BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Gettel Gainesville, Inc.

Phone: (352) 376-4551 2810 N Main St, Gainesville, FL 32609 http://www.vwofgainesville.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gettel Gainesville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gettel Gainesville, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gettel Gainesville, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 13, 2011 Business started: 02/01/1994 in FL Business started locally: 02/02/2010 Business incorporated: 12/04/2009 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Bisblinghoff, Vice President/COO Ms. Laura Hammer, Controller Ms. Nestor Mena, General Manager Ms. Susan Triana, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Gettle, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Nestor Mena, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Online Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
BMW of Gainesville VW of Gainesville
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 2810 N Main St

    Gainesville, FL 32609 (352) 376-4551

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had my VW Tiguan 2011 serviced at VW of Gainesville. My car was driven for personal use by employees, who used my entire tank of gas and left it EMPTY when I picked it up, SMOKED in my car leaving a horrible smell, left kids car seats in my car and muddy footprints inside and my gas card missing. Nothing was cleaned or done to have it customer ready when I picked it up.

Desired Settlement: 1. Value of loan for trade in 2. Complete refund of service price of $200.62.3. Complete detail interior and exterior 4. Gas gift card for my use 5. Discount of part needed to repair my car.

Business Response: The  customer's 2012 Tiguan was brought in to service here on 7/3/14 because after driving the vehicle for 2 or 3 hours the a/c would start blowing hot. The service advisor explained to the customer that we would have to drive the vehicle 2 or 3 hours to duplicate the concern and the customer agreed and signed the repair order stating that. The service advisor did drive the vehicle home on 7/3/14 so we could duplicate the concern and she could not duplicate the concern. My shop foreman then drove the vehicle home on the weekend and he was still not able to duplicate the concern. On Monday morning 7/11/14 the technician completed another long test drive and duplicated the concern. The techician then tested the a/c system and found the a/c compressor needs replaced. He then completed an oil service on the customer's car.  The technician does smoke but he assured me he did not smoke in the vehicle but his clothes may have made the vehicle smell like smoke. We called the customer's extended warranty and found out her extended warranty had expired at 100,000 miles and she had 107,000 miles. I told her that the a/c compressor would not be covered by her extended warranty because it had expired.  I talked to the customer and told her will are going to send her a check for the fuel that we used and pay her back $127 for the diagnostic charge that she paid.  We will also complete a full inside and outside detail for free. The customer agreed that this was acceptable. I apologized that we did not fill her vehicle with fuel, it smelled like smoke, and it was dirty on the inside. I sent the check request to my accounting department and they will be sending it out next week.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2004 BMW 545, had an oil leak repaired November 2013. The day that I picked up my vehicle it began making squealing noises and the heater pressure was low, contacted BMW immediately to inform of issues, they were not able to "get me in" until February after countless attempts to schedule an appointment. BMW kept vehicle for 5 days stating they could not hear any noises on day 6 (2/25/14) I went to pick up my vehicle and upon cranking the noise began (as it had done everyday since I picked it up in November). Mechanic admitted to hearing squealing while I was there. 2/26/14 I was told the alternator tensioner belt was really bad and needed replacing and was the reason for the squealing, I authorized them to fix the belt, picked my vehicle up and shortly after the noises began again, contacted BMW, asked for service manager, left message on v-mail, didn't receive a response, called back 2 weeks later, left another v-mail, still no response, called a third time requested GENERAL MANAGER and finally the service manager called me back on May 7th, spoke with manager, informed him of noises, once I got into my car the air was blowing cold on passenger & hot on driver side, immediately drove to dealer, dealer stated issue "maybe" expansion valve OR compressor, still could not duplicate noises I was having. I couldn't understand how the compressor was bad and they couldn't explain it all the service manager kept saying was I have dual climate control which causes the issue I was having. Still no noises detected (even with stethoscope). After having suspicion of unethical business I called other BMW dealers who told me they never heard of such I then pulled vehicle (they then offered a discount and refund for alternator tensioner belt), took it to Tom Bush BMW of Jacksonville, FL, they told me my compressor was whaling & sounded as it was about to fall apart, however, no noises heard with stethoscope by BMW Gainesville, and they weren't sure why my air wasn't 100% cool??? Passenger side no longer cold.

Desired Settlement: Would like a full refund of $1,900 for repair. No issues with car prior to them fixing oil leak. All problems occurred upon car leaving from their shop, feel they should be responsible for all expenses. Pulled car from them due to fear of them completely ruining my vehicle in an effort for them to cont repairing esp seeming they heard no noises with a stethoscope & *** ***** BMW states the car was whaling/compressor falling apart. Did they break my compressor? No cold air at all when I left them

Business Response:

Ms. **** brought her 2004 BMW 545 to our dealership on 10/30/13 for issues related to oil and coolant leaks that were covered by her extended warranty. The customer’s extended warranty has now expired. After our inspection, we replaced the upper timing chain cover gaskets, alternator bracket seal for the oil leaks, as well as the valley pan gasket under the intake manifold for the coolant leak. The vehicle repairs were completed on 11/25/13.

The customer brought her vehicle back to our dealership on 02/12/14, informing us that the vehicle had several problems since we serviced it on 11/25/13. First, she stated there was a “squealing” noise coming from the engine when starting the vehicle. After inspection, we were unable to duplicate this problem. Secondly, the customer reported there was a “whining” noise when driving that sounded like a problem with her power steering. Again, after inspection we were unable to duplicate this concern. Third, the customer indicated the oil level gauge was reading at the minimum level; therefore, we added 1 quart of oil to her vehicle. Fourth, she reported the heater was not getting hot at idle, so we adjusted the setting in the idrive. And fifth, she indicated we cracked the windshield wiper cowl during her service date in November 2013. As a result, we replaced the wiper cowl at no charge to her.

On 02/19/14, the customer brought her vehicle back to our dealership and reported there was a “chirping” noise on startup. After inspection, we were, in fact, able to duplicate the noise so we replaced the drive belt and tensioner. The customer called back on 5/6/14 and said that the noise was still present. Given this, I called the customer on 05/8/14 and informed her that I would refund her the money for the drive belt and tensioner. Later that day, she called back and said that the air conditioner was only getting cold on the passenger side and her vehicle was making a “chirping” noise when starting the vehicle. She brought the vehicle in that day (05/08/14) and we gave her a free loaner car so we could complete the inspection.

I paid my BMW certified technician $437 worth of diagnosis to evaluate her reported issues concerning the air conditioning system and chirping noise. My technician tested all the wires that go to the a/c compressor, as well as the wires that go to the a/c control head. He was unable to find any problems. He then performed an Evacuate and Recharge on the a/c system and discovered that the low pressure side was higher than it was supposed to be and the high pressure side was lower than it was supposed to be. The dial on the pressure gauge was also fluctuating on the pressures. These issues indicate one of the following:  1) a stuck expansion valve; or 2) an a/c compressor going out. My technician also started the vehicle many times without duplicating the chirping noise. I called the customer and informed her that we need to start with replacing the expansion valve but there was a possibility that the compressor was also bad. I informed her I would apply the $383.51 she paid for the drive belt and tensioner towards the repairs.

At that point, she stated there was not a problem with her vehicle until we repaired it in November 2013. I informed her that the repairs that were completed in November (6 months prior to the current date) were not related to the a/c given that we did not remove the compressor or the a/c lines at that time. Further, on repeated occasions we were unable to duplicate the reported “chirping” noise when turning on the a/c. The a/c compressor and the expansion valve are mostly mechanical parts; therefore, they will not show up in test plans on the BMW scan tool. Given this, I informed the customer we could not be 100% certain whether the expansion valve or the compressor was bad. However, I did inform the customer that it was recommended she replace the expansion valve if we were replacing the compressor. I also told her that the compressor is on the other side of the engine from where the repairs were performed, so it is unlikely the repairs would have produced the a/c problem.

The customer was also informed  that our service department would not be held responsible for any additional problems with her vehicle if they were not related to the November 2013 repairs. At that point, she approved us replacing the expansion valve. This was completed on 5/21/14; however, it did not fix the issue with her a/c not getting cold on the driver side. I told her that the vehicle is going to need an a/c compressor like we thought, so she informed us she was going to pick up her car and declined having the compressor replaced. I applied the $383.51 towards her bill and her father picked up the vehicle on 5/27/14.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2007 Mercedes GL 450 purchased less than 6 months ago ( August 2013 ) was purchased in good faith- and maintained according to dealers recommendations . Recently had scheduled maintenance performed. Shortly after vehicle starts making a noise and check engine light appears. Dealership claims large leak in steering column and problem with compressor that was not identified just a couple of weeks earlier. The cost of the repair is projected to be $2500-$3000. Unethical business practice is suspected.

Desired Settlement: problem with vehicle needs to be repaired free of charge.

Business Response: Meeting with the customer on 1/10/2014 in an effort to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

I met with BMW General Manager regarding the issue on 1/10/2014. We started working on it.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to purchase a used car from the dealership that advertised for 17,844.00 used. I went in discussed the car to purchase and maybe additional warranty. The provided me with the additional coverage and the car for a set price of 150.00 a month. After I researched the car warranty coverage company and found out bad reviews that they do not cover anything. So I went back to the dealership and advise I did not want to purchase the warranty I will just buy the car without it and buy the warranty somewhere else since I reviewed the company on line and it was bad. At that point, the dealership advised me that the price of the car went up because I did not want the warranty. I found out that it was illegal for what they did. After negotating with the dealership. I ended up getting the car but with only 3 months warranty (the company I did not want because of the bad reviews) and for 170.00.

Desired Settlement: What I would like is that they give it to me at the price of 150.00 per month and that the provided to me with another company's warranty that is better for bumper to bumper up to the 100K mileage that the dealership was providing to me in the beginning

Business Response:

Mr. ****r visited the dealership the other day asking about the 2008 Mercedes-Benz, we provided the numbers for him. Mr. ****r explained he would like to pay a down payment toward his loan of $12,000. He also stated he would not purchase a car without a vehicle service contract that would cover his car to 100,000 miles. He was provided with the information on the coverage and price of such a warranty. Mr. ****r called a few days later and asked if we could include the cost of the warranty into his financing and maintain payments of $150.00. It was explained to him that it may be possible with approved credit. Mr. ****r then came to the dealeship and proceeded to start his paperwork. While filling out the approved 72 month agreement, he requested the terms be changed to 48 months. He requested that we discount the car and after discussing with Mr. ****r that we would be unable to meet his terms he was told that he was not obligated to buy the car. Mr. ****r went on to buy the car with a 48 month agreement but without the Vehicle service contract he had previously wanted.

Mr. ****r was called on  October 11th, 2013. It was explained to him that we have a company policy that would allow him to return his car with no fee if he did not feel comfortable with his purchase. Mr. ****r said this was not what he was looking for as an offer.  We also extended the 100% money back policy to seven days and alerted Mr. ****r of the extension. Mr. ****r never responded.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:


I am writing you because the complaint has not been resolved ref ID # *******. 

First, as stated in the response from the business it is not true from the complaint ID.  If you look what was written in the complaint was that the dealership .when I called an told them that the warranty company is bad and that all I wanted to do is not use them and get someone else...that is when they stated that the price of the car just went up because I didnt want to use that warranty company which is illegal to raise the price of  car.

Second, since obtaining the car there is several problems with the car.  A few days later the cars oil light went on, then in the moring when I started the car it is making a big noise (spoke ot my uncle the mechanic) and stated that it is the starter and the ring gear that has to be replaced. I didnt know it ha lem because the car was running when it was brought to me at the dealership.  Next, a couple of lights dont work on the car.

Resolution:  the car needs to be looked over and resolved with all the issues that I have identified and then it needs to be mechanically looked at for other issues by a mercedes-benz mechanic that knows the car.  The mechanic and items fixed has to be in my area of Jacksonville where I work and not gainesville, florida

Please let me know a response asap. Here is my contact phone #
###-###-####.

Thank You.
******* ****r

 

Business Response:

Mr. ****r,

I looked at your pricing on the agreement you signed, you pruchased the car for nine hundred less than the internet price. The warranty prices are regulated by the state and approved, we can only sell them for the amount approved by the state of Florida. We aren't allowed to raise the price or lower the price of any warranties we sell.

 

Thank You,

***** *****

General Manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1