BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duval Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Duval Honda include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Duval Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Duval Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Business Management
Mr. Alex Graham, Vice Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clausen Morrell, President/COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Duval Motor Company Scott-McRae Automotive Group
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1325 Cassat Ave

    Jacksonville, FL 32205 (888) 278-3997 (888) 536-4499 (904) 899-1900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited this location on 02/24/15 for a scheduled oil change. While there I inquired on a additional key for my 2011 Honda Accord. I was told 135.00 plus ax and they would ensure my current transponder key and valet key would be programmed. My service advisor es **** **************. Before entrusting my keys to the advisor I explained that my transponder key was somewhat loose but still working. I asked can a copy be made without further damaging my key and was advised yes. Nevertheless I waited on my services to be completed. I was later told I was all set and he gave me my new key and a plastic bag containing my original keys. As I begin to open the bag , Mr. ****** proceeded to virtually disappear from the primises . When I opened the bag my key was completely destroyed. At this point no one in the facility could explain what happened. All I was told is that I needed to talk to my advisor. They paged him and I waited for twenty minutes but he disappeared. I was told by another advisor that they can normally make a new key without destroying the original even if it's loose. I was very upset. I called back on 2/25/15 and once again he was not available. Not was the service manager .

Desired Settlement: I would like my key repaired and a apology letter. I have been a loyal customer to this location since I purchased my car in 2012. I have never felt so disrespected. Even if I was unavoidable to break and destroy my original key, he or another manager should have been available to discuss the matter. Not runaway to avoid confrontation. I am a reasonable person but what is right is right. He examined the key before leaving my presense. I can provide a receipt for services paid and pictures.

Business Response: I spoke with *** ******* on Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 8:07 am to address his concerns. 

For customer satisfaction I have offered to replace the key for Mr. ******* at no charge, and he has accepted. He will be coming by the dealership at his convenience to get a new key and have it programmed.
As Mr. ******* stated the key was already loose (damaged), however we will be replacing the key for the customer. 
To address the statement that he called on 2/25/15 and the service advisor and manager were not available, I asked Mr. ******* if he left a message and he said that he did not. 
This concern has been addressed and the key will be replaced.
***** ****
Parts & Service Director
Duval Honda

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am furious. I traded my 2006 volkswagen jetta for a 2010 Dodge Charger from this company. I was given a paper tag by ***** for the charger instead of just transferring my tag. I called on several occasions inquiring about when my tag would be available to me since I received my registration in the mail and have yet to receive my tag. I was told to come in when I am able to, by ***** ****** he stated that he had my tag in his drawer and its ready to be picked up . I drove all the way from the southside to the dealership only to be told that they "lost" my tag or someone may have stolen it . Now since they lost my tag I have to go to the DMV and purchase a whole new tag. Unfortunately I just came from maternity leave in June and don't have time off and will lose pay having to go into the DMV to handle their mistake. I am at risk for driving citation now driving with an expired paper tag as of 8/27 and they refused to reissue me another paper tag until i am able to get a new tag. I got 3 other cars from this dealership and this purchase by far has been my worst experience. I will not be coming back nor referrring my friends or family anymore.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to find my tag, or issue me a new one. If I have to take off work to handle this I need to be reimbursed for the time off as well as the cost of the tag, and gas for having to drive there, and gas wasting my time driving all the way over there initially to pick up the tag that was lost.

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ***** today, September 2, 2014, to address her concern.

We have ordered a replacement tag for Mrs. *****'s vehicle and expect to have it available by September 5, 2014.
In the interim I had a salesperson drive to Mrs. *****'s work location and have provided Mrs. ***** with a valid tag to allow her to use her vehicle till the replacement tag arrives. Once her replacement tag arrives the salesperson will deliver that tag to Mrs. *****.
I have been in contact with Mrs. ***** via e-mail and have addressed all of her concerns.
***** ****

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** *****


5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Duval honda in Febuary to trade in my 2010 Honda Fit trying to find something with better payments that i would be just as happy with, i admit i was ignorant and got a bad deal, leaving with a 2008 Toyota Prius with higher payments due to me believing in the long run it would save me money, just 7 days later decided that it was a horrible deal so contacted *** **** who was my sales man who at first told me they could work with me, then reseved a TEXT saying that there was nothing they could do for me, upset i called, where i talked to managment ***** who then said he would call me back after he looked at what was avalible and seemed shocked that *** would say there was nothing they could do, even though *** said it was per managment, waited about a week, with no communication back to me, called again, for about a week, no one was to talk with me or call me back, I believe was avoiding me, until my mother and I showed up to talk to them, only after threatening to contact the BBB would they then suddenly work with me, finally ended up with an SUV a Suzuki XL7 and left happy but with a promise of a I owe for a part on the steering wheel i believe a rotary pin problem, a month ago called, i still have not gotten a call about my part, kept being told i had to speak with a *****, Parts found out it had not even been ordered yet after i was told it would take 7 to 14 days to come in. called again today a week later with yet another run around being transfered to different people, and now ***** who i was suppose to talk to is no longer im told there. Please help me out this company has the worst customer service i have ever seen.x

Desired Settlement: I just want the part on my suv replaced like promised to me so I can be done with this company for good, and maybe their higher ups to know what a poor job the Duval on casset is doing.

Business Response:

In response to Mrs. ******’s complaint I would like to respond by saying that the repairs to Mrs. ******’s vehicle were performed and completed on Friday, April 25, 2014.


Mrs. ****** says that after having her vehicle for 7 days she wanted to return the 2008 Toyota Prius she purchased; Duval Honda offers a 48 hour return policy with no questions asked. After 2 – 3 days the paper work has been sent to the tag office and bank and has already been processed. It is often not possible to get this paper work un-done; however the sales department did work with Mrs. ****** and get her into another vehicle, while I will admit it did take some ***e they did address and resolve her concerns.

The second vehicle that Mrs. ****** decided on was a 2008 Suzuki XL7, she expressed a concern about a noise she heard when turning, upon inspection we found that the vehicle needed a rotary pin which was part of the rack and pinion. The parts were ordered, under the vehicles stock number, but were not available at the warehouse, we explained that there was no release date given and it could be one week, two weeks or two months before we received the part but we would notify her as soon as the part arrived. Once the parts arrived, Mrs. ****** was contacted and a ***e to perform the repairs was scheduled for April 25, 2014, the repairs were performed at that ***e (see attached copy of the repair order).


I would like to state that while I understand Mrs. ******’s concern and frustration with deciding she wanted a different vehicle, 5 days after our return policy, and having to wait for the parts to arrive to repair her vehicle, I am confident that Duval Honda has performed and met all its obligations.





***** ****

Service & Parts Director

Duval Honda



Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


****** ******


 I accept this response only due to the fact that yes, finally, the part to the SUV had come in, they had finally contacted me AND apologized to me for the delay, and just to take note, only took place the very next day after the BBB was contacted, I would also like known, not once was I left a message or spoken to about the part being out at the warehouse, I was just told, it "had not been ordered yet". Due to a change in employment,  *****, the man who I was told was the only man who could help me get any information,and do the order, I was told no longer works there.  My frustration is genuine. I will just hope, that Duval Honda, will extend their communication to their valued customers better, weather in person, hot and ready to make a buy at the office, or by phone, trying to find out simple, straight forward information about when a part would ready to be installed.

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This car advertised selling price was $29,888.70 for 2013 Honda odyssey EX-L, I have purchased the vehicle and said I will use my finance, the buyers order was created (Dated - 07/16/2013), I have attached the copy of it, then I have requested to finance with Honda instead of using my finance bank, so we went to Honda dealership to redo the paperwork, when I saw the buyer's order, the price was increased by $470 as it was showing the price as $30,388.70 which is also attached, They have added $470.00 (Actually $500.00, reduced to $470.00) to the total amount which was showing has $30,388.70, this $500.00 is given by Honda as flex cash to customer since we have financed with Honda financial services, but the dealer said it is dealer cash and cannot be issued to the customer which is incorrect, This amount has to be refunded to me by the dealer. For additional verification, I have purchased another Honda dealer for another vehicle and financed with Honda and they have refunded this $500.00 flex cash to the customer, So I need Duval Honda to return my $500.00 back which I am supposed to get. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Need my $500.00 back as that money was provided by Honda financial services to the customer for financing with Honda financial services

Business Response: Good afternoon,

Duval Honda will be sending a check to the customer in the amount of the $500.00 due to the oversight in the completion of the paperwork.

We apologize for the confusion.

The way that our vehicles are displayed openly on all New and Pre-owned vehicle and states that the pricing includes all rebates , discounts and incentives.

The check will be going to him VIA U.S. postal mail service.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Best regards,

******* *******
Duval Honda

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9666361, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



************ **********




3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service