BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gatorland Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gatorland Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Gatorland Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1994
Business Management
Mr. Chris Trotti, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Trotti, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Gatorland Collision Center Gettel Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gatorland Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2985 N. Main St.,

    Gainesville, FL 32609

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 11, 2006, I bought a 2015 Toyota Camry from Gatorland Toyota in Gainesville, FL. Well, my latest problem with them comes from the fact that the maintenance service light came on, according to the sticker that oil needed to be changed at 26,640 miles so I take the car in and they tell me the oil doesn't need to be changed until 31,640 miles. To make matters even worst they tell me the oil was changed by Volkswagon of Ocala but since the sticker in the window says genuine Toyota oil I questioned that and made a trip to that dealership who stated to me that they used generic oil. My whole purpose for going to Gatorland Toyota to get my oil changed in the first place was simply because when my car is under any kind of warranty I don't like to comprise that by doing such things as putting in the wrong oil. Unfortunate, Gatorland is the only Toyota dealer close by me. I think they may have comprised the Certified Used Car warranty that they spoke of by not providing the proper service prior to selling the vehicle, they just changed the sticker saying it was genuine Toyota oil just to say the oil was changed. I didn't have the oil changed that day because even though the sticker states it needed to be done at 26,640 miles they then tell me it didn't need to be done until 31,640. If the oil didn't need to be changed at this time of if according to them the oil that goes in the car only needs to be changed every 10,000 miles why put the sticker saying something else.

Desired Settlement: They need to provide a true certified inspection of the vehicle not just put stickers on the vehicle saying genuine parts (oil) was used. It has a Toyota sticker when Volkwagon of Ocala said it was generic oil and then they said yeah it was Toyota oil. Don't say is genuine when first of all you don't have the facts. They need to finish the REAL CERTIFIED INSPECTION

Business Response:

Ms **** was in today for a re inspection of her recently purchased Toyota Camry.  Our Service manager explained in detail our inspection process and reviewed the services completed to make the vehicle ready for sale.  He reviewed our original inspection line by line and explained the 10,000 mile oil change interval.  He also made her aware that the Ocala VW dealer was part of our dealer group and the oil they used was high quality NAPA branded oil and  the correct synthetic grade and weight.  We offered to change the oil and filter and replace the one tire that had worn to below 5/32 as a goodwill gesture.  She was very appreciative and accepted our offer. 

 

Please feel free to contact me with any further concerns , otherwise I will consider this matter closed .

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

 

4/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did a trade in from a Sienna LE 2008 to a RAV 4 Limited 2010 and they include the payment of the Sienna into the RAV 4, and I end up having a total loan for $42,000 for a RAV-4 2010. I have tried numerous times to contact the General Manager, the previous one and the new one with no answers. They kept me waiting for over 5 hours and I had my boys with me. I know there was a big issue with this dealership, and I thought my name was going to be on the list of people that got resolution, but I has not been contacted. Could you help?

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to recognize their error and to provide me a refund for this transaction.

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ********** today (4/22/16) and I explained to her that since she did not possess the title or own her trade that the loan balance (12,400) must be added to the new loan amount. 

Mrs . ********** will most likely stop sometime in the future  in order for me to show her in detail how the number work out.  

I believe she has a better understanding now . 


Sincerely,
***** ******

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: even though I understand the response from the new manager,  the way my transaction was handled was not the best, they were not clear in explaining the process and told me one thing and after waiting more than 4 hours, I am paying a lot of money for the car. If they would have explained the whole process my decision would have been different.  They told me something different back then. 

Regards,

****** **********

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to have my car serviced & i told the girl over the phone whom i spoke with my name & that was my car & I explained that both my husband and I have the same year make and model of vehicles but that this service was to be under my car. My husband and I then drove to the dealer service providers location which is out of state from where we originally bought our cars from, since we are visiting in FL & my car required service. He told the young lady that we surrenderd the car to that the service was for his wife, ***** ****** car. Later he got the paperwork we got back into the car & were halfway home when I decided to look at the paperwork to see what they did. & I saw that my husband had signed, but that the error was his name & cars information was there & not mine. That concerned me greatly since he had taken my car there for a previous service. so I got that paperwork out and saw that they had done that service under my husband's name and. Car info as well. So i called and requested to speak to Ian the advisor who had handled the paperwork at this time and left a message with him, & I left a message with the service manager. I lft msg telling them the problem and how I wanted it corrected and I would be willing to come back but we were already halfway home I didn't know if we were going to hear from them by the time we reached home. I then got a phone call back from Ian the advisor who said we didn't need to return, so when I explain to him what happened he sounded confused, he asked for my VIN #& he said it wasn't in the system I told him that I would fax over the paperwork that he needed and all he needed to do was to replace the information that they had put under my husband's name for those two services and correctly put it under my car's name info . I fax the paperwork over, including my instructions. I did not hear back from them for a week so my husband got into his car he, note, his car had been serviced there in the past as wel. They knew my instructions, yet they chose to tell him that they would service his car under my and name and thats how they corrected this by doing that. I was not pleased & I called and left messages with them that i can't change the way that it was decided, I don't like it but I at least asked for them to put something in writing so that this which is already a confusing situation wouldn't get more confusing, because my car has the extended warranty and my husbands doesn't. So I'm concerned that might be a problem in the future, but either way I wanted some kind of paperwork to document this & I left my email address. Since then I have not heard back from them. I know clearly my conversation when I asked for my car to get serviced. THIS should not of happened, why don't they have a fail-safe to stop this from happening on THEIR end? They are not listening! THEY don't care, they are trying to cover up multiple employees mistakes! I blame the person setting up the appt.the first time, I know my husband stated his name when they asked who they were talking to, but said it's for my wife's car, ***** *****. I blame the girl I set up the appt w/me, because I even took the time to inform her that my husband & I have the same year & models, but different color cars. I blame who took the car w/keys who has the paperwork in their hand! I blame the mechanic, who wrote on the sticky reminder & put in windshield why milege difference for oil changes? & should have called the Advisor & questioned. I blame the Advisor. No one matched the VIN #, color, or the, plate #. And yeah, my husband for signing he picked up my car & not looking at the name & car info. The first time he brought it in for me, & I could say I should have looked at the paperwork he put in my glovebox, but I didn't until I found the error at the appt I was at w/him, & then looked & saw the error on the first one too. I want some kind of documentation, & I want contact from the company. No matter what, this is my car, in my name. Sincerely, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Correct car work done under proper name. Documentation of such work and changes business made. Ensure my extended warranty is intact. Ensure 2 yr Toyota care service is being done under my car, & Oil changes, what work was done, or not done?. Were proper tire rotation , & multi point inspections done? Corrected, & updated documentation.

