BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

This Business is not BBB accredited

Garber Automall

Additional Locations

Phone: (904) 264-2442 View Additional Phone Numbers 3340 Highway 17, Green Cove Springs, FL 32043 http://www.garberautomall.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Garber Automall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Garber Automall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 19, 1997 Business started: 01/16/1997 in 0 Business started locally: 01/16/1997
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Harris, VP/ General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Garber Auto Mall Garber Buick - GMC Garber Chevrolet Garber Chevrolet-Buick-Pontiac-GMC Truck Inc. Garber Chrysler Garber Dodge Ram Garber Ford Garber Jeep
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3340 Highway 17

    Green Cove Springs, FL 32043 (888) 719-8286

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1600

    Green Cove Springs, FL 32043

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 849-3462(Phone)
  • (888) 719-8286(Phone)
  • (904) 284-4069 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Dodge Durango, January 2013 from Garber Automall in Green Cove Springs, The General sales manager, not the salesman's emailed me an offer. Here is a copy of the email offer that I accepted:I just checked on your pricing and I will sell you the durango for $35,913.04 otd including all your taxes ( 6%) fees and tag..............plus any oilchanges you need.........please let me know if this will work for u..." I accepted the offer. So when I recently call to inquire about the oil changes this is the last email message that I received from the General sales manager:and again.....I ( Garber Automall) will provide you with an Oilchange package for 10 free oilchanges at any Chrysler locations in the US........that is all we will honor in our agreement.....This was not the agreement, the agreement was for any oil changes I need. My question is, what can I do to make Garber Automall honor our agreement?

Desired Settlement: I would like for Garber Automall to honor our agreement of "plus any oilchages you need" the we agreed on.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** *********** the Sales Manager at the Chrysler store where Mr. ******** purchased the vehicle.  ***** stated that he spoke with Mr. ******** last week and told him he would provide 10 Free Oil Changes at a store near his location.  He asked Mr. ******** to call him back with the mileage on his Durango so he could enter it in the computer and get the process going for him.  He never heard back since that conversation.  Mr. ******** needs to call ***** and give him the mileage as we already have the Vin Number here.  RH

Business Response: We are willing to provide oil changes to Mr. ******** through the Chrysler program to satisfy his understanding. The method is for Mr. ******** to contact ***** K and give him his current mileage as requested. We will input the info in the computer so he can have his work done closer to home. Once the 10 (program), is complete, we will put in another 10 to continue his program. There is no other way through the program to accomplish this. The mfgr. does recommend that oil changes are needed at certain intervals depending on driving habits...We feel we have been fair and reasonable in our resolve.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Before I purchased this vehicle the General Sales Manager emailed me an offer, which I accepted. This is part of the offer that was a selling point, or in this case a buying point for me:plus any oilchanges you need.” That means to me, any time I needed an oil change it would be taken care of by Garber Auto Mall. There was no set limit on the amount of oil changes that was offered. If there were to be a limit on the number of oil changes why wasn't it mentioned in the email or during the meetings. Because there was not a set limit. The is a case of Garber Auto Mall over promising and under delivering.

This situation has been very stressful and time consuming. I just want to put this situation behind be and move forward.

So reluctantly I accept Garber Auto Mall's  offer.


Regards,

****** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around June 15th 2013 I brought my truck a 2010 Dodge Ram to Garber Auto for an issue with the LED display. The display for the entire instrument panel and the interior lights will suddenly darken. This is an obvious safety issue as the speedometer and all engine instruments are controlled by the display only. When it was initially brought in the vehicle was still under manufacture warranty. The service advisors and technicians have looked at it and have attempted to fix the vehicle numerous times. Unfortunately, they have not been able to. Over the last 14 months I have brought the vehicle in for over 5 weeks of accumulated service and the problem still exist. The last time they had my truck for approximately 10 days and after not being able to fix it they offered to "get me a new truck". This offer turned out to be a complete joke. What they really offered to do is sell me a new truck and attempted to gouge me on the trade in of their broken vehicle. I feel as if they are attempting to take advantage of me because I am an older man. They need to understand the warranty has in fact NOT expired since I brought the truck in for the exact same problem that has not been fixed while the warranty was still active. I have been dealing with this issue far longer than anyone should on a few occasions the service writer **** has even called me to tell me that Chrysler said that they were not going to fix it. Only to call me back again apologizing and telling me this is not the case. I am fed up and reaching out to the BBB as my first course of action!

Desired Settlement: The solution is simple, FIX THE VEHICLE or give me a new vehicle for the same value that they are willing to accept the malfunctioning trade in!

Business Response: I have just received the complaint/issue and will talk to the appropriate folks involved at the dealership and get back to you in the next few days.  *** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ******** brought his vehicle in on 05/02/2013 with 10779 miles on repair order # 125956 with a complaint of “Map lights inop” we checked the concern out and did not duplicate the concern at that time. We checked his fuse but since we could not duplicate his concern and he was waiting, we rescheduled him in when he could leave the vehicle with us. The customer returned on 7/31/2013 with 11997 miles on repair order # 129099 concern was “map lights won’t come on when pushing” did not duplicate concern but we did duplicate concern of radio and dash lights dimming at times we ordered parts for that concern. On 10/18/2013 vehicle came back with 12499 miles repair order # 130702 for the same concern of “map lights won’t come on when pushing” we looked and vehicle and could not duplicate concern customer was a waiter and was not able to wait any longer and took the vehicle to return at a later date. Customer returned on 4/30/2014 with 15,168 miles repair order # 138466 with concern “ Map lights are inop” we did duplicate the concern and started tracing circuits to find source of issue, after checking some circuits we found loose ground wire and lights started working. At this point the vehicle was outside of base warranty but due to the repeat concern we took care of this repair at no charge. Customer returned on 7/31/2014 with 15,630 miles repair order # 140064 with the concern of “Interior lights are not coming on when pushing the switches”. We did duplicate his concern and after diagnosing the concern we found a shorted right side vanity mirror causing the light circuit to stop working. We replaced the right side vanity mirror and again it was outside of warranty time limits so we covered the repair as a goodwill gesture due to his history. Mr. ******** called and stated that it was good for 5 days but started happening again. Our Service Manager called into engineering and spoke to our field service engineer with Chrysler and after discussing the issue decided to replace the instrument cluster as this is the electronic component that controls the signal for the lights in question. We had Mr. ******** come in on 8/30/2014 with 16309 miles on repair order #142371 and we installed a new cluster(per chrysler engineer recommendation), we also dropped his headliner and inspected his wiring harness and all light assemblies for any visible concerns(no concerns were noted). We once again covered this repair as a goodwill to Mr. ******** due to his history. Our service manager **** **** *lso spent time with Mr. ******** explaining what we have tried to do to get to the bottom of his concerns and working with Chrysler to get him some resolve with his issues. Our only goal is to resolve this concern for him so he can enjoy his vehicle with all systems working normally, our biggest obstacle in making that happen has been the lack of repeatability of his concern. Though we have seen it act up and do believe he has an issue we have only had it act up long enough one time to actually perform any testing. We have worked with Chrysler engineering and field service reps along with removing and inspecting all components related to this concern to try to resolve his issue. We are very interested in getting Mr. ********‘s vehicle fixed to his satisfaction.  We understand his frustration and are doing our utmost to satisfy the situation.  We encourage Mr. ******** to contact the manufacturer as we have done to get a resolve.  There are times that we don’t have a quick fix on certain vehicles and must rely on the engineering teams from the mfg. to give us the help we need. Be assured that if we had a clear way of getting this issue resolved, that is what we would be doing.  If Mr. ******** chooses to pursue another authorized Chrysler dealer to seek a resolve, we will provide any and all information to them based on our attempts to get a conclusion. If he chooses to keep working with us and Chrysler we will continue to work with engineering and try to get him some resolve with his lighting issue.

 

Sincerly,

*** ******

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The response from *** makes it sound as if the dealership is doing a favor rather than upholding their responsibility. The individual dates explained in the response also fail to mention the total amount of days Garber Auto has had custody of the vehicle. This is a SAFETY issue not only due to the fact that I cannot read the speedometer, but it's an obvious electrical issue that could lead to a fire. I understand that you can't fix it on your own, and if you or the engineers at Chrysler could, it would already be done. Garber auto has  seen the problem first hand and they must understand the safety concern. The step by step process of elimination  problem solving is taking too long. It's time to step up and fix the truck or replace it!  I will continue to work with Garber to see if the drivers side sun visor which is currently on order works to fix it. If not I may be forced to seek legal advice.  

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our vehicle we purchased an extended warranty policy# ********, that policy is not valid. Garber gave us a new policy number when we were having issues with the warranty covering services needed the new ploicy number is ********, that warranty is expired. Our signature is not on the copy of that policy that we received from the warranty company in Chicago, it is not an extended warranty at all. I have called several times and left messages for the gentleman who said he would get it straightened out, he will no longer return my calls. We paid $**** for this extended warranty plus interest over the last 2 going on 3 years.

Desired Settlement: I would either like to have my money refunded plus the interest we will have to pay for the remainder of the loan or get the warranty we paid for, we still have all of the paperwork from when we purchased the vehicle.

Business Response:

   After reviewing this file, it appears that an inaccurate form was used when the warranty was redone. It has now been corrected and the customers warranty IS as it was originally written. The customer has been informed by our Finance office of the correction.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues