BBB Accredited Business since

Duval Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (904) 387-6541 View Additional Phone Numbers 1616 Cassat Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32210 http://www.duvalford.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duval Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duval Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Duval Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 07/01/1916 in FL Business started locally: 07/01/1916
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Curry, VP Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Alexander Graham, Vice President Mr. Hampton Graham, Vice President Mr. Dan Hodges, President/COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Hodges, President/COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Duval Motor Company Scott - McRae Automotive Group, LLP
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Duval Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1616 Cassat Ave

    Jacksonville, FL 32210 (904) 387-6541 (888) 490-8037 (888) 355-0318 (888) 356-6421

  • 701 Riverside Park Pl

    Jacksonville, FL 32204 (904) 354-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call from duval ford about my application I put in. They told me to come on down and I did. When I got there, ***** was helping me out and we found a Fiesta. We test drove it and I loved it. When we came back we did my actual application. Waited a little bit and then the manager **** informed me, you got pretty good car credit. There should not be a problem at all to get you this car with just me on the financing.Then **** left and some other guy took over. I was waiting and ***** finally came over. He said we have two options, you need a a Co signer or money down. So I said I don't Have a Co signer or money to put down and we walked away. I emailed the general manager Richard after he emailed me. I explained everything to him. Then duval ford called me back and said we received your email,let's see if we can get you in a pre owned car. ***** said the chances are still going to be NO. Really, didn't even give me hope and seemed like they didn't even look for me. Just really bad service and managers misleading customers. Stating that there won't be a problem to get you in that car at all. I guess they are supposed to mislead us customers.

Desired Settlement: Duval ford needs to make it right for the misleading and make it happen with that car. Poor customer service and just fibbing and misleading customers.

Business Response:

BBB of Northeast Florida

Re: ******* ****

To whom it may concern,
We have contacted Mr. **** and explained Duval Ford does not offer credit, but secures the financing as a convenience using third parties.  Our Finance Director has made a few phone calls and was able to secure financing based on the information the customer submitted. I have notified Mr. **** and set a reservation for him to meet with our finance director this afternoon. It is our goal to take great care of each customer.

Sincerely,
**** ******
Duval Ford

Business Response:

Re: Case #********

Mr. ******* ****

 

To whom it may concern,

 

Duval Ford is not a lender but secures financing as a convenience using third parties.  Unfortunately, we were not able to secure financing at the payment Mr. **** requested but we were able to secure financing without a co-signer & $0 down. Duval Ford has attempted several times to work with Mr. **** but the lenders were unable to accommodate the terms he requested.  We would love to sell Mr. **** the vehicle if he would like to secure financing through his own personal financial institution. It is our goal to make sure every customer has a great experience and we apologize the lenders were unable to accommodate Mr. ****'s terms requested. 

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

Duval Ford

 

Consumer Response:

I completely understand what duval ford is saying that they don't own their own finance. Like I said"Duval Fords employees mislead customers and does not communicate very well with each other. I was treated like they didn't care and as well, I wanted to speak with the General Manager and he still has not called. Very poor service 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******* ****

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 2 weeks ago I purchased a vehicle from Duval Ford, as is. A warranty was also purchased. There were telephone and online negotiations for two week's prior to the purchase. I mainly dealt with ****. He was helpful for the most part. I sent 500.00 as a down-payment, in agreeing to pay an additional 2000.00 upon pick up. A Soldier in the military, I came from the Fort Stewart GA area to Jacksonville to pick up the vehicle. As I arrived to pick up, **** directed me to A gentleman named **** to complete my purchase. As we completed everything, he assured me the vehicle had just been serviced. ON the way home I noticed the passenger door handle was broken. I immediately called **** and left a message, he assured me that he would have the part replaced when I return for my oil change. Over the week I noticed the vehicle would not warm up, took to a mechanic and he told me the thermostat was disconnected. Okay, strike two. Last night, prior to our Christmas trip home, the engine went out. First thing in the morning I called ****, he spoke to the manager, the manager called once and then had the mechanic to call. The mechanic stated he had to get permission from the manager to come get the vehicle... That was the last time we heard from them. After several phone calls to the dealership manager , **** and ****, no one has answer or returned phone calls. The initial warranty paperwork has not even been mailed to me yet so I can't assess that information either. REALLY!!! No call backs to make sure your customer was being taken care of... How Awful!!!

Desired Settlement: Duval Ford in Jacksonville should use the 2500.00 I paid as a down-payment and apply it to my vehicle of choice. RETURN the phone call or acknowledge me. A Servicemember should not have to go through this.

Business Response:

Dear BBB of Northeast Florida,
Mrs. ****** ***** contacted us shortly after contacting the BBB when her car broke down prior to their Christmas trip home. We had her vehicle towed to Duval Ford and put her in a loaner vehicle so we could inspect the vehicle to determine the problem.  We have set up a reservation for Mrs. ***** to come in Tuesday, January 13th at 6:30pm to trade her out of her current vehicle & return the loaner vehicle. Please let me know if you have any other questions or need any additional information.
Thank you,
**** ****** ***** ****** ** ******* ************

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 21/14 I took my 2005 Ford escape to Duval Ford on Cassat Ave for check engine light they told me the vehicle needed to be reprogrammed. So I took it back on April 15/14 for the reprogram I played 147.64 When I drove away with the vehicle I notice the brake light was on I told my husband now the brake is on it was not on before the reprogram. So he told me to drive until the next day to see if it would go off it didn't.I took the vehicle back to duval Ford on April 16/14 they told me I needed a master cylinder,450.00,a brake booster 355.00 and a abs module 739.00 I didn't believe them so I got another opinion at another Ford dealership they told me I needed . A reprogram which is what I thought I had done at duval. I had to pay another213.99 for the other Ford dealership to reprogram my vehicle again.I don't think it was fair for me to pay for something duval Ford didn't do right in the first place

Desired Settlement: 213.99

Business Response:

Re: Complaint #1******5

****** ****s

Vehicle Identification#1***************8

2005 Ford Escape

 

Mrs. ******,

 

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.  It is our goal to always take great care of our customers and we have missed the mark. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do to assist you in the future. We are mailing a check in the amount of $213.99 to your address listed in the complaint:

*** ** ***** ****** ************* ** *****

 

 

Sincerely,

*** ******

President Jacksonville Platform

Scott McRae Automotive Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1******5, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****s

 

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Duval Ford through **** *****r. I asked ***** if there were any issues or problems with the vehicle and he mentioned the ABS light was on and no sensors in wheels. When i got the truck it had a broken dash which is costing me $650.00 to repair. The cooler lines were blown and leaking and the front steering shock blown that i had to repair. That cost $800.00. Other issues were wear and tear and acceptable to me although not satisfactory. I tried emailing the sales person 3 times with no answer back. Not happy paying $37400 on the high end for this vehicle and not having full disclosure of problems. Overall not happy.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the repair costs as I was buying sight unseen and asked about any problems and these issues were not mentioned. Had they been i would not have a problem.

Business Response:

 
February 26, 2014
 
The Better Business Bureau
Atten
***** ******* **** **********
 
Vehicle id#1****************
 
To whom it may concern,
We have reviewed the concerns from **** ***** with ********** **** *** regarding the 2007 GMC Sierra 2500 pick-up truck purchased on December, 30, 2013 from Duval Ford.  **** ***** with ********** **** *** purchased the vehicle wholesale and could have had the vehicle inspected from an independent mechanic since it was purchased sight unseen but did not. The wholesale document states, "In this document, the seller shall mean the dealer named above. Vehicles sold only to licensed dealers and without any warranty (as is). After taking possession of the vehicle, the purchaser assumes responsibility for any loss or any damage to the vehicle regardless of cause or fault." Wholesale vehicles are sold as is with no buyers guide required, with an open title at a wholesale price. 
 
Sincerely,
**** ******
Duval Ford
 
 
 

9/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Duval Ford
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart