BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duval Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duval Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Duval Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 07/01/1916 in FL Business incorporated 12/23/2010 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Graham, Vice Chairman Mr. Dan Hodges
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Hodges
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Regency Motor Company, Inc. Scott-McRae Automotive Group, LLP
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 11225 Atlantic Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32225 (888) 201-5360 (877) 881-2421 (888) 201-6499

  • 701 Riverside Park Pl

    Jacksonville, FL 32204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle from Duval Acura. During the test drive, the salesperson, *****, advised that the wind noise heard in the vehicle was not a defect or issue. Rather, ***** stated that each cars wind noise was a little different and that this was normal for that particular vehicle. He stated that he sold Mercedes-Benz vehicles at a Mercedes-Benz dealership previously, so he was very familiar with them. The salespersons statement about the windshield noise was an affirmative misrepresentation, or alternatively, was the non-disclosure of a known issue/defect. The salesperson violated Florida Statute 501.976(4) by making a representation about the general condition of the vehicle that was not true and was not supportable by material fact. After the test drive, I attempted to negotiate the sales price with the salesperson, and then the sales manager. I was informed by the salesperson that the Duval group does not negotiate on the sales price of any vehicle with any customer. Salesperson then asked me, Are you a *****tianDo you go to church? I was surprised and replied, No, Im Jewish. Salesperson then informed Claimant that he attends Chets Creek Church. Claimant believes that the Dealers refusal to negotiate was the result of intentional discrimination and alleges that the dealership employs their no negotiating program discriminatorily, with a disparate impact upon non-*****tians and minorities. The salesperson violated Florida Statute 501.204(1) by intentionally engaging in unconscionable and unfair discrimination based upon my religion and race. After discussing the lack of negotiation, the sales manager then stated, Besides, the price on the window is over two thousand dollars less than book value on this car, so even if we could negotiate, there isnt anywhere to go on this one. We are making less than $1,000.00 because the car is priced so aggressively. We price our cars to sell. The sales managers statement about the book value of the vehicle was an affirmative misrepresentation. The sales manager violated Florida Statute 501.204(1) by making a deceptive representation about the value of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Fraudulent Affirmative Misrepresentation of Used Vehicle Value Approx. Damages: $5,000.00Alternatively, I am agreeable to dealer returning all money paid by claimant to the dealer and claimