BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on J. C. Lewis Ford, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 06, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1912 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1912
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Walter Lewis, Vice President Mr. Mike Offer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Lewis, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Offer, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
J. C. Lewis Motor Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 9505 Abercorn St

    Savannah, GA 31406 (912) 925-0234 (912) 921-1320

  • PO Box 60759

    Savannah, GA 31420

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (912) 921-1320(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a shoddy repair job, and being called to pick up my vehicle after 3 attempts at fixing it, it still isn't right. I now have a litigation open with my insurance in this regard, and am having to battle inspectors and managers to get the resolve and repair that should have been supplied by JC Lewis. I have lost countless hours of work and personal time in order to attempt picking up my vehicle, stuck in traffic, etc... A fairly minor front end repair 6k damage) took 52 days to "complete." Again, it's far from done. The insurance has inspected and wants me accept a check for repairs but are negating the physical repair of the door missed by JC Lewis to begin with. So, I am now stuck without a comparable door, and this is begging to get ugly with insurance now as well.So thanks for nothing!I do not want them to fix my truck, so please do not contact me with an attempt. And, I WILL NOT be returning for any services. If they conduct business as their body shop does, I will warn everyone I know to avoid this place!!!!

Desired Settlement: I just wish I had a complete repair. If they want to pay a reputable shop to actually fix what they couldn't - please contact me.

Business Response: This is ******* ***** the ******* ******* at J C Lewis Ford. I have called this customer 3 times. I finally got ahold of him, I shared with him that I would like to meeting with him and that i would do what ever we need to do to make things right. He told me that he would not and not to call him back.

 
I can be reached anytime at ************

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

He is lying about the number of attempts to contact me, in an effort to make me look bad is my guess. He tried once Friday after my phone was unavailable, and once an hour ago. I know their number, as they called me for 50 days of updates to my vehicle. I have caller ID, and I am not an idiot - as they must already assume. 

I placed a statement in the original complaint to not contact me. I was placing the info for share and info of future customers, should they be brave enough to venture there.

I have been in a litigation process with the insurance company and they have placed another corrected estimate in the claim. They intend to mail me a direct check to choose a shop of my own to take it. So, I am now tasked with researching someone who can complete the job, as well as provide a full review of the undetermined negligence on my vehicle, as I am not a trained mechanic able of inspecting the "guts" of my truck. I am very weary of the work that was done, as I would almost expect bolts to fly off if indicative of the type of repair I received after three attempts.

I was nice the first ***** up. I was an *** the second. I had to try to up my "*******" ability to force insurance to comply with a shoddy "select service" provided by this shop. Once I am done researching who can complete this work satisfactory, I will update this claim to reflect. If there be any compensation on my part, I would simply ask for them to back pay for time lost at work trying to pick up unfinished work, as well as researching a competent shop.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a month straight I have been dealing with poor, unprofessional, and absolutely unacceptable customer service. My first complaint starts with the repair department of JC Lewis. They failed to communicate to me about the condition of my vehicle, had a staff member not reporting extra/hidden damage to my insurance, and continued to drop the ball on communication saying they would call me and never did. My second complaint is with the used/new car dealership there. I went straight to the GM of the Company, Mike Offer. He handed me over to ***** ******* to find a vehicle that suited my needs. I found one, and they started dealing on it. I received a few calls on regards to some documentation they needed but only on their terms or when they needed something would they call. Two full days passed before I finally called to find out if my loan had passed. I HAD TO CALL THEM!!! Never is that acceptable. Then, I left a message for Mike asking him to call me back. Again. Two days. No Answer. I went in to speak with him face to face, at which point he told me he would have an answer to me by four oclock that day. NO CALL!!!!! And now, I am losing valuable business time babysitting them. I CAN'T EXPLAIN HOW UNPROFESSIONAL THIS IS! And I have been under severe stress as a twenty two year old woman having to do their jobs for them. Never will I do business with JC Lewis again and I will tell all my friends and family and my parents, who run a booming jewelry business, will be informing all of their customers of which are about 600 to 1,000 on a given vending day. If JC Lewis wants to run a company poorly, be my guest. I will NOT put up with it and I will make sure Savannah is chattering about what awful service they have. They will be lucky if a personal lawsuit doesn't come from this. My father is a mental health survivor and has Bi-Polar disorder. He has walked me through this the best of his ability and it has caused him severe, un-needed stress. THEY OWE IT TO US TO FIX THIS AND FIX IT RIGHT!

Desired Settlement: If they desire to settle this. They will sell me the 2012 Ford Escape and will decrease the price of the vehicle until my monthly loan payment is $250.00 and NO MORE.I am done playing nice. I have been kind, understanding and gracious. THEY WILL LOSE THIS SALE, and they will also lose my parent's truck (for repair), and my two younger sister's soon-to-be vehicle purchases. And I will be going to Granger Honda and telling everyone there what horrendous service I have received.

Business Response: We have gone above and beyond for this customer. State Farm was the issue when it was in our body shop and they finally totaled this customer car. She came up to see me and I said that i would help her as much as. We have tried very hard to get this customer appoved for credit as far as i personally called the head of the Ford Credit lending center for the southeast and he would approve her but not on the car that she choose. 


Thank you 
******* *****
General Manager 
J C Lewis Ford 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1