BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duval Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duval Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Duval Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Business Management
Mr. Alex Graham, Vice Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clausen Morrell, President/COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Duval Motor Company Scott-McRae Automotive Group
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 1325 Cassat Ave

    Jacksonville, FL 32205 (888) 278-3997 (888) 536-4499 (904) 899-1900

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 278-3997(Phone)
  • (888) 536-4499(Phone)
  • (904) 387-6528 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Duval honda in Febuary to trade in my 2010 Honda Fit trying to find something with better payments that i would be just as happy with, i admit i was ignorant and got a bad deal, leaving with a 2008 Toyota Prius with higher payments due to me believing in the long run it would save me money, just 7 days later decided that it was a horrible deal so contacted *** **** who was my sales man who at first told me they could work with me, then reseved a TEXT saying that there was nothing they could do for me, upset i called, where i talked to managment ***** who then said he would call me back after he looked at what was avalible and seemed shocked that *** would say there was nothing they could do, even though *** said it was per managment, waited about a week, with no communication back to me, called again, for about a week, no one was to talk with me or call me back, I believe was avoiding me, until my mother and I showed up to talk to them, only after threatening to contact the BBB would they then suddenly work with me, finally ended up with an SUV a Suzuki XL7 and left happy but with a promise of a I owe for a part on the steering wheel i believe a rotary pin problem, a month ago called, i still have not gotten a call about my part, kept being told i had to speak with a *****, Parts found out it had not even been ordered yet after i was told it would take 7 to 14 days to come in. called again today a week later with yet another run around being transfered to different people, and now ***** who i was suppose to talk to is no longer im told there. Please help me out this company has the worst customer service i have ever seen.x

Desired Settlement: I just want the part on my suv replaced like promised to me so I can be done with this company for good, and maybe their higher ups to know what a poor job the Duval on casset is doing.

Business Response:

In response to Mrs. ******’s complaint I would like to respond by saying that the repairs to Mrs. ******’s vehicle were performed and completed on Friday, April 25, 2014.

 

Mrs. ****** says that after having her vehicle for 7 days she wanted to return the 2008 Toyota Prius she purchased; Duval Honda offers a 48 hour return policy with no questions asked. After 2 – 3 days the paper work has been sent to the tag office and bank and has already been processed. It is often not possible to get this paper work un-done; however the sales department did work with Mrs. ****** and get her into another vehicle, while I will admit it did take some ***e they did address and resolve her concerns.

The second vehicle that Mrs. ****** decided on was a 2008 Suzuki XL7, she expressed a concern about a noise she heard when turning, upon inspection we found that the vehicle needed a rotary pin which was part of the rack and pinion. The parts were ordered, under the vehicles stock number, but were not available at the warehouse, we explained that there was no release date given and it could be one week, two weeks or two months before we received the part but we would notify her as soon as the part arrived. Once the parts arrived, Mrs. ****** was contacted and a ***e to perform the repairs was scheduled for April 25, 2014, the repairs were performed at that ***e (see attached copy of the repair order).

 

I would like to state that while I understand Mrs. ******’s concern and frustration with deciding she wanted a different vehicle, 5 days after our return policy, and having to wait for the parts to arrive to repair her vehicle, I am confident that Duval Honda has performed and met all its obligations.

 

 

 

 

***** ****

Service & Parts Director

Duval Honda

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

 I accept this response only due to the fact that yes, finally, the part to the SUV had come in, they had finally contacted me AND apologized to me for the delay, and just to take note, only took place the very next day after the BBB was contacted, I would also like known, not once was I left a message or spoken to about the part being out at the warehouse, I was just told, it "had not been ordered yet". Due to a change in employment,  *****, the man who I was told was the only man who could help me get any information,and do the order, I was told no longer works there.  My frustration is genuine. I will just hope, that Duval Honda, will extend their communication to their valued customers better, weather in person, hot and ready to make a buy at the office, or by phone, trying to find out simple, straight forward information about when a part would ready to be installed.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This car advertised selling price was $29,888.70 for 2013 Honda odyssey EX-L, I have purchased the vehicle and said I will use my finance, the buyers order was created (Dated - 07/16/2013), I have attached the copy of it, then I have requested to finance with Honda instead of using my finance bank, so we went to Honda dealership to redo the paperwork, when I saw the buyer's order, the price was increased by $470 as it was showing the price as $30,388.70 which is also attached, They have added $470.00 (Actually $500.00, reduced to $470.00) to the total amount which was showing has $30,388.70, this $500.00 is given by Honda as flex cash to customer since we have financed with Honda financial services, but the dealer said it is dealer cash and cannot be issued to the customer which is incorrect, This amount has to be refunded to me by the dealer. For additional verification, I have purchased another Honda dealer for another vehicle and financed with Honda and they have refunded this $500.00 flex cash to the customer, So I need Duval Honda to return my $500.00 back which I am supposed to get. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Need my $500.00 back as that money was provided by Honda financial services to the customer for financing with Honda financial services

Business Response: Good afternoon,


Duval Honda will be sending a check to the customer in the amount of the $500.00 due to the oversight in the completion of the paperwork.

We apologize for the confusion.

The way that our vehicles are displayed openly on all New and Pre-owned vehicle and states that the pricing includes all rebates , discounts and incentives.

The check will be going to him VIA U.S. postal mail service.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.


Best regards,

******* *******
Duval Honda
President/COO

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9666361, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

************ **********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1