BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Phone: (904) 389-4561 View Additional Phone Numbers 1310 Cassat Ave., Jacksonville, FL 32205 http://www.erniepalmertoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ernie Palmer Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ernie Palmer Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie Palmer Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 11/01/1970 in 0 Business started locally: 11/01/1970
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clay Murphy, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Ernie Palmer Toyota Scion Ernie Palmer, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 236-9402(Phone)
  • (904) 981-2360(Phone)
  • (904) 389-3442 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 10/19/13 I WAS TOLD I WAS APPROVED NO MONEY DOWN ALONG WITH A COSIGNER WHO WAS PRESENT WITH ME AT THE SALE BY THE SALESMAN AFTER BEING THERE FOR HOURS...TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT I LEFT THE SALE WITH A 2002 CHEVY TRAILBLAZER FOR A PRICE OF 6995.00 AND I WLD BE GIVEN 2500.00 FOR THE TRADE IN OF MY CURRENT VEHICLE I WAS TOLD ALL VERIFICATION WAS DONE AND THE BANK HAS APPROVED THE LOAN AND THERE WOULD BE PMTS OF 265.00 A MONTH FOR 3YRS WITH LOW INTREST AND WAS ASKED TO TRANSFER MY INSURANCE AND I LEFT THAT DAY WITH THE CAR....ABOUT A WEEK LATER I WAS ASKED TO COME IN THAT DAY TO RESIGN BECAUSE THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE PAPERWORK AND SOME INFO HAD BEEN MISPLACED ...I RETURNED TO DO SO AND FOUND THAT I WAS NEVER APPROVED BY THE BANK AND THAT I WAS GOING WITH ANOTHER LENDER NO WORRIES MS ROBINSON EVERTHING IS FINE ALL U WILL NEED TO DO IS SIGN WITH THE BANK WE ALREADY HAVE THE APPROVAL AND WE ARE ALL DONE WE JUST NEEDED U TO COME IN AND SIGN OUR PAPERWORK SO THAT WE CLD CLOSE THE DEAL BEFORE THE END OF THE MONTH...GOT TO THE BANK THE FOLLOWING SATURDAY TO FIND THAT THE PMTS ARE 340.00 AN MONTH AND MORE INFO WAS NEEDED.IMMEDIETLY I RETURN TO THE DEALER BANK CONTRACT IN HAND AND WAS TOLD "KEEP THE CAR A WHILE AND THINK ON IT MEANWHILE WE WILL LOOK FOR A BETTER VEHICLE WITH LOWER MILAGE ONE U ARE MORE COMFORTABLE PAYING THIS PRICE FOR..MIND YOU I AM STILL IN THIS VEHICLE THAT DOES NOT BELONG TO ME...SO TODAY I RECIEVE A CALL STATING MY COSIGNER IS NOT QUALIFIED AND TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER...I CALL THE DEALER WHO IS EXTREMLY RUDE BY THE WAY HE STATES COME PICK UP MY TRADE THEY WONT BE ABLE TO WORK WITH US...AFTER PLEADING WITH HIM TO REVISIT MY APP WITH ONLY ME AS THE APPLICANT HE STATES HE WILL DO SO BUT REALLY HE DOESNT SEE THAT THERE WILL BE A LENDER FOR ME....REALLLY???? AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR FOR WEEKS WITH THE IMPRESSION THAT ITS MINE...AFTER BEING TOLD ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THAT THE DEAL WAS DONE?? WHY NOT FIND A CHEAPER CAR AND MAKE SURE I QUALIFY TO PROTECT THE INTEGRITY?

Desired Settlement: WHT I DESIRE I AN APOLOGY FOR THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BEING TREATED LIKE A LIAR AND AS IF I WAS NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO BUY FROM THIS COMPANY...AND A VEHICLE THAT FITS MY BUDGET TO COMPENSATE FOR MY INCONVIENCE AND TIME I SPENT MANY HOURS AT THE DEALERSHIP BACK AND FORTH OR A VEHICLE WORTH 2500.00 THE AMOUNT OF MY TRADE I SHLD NOT HAVE TO LEAVE WITH THE CAR I TRADED DUE TO THE FACT THAT I WAS NEVER INFORMED THAT I WAS NOT LEGALLY APPROVED I HAVE DRIVEN THIS CAR SINCE 10/19/13 AND STILL AM TODAY

Business Response:

On our about October 19th Ms. ******** applied for an auto loan with our company which was approved by a local lending institution. During the underwriting process  the lending institution discovered that information provided by Ms. ******** which was used to secure the loan approval  was false and inaccurate. The financial institution subsequently withdrew their approval and declined their  loan offer to Ms. ********. Upon our dealership notifying Ms. ******** of these circumstances  she declded to pay for the vehicle in full. Unfortunetly Ms. ******** providing fales and inaccurate information created a situtation beyond our control with the lender that approved Ms. ********. Fortunately the situtaion was resolved by Ms. ********  providing alternative funding. If you should have any further questions pertaining to this matter please feel free to contact myslef or **** ******.

 

Thank you ,

 

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An accessory has not be added and I was intentially locked in an office. I purchased a brand new car from Ernie Palmer Toyota on 8/25/2013. I questioned a simple item before I left the lot - the key fob. At the time the sales guy said he would take care of it. Believing him I left the lot. Here were are over 2 months later and it still has not been resolved. Since I have text messages from the Sales Rep stating he would resolve it I went to the dealership today, 11/2/2013 to get straight answers from him on when to resolve it. When he came to me he clearly knew who I was but I reminded him that I was the "keyfob issue". He immediately left and did not come back to me. He came back to the front 2x's but never addressed me. After that I went asked the receptionist how many times he was going to come up there and not address me. When he finally came back up he said someone else was going to help me and he had explained everything to them. I then asked if he explained that this had been going on for 2 months, that he had not returned my calls/messages and that he agreed that it would be done at no cost to me. He said that was not true to which I responded I have text messages to prove it. Then someone from behind a desk said I could go wait in the office and they would be right with me. I said I didn't not want to go in there until someone was coming to help me, to which the gentleman said he would be right in. *** went to the office and unlocked it, when I sat down I thought he locked the office door behind him. I called a friend and was like "I think they just locked me in this office" When I went to pull the door it was locked and that is when *** then came back to unlock it swearing he did not lock it. However, he did - I watched him and he physically had to turn the key to lock and unlock the door - this was not a door that automatically locks. I was appalled, yelled choice words at him, left and filed a complaint with Toyota as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like the keyless entry system to be installed by another dealership at Ernie Palmers cost. This is not unreasonable since this committment was made to me, but clearly I do not trust this dealership.

Business Response:

   Please see attached pictures of the door and the customer we owe. Ms. ***** purchased her car from us 8/25/13 as you will see from the we owe signed by Ms. ***** mats was the only thing promised to her at the time of sale. She came in the dealership after not being able to reach her sales associate. Ms. ***** became loud and belligerent. Our salemanager, Mr. ******** asked Ms. *****'s sales associate to take her in the finance office so as not to cause a scene in front of other customers. This is when she felt she was locked in the office. The office contains customer information and Mr. ******** told *** (sales associate) to wait in the office with Ms. *****. When *** opened the door with the managers key things esculated due to Ms. ***** thinking she had been locked in the office. As the pictures show a key is required for entry but not for anyone to exit the office. After carefull reveiw from all the parties at Ernie Palmer Toyota involved that day we feel as if we did nothing unprofessional. We can not provide Ms. ***** with keyless entry that wasn't already on the vehicle. This was't part of the negoiated deal in any way. If you have any further questions pertaining to this matter please contact myself. If this doesn't reslove the issue and Ms. ***** would like to meet with our General Manager please contact me so we can set up a meeting.

Thank you,

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota Scion

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Inaccurate statements are being made and the issue is not being addressed.

1. I have been trying to resolve this matter since BEFORE I left the lot on 08/25/2013. The "we owe" would not reflect the key fob issue because I didn't know it was an issue until I was leaving the lot. I did not ask for paperwork to be redone as I TRUSTED that the sales person was going to do what he said he was.

2.  I made repeated calls and texts messages to *** to resolve the issue.  I even placed a call to ***** who confirmed that *** was working on the issue for me.

3.  I have text messages (part of which were uploaded with my original complaint and not addressed) that confirm I have been trying to resolve this issue for months and that *** committed to resolving this for me at no out of pocket expense to myself.  Again, this was the reason for my visit to the dealership and was not addressed in this complaint.

4.  I did not become "loud and beligerent".  I had waited patiently for nearly 45 minutes.  When *** finally stated he would have someone else assist me I asked him if he had provided all details of the issue and I went through those specific details. 

5.  I was locked in the office.  I watched *** physically lock the door and I heard the clicking of the lock.  I then placed a phone call to a friend expressing my concern.  I then went to the door and pulled it and it would not open.  *** then unlocked the door.  Showing a picture of a door does not change what happened when I was in the office.  I did become loud and beligerent at that point - YOU CAN NOT LOCK PEOPLE IN OFFICES.  If the Sales Manager or anyone other manager was interested in helping during any period that I was there they could have come to me and offered their assistance.  I patiently stood by the front door for nearly 45 minutes as *** came back and forth to that front desk several times.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

The sales manager ***** ******** would like to meet with Ms. ***** to discuss the text messages mentioned. I didn't see anything attached to the original complaint that was sent to us. If Ms. ***** would call me at ###-###-#### between the hours of 8am -5pm Monday through Friday I  will be happy to schedule this meeting for her so we can resolve this matter. I'll have the General Manager aslo sit in on the meeting as long as he is available. If the salesman promised Ms. ***** that keyless entry would be added to the car then our dealership will stand by that.

 

Thank you,

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starting with the sale of the vehicle, ****** ******** quoted me a price on the vehicle nearly $6,000 more than the quote provided to me from USAA's Car Buying Service. I had not yet presented him with the USAA quote out of curiosity to see how honest the company was, and if I would consider returning for a used vehicle. After presenting the quote Mr. ******** still denied the validity of the document stating that, USAA is an insurance company/bank. They're offering you a price on a car that they can't sell you. That's why you're here buying from us and not them." At this point I wanted to leave, but they're are the only Toyota dealership for miles that had the vehicle my wife was seeking and who honored the USAA Car Buying Service. I advised him to speak with his manager for clarification. He shortly returned apologizing for the misunderstanding. From this point I met with *** *****. He presented me with the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty in which I could cancel at any time for a refund.After purchasing the vehicle and the extended warranty I attempted to contact Mr. ******** to seek clarification on a few questions and request details on the extended warranty. After several calls and messages I never received a response so I gave up and decided to cancel the warranty. I spoke with a receptionist who advised me the only way to cancel was to pay off the loan and they would send me a check. This is not what I was advised when I purchased it in the first place, so I decided to go in and speak with Mr. ***** face to face. We then completed forms to cancel the warranty and advised me to wait 6-8 weeks for the amount to be removed off the balance.6-8 weeks passed and the balance has not changed. I attempted to call several times to *** ***** and left him multiple messages with no reply. Finally got Mr. ***** on the phone 01AUG and was told he would call me right back with an answer. I have yet to receive a call and with the experience I've had, dont expect one.

Desired Settlement: The only resolution I seek from this situation is for the extended warranty to be removed from the balance on my loan since it is all that remains and continues to collect interest on a daily basis.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

In regards to complaint ******* involving ****** ******, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Ernie Palmer Toyota for our lack of communication and inability to quickly resolve the customers concerns. My name is ******* ****** and I am the finance director in charge of the department. I wanted to inform you that I have personally ensured the cancellation paperwork has been submitted and that the appropriate credits will be placed on Mr. ******'s account. I have also back dated the cancellations to the date of purchase so that he gets the maximum refund. Once again I am sorry for the lack of professionalism displayed and hope that if there is ever anything we can do for the customer that they don't hesitate to call me directly at ###-###-####.

 

Regards,

******* ******

Finance Director

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

In regards to complaint ******* involving ****** ******, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Ernie Palmer Toyota for our lack of communication and inability to quickly resolve the customers concerns. My name is ******* ****** and I am the finance director in charge of the department. I wanted to inform you that I have personally ensured the cancellation paperwork has been submitted and that the appropriate credits will be placed on Mr. ******'s account. I have also back dated the cancellations to the date of purchase so that he gets the maximum refund. Once again I am sorry for the lack of professionalism displayed and hope that if there is ever anything we can do for the customer that they don't hesitate to call me directly at 904-389-4561 ext. 113.

 

Regards,

******* ******

Finance Director

Ernie Palmer Toyota

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1