Business Response: Service Director *** ******** spoke with Mrs. ***** yesterday and sent her the documentation she requested. The services completed on each of the *****'s Toyotas were the same service and the service history in our system is correct except for the 5 days between the two services.  The Toyota Care maintenance will not be affected and is unharmed by this error.  Mrs. ***** stated she was satisfied with our response.    

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

2/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a NEW 2016 Toyota Camry, last month, I had a coupon/certificate that clearly stated $500 off to all Military Members for purchasing a NEW car, when I gave it to the salesman/manager, he said that i was already obtaining a “good” deal, so he would not honor that. I felt that was a kick in the teeth. Not only was I not given a good deal, as a 20 year Veteran, he refused to take my Military cerficate and they were also advertising at the time that they would give $2500 over the Kelly Blue Book value of my car, my car was in the Blue Book for approximately $13,000, they did not do that either, they gave me an allowance of $11,000 for my trade, which was a 2012 Toyota Camry with only 43k miles on it! I want all VETS to stay away from GATORLAND toyota, I am a single/divorced mother trying to make ends meet and they don’t care, I even asked the manager if he had ever been in the military, of course, he said no. His name was **** ******, my sales person was Truly Lee, I am disguisted, I feel like just because I am a woman, they took total and complete advantage of me, then, when i went to sign the paperwork, the finance man, put the final screws to me, he charged me almost $4000.00 in maintenance contracts, which i didn’t need, after all i was buying a new car, then he charged me almost 4% interest on a new car, I called him the next day and told him i needed the 10 day payoff that I was re-financing at less then 1% through my credit union, he had the nerve to tell me that they only want your money, and that I needed to reconsider. I went with Gatorland only because i wanted to give my business to a “local” company, not anymore, never AGAIN! I will do whatever I have to do to get my old car back. They gave me 11k for my vehicle toward my new vehicle, nothing as advertised, refused to take my military discount, then, when i went to go buy it back, they wanted 15k for the car that they gave me 11k 3 days prior…..HELP……Thanks, for you time, Theresa Moore, retired MSgt Air Force, now

Desired Settlement: I want my old car back and they can have there car back.

Business Response:

The customer has been here multiple times speaking to the whole management staff.  **** *******, the General Sales Manager, has spoken to her several times to explain the deal in detail.  He has broken down the numbers to show her that she did receive the $500 discount for veterans in the deal she received.  We also gave her fair market value for the trade.  The flyer she is referring to is up to 2500 above market value based on condition and mileage.  I have reviewed the deal personally, and the deal is an extremely aggressive offer.  We have a 3 day exchange policy, but we do not have a return policy for customers who purchase vehicles and sign all the paperwork.  The difference in her wanting to buy her vehicle back is because you have to pay sales tax, title, and fees on the purchase which raises up the total.  The dealer apoplogizes that the customer feels so strongly about Gatorland Toyota, but we stand completely behind everything we did.  We have complete documentation time stamped showing the process from start to finish with all the customer's signatures agreeing on the deal.  We are unable to fulfill her request to give her old car back and take back the new one.  However, I would be happy to review the whole transaction with her again to show her the deal she received. 

 

thanks,

******* ********

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota 

Business Response:

The lemon law does not protect against 3 day return policy.  It is for a manufacturer defect.  She purchased the vehicle with a $4523 discount off of sales price.  Invoice is $26383 and purchased the vehicle for $24785.  We gave her all incentives applicable, and can clearly show it on the paperwork.  The trade advertising is based on paying MSRP and is "up to" 2500 based on condition.  The disclaimer on the advertisement also states up to based on model, condition, and mileage on the vehicle.  We are very comfortable with defending the deal ******* ***** recieved.  There will be nothing else we will do for her. 

 

******* ********

General Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   

The total sales price shows $32487.52- $11500 for my trade, the KBB value for a good trade in was in the range of $13,400-14,200, the ad stated and guaranteed $2500 over KBB value, which I clearly did not receive, nor did I receive the $500 military discount that was advertised on line for the month of November.  When I took the vehicle back, it wasn't for the "lemon law", I have 3 days as a customer to bring the vehicle back and get mine back, they refused!  All they had to do was give me my car back, it was there on the lot, they refused!  The assistant manager, **** ******* stated if I wanted my car back I had to pay $14300, when two days prior they gave me $11500!!!!  I want this to be over with, however as a consumer, I refuse to give up, this is not justified and I have all the paperwork to prove my compliant!  I called Mr. Snelling, he is still standing firm on not doing anything and that I received a good deal.  What is my next step, I refuse to allow gatorland Toyota to treat customers like this, so, what's next?  Do I need a lawyer?  Please help me!   

Regards,

******* *****

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about June 11th 2015, I went in to Gatorland Toyota, of Gainesville, Florida, to look at possible cars to purchase. I have an aging 1993 Toyota Pickup truck. I sat down with a young man, I believe his name is ****** **********, ###-###-####, ext. **** from his business card, I still have. His cell phone is written on the back of the card. I am a student at Santa Fe College in Gainesville. My credit score I found out from a previous car dealership was 630. In April 2015, I had visited a Used Car Dealership in Gainesville, FL, and had asked for a credit check on buying a car. I received a denial letter in the mail. That's how I know what my credit score was. When I visited Toyota Gatorland in June I had a particular vehicle to research and I test drove it with ******. It was a beautiful Toyota Sienna van. We sat down to look at possible ways to finance the vehicle. I said my Mom wanted to help me to get into a vehicle. However, she lives in another state. So it would take time to get things arranged. The amount was in the neighborhood of $11,000. I knew that was too much and said I would have to look at something else. I made a comment that I would like to see what the payments might be if I was able to come up with half the money the car was valued at. The Toyota associate ****** leaves the desk and returns. I am thinking he has some figures for me to look at. He brings to me a paper and wants me to sign it to agree to $300 a month payments. ****** said hurry up there are people on the phone waiting for you to sign. I looked over at some glass cubby hole and there are four people on phones. I couldn't believe it. I said I in no way came in to sign anything. I was merely looking at options. I voiced my opinion in no uncertain terms that I didn't appreciate his high pressure tactics and would take my business elsewhere. After receiving a few texts and a voice mail which I did not answer, wondering if I was still interested in a vehicle I let the matter rest. Well, I began receiving letters in the mail from no fewer than five banks telling me my credit had been denied. ****** had authorized, without my permission, to shop my credit. I am stunned! This is unethical and irresponsible in my opinion and I think Gatorland Toyota should cease and desist this kind of unethical practice. My credit score was already low at 630 but it has now dropped to 608. I am very angry with Gatorland Toyota.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure if this is possible but it is on your list of things possible to resolve this issue. Being that I in no way authorized my credit being shopped, would like to see it returned to how it was. And I would like to see Gatorland Toyota change their high-pressure tactics and credit shopping without written authorization of the customer. There is nothing in life that anyone does in such a hurry especially buying a car. It takes time, intuition and knowledge of what I can and can't afford. Only I the customer knows this. And for a 20 year old to try to make a decision for me, the customer, without my knowledge, is terrible customer service. He should have given me the figures and let me make the determination whether I was seriously interested in the vehicle enough to look for payment options with Toyota. All I wanted was figures on a piece of paper, not a contract!!

Business Response:

In reference to Ms. *******'s complaint:

1st and foremost I am upset to hear the disappointment the customer has in our sales practices.  We do treat every customer as if they are here to purchase a vehicle.  We also try to provide them the best information available if they do not.  Only 25% of all customers purchase a car on their first visit so we are highly aware customer service long term pays off.  Ms. ******* did sign a credit application which we store for 2 years.  This application is an approval from the customer to see if we can obtain financing.  Ms. ******* stated she had 4000 down and was looking to purchase a Sienna we had on the lot.  Unfortunately, she did not have the cash available at the time.  If she thought us trying to get her into a vehicle is high pressure than I apologize.  However, anytime someone gives us a credit application and a payment expectation on a specific car we are going to do everything in our power to get the customer the best possible rate and term.  We can only do this by sending to different lenders. 

Ms. ******* does need to know that pulling credit at a dealership and sending to lenders does not lower scores.  The credit bureaus recognize people shopping for a car.  However, If she is going to multiple stores and they are pulling her credit as well it can then pull down her score.  We, as a dealership, cannot raise her score.  Her score is dictated by balances of loans, credit cards, etc.  Inquiries on the credit should not ever drop a score 30 points unless she is shopping a variety of different places. 

Again,  I apologize for her feelings about the high pressure sales.  In no way do we condone this.  I will be happy to meet her to discuss if she would like.  In reference to the credit, once we get an application, which we do have signed, we have the right to obtain approval for a loan. 

I can be contacted at the store at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* ********

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

I will call the credit bureau and see if they can remove the inquiries from your credit.  This will be the 1st time I have attempted to do this, but I will do my best to remove the inquiries from your file.  However, we do have a credit application with a signature allowing us to pull the credit.  I stand by this 100%.  Hopefully, this resolution meets your needs. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******


Dear Gatorland Toyota:

I know that my credit score plunged after visiting Gatorland Toyota, and for you to say that you think car dealers shopping your credit doesn't lower a credit score is very naive and uninformed. I know that CarMax did not pressure me or expect me to do a credit application the same day when I was just looking and gathering information. I don't believe you have the customer's best interests at heart. I felt too much pressure.

 I know that ********** said the banks were on the phone waiting for me to sign a contract. I do recall now giving ********** some information to see if they could give me a rough estimate of what my payments would be. I did not sign any contract.

I know that I won't shop alone again for a car. I don't think you should be contacting four banks without the customer's permission.

Sorry for the confusion. I was upset when I received four banks refusing my credit. I went in yesterday and clicked on "dispute the credit inquiries" on Equifax and hope to get this behind me. I would train your sales people to breath and not jump to conclusions on their own without checking with the customer first. All I wanted was information on what monthly payments would be if I used credit. The credit inquiries (four) were on 6//15/15.

The common knowledge around town is that Gainesville is the worst place to buy a car. I believe ********** said Gatorland Toyota tacks on all kinds of fees if you want to pay cash for a vehicle. which to me doesn't make any sense. We have gone with a dealer in Tallahassee, FL. paying cash for an older vehicle.

Thank you for your efforts to resolve this issue.

Appreciate your time,

******* *******


 

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2012 Prius on 3/7/2015 (deal # 147232 ) and were sold a service contract, maintenance contract, road hazard contract, and auto butler which are essentially worthless. We have homes in Fl and Ind. and took our Prius to the local Toyota dealer in ***********, Ind. for an oil change and routine maintenance under our service contract as a maintenance reminder was being displayed on the dash only to find that these contracts are valid only at Gatorland Toyota and would not be honored outside of this dealer. We were led to believe we had purchased nationally recognized maintenance and service contracts which is a gross misrepresentation of the facts. We demand a full refund of the $4542.00 that we spent on these useless contracts and we desire that folks in Gainesville be warned of the duplicity of these untrustworthy sales and finance personnel employed by Gatorland Toyota.

Desired Settlement: 1) Full Refund of Money for these useless warranty items 2) Letter of reprimand issued to salespersons and finance officers involved 3) Formal Letter of Apology to us 4) Letter in Gainesville Sun to remind people to be cognizant of the inherent dangers of purchasing maintenance and service contracts

Business Response:

All the products the customer purchased are cancelable 100%.  The customer can come in any time and sign a cancellation form for these products.  They mentioned that the products are only good at Gatorland Toyota.  This is not true.  They are good at any Toyota store.  If that dealership will not take them they can be submitted with the directions on the back for a full refund of their service.  The customer can contact me at ###-###-#### which is my cell phone to either explain the quality of the product or help cancel the product. 

 

Thanks,
******* ********

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have left a phone message for this manager.  We will be in Fl next week and I desire to meet with him in person to discuss these issues.  There are a number of areas where we have been advised by another Toyota dealer that we have been overcharged. We desire the BBB to remain in the loop until this gets resolved to our satisfaction.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: I will be happy to meet him in person and review all the items. We will set up a time to meet. 

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several months ago I went into Gatorland Toyota to discuss my end of lease options for a 2012 toyota corolla. The lease expires at the end of August, and I plan on being gone May-August for an internship. I am a grad student, and my plan would then be to return to Gainesville for 4 more months to finish out my program and graduate in december. I wanted to know if there was any way I good trade my car in at the end of April, then pick up another car at the beginning of September and pay the same lease on that for the remaining 4 months. Essentially I would pay the same and and have a car for the same amount of time. Gatorland Toyota has been sending me about 1 piece of mail per week telling me they have a high demand for my car, and want to buy it back from me. So, I went in thinking that this could be a win-win situation: I get a car for the same amount of time and the same price, but for months that fit me better, and Toyota gets a car they claim to really want back 4 months sooner. I went in and talked with a salesman and a manager, and after talking for about half an hour, they claimed they had worked out a way for this to happen. I asked if they could give me anything in writing, but they said they couldn't because they couldn't appraise my car right then since I wasn't turing it in for another couple months. They assured me though that they had written everything down in their computer so that there wouldn't be any confusion. I went back to talk to them today, since the plan would be to turn it in in 2 weeks, and now they are acting like this agreement was never made, and that they can't imagine anybody making an agreement like this. They tried to condescendingly tell me I may have misunderstood what I was told, but that is not the case. I am not stupid: I know the agreement that we made 2 months ago, and I know they are backing out on it now. Worse though, is that this has impacted my plans for the summer. At the time I initially talked to Gatorland, I was debating driving my car to my internship, but this seemed like the better option. Now I already have plane tickets and I have made plans that do not sync up with me having this car for the summer. They're telling me that no matter if I turn it in early or not, I'm on the hook for the last 4 lease payments over the summer, and there is no way I can basically defer those payments to another car I drive for 4 months when I get back, like they had originally told me. With 2 weeks until I leave, this is now a huge issue that I wasn't prepared for that is going to seriously financially impact me. I had a deal worked out with them that would have benefitted me more, and that also would have benefitted them, but they seem content to pull a bait-and-switch on me now that I'm between a rock and a hard place. This is hardly the first incident I have had of low ethics from this dealership (the salesman who worked out my lease signed me up for insurance that invalidated my lease, so I wouldn't say I couldn't pay the monthly payment and insurance), so I'm not shocked by this sort of behavior from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the original deal honored: that I can turn in the car 4 months early, then 4 months later come back and get a used car for 4 months, and come out of that not owing any extra money than I would've had to pay out on my original lease. Alternatively, if that doesn't work, I'd like to turn my car in at the end of the month and have the last 4 payments either waved or at least reduced. Considering the bait-and-switch I was put through, I don't think either of these is too much to ask. If Gatorland isn't lying in their persistant mailings to me about how badly they want 2012 Corollas, then this would seem to be benefitting them as well. And if they were lying about that, well, they seem to lie about a lot of things.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** was given an opportunity to terminate his corolla lease early.  We were going to make the remaining four payments.  We were going to apply the payment balance to another vehicle so he would not have to come out of pocket.  He wanted to defer the 4 payments until he got back from his trip.  Unfortunately, we are not allowed to just defer the payments for him without the purchase of lease of a new vehicle.  Toyota does have a early lease turn in plan.  If he was told there was an early turn in plan that is correct.  Toyota will make up to 3-6 payments for you if you lease or purchase another Toyota.  Mr. ****** wanted Gatorland to defer the payments without purchasing another vehicle.  The program guidlines do not allow for this.  We understand the frustration Mr. ****** has, but this dealership has never had a scenerio like this.  We all understand the program, and explain it fully to the customers. 

Mr. ****** has to understand that he contractually signed a lease with World Omni bank, not Gatorland Toyota.  I do understand Mr. ******'s predictament, and I would be more than happy to try to help him out.  If I can put top dollar on his trade to get him out of his lease I would do so.  However, it has to be in the guidlines of what the vehicle value is. 

Gatorland Toyota does not practice what he is calling "bait and switch".  If Mr. ****** can provide me in writing when he originally leased the vehicle in 2012 the agreement he said he had I would honor those 4 payments.  Anyone making a committment like he did should have it in writing. 

Again, I will be happy to meet with him to try to help him out, but we cannot just make 4 payments for someone because they are going on a trip, and do not need a car anymore.

 

Thanks,

******* ********

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota 

Business Response:

Clearly, Mr. ****** is very upset about the way he feels he was treated.  This is the last thing we want from a previous customer.  However, based on the multiple years of being in business I have never heard of someone paying a customers final payments 3 years in advance with nothing in writing without a customer buying another car.  I am by no means calling Mr. ****** a liar, but it is very difficult to resolve this issue and hold someone accountable without it being in writing. 

With that being said I would like to make the situation as right as possible.  Possibly a compromise or a good faith gesture to show we do care, and want him to be happy. 

Consumer Response:

I am intrigued by this compromise or good-faith gesture that was proposed. However, no details were given as to what that would be, and as Gatorland Toyota has reminded me, unless I get something specific in writing it doesn't mean anything. So, if they propose a compromise or good-faith gesture that I am amenable towards, I will accept their resolution.

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was forced sell an extended warranty on my 2006 Prius for $1906. I never wanted that warranty and their ** *** ***** ********* told me that I can cancel the warranty by just calling them. And If I do so within 30 days, my full money will be guaranteed returned in 5 business days. I cancelled the warranty next day in Dec. 2014. I have never got any refund back on my account up until today. They constantly keep saying that they don't know what is going on with my cancellation and they themselves filed the cancellation. They charged my card with the name Gatorland Toyota-that means upon cancellation the money should have been reversed on my credit card account.

Desired Settlement: I just want to get my money refund ASAP.

Business Response:

We have been working with Mr. **** to cancel his warranty.  I have personally followed up with the warranty company.  This is an ongoing issue we have been trying to resolve with the warranty company.  I will continue to monitor this.  I have responsed to Mr. ****'s emails to ensure him we are on top of it.  I apologize for the inconvience. 

 

******* ********

******* *******

Gatorland Toyota 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: First, I would like to thank Mr. ********. I think he was the biggest reason I made a decision to purchase this vehicle from Gatorland. I was forced sold this warranty by Gatorland. I paid the requested amount of $1906 to Gatorland and I immediately requested to return this warranty. I was told that the money will be returned ASAP and full refund won't be an issue since I am returning it within prescribed time frame. This has been almost 3 months since I have cancelled the warranty now. I am attaching the warranty cancellation form from *** which was given to me by Gatorland upon my second attempt of cancellation. I have submitted this form twice (because I was told that your ** couldn't find my first request and I was not given a copy of that form) with your dealership and personally followed through ***. In my first attempt they explained that they never received this form from dealership. I again follow through Gatorland to ensure that they send it to ***.   In my second attempt I was asked by Gatorland to resubmit another form-which I did and  send this form to *** (I submitted this form to your ** second time again and asked for a copy which he happily provided after my many attempts). However, if you closely look at the form, it states that the primary condition for returning extended warranty is to show *** a proof of refund made by Gatorland to the customer (i.e in this case to me). Gatorland never made any refund to me. I hope this info will help me to get my refund back and resolve the case with ***. As I have stated earlier that I am a student and this hold of money of such a large amount is hampering  my academic progress.  I can't thank you all enough for all your support. I hope to get my money back soon.

Regards,

******* ****

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Toyota Corolla with Gatorland Toyota on November 8th, 2014. I used my current car, a 2000 Nissan Altima, as a trade in; the trade-in value given to me by Toyota was for $1000. After putting insurance on this new Corolla, they allowed me to leave the lot with the car because they stated “everything is good”. After having the car for about two weeks, I was informed that I would need to bring the car back to Toyota. I was then told that I had until the end of the month (November 30th) to bring the car back. I was completely okay with this but with it being the holidays, I was not able to bring the car back until December 2nd. Upon bringing the car back to Toyota, I was under the impression that as I returned their keys to the Corolla, they would give me the keys to my Altima. I was not able to leave Gatorland Toyota’s lot with my car because it was not working. I had to call a tow truck to help me because the salesman was not giving me any solutions or answers as to why my car was not working. The salesman that I dealt with, both on November 8th and December 2nd, ***** ****** started to make comments that I felt were unnecessary and not helpful to the situation at all. I feel as though this whole situation could have been avoided from the beginning because I was not in a rush to get a car and I wanted to make sure everything was in order before even having a newer car. I also felt like I was being blamed for this situation when I did nothing wrong.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my car that I initially traded in, the Nissan Altima, to be running effectively; the way it was running when I drove onto the lot on November 8th, 2014. If this cannot be achieved I would like for something to be done because now I am without a car and Toyota received their car working the same way they handed it to me.

Business Response:

i already responded to the customer personally.  I apologize but i did not see this complaint.  The customer and I have communicated and i will make sure i have her car running again.  This should solve any issues with the customer and the case.

 

Thanks,

******* ********

General Manager

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With several recalls on a RAV4 we purchased from Gatorland a Toyota we have called to have them repaired and always get the runaround. Either we are told someone will return our call (and does not as in this instance) or we are told it will take several weeks and are not offered a vehicle loan while the repairs are finally done. Their service level is not what I would expect after making a substantial investment in a new vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would expect prompt service and great attention to detail when dealing with recalls. This is my wife's primary car and we have 2 small children. It makes her nervous and anxious when safety related recalls occur. I would prefer a service manager call and help us get the needed recall repairs serviced as timely as possible.

Business Response:

*** *******, our service manager, will be calling today to set an appointment up.  He will personally take care of the matter.  We apologize for the lack of service as we strive to make every customer feel like they are getting great treatment.  We feel if the customer gives us another opportunity we will prove how much we do care about them. 

Thanks,

******* *******g

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase vehicle and offered so called smart payment plan to accelerate payment vehicle. Fees were not disclosed and plan is not what was disclosed by dealer. Called smart plan to cancel since dealer told me a month ago they would and refund all fees but had failed to do so. Fees told now unrefunded.

Desired Settlement: Refund all fees not disclose d.

Business Response: Mr. ********* did have some confusion on his smart pay.  My finance manager worked back and forth with him.  Mr. ********* did apologize for not understanding what exactly happened.  I believe he will be ok with closing this complaint out.  At first I think he believed we were not being 100% transparent with his payoff. Once he went back and forth with my finance manager things got cleared up.  If Mr. ********* is still not 100% satisfied with this response I will be happy to reach out to him and correct any issue.

 
Thanks,
******* ******** 
General Manager
Gatorland Toyota

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a mailer from said dealer which stated I would get a $250.00 Visacard just for showing the mailer and asking for the secret factory invoice,which I did . Also test drove a new car and listened to their offer. Upon which I again showed them the mailer and was told the mailer was in error, and to get the Visa card I WOULD HAVE TO BUY A VEHICLE. At that point I left with the mailer and no visa card. I consider this false advertising and they should be held accountable.

Desired Settlement: Honor the terms of the mailer they sent to me.

Business Response: The mailer that Mr. ******** received was from ******* ****** *****.  It was a sale they were doing, and we were the partners.  They had a typo in the mailer which was corrected on the website, and also in a written letter.  We explained to Mr. ******** this and also showed him the new mailer showing the correct information.  We also recommended he went to the ******* ****** ***** website to review the rules.  We explained that ******* ****** ***** sent this mailer to all their members (over 20,000 people), and it would not be possible to give every customer or member a $250 gift card just for showing up.  ******* ****** ***** has apologized for the misprint.  

 
I am willing to give Mr. ******** a $100 gift card for the lack of full communication if he is willing to understand the situation, and recognizes this was not a Gatorland Toyota promotion.  We honor all of our gifts and promotions if we are the ones printing it.  
 
This $100 is strictly a good faith offer and not an admission of guilt.  The $100 gift card hopefully satisfies Mr. ********, and he will comment that we did the correct thing in this matter. 
 
Sincerely,
Jeramie Snelling
General Manager
Gatorland Toyota

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

 

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyota Yaris on March 5, 2012 from Gatorland Toyota. After being kept waiting for over four hours to sign a purchase contract, my wife and I were ushered into the ******* *******'s office (***** ******) and the purchase contract presented to me was a horrible shock. I did not get what we expected in any way. The contract was for 75 months and included two extra coverage policies at the cost of $2600 additional which I did not want but ened up coerced into purchasing. ( We were so exhausted and did not leave the dealership until after 9 P.M.!!) I signed the contract just to get out of there at that point. We were the last people left in the building finalizing a sale. The amount of the contract was for $25,288.7100 ! The dealer did not give us the window sticker for the vehicle, either as we usually got when we purchased our cars. We cannot even say for sure what the price was supposed to be. We were misled through the whole pre-buying experience. We were told the miles per gallon would be better on the Yaris than on our Toyota Corolla which we were trading in. That was an outright lie. It has turned out to be 5 MPG less!! We recently went to a local dealer near where we live to try to get out from under this horrible mess and they aren't even sure we can trade it in we are so "upside down" on the value of the Yaris ( which retails, base at around $16,000.) My wife complained loudly to them about what had happened and learned there was a write-up on Gatorland recently. According to the "*********** ***", a lawsuit was filed by the ******** ********* Office and 76 complaints were settled two months ago. MANY of the complaints we have were there. My wife called Gatorland within the past week for information on getting our money refunded on the two extra policies and was treated rudely. I have contacted the ***** ****** and think we need a lawyer since we were not included in any settlement. We never knew there was a suit against them. We would have filed. We were ripped off!

Desired Settlement: We want the full refund on the Service and Maintenance contracts plus the settlement that others received so far. If Gatorland does not comply I will want lawyers fees paid if we need to file our own lawsuit against them. We deserve at least the same as others received.

Business Response:

Complaintant does not qualify in any way for the lawsuit they read about.  The customer paid less than the Gatorland addendum list price, and they received an over-allowance for their trade in.  The reason the finance amount was high is because they had a high balance owed on their previous car that rolled into the new loan.  We actually show a negative profit on the front end of the deal.  The warranty is state regulated at $1902 and can be canceled, and the customer will receive the pro-rated amount owed.  If the customer would like, they can contact me directly to get it canceled.  The maintenance was sold at $699 with a cost of $477.  This item can also be canceled and the pro-rated amount can be refunded.  The refund would go to the bank balance.  If there is no bank balance it will go directly to the customer. 

We understand the customer's concerns and I would be happy to personally sit with them to review their deal.  We have all new management, including the ******* ******* which is me, and recognize the concerns they might have.  I am also dissapointed the customer feels like they were treated poorly when trying to cancel the items.  Again, they are welcome to come to me directly to make sure the items wanting canceled do indeed get handled. 

The complaintant needs to understand the settlements were made, and the ******** ******* audited the transactions already.  The complaintant did not fall into any of the categories of the lawsuit. 

The complaintant can reach me at ******************** or ************ *** *****  

******* ********, ******* *******

Gatorland Toyota

 

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 Mr. ******** ( the new ******* ******* ) has chosen to refute the complaint using a lot of financial " terminology" and excludes many  other factors involved,  such as those explicitly  mentioned in the article posted in the *********** *** recently,  regarding the case and the Class action suit which was filed by the ******** ********* ******. He also fails to note the fact that we had dealt with his Dealership more than once with two trade-ins involved.  Making a sale was more important than  how outrageous the cost and payment plan would be for the consumer.  Beware a company using the expression;" Where do you need your payment to be at?" It is a typical tactic used in early negotiations.   I have tried to contact one of the lawyers who was involved in the judgment against Gatorland Toyota and subsequent settlement.   I have yet to get a response.  Now that it has been adjudicated; the chances are nil for receiving help.   I ame  going to get out of the Yaris as soon as possible, due to the poor miles per gallon  which were misrepresented by a salesperson.  This cannot be resolved.   Gatorland denied the initial allegations against them; as they are now. The ******** ********* ****** found otherwise and the court ruled in favor of 76 customers.  The offer to meet with me is  worthless at this point.  Without a degree in Finance  any claim can be made by this company  and figures thrown out which the consumer couldn't possibly refute!  The consumer is at their mercy (or lack of ,as in ours and other cases)  A Pro-rated refund is mandated by law on the extra contracts we were coerced into; or I am fully convinced they would deny that as well. The response was insufficient.  Much of what I stated was ignored.  Gatorland is offering nothing they are not required to by law.  We will never deal with them again in purchasing a vehicle. 

Regards,

***** **********


 


2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and made an appointment for an oil change and tire rotation with their service department for Friday, January 17th for 2pm. I arrived a few minutes prior to 2pm. Once I arrived I was greeted and was told to wait for a service manager. A man by the name of *** ********* approached myself in the vehicle. He asked me which services I wanted performed on the car. I told him an oil change & tire rotation and I signed. He told me that the service would take approximately an hour and a half and I left shortly after 2pm. At 2:18pm I received a phone call from Mr. ********* informing me that the mechanics could not figure out how to open the hood of my car. He then said that he would need additional time and a technician to figure out what was wrong with the hood and how to open it. I told him that there is nothing wrong with the hood and that my father had opened the hood just last week with no problem. He insisted that there was something wrong with the hood and that in order to perform the services requested a technician would be needed and I would be charged $49.95. I then told him absolutely not and that I would return for my car. I returned to pick up the car and left immediately. Once I returned home, I was able to open the hood within 2minutes of beginning my attempt with NO problem. This considering I am a young woman who has never had to attempt to open the hood of the car myself for any reason. I am highly upset that the fact that service department of the car dealership for my car, a 2003 corolla, claims to have been unable to open the simple hood of my car and perform the services I requested. They called me 18 minutes after the hour which means they clearly gave a poor attempt to open the hood of my car of which is standard for the model of my car and were SO quick to try and charge me for the poor attempt.

Desired Settlement: I would like the services I requested performed free of charge by a mechanic competent enough to open the hood my car.

Business Response:

 

Please extend my apologies to Ms ***.  This is an unfortunate circumstance for her to endure.  However, our associates did act in accordance with company policy.  We are required to obtain the customer's authorization anytime we are faced with an undisclosed condition that prevents normal access to any part of a customer's vehicle needed to complete the authorized repairs.  We did attempt all of the usual operations that work for hard to open hoods and were unsuccessful.  There is a minimum charge assigned to that operation of 49.95. But, in many circumstances we waive that charge if the repair is relatively easy.  We have no way of knowing the scope and difficulty the repair of an  undiagnosed condition and therefore have to have a reasonable starting point in order to commit the technicians time to that operation. Ms *** did not authorize us to go any further and therefore was not charged. 

 We will extend the offer to Ms. *** to evaluate the hood opening condition on her vehicle at no charge.  There may be a repair necessary that require parts and in that case we would prepare an estimate prior to repair attempt. I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with her and see how we can help.  Please ask her to call or email me directly if she wishes to accept our offer to look into the hood concern or if she needs any other service on her Toyota 

 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am co-buyer of vehicle #***************** purchased on July 2, 2013. At the conclusion of an elongated price negotiation, we were asked to wait to talk to a credit manager with whom we spent at least an hour signing various documents to effect sale of said vehicle. One of these documents was "Retail Installment Sale Contract" or form 553-FL-ARB "LAW". The form flows orderly from top to bottom with various information. The section "ITEMIZATION OF AMOUNT FINANCED" contains five (5)costs summations and lastly the "Amount Financed". Item #5 in the columnar format is "Loan Processing Fee,etc." When I called ********* ****** ******* to determine remaining principal balance, my records based on "amount financed" were $125 less than amount I was told. And to my surprise item #5,although not included in "amount financed",had been added to my obligation. Truly deceptive is this practice given that this item was not verbally discussed during the paperwork exercise with the credit manager.

Desired Settlement: As indicated above.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Complaint # *******

Customer # ******** ********

 

The customer was contacted and he said he never was told or understood about the loan processing fee to process his loan with ********* ****** of $125. I thoroughly went over what the fee was and what it stands for and that most of the banks we use do carry a loan processing fee. Since there might have been some confussion, we reimbursed Mr. ******** for the loan processing fee, and he was extremely happy and said he will back in a few months to buy a car from us.

 

 

****** *******
*******
Gatorland Toyota

12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with purchase, constant change (baiting and switching) Looking for 07 Dodge Ram estimated expenses $10,000 (non available in this range) Trade in estimated at $2000 for 1998 Dodge Ram, received $1000Estimated cost for 2010 $15,000, total cost $22065.67Estimated rate of 2%, actual rate 5.26 (verbal to written)Right rear fender dent, bumper scratched (certified vehicle)Spare key does not start the truckDid not receive gift as advertised (nothing in closing package or discussed)Did not receive car fax (vehicle has damage not identified)Would not allow financing through ****** (1.9 to 2.7)Would not cancel service contract (******** said it was a dealer responsibility)Need to stop payment of ******* check for $10,000 (no hold for 3 day transaction)Did not hold my 1998 Dodge Ram for 3 day guarantee. Based on problems informed dealer I would be filing a complaint to BBB, they hung up.

Desired Settlement: Have the state take action for false and deceptive sales practices, baiting and switching, verbal and contractual non compliance agreements. I believe a $25,000 fine might help the state since they cannot help me. I will end up loosing a few thousand and refinancing through ****** for a lower interest rate and a better vehicle warranty.I wish to have this complaint kept on record for others to be aware of the procedures used for deceptive sales practices.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Case # *******

Customer # ***** ******

 

There has been a change of management since this deal was done, so we were not here during the negotiations of this transaction. The customer said he was told by a salesperson, who is currently not employed here about a certain rate he would get. In the business office he said he read over the contract and the rate was higher but still agreed to it because he could refinance his truck. As of today, he has refinanced his truck and is happy with the truck. I asked him if there was anything I could do to satisfy him and he said no.

 

Thanks,

 

 

****** *******
*******
Gatorland Toyota

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It is my intent to seek legal asistance.

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Gatorland Toyota
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart