Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duval Mazda of the Avenues meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duval Mazda of the Avenues include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Duval Mazda of the Avenues
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 29, 2007 Business started: 07/01/1916 in FL Business incorporated: 12/23/2010 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Graham, Vice Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Sale, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Duval Motors at the Avenues, Inc. Scott-McRae Automotive Group, LLP
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 10681 Philips Hwy

    Jacksonville, FL 32256 (877) 332-3660

  • 701 Riverside Park Pl

    Jacksonville, FL 32204

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (904) 562-1611 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/14/13, I took my 2008 Mazda cx-7 (with 65k miles) to the dealership's service department because the car experienced a cylinder misfire with noticeable drag in the acceleration and idle which resulted in the check engine light coming on. The service tech explained that the engine code reading was a P0303 (cylinder 3 misfire). After performing the diagnoses, the tech explained that all 4 ignition coils and all 4 spark plugs should be replaced to resolve the problem. The resulting cost was $732.87. The car appeared to run fine for a couple months. However, on 12/23/13, the same problem reappeared. I attempted to take it back to Mazda but they were too busy to take the car at the moment. Out of desperation, I took the car to a ***** Auto Center and explained the above history, and hoping that all I needed was a fuel injection cleaning. They were astonished at the costly solution that Mazda directed without first taking other, more cost conscientious measures to properly diagnose the repairs needed. The **** tech checked to see if any engine codes were listed and sure enough, a similar cylinder misfire code was present. this time it was p0302 (cylinder 2 misfire). The **** tech he would love my service but insisted that we take it back to Mazda and make them fix it. First, it is not common for ignition coils and spark plugs to need replacement at 65k miles. I was told by ***** and confirmed on several online reports that the coil in question should have been tested first by switching it around with one of the other 4 coils to see if the misfire error code follows the switch. If not, then it's most likely not a coil issue and then the tech should move on to other possible causes. If the error did follow the switch then ONLY that coil would need to be replaced. I feel that Mazda took the easy solution without taking all the proper diagnostic procedures at my expense. On 12/24/13,I took my car to Mazda and now they say it will cost me another $1200 to fix the real problem.

Desired Settlement: They will not acknowledge there mistake and will only offer me a 10% discount on the $1200 repair. I would like them to properly diagnose the issue and repair the actual problem for free, or at the very least, credit the cost of the previously misdiagnosed repair solution towards the cost of the new (hopefully actual) diagnosed repair solution.

Business Response:

9/14/2013  when ms. ****** came in the code was P0303 for misfire on cylinder 3, (with 63976 miles on the vehicle) according to the mode 6 we pull during the diagnosis, cylinder 2 also was started to show some misfires (2 misfires for the last current drive cycle), we performed compression test (no charge to customer), and compression was within specification. We recommended to replace at least cylinder 3 ignition coil and spark plug for the code that was set at this point. Based on the mileage and the age of the vehicle, the other 3 coils and spark plugs were recommended at the same time, since cylinder 2 have started to show misfires.

Customer paid for the repair to replace 4 ignition coils and 4 spark plugs, and we gave her 10% discount.

We also informed customer that a injector could be a issue and causing a misfire, however we recommended to start with the ignition coils and spark plugs, based on the mode 6 from the diagnosis.

12/24/2013, customer came  vehicle now have 69589 miles on it, and I put her in one of our loaner cars, (no charge to her), while we looked at the vehicle.
We pulled code P0302 for cylinder 2 misfire, and also P0401 was set in pending mode.
Since ignition coil and spark plug on cylinder 2 was replaced on previous visit 3 month/5614 miles ago, and we explained to customer at that point the injectors could cause misfires also, we recommend a injector at this point.
For P0401 is the EGR valve that is sticking and can cause a running concern, but usually will not pinpoint a specific cylinder to misfire, it will be a random misfire instead. So we recommended a new EGR valve.
I talked to the customer, and explained the diagnosis to her, and I don't feel we misdiagnosed her vehicle, I offered her to stay in the loaner if she did repair and offered her 10% discount, I also offered her the FADA card as a payment option.

12-30-2013 ***** ****** (Managing Partner of Scott-McRae Group) called customer around 6.15 pm, and left a message for customer and offering assistance in the repair, and left his number for her to call him back.

***** ****** called customer again 12-31-13, and repeated the offer. ***** arranged for the customer to come in for a free loaner vehicle 12-31-2013, and Duval Mazda will pay for the Cylinder 2 injector to be replaced, at no charge to customer. In addition, we will attempt to clean the EGR valve, and if that won't work we will replace EGR valve. free or charge to customer.

 

Please let me know if I can assist further.

 

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service