BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Gatorland Toyota

Phone: (352) 376-3262 Fax: (352) 376-3282 2985 N. Main St.,, Gainesville, FL 32609 http://www.gatorlandtoyota.com ! There is an alert on Gatorland Toyota !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gatorland Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gatorland Toyota include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gatorland Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gatorland Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 02, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeramie Snelling , General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Gatorland Collision Center Gettel Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 2985 N. Main St.,

    Gainesville, FL 32609

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

An Assurance of Voluntary Compliance is not an admission of guilt or violation of law, but is used for settlement purposes ONLY.For more information relating to this action, please contact the following agency:

Florida Attorney General
The Capitol PL-01
Tallahassee, FL 32399
850-414-3300On February 20, 2014, Gettel Enterprises, Inc. dba Gatorland Toyota, entered into an Assurance of Voluntary Compliance with Florida's Office of The Attorney General, Department of Legal Affairs. The Administrator alleges the company has engaged in unfair or deceptive acts or practices regarding the advertising and sale of Motor Vehicles from May 1, 2010 through October 1, 2013.

The Administrator complaints against the business alleges that consumers represent they were subjected to sales tactics that resulted in the feeling that they were being unfairly pressured into purchasing a new motor vehicle. Consumer were misled about the value of their motor vehicle trade-in. Consumers believed they were buying a specific motor vehicle which was somewhat different than the vehicle purchased. Consumers believed initially they were paying a price for a specific motor vehicle during the sales transaction that initially was less than the price ultimately agreed upon. Compliance Terms:1. Respondent shall comply with with the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act("FDUPTA").2. Respondent shall not advertise the sale and lease of Motor Vehicles without Clearly and Conspicuously disclosing all Material terms, including but not limited to the Following:

a. Additional fees and costs;
b. Service plans;
c. Optional products and services;
d. Description that the value discounted for any rebate, discount and other incentive program such as military, student and teacher discount.

3. Respondent shall not employ unreasonably high pressure sales practices to induce consumers to purchase motor vehicles and related products and services.


Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With several recalls on a RAV4 we purchased from Gatorland a Toyota we have called to have them repaired and always get the runaround. Either we are told someone will return our call (and does not as in this instance) or we are told it will take several weeks and are not offered a vehicle loan while the repairs are finally done. Their service level is not what I would expect after making a substantial investment in a new vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would expect prompt service and great attention to detail when dealing with recalls. This is my wife's primary car and we have 2 small children. It makes her nervous and anxious when safety related recalls occur. I would prefer a service manager call and help us get the needed recall repairs serviced as timely as possible.

Business Response:

*** *******, our service manager, will be calling today to set an appointment up.  He will personally take care of the matter.  We apologize for the lack of service as we strive to make every customer feel like they are getting great treatment.  We feel if the customer gives us another opportunity we will prove how much we do care about them. 

Thanks,

******* *******g

General Manager

Gatorland Toyota

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase vehicle and offered so called smart payment plan to accelerate payment vehicle. Fees were not disclosed and plan is not what was disclosed by dealer. Called smart plan to cancel since dealer told me a month ago they would and refund all fees but had failed to do so. Fees told now unrefunded.

Desired Settlement: Refund all fees not disclose d.

Business Response: Mr. ********* did have some confusion on his smart pay.  My finance manager worked back and forth with him.  Mr. ********* did apologize for not understanding what exactly happened.  I believe he will be ok with closing this complaint out.  At first I think he believed we were not being 100% transparent with his payoff. Once he went back and forth with my finance manager things got cleared up.  If Mr. ********* is still not 100% satisfied with this response I will be happy to reach out to him and correct any issue.

 
Thanks,
******* ******** 
General Manager
Gatorland Toyota

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a mailer from said dealer which stated I would get a $250.00 Visacard just for showing the mailer and asking for the secret factory invoice,which I did . Also test drove a new car and listened to their offer. Upon which I again showed them the mailer and was told the mailer was in error, and to get the Visa card I WOULD HAVE TO BUY A VEHICLE. At that point I left with the mailer and no visa card. I consider this false advertising and they should be held accountable.

Desired Settlement: Honor the terms of the mailer they sent to me.

Business Response: The mailer that Mr. ******** received was from ******* ****** *****.  It was a sale they were doing, and we were the partners.  They had a typo in the mailer which was corrected on the website, and also in a written letter.  We explained to Mr. ******** this and also showed him the new mailer showing the correct information.  We also recommended he went to the ******* ****** ***** website to review the rules.  We explained that ******* ****** ***** sent this mailer to all their members (over 20,000 people), and it would not be possible to give every customer or member a $250 gift card just for showing up.  ******* ****** ***** has apologized for the misprint.  

 
I am willing to give Mr. ******** a $100 gift card for the lack of full communication if he is willing to understand the situation, and recognizes this was not a Gatorland Toyota promotion.  We honor all of our gifts and promotions if we are the ones printing it.  
 
This $100 is strictly a good faith offer and not an admission of guilt.  The $100 gift card hopefully satisfies Mr. ********, and he will comment that we did the correct thing in this matter. 
 
Sincerely,
Jeramie Snelling
General Manager
Gatorland Toyota

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

 

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyota Yaris on March 5, 2012 from Gatorland Toyota. After being kept waiting for over four hours to sign a purchase contract, my wife and I were ushered into the ******* *******'s office (***** ******) and the purchase contract presented to me was a horrible shock. I did not get what we expected in any way. The contract was for 75 months and included two extra coverage policies at the cost of $2600 additional which I did not want but ened up coerced into purchasing. ( We were so exhausted and did not leave the dealership until after 9 P.M.!!) I signed the contract just to get out of there at that point. We were the last people left in the building finalizing a sale. The amount of the contract was for $25,288.7100 ! The dealer did not give us the window sticker for the vehicle, either as we usually got when we purchased our cars. We cannot even say for sure what the price was supposed to be. We were misled through the whole pre-buying experience. We were told the miles per gallon would be better on the Yaris than on our Toyota Corolla which we were trading in. That was an outright lie. It has turned out to be 5 MPG less!! We recently went to a local dealer near where we live to try to get out from under this horrible mess and they aren't even sure we can trade it in we are so "upside down" on the value of the Yaris ( which retails, base at around $16,000.) My wife complained loudly to them about what had happened and learned there was a write-up on Gatorland recently. According to the "*********** ***", a lawsuit was filed by the ******** ********* Office and 76 complaints were settled two months ago. MANY of the complaints we have were there. My wife called Gatorland within the past week for information on getting our money refunded on the two extra policies and was treated rudely. I have contacted the ***** ****** and think we need a lawyer since we were not included in any settlement. We never knew there was a suit against them. We would have filed. We were ripped off!

Desired Settlement: We want the full refund on the Service and Maintenance contracts plus the settlement that others received so far. If Gatorland does not comply I will want lawyers fees paid if we need to file our own lawsuit against them. We deserve at least the same as others received.

Business Response:

Complaintant does not qualify in any way for the lawsuit they read about.  The customer paid less than the Gatorland addendum list price, and they received an over-allowance for their trade in.  The reason the finance amount was high is because they had a high balance owed on their previous car that rolled into the new loan.  We actually show a negative profit on the front end of the deal.  The warranty is state regulated at $1902 and can be canceled, and the customer will receive the pro-rated amount owed.  If the customer would like, they can contact me directly to get it canceled.  The maintenance was sold at $699 with a cost of $477.  This item can also be canceled and the pro-rated amount can be refunded.  The refund would go to the bank balance.  If there is no bank balance it will go directly to the customer. 

We understand the customer's concerns and I would be happy to personally sit with them to review their deal.  We have all new management, including the ******* ******* which is me, and recognize the concerns they might have.  I am also dissapointed the customer feels like they were treated poorly when trying to cancel the items.  Again, they are welcome to come to me directly to make sure the items wanting canceled do indeed get handled. 

The complaintant needs to understand the settlements were made, and the ******** ******* audited the transactions already.  The complaintant did not fall into any of the categories of the lawsuit. 

The complaintant can reach me at ******************** or ************ *** *****  

******* ********, ******* *******

Gatorland Toyota

 

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 Mr. ******** ( the new ******* ******* ) has chosen to refute the complaint using a lot of financial " terminology" and excludes many  other factors involved,  such as those explicitly  mentioned in the article posted in the *********** *** recently,  regarding the case and the Class action suit which was filed by the ******** ********* ******. He also fails to note the fact that we had dealt with his Dealership more than once with two trade-ins involved.  Making a sale was more important than  how outrageous the cost and payment plan would be for the consumer.  Beware a company using the expression;" Where do you need your payment to be at?" It is a typical tactic used in early negotiations.   I have tried to contact one of the lawyers who was involved in the judgment against Gatorland Toyota and subsequent settlement.   I have yet to get a response.  Now that it has been adjudicated; the chances are nil for receiving help.   I ame  going to get out of the Yaris as soon as possible, due to the poor miles per gallon  which were misrepresented by a salesperson.  This cannot be resolved.   Gatorland denied the initial allegations against them; as they are now. The ******** ********* ****** found otherwise and the court ruled in favor of 76 customers.  The offer to meet with me is  worthless at this point.  Without a degree in Finance  any claim can be made by this company  and figures thrown out which the consumer couldn't possibly refute!  The consumer is at their mercy (or lack of ,as in ours and other cases)  A Pro-rated refund is mandated by law on the extra contracts we were coerced into; or I am fully convinced they would deny that as well. The response was insufficient.  Much of what I stated was ignored.  Gatorland is offering nothing they are not required to by law.  We will never deal with them again in purchasing a vehicle. 

Regards,

***** **********


 


2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and made an appointment for an oil change and tire rotation with their service department for Friday, January 17th for 2pm. I arrived a few minutes prior to 2pm. Once I arrived I was greeted and was told to wait for a service manager. A man by the name of *** ********* approached myself in the vehicle. He asked me which services I wanted performed on the car. I told him an oil change & tire rotation and I signed. He told me that the service would take approximately an hour and a half and I left shortly after 2pm. At 2:18pm I received a phone call from Mr. ********* informing me that the mechanics could not figure out how to open the hood of my car. He then said that he would need additional time and a technician to figure out what was wrong with the hood and how to open it. I told him that there is nothing wrong with the hood and that my father had opened the hood just last week with no problem. He insisted that there was something wrong with the hood and that in order to perform the services requested a technician would be needed and I would be charged $49.95. I then told him absolutely not and that I would return for my car. I returned to pick up the car and left immediately. Once I returned home, I was able to open the hood within 2minutes of beginning my attempt with NO problem. This considering I am a young woman who has never had to attempt to open the hood of the car myself for any reason. I am highly upset that the fact that service department of the car dealership for my car, a 2003 corolla, claims to have been unable to open the simple hood of my car and perform the services I requested. They called me 18 minutes after the hour which means they clearly gave a poor attempt to open the hood of my car of which is standard for the model of my car and were SO quick to try and charge me for the poor attempt.

Desired Settlement: I would like the services I requested performed free of charge by a mechanic competent enough to open the hood my car.

Business Response:

 

Please extend my apologies to Ms ***.  This is an unfortunate circumstance for her to endure.  However, our associates did act in accordance with company policy.  We are required to obtain the customer's authorization anytime we are faced with an undisclosed condition that prevents normal access to any part of a customer's vehicle needed to complete the authorized repairs.  We did attempt all of the usual operations that work for hard to open hoods and were unsuccessful.  There is a minimum charge assigned to that operation of 49.95. But, in many circumstances we waive that charge if the repair is relatively easy.  We have no way of knowing the scope and difficulty the repair of an  undiagnosed condition and therefore have to have a reasonable starting point in order to commit the technicians time to that operation. Ms *** did not authorize us to go any further and therefore was not charged. 

 We will extend the offer to Ms. *** to evaluate the hood opening condition on her vehicle at no charge.  There may be a repair necessary that require parts and in that case we would prepare an estimate prior to repair attempt. I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with her and see how we can help.  Please ask her to call or email me directly if she wishes to accept our offer to look into the hood concern or if she needs any other service on her Toyota 

 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am co-buyer of vehicle #***************** purchased on July 2, 2013. At the conclusion of an elongated price negotiation, we were asked to wait to talk to a credit manager with whom we spent at least an hour signing various documents to effect sale of said vehicle. One of these documents was "Retail Installment Sale Contract" or form 553-FL-ARB "LAW". The form flows orderly from top to bottom with various information. The section "ITEMIZATION OF AMOUNT FINANCED" contains five (5)costs summations and lastly the "Amount Financed". Item #5 in the columnar format is "Loan Processing Fee,etc." When I called ********* ****** ******* to determine remaining principal balance, my records based on "amount financed" were $125 less than amount I was told. And to my surprise item #5,although not included in "amount financed",had been added to my obligation. Truly deceptive is this practice given that this item was not verbally discussed during the paperwork exercise with the credit manager.

Desired Settlement: As indicated above.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Complaint # *******

Customer # ******** ********

 

The customer was contacted and he said he never was told or understood about the loan processing fee to process his loan with ********* ****** of $125. I thoroughly went over what the fee was and what it stands for and that most of the banks we use do carry a loan processing fee. Since there might have been some confussion, we reimbursed Mr. ******** for the loan processing fee, and he was extremely happy and said he will back in a few months to buy a car from us.

 

 

****** *******
*******
Gatorland Toyota

12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with purchase, constant change (baiting and switching) Looking for 07 Dodge Ram estimated expenses $10,000 (non available in this range) Trade in estimated at $2000 for 1998 Dodge Ram, received $1000Estimated cost for 2010 $15,000, total cost $22065.67Estimated rate of 2%, actual rate 5.26 (verbal to written)Right rear fender dent, bumper scratched (certified vehicle)Spare key does not start the truckDid not receive gift as advertised (nothing in closing package or discussed)Did not receive car fax (vehicle has damage not identified)Would not allow financing through ****** (1.9 to 2.7)Would not cancel service contract (******** said it was a dealer responsibility)Need to stop payment of ******* check for $10,000 (no hold for 3 day transaction)Did not hold my 1998 Dodge Ram for 3 day guarantee. Based on problems informed dealer I would be filing a complaint to BBB, they hung up.

Desired Settlement: Have the state take action for false and deceptive sales practices, baiting and switching, verbal and contractual non compliance agreements. I believe a $25,000 fine might help the state since they cannot help me. I will end up loosing a few thousand and refinancing through ****** for a lower interest rate and a better vehicle warranty.I wish to have this complaint kept on record for others to be aware of the procedures used for deceptive sales practices.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Case # *******

Customer # ***** ******

 

There has been a change of management since this deal was done, so we were not here during the negotiations of this transaction. The customer said he was told by a salesperson, who is currently not employed here about a certain rate he would get. In the business office he said he read over the contract and the rate was higher but still agreed to it because he could refinance his truck. As of today, he has refinanced his truck and is happy with the truck. I asked him if there was anything I could do to satisfy him and he said no.

 

Thanks,

 

 

****** *******
*******
Gatorland Toyota

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It is my intent to seek legal asistance.

Regards,

***** ******

1/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues