BBB Accredited Business since

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Phone: (904) 389-4561 View Additional Phone Numbers 1310 Cassat Ave., Jacksonville, FL 32205 http://www.erniepalmertoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ernie Palmer Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ernie Palmer Toyota include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ernie Palmer Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie Palmer Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 11/01/1970 in 0 Business started locally: 11/01/1970
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clay Murphy, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Ernie Palmer Toyota Scion Ernie Palmer, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 1310 Cassat Ave.

    Jacksonville, FL 32205

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 16, 2015 I went online and completed the pre-approval process in hopes of purchasing a vehicle that following day. I was told to complete the pre-approval process by the car salesman before coming into the dealership. I also requested a letter from my place of employment stating my compensation and hours for the car salesman to help the process be a smooth transition on that following day. This was my first car purchase so I did not want any hiccups throughput this process of purchasing a vehicle. I came to Earnie Palmer Toyota on Cassatt Ave in Jacksonville, FL the next day (1-17-2015) to purchase a vehicle. After searching the lot I found the car that I was interested in, the car salesman proceeded to process my credit to see which bank would grant me a loan for the amount of the car. The car salesman returned and stated that ******* *** had approved me for a loan for about 30,000, which was the cost of the 2014 Camry including tax and title. At this time there were no issues for my parents to co-sign for me. I then went to the finance office to complete the offer and close the deal; with my 2013 Corolla becoming the down payment for the purchase of the 2014 Camry. My mother then called the insurance company and transferred over the insurance from the Corolla to the new Camry in order for me to drive the vehicle off of the lot. I left with the car and a temporary tag on the vehicle; I was told that it would not take long for my permanent tag to come in. A month goes by and my mother and father are still receiving calls from the bank that financed the Corolla asking for their monthly car note payment. As well as I have yet to receive my permanent tag during this time. I finally go to the dealership to receive another temporary tag before I go out of town that following weekend which was then February 14, 2015, where I then received another temporary tag. Needless to say after leaving the car salesman said there was an issue with my status of employment at my job. The car salesman stated that because I was a contractor on my job but employed through ***** Outsourcing & Consulting Group; ******* *** felt that I was unqualified for the loan. Upon waiting there for an additional hour at the dealership, the car salesman assured me that it’s no big issue they will work it out and everything will be okay. Approximately two weeks went by and my mother called the dealership because she was receiving ph*** calls from the bank that financed my trade in (2013 Corolla). The bank had stated that they were waiting for the payment for the month of January and they had yet to receive any information that the car was traded in. My mother called the dealership and spoke with the car salesman where she was also assured that there was nothing wrong and they would handle the situation and to not worry. Two days later- February 21, 2015- I received a ph*** call from the Finance Manager stating to bring in the car and that the loan did not go through. Upon returning the car my parents and I had a meeting with the finance manager, customer service manager, as well as the finance agent. In this meeting the customer service manager had a very hostile t*** the entire time and was very rude towards my father as If there was no concern of my feelings towards the situation. After two hours of going in circles, the finance manager preceded to hand me his business card and stated to “come back in four years if you need a car”. There was no restitution even offered to try and resolve this issue. They returned my trade in (2013 Corolla) with a full tank of gas; as well as my credit destroyed from all of the inquires that were added. Two weeks later I received a letter from ******* *** stating that there was an offer on the table that the dealership had decided to let expire. My mother called to the dealership to speak with the Finance Manager and of course he was nowhere to be found. ******* *** sates that they have no receipt of my application for the loan for the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like to possibly receive a letter stating that there was err***ous inquiries on my credit report that has hindered my life in the past three months. I am not able to apply for anything because of them, I was forced to go to a credit union. I also endured an immense amount for embarrassment, pain and hurt for the actions that have occurred. I would like to receive pain and suffering for what has been d*** to myself and my parents, they had to rearrange their finances in order to carry a bill for a car that they did not own for almost 6 weeks which was *** full car payment. Something needs to be d***, because I am not able to finance a car through any*** for the same amount that was offered to me in a prior aagreement. I am so irritated at the fact that they have ruined my first time car buying experiencing.

Business Response: In regards to Ms. ***'s complaint, ******* ***'s parameters states that they will use a staffing company or temp employee's income but the customer has to be on assignment for at least 90 days. Ms. *** had just recently started her assignment therefore in accordance with ******* ***'s guidelines, she did not qualify. When we informed her of this she told us  that she was going to be a permanent employee of the company therefore she would qualify for the approval. We told her that we would need her new pay stub reflecting the company's payroll not ***** ********, and she agreed.  We had two weeks for her to bring in the newest pay stub.When she brought it in to us it was still drawn on ***** ******** payroll. ***** ****** met with Ms. *** and her parents and informed them that we would have to get our vehicle back. ***** explained to Ms. *** and her parents what the obstacles were and how the banks programs worked as well as what prevented us from obtaining financing. ***** handed her his business car and told her when she was on an assignment for at least 90 days and that he would be happy to revisit her deal. It is the desire of Ernie Palmer Toyota to attempt to help every customer and treat them with the utmost respect. We regret that we were able to obtain financing for Ms. ***. If we can be of any assistance in the future should Ms. ***'s situation change we will be happy to assist her.

Thank you, 
***** *******
Office Manager
Ernie Palmer Toyota

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

My initial complaint was not with ******* *** and their lending requirements; my complaint was the miss-representation from Ernie Palmer assuring me that the loan was solid. In their response the state that ******* *** denied me due to the time on the job and not my temporary status, was news to me. That information was not given to me until Saturday; after having the car for six weeks. Ernie palmer assured my parents and I time and time again that there was no issue with the finance of my car. My mother contacted ******* *** and after finding out there was no contract with ******* ***. After realizing that there was no contract with ******* ***, she contacted Ernie Palmer to return the trade in and take the new car back. The sales person again reiterated that the deal was solid. NEVER once stating my time on the job was an issue when they requested my pay stub; they again assured that the deal was solid. (They only requested *** paystub which they received within *** weeks time)

 

 

On the Saturday (1-17-2015) that I received the car I gave them letter and my contingent job offer letter which contained my start date which had not even passed so Ernie Palmer knew that I had not even begun my job. So when ******* *** stated that I did not have enough time on the job; Ernie was aware I had not started my job that and that I would not meet the time on the job required because the letter contained my future start date. Once again my concern is not with the parameters that surround ******* *** offers, but the fact that Ernie was aware that I did not meet the requirements. But continued to misrepresent the deal from ******* *** as if I it was a solid offer while still running my credit to seek alternative loans to secure another loan; which all failed through. This is shown by the letters that I am still receiving after ******* ***’s offer. I did not give them authority after ******* *** had approved me to try and secure another loan because I already had financing and did not authorize them to seek another loan for me. Which is a misuse of my personal financial information, I was not even aware that they were using my social to seek other loans; I was under the assumption that ******* *** was the only loan that they were seeking! ***** the head finance guy indicated that Ernie had made a huge mistake he stated he sent out a memo stating to change the policy therefore if they did no harm why would they change their operating procedures based on the situation that happened to me. ***** said they were wrong and they misrepresented the deal and that I should have been made aware of the issues with the deal from day *** not six weeks later. In their response they indicated that there were problems, which they did not indicate that they did not tell me about the problem until after five weeks had passed. In addition my mom spoke with the Ernie Palmer sales person that Thursday before the car was returned that the deal was still secure! Ernie admitted that they were wrong and a policy was created for their company based on what they have d*** to me, but yet in their response they did nothing wrong? They misrepresented the deal and did not give me the facts of financing this deal in a timely manner. Due to their poor business practice my beacon score has dropped sig form 600 to 500 I’ve asked for a letter to clear the inquiries off of my credit. To date no *** has responded back to the voicemail three weeks ago. So now I am pursuing legal action to clear my credit file of these inquiries and all other injustice to me.

 

Regards,

Sim*** ***

Business Response: Ernie Palmer Toyota stands by our original statement. 

Thank you, 
***** *******

3/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/30/14, I visited Ernie Palmer Toyota as a prospect in hopes of trading in my vehicle. Upon visiting this location I completed a credit app and looked at a 2015 Toyota Camry however I did not test drive any vehicles nor did I purchase a vehicle! on 1/5/15 I received a call from a fiance company by the name of Santander. They called to verify the purchase of a 2015 Toyota Camry using my personal information. (social security number and DOB). At that time, I informed them that I did not purchase a vehicle from Toyota! After speaking with a supervisor (******) at Santander Consumer I discovered that the vehicle in question was financed to someone with a name very similar to mine however my personal information was used. Once I obtained this verbal information I went to the toyota dealership and spoke with a sales manager name ** *******. At that time, he proceeded to contact Santander Consumer to verbally correct the discrepancy. I was then advised by ** ******* to wait a few days and call Santander to ensure everything had been corrected. I waited a few days and placed a call back to Santander on 1/12/14 for a status update. After speaking with a Fraud Represenative (*****) I was told that any discrepancies from Toyota regarding a legal contract would have to be sent in as written and not verbal. I have been given the run around by both The toyota dealership and Santander to get this issue resolved. I refuse to believe that it was no coincidence that a customer with a name VERY similar to mine, financed a vehicle on the same day that I inquired about a vehicle. I do believe that fraud was committed at the hands of Toyota using my personal information. I DID NOT PURCHASE NOR SIGN FOR A 2015 TOYOTA CAMRY!

Desired Settlement: I would like for Toyota to correct and resolve this issue regarding a vehicle financed using my information! Toyota also needs to be more cautious with mishandling personal information. I would like a written letter regarding this so that I can submit to all credit bueres so that this will not affect my credit!

Business Response:

In response to complaint number ******** concerning Tawanna Williams. Our Finance Director ***** ****** talked with Ms. ******** for about an hour on 1/12/2015 to resolve this situation. ***** ****** contacted our Santander rep ****** ****s who said she would look into it and advise us on what measure we should take to resolve the matter. ***** received an email with instructions on how to flat cancel the deal that was submitted incorrectly. Ernie Palmer Toyota sent a full payoff via overnight to Santander. Santander then stated to ***** ****** that the deal with Ms. ******** would be as if it had never been submitted to them. ***** called Ms. ******** and told her what the outcome was. If Ms. ******** should have any further problems arise due to this error please have her contact me or ***** *******.

 

Thank You,

 

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After receiving poor customer service from a salesperson and not being favorable of the finance company, I decided to return the car purchased. I was frustrasted because I lost an entire day of work due the salesperson telling me that I just needed to come sign and drive, this turned into a 9 hour process with no communication from the salesperson about the car although everything had been approved weeks prior supposedly. When I arrived to return the car the General Sales Manager decided he would try to persuade me to keep the car and compensate me $200 for the inconvinence. I decided to keep the car. The General Sales Manager promised that I would receive compensation via U.S. mail hopefully prior to the Thanksgiving Holiday, well after a few phone calls --I still have not received compensation. My experience with this dealership has been unimaginable. I have purchased many cars and have never experienced such poor customer service and people who disregard others time. I will say that the finance manager (******) and another Salesperson ******) were a breath of fresh air in the process-- outside of them, these people are compulsive liars and inexperienced and have poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology and I would actually like to receive the compensation promised for wasting so much of my time and my frustration.

Business Response:

 ***** ******* was able to secure **** ***** a loan offer from one of our financing companies. We located a few vehicles for ****, none of which she was very pleased with so we continued to search to satisfy her and eventually found one weeks later.

 

Ernie Palmer Toyota invited **** back to Jacksonville to deliver the vehicle. Ms. ***** went through our contracting process, at which time she was informed of the necessary steps she needed to take in order to complete the financing process. The finance company needed **** to answer a few questions regarding her intentions on a couple of items on her bankruptcy. She refused to call the finance company and decided to bring the vehicle back.

 

When she brought the vehicle back, we informed **** ***** that she only needed to make one phone call to the finance company and answer the questions and she would be all done. She then decided to keep the car and make the phone call.

 

Shortly after, we heard from the finance company that **** still had not completed the interview, and was not being compliant(again). This resulted in Ernie Palmer Toyota paying an additional $500 debt-to-income fee. This could have been avoided by **** being responsive to the bank about her intentions. The $200.00 originally promised to Ms. ***** was applied to the $500.00 additional fee. At this point Ms. ***** owes Ernie Palmer Toyota an additional $200.00 to completely resolve this matter.

 

Thank you,

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

12/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by personnel at this dealership, saying they had my financial application and to come in to find a car. We went in on 9-19-14 to look at a car. We were able to purchase a used BMW with no extended warranty. The Finance Mgr. ******* said he would try to get us a lower interest rate on the loan. We went in on 9-29-14 to sign a new contract. The payment had increased and an extended warranty had been added and the interest rate lowered some. We never got the paperwork on the extended warranty. We began to search for our own extended warranty and found one that was reasonable. We phoned the dealership on 10-21-14, spoke to Mr. *****, requesting that the sales contract be done over to take out the cost of the extended warranty and its interest. He responded that there was nothing they could do, as the contract was set. We then left a message for Mr. **** ****** to call us on the same day, 10-21-14,, but received no return phone call. We called ************ Toyota and a representative said that the extended warranty could be taken off the contract, and all they would have to do was to send them a new contract. On 10-23-14, we phoned ******* at the dealership to ask about the paperwork on the extended warranty. He said that we should have received with the registration.To date, we have no paperwork on the extended warranty. Also, we received no screws to put the tag on the vehicle and were told to get our own. Also, the vehicle was not sufficiently detailed as there was cat hairs under the mats in the back seat and no spare tire. This was mentioned, yet nothing was done about it, yet they charged us for a prep fee of over $600.

Desired Settlement: We would like the extended warranty taken out of the sales contract so that we can purchase our own. We would like screws to put the tag on the vehicle and a spare tire for the vehicle.

Business Response:

Ms. *******s after purchasing had called and said she wanted to cancel her warranty. ******* Stevens told Ms. *******s that would be fine and once she cancelled that the bank would be sent the amount of the cancellation. She asked if it would lower her payment and ******* explained the cancellation would not lower her payment but it would be applied to the principle of the loan. Ms. *******s was not happy but said she would let him know what she decided to do. Ms. *******s called back and said it could be redone and the wanted it redone. Ms. *******s was explained the deal was already funded by the bank and that we would cancel the warranty but it would be applied to the principle of the loan and would not lower her payment. In order to cancel the loan Ms. *******s would need to pay a $250.00 contract cancellation fee to the lender as well as paying all of the current or any prepaid interest the lender may charge. If Ms. *******s elects to pay these charges we will be happy to accommodate her request. Tag screws were provided and as far as the spare tire is concerned we will need to check with the salesperson that is off today to see what he promised Ms. *******s. Please have Ms. *******s contact the lender or the dealership with her intentions.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle purchased at Dealership, Purchased Extended Warranty, and Gap. Due to unforeseen circumstance traded the vehicle in at another Toyota due to Their Service department customer service. I am due a refund of about $1700.00 for Extended warranty and Gap because I traded in the vehicle I bought at Ernie Palmer.I called 2 weeks after I traded in vehicle to see when the refund was submitted. The person ***** handling the Cancellations stated they started process on 07/17!I DID NOT trade in vehicle until 07/19. I also waited two weeks to make sure traded in vehicle was paid off which it was.I have been told that the process would take 2 to 3 weeks It is now on week 5. Then they told me it would take 6 to 8 weeks for processing. And now my calls are not getting returned. I went up to the dealership and he was there and then he was not. No one seems to know *****'s Boss name and I have gotten every excuse in the book from the guy who does the refund is on vacation to its in the mail. That's when I am able to talk to *****. I have asked for the General Manager **** *****y and of course he is in meetings all day. They were to be processing my refund some what faster due to my game plan,and stated they could do this.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my refund check!!! I am willing to pick up the check and have been very patient,...

Business Response:

This issue was resolved on Friday 8/22/14. Ms. S******* received her refund check in the amount of $1759.09. If you should have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

***** *******

Ernie Palmer Toyota

1310 Cassat Ave.

Jacksonville, Florida 32205

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Betty S*******

 

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 10/19/13 I WAS TOLD I WAS APPROVED NO MONEY DOWN ALONG WITH A COSIGNER WHO WAS PRESENT WITH ME AT THE SALE BY THE SALESMAN AFTER BEING THERE FOR HOURS...TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT I LEFT THE SALE WITH A 2002 CHEVY TRAILBLAZER FOR A PRICE OF 6995.00 AND I WLD BE GIVEN 2500.00 FOR THE TRADE IN OF MY CURRENT VEHICLE I WAS TOLD ALL VERIFICATION WAS DONE AND THE BANK HAS APPROVED THE LOAN AND THERE WOULD BE PMTS OF 265.00 A MONTH FOR 3YRS WITH LOW INTREST AND WAS ASKED TO TRANSFER MY INSURANCE AND I LEFT THAT DAY WITH THE CAR....ABOUT A WEEK LATER I WAS ASKED TO COME IN THAT DAY TO RESIGN BECAUSE THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE PAPERWORK AND SOME INFO HAD BEEN MISPLACED ...I RETURNED TO DO SO AND FOUND THAT I WAS NEVER APPROVED BY THE BANK AND THAT I WAS GOING WITH ANOTHER LENDER NO WORRIES MS ROBINSON EVERTHING IS FINE ALL U WILL NEED TO DO IS SIGN WITH THE BANK WE ALREADY HAVE THE APPROVAL AND WE ARE ALL DONE WE JUST NEEDED U TO COME IN AND SIGN OUR PAPERWORK SO THAT WE CLD CLOSE THE DEAL BEFORE THE END OF THE MONTH...GOT TO THE BANK THE FOLLOWING SATURDAY TO FIND THAT THE PMTS ARE 340.00 AN MONTH AND MORE INFO WAS NEEDED.IMMEDIETLY I RETURN TO THE DEALER BANK CONTRACT IN HAND AND WAS TOLD "KEEP THE CAR A WHILE AND THINK ON IT MEANWHILE WE WILL LOOK FOR A BETTER VEHICLE WITH LOWER MILAGE ONE U ARE MORE COMFORTABLE PAYING THIS PRICE FOR..MIND YOU I AM STILL IN THIS VEHICLE THAT DOES NOT BELONG TO ME...SO TODAY I RECIEVE A CALL STATING MY COSIGNER IS NOT QUALIFIED AND TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER...I CALL THE DEALER WHO IS EXTREMLY RUDE BY THE WAY HE STATES COME PICK UP MY TRADE THEY WONT BE ABLE TO WORK WITH US...AFTER PLEADING WITH HIM TO REVISIT MY APP WITH ONLY ME AS THE APPLICANT HE STATES HE WILL DO SO BUT REALLY HE DOESNT SEE THAT THERE WILL BE A LENDER FOR ME....REALLLY???? AFTER DRIVING THIS CAR FOR WEEKS WITH THE IMPRESSION THAT ITS MINE...AFTER BEING TOLD ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THAT THE DEAL WAS DONE?? WHY NOT FIND A CHEAPER CAR AND MAKE SURE I QUALIFY TO PROTECT THE INTEGRITY?

Desired Settlement: WHT I DESIRE I AN APOLOGY FOR THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BEING TREATED LIKE A LIAR AND AS IF I WAS NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO BUY FROM THIS COMPANY...AND A VEHICLE THAT FITS MY BUDGET TO COMPENSATE FOR MY INCONVIENCE AND TIME I SPENT MANY HOURS AT THE DEALERSHIP BACK AND FORTH OR A VEHICLE WORTH 2500.00 THE AMOUNT OF MY TRADE I SHLD NOT HAVE TO LEAVE WITH THE CAR I TRADED DUE TO THE FACT THAT I WAS NEVER INFORMED THAT I WAS NOT LEGALLY APPROVED I HAVE DRIVEN THIS CAR SINCE 10/19/13 AND STILL AM TODAY

Business Response:

On our about October 19th Ms. ******** applied for an auto loan with our company which was approved by a local lending institution. During the underwriting process  the lending institution discovered that information provided by Ms. ******** which was used to secure the loan approval  was false and inaccurate. The financial institution subsequently withdrew their approval and declined their  loan offer to Ms. ********. Upon our dealership notifying Ms. ******** of these circumstances  she declded to pay for the vehicle in full. Unfortunetly Ms. ******** providing fales and inaccurate information created a situtation beyond our control with the lender that approved Ms. ********. Fortunately the situtaion was resolved by Ms. ********  providing alternative funding. If you should have any further questions pertaining to this matter please feel free to contact myslef or **** ******.

 

Thank you ,

 

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An accessory has not be added and I was intentially locked in an office. I purchased a brand new car from Ernie Palmer Toyota on 8/25/2013. I questioned a simple item before I left the lot - the key fob. At the time the sales guy said he would take care of it. Believing him I left the lot. Here were are over 2 months later and it still has not been resolved. Since I have text messages from the Sales Rep stating he would resolve it I went to the dealership today, 11/2/2013 to get straight answers from him on when to resolve it. When he came to me he clearly knew who I was but I reminded him that I was the "keyfob issue". He immediately left and did not come back to me. He came back to the front 2x's but never addressed me. After that I went asked the receptionist how many times he was going to come up there and not address me. When he finally came back up he said someone else was going to help me and he had explained everything to them. I then asked if he explained that this had been going on for 2 months, that he had not returned my calls/messages and that he agreed that it would be done at no cost to me. He said that was not true to which I responded I have text messages to prove it. Then someone from behind a desk said I could go wait in the office and they would be right with me. I said I didn't not want to go in there until someone was coming to help me, to which the gentleman said he would be right in. *** went to the office and unlocked it, when I sat down I thought he locked the office door behind him. I called a friend and was like "I think they just locked me in this office" When I went to pull the door it was locked and that is when *** then came back to unlock it swearing he did not lock it. However, he did - I watched him and he physically had to turn the key to lock and unlock the door - this was not a door that automatically locks. I was appalled, yelled choice words at him, left and filed a complaint with Toyota as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like the keyless entry system to be installed by another dealership at Ernie Palmers cost. This is not unreasonable since this committment was made to me, but clearly I do not trust this dealership.

Business Response:

   Please see attached pictures of the door and the customer we owe. Ms. ***** purchased her car from us 8/25/13 as you will see from the we owe signed by Ms. ***** mats was the only thing promised to her at the time of sale. She came in the dealership after not being able to reach her sales associate. Ms. ***** became loud and belligerent. Our salemanager, Mr. ******** asked Ms. *****'s sales associate to take her in the finance office so as not to cause a scene in front of other customers. This is when she felt she was locked in the office. The office contains customer information and Mr. ******** told *** (sales associate) to wait in the office with Ms. *****. When *** opened the door with the managers key things esculated due to Ms. ***** thinking she had been locked in the office. As the pictures show a key is required for entry but not for anyone to exit the office. After carefull reveiw from all the parties at Ernie Palmer Toyota involved that day we feel as if we did nothing unprofessional. We can not provide Ms. ***** with keyless entry that wasn't already on the vehicle. This was't part of the negoiated deal in any way. If you have any further questions pertaining to this matter please contact myself. If this doesn't reslove the issue and Ms. ***** would like to meet with our General Manager please contact me so we can set up a meeting.

Thank you,

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota Scion

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Inaccurate statements are being made and the issue is not being addressed.

1. I have been trying to resolve this matter since BEFORE I left the lot on 08/25/2013. The "we owe" would not reflect the key fob issue because I didn't know it was an issue until I was leaving the lot. I did not ask for paperwork to be redone as I TRUSTED that the sales person was going to do what he said he was.

2.  I made repeated calls and texts messages to *** to resolve the issue.  I even placed a call to ***** who confirmed that *** was working on the issue for me.

3.  I have text messages (part of which were uploaded with my original complaint and not addressed) that confirm I have been trying to resolve this issue for months and that *** committed to resolving this for me at no out of pocket expense to myself.  Again, this was the reason for my visit to the dealership and was not addressed in this complaint.

4.  I did not become "loud and beligerent".  I had waited patiently for nearly 45 minutes.  When *** finally stated he would have someone else assist me I asked him if he had provided all details of the issue and I went through those specific details. 

5.  I was locked in the office.  I watched *** physically lock the door and I heard the clicking of the lock.  I then placed a phone call to a friend expressing my concern.  I then went to the door and pulled it and it would not open.  *** then unlocked the door.  Showing a picture of a door does not change what happened when I was in the office.  I did become loud and beligerent at that point - YOU CAN NOT LOCK PEOPLE IN OFFICES.  If the Sales Manager or anyone other manager was interested in helping during any period that I was there they could have come to me and offered their assistance.  I patiently stood by the front door for nearly 45 minutes as *** came back and forth to that front desk several times.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

The sales manager ***** ******** would like to meet with Ms. ***** to discuss the text messages mentioned. I didn't see anything attached to the original complaint that was sent to us. If Ms. ***** would call me at ###-###-#### between the hours of 8am -5pm Monday through Friday I  will be happy to schedule this meeting for her so we can resolve this matter. I'll have the General Manager aslo sit in on the meeting as long as he is available. If the salesman promised Ms. ***** that keyless entry would be added to the car then our dealership will stand by that.

 

Thank you,

***** *******

Office Manager

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starting with the sale of the vehicle, ****** ******** quoted me a price on the vehicle nearly $6,000 more than the quote provided to me from USAA's Car Buying Service. I had not yet presented him with the USAA quote out of curiosity to see how honest the company was, and if I would consider returning for a used vehicle. After presenting the quote Mr. ******** still denied the validity of the document stating that, USAA is an insurance company/bank. They're offering you a price on a car that they can't sell you. That's why you're here buying from us and not them." At this point I wanted to leave, but they're are the only Toyota dealership for miles that had the vehicle my wife was seeking and who honored the USAA Car Buying Service. I advised him to speak with his manager for clarification. He shortly returned apologizing for the misunderstanding. From this point I met with *** *****. He presented me with the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty in which I could cancel at any time for a refund.After purchasing the vehicle and the extended warranty I attempted to contact Mr. ******** to seek clarification on a few questions and request details on the extended warranty. After several calls and messages I never received a response so I gave up and decided to cancel the warranty. I spoke with a receptionist who advised me the only way to cancel was to pay off the loan and they would send me a check. This is not what I was advised when I purchased it in the first place, so I decided to go in and speak with Mr. ***** face to face. We then completed forms to cancel the warranty and advised me to wait 6-8 weeks for the amount to be removed off the balance.6-8 weeks passed and the balance has not changed. I attempted to call several times to *** ***** and left him multiple messages with no reply. Finally got Mr. ***** on the phone 01AUG and was told he would call me right back with an answer. I have yet to receive a call and with the experience I've had, dont expect one.

Desired Settlement: The only resolution I seek from this situation is for the extended warranty to be removed from the balance on my loan since it is all that remains and continues to collect interest on a daily basis.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

In regards to complaint ******* involving ****** ******, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Ernie Palmer Toyota for our lack of communication and inability to quickly resolve the customers concerns. My name is ******* ****** and I am the finance director in charge of the department. I wanted to inform you that I have personally ensured the cancellation paperwork has been submitted and that the appropriate credits will be placed on Mr. ******'s account. I have also back dated the cancellations to the date of purchase so that he gets the maximum refund. Once again I am sorry for the lack of professionalism displayed and hope that if there is ever anything we can do for the customer that they don't hesitate to call me directly at ###-###-####.

 

Regards,

******* ******

Finance Director

Ernie Palmer Toyota

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

In regards to complaint ******* involving ****** ******, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Ernie Palmer Toyota for our lack of communication and inability to quickly resolve the customers concerns. My name is ******* ****** and I am the finance director in charge of the department. I wanted to inform you that I have personally ensured the cancellation paperwork has been submitted and that the appropriate credits will be placed on Mr. ******'s account. I have also back dated the cancellations to the date of purchase so that he gets the maximum refund. Once again I am sorry for the lack of professionalism displayed and hope that if there is ever anything we can do for the customer that they don't hesitate to call me directly at 904-389-4561 ext. 113.

 

Regards,

******* ******

Finance Director

Ernie Palmer Toyota

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues