesday stating that the vehicle was ready the price had been adjusted again, now including tax. I went to pick up the Mustang today, Friday December 11, 2015 and when I FINALLY got in it to drive away, looked down and MY CHECK ENGINE WAS ON! I immediately turned off the vehicle, motioned over to *****, told her what was going on, she told me to shut the door (?) and see if that made a difference. When the light wouldn't go off she went to get Marvin, who was the gentleman that my husband had spoken to at the beginning of the week. He calls the tech who initially worked on my car into his office, and the tech says that it was on when it came in. The light wasn't on. The car was fine. They even had coded the light out to see what it needed, but in the 2 weeks that they had my car for a 3 day repair never thought to mention it. As I protested, they pretty much called me a liar saying that they would be happy to repair it for me but they didn't break it. I went inside and asked to speak to Mike, the general manager of the dealership, who was not there. I spoke to his acting, and he told me that he was inclined to side with Marvin on this because they "all take cues from Mike" who is the GM. After nothing being done, not even so much as an I'm sorry, let alone ownership of their mistake I have spent $1400 and two weeks on a $1050 clutch job that should have taken 3 days. I don't under any circumstance think that someone would be so hateful as to malaciously and intentionally do something to damage a vehicle, but I do wholeheartedly believe that my vehicle was unintentionally damaged when they were taking out the transmission, maybe the sensor was bumped or something along those lines. When you get in the vehicle now, 3rd gear is absolutely useless because it bucks and jumps so much due to the airflow problem that has magically appeared, I still don't think the clutch is right, and the air conditioner is not blowing cool at all. When my vehicle went in, it just needed a clutch system put in it. Now it has a clutch and is still not drivable due to their error and they are absolutely refusing to repair it when it was fine going in. Mike did call my husband and offered to fix it for him for $175 adding it that it was not their fault.

Desired Settlement: I want a full vehicle diag done to check for loose/broken sensors, I want any thing to do with the surprise dash lights repaired, I want the clutch work rechecked, and I want the air conditioning lines and compressor checked. Anything can happen when you move an entire transmission around.

Business Response: Since this customer has made the complaint. We J C Lewis Ford have repair the customers car. We did not charge her any labor to replace her mass air flow sensor. We also repair several broken wires in her car at no charge. 


Thank you 

******* ***** 
General Manager 


Business Response: We have made every attempt to repair everything on your car. The clutch and a 5th gear grind are two different things. If you would like us to look at the transmission for a 5th gear grind we would be more than happy to look at it for no charge. 

Consumer Response:

My business with never be brought there. The clutch and the transmission are of the same entity. Just 2 separate components. I will make every effort to refer my business elsewhere due to incompetent repair work and extremely poor customer service I received.

 Complaint: 10992459

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ***

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my black 2011 Ford F-150 FX4 to J.C. Lewis Ford service department on Monday, April 13, 2015. The issue was a fuel pump/sending unit failure. After having my vehicle for two days, they began work to lower the tank and start testing systems. After they found what was believed to be the fault on Thursday, April 16, 2015, they called and let me know that they wanted to replace the pigtail wiring harness for the fuel pump, as well as the fuel pump, and that it should be fixed by 6pm that day. Later, they called and told me that they replaced the pigtail harness and still did not have the truck fixed, and they believed the fuel pump may need to be replaced as well. I was under the assumption that the fuel pump had already been replaced, as that is what was discussed. I received a call on Friday, April 17, 2015, stating that they got approval from my warranty company to replace the fuel pump, and that it could possibly be done the same day. Monday, April 20th, I was again told that my vehicle may be ready to pickup by 6pm, and never heard back from the company after calling and leaving a voicemail with the service department. Yesterday, April 22, 2015, again I was told that the fuel pump was going to be replaced that day and my truck could possibly either be picked by 6pm, or on April 23, 2015 at the latest. I went to the service department this after noon, on Thursday, April 23, 2015, and asked about my truck. I was told that the service rep named TC was out to lunch, so they took down my information and left a note on his desk to call me. By 3pm I had not received a call, so I called back and got voicemail. At 4pm I called and asked to speak with the service department manager. He said he would check on the truck and placed me on hold, I held for a few minutes, and got re-routed to the secretary twice before the secretary said the manager was with a customer and would need to call me back. I told her that I would just drive over there to speak with the manager. At 4:23pm, before I had left my house, I got a call back from TC stating that they are working on my truck now, and that I will get it back tomorrow. When I asked for a hard time on when I can pick up my truck, he said he would have to check and would call me right back. I have yet to receive a call back.

Desired Settlement: I feel that because of the amount of time they have had my vehicle, and the runaround I have been getting regarding when the work will be complete, as well as the lies about the fuel pump being replaced when in fact it had not yet been replaced, that they should complete the work without payment. I am liable for $100.00 deductible on my warranty policy, and the rest of the work and parts are covered. I feel that J.C. Lewis Ford should complete the work that has been requested, and they should pay the $100.00 to the warranty company on my behalf.

Business Response: We have spoken to the customer and agreed to pay the deductible for the customer. 

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a shoddy repair job, and being called to pick up my vehicle after 3 attempts at fixing it, it still isn't right. I now have a litigation open with my insurance in this regard, and am having to battle inspectors and managers to get the resolve and repair that should have been supplied by JC Lewis. I have lost countless hours of work and personal time in order to attempt picking up my vehicle, stuck in traffic, etc... A fairly minor front end repair 6k damage) took 52 days to "complete." Again, it's far from done. The insurance has inspected and wants me accept a check for repairs but are negating the physical repair of the door missed by JC Lewis to begin with. So, I am now stuck without a comparable door, and this is begging to get ugly with insurance now as well.So thanks for nothing!I do not want them to fix my truck, so please do not contact me with an attempt. And, I WILL NOT be returning for any services. If they conduct business as their body shop does, I will warn everyone I know to avoid this place!!!!

Desired Settlement: I just wish I had a complete repair. If they want to pay a reputable shop to actually fix what they couldn't - please contact me.

Business Response: This is ******* ***** the ******* ******* at J C Lewis Ford. I have called this customer 3 times. I finally got ahold of him, I shared with him that I would like to meeting with him and that i would do what ever we need to do to make things right. He told me that he would not and not to call him back.

 
I can be reached anytime at ************

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

He is lying about the number of attempts to contact me, in an effort to make me look bad is my guess. He tried once Friday after my phone was unavailable, and once an hour ago. I know their number, as they called me for 50 days of updates to my vehicle. I have caller ID, and I am not an idiot - as they must already assume. 

I placed a statement in the original complaint to not contact me. I was placing the info for share and info of future customers, should they be brave enough to venture there.

I have been in a litigation process with the insurance company and they have placed another corrected estimate in the claim. They intend to mail me a direct check to choose a shop of my own to take it. So, I am now tasked with researching someone who can complete the job, as well as provide a full review of the undetermined negligence on my vehicle, as I am not a trained mechanic able of inspecting the "guts" of my truck. I am very weary of the work that was done, as I would almost expect bolts to fly off if indicative of the type of repair I received after three attempts.

I was nice the first ***** up. I was an *** the second. I had to try to up my "*******" ability to force insurance to comply with a shoddy "select service" provided by this shop. Once I am done researching who can complete this work satisfactory, I will update this claim to reflect. If there be any compensation on my part, I would simply ask for them to back pay for time lost at work trying to pick up unfinished work, as well as researching a competent shop.

Regards,

**** ******

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a month straight I have been dealing with poor, unprofessional, and absolutely unacceptable customer service. My first complaint starts with the repair department of JC Lewis. They failed to communicate to me about the condition of my vehicle, had a staff member not reporting extra/hidden damage to my insurance, and continued to drop the ball on communication saying they would call me and never did. My second complaint is with the used/new car dealership there. I went straight to the GM of the Company, Mike Offer. He handed me over to ***** ******* to find a vehicle that suited my needs. I found one, and they started dealing on it. I received a few calls on regards to some documentation they needed but only on their terms or when they needed something would they call. Two full days passed before I finally called to find out if my loan had passed. I HAD TO CALL THEM!!! Never is that acceptable. Then, I left a message for Mike asking him to call me back. Again. Two days. No Answer. I went in to speak with him face to face, at which point he told me he would have an answer to me by four oclock that day. NO CALL!!!!! And now, I am losing valuable business time babysitting them. I CAN'T EXPLAIN HOW UNPROFESSIONAL THIS IS! And I have been under severe stress as a twenty two year old woman having to do their jobs for them. Never will I do business with JC Lewis again and I will tell all my friends and family and my parents, who run a booming jewelry business, will be informing all of their customers of which are about 600 to 1,000 on a given vending day. If JC Lewis wants to run a company poorly, be my guest. I will NOT put up with it and I will make sure Savannah is chattering about what awful service they have. They will be lucky if a personal lawsuit doesn't come from this. My father is a mental health survivor and has Bi-Polar disorder. He has walked me through this the best of his ability and it has caused him severe, un-needed stress. THEY OWE IT TO US TO FIX THIS AND FIX IT RIGHT!

Desired Settlement: If they desire to settle this. They will sell me the 2012 Ford Escape and will decrease the price of the vehicle until my monthly loan payment is $250.00 and NO MORE.I am done playing nice. I have been kind, understanding and gracious. THEY WILL LOSE THIS SALE, and they will also lose my parent's truck (for repair), and my two younger sister's soon-to-be vehicle purchases. And I will be going to Granger Honda and telling everyone there what horrendous service I have received.

Business Response: We have gone above and beyond for this customer. State Farm was the issue when it was in our body shop and they finally totaled this customer car. She came up to see me and I said that i would help her as much as. We have tried very hard to get this customer appoved for credit as far as i personally called the head of the Ford Credit lending center for the southeast and he would approve her but not on the car that she choose. 


Thank you 
******* *****
General Manager 
J C Lewis Ford 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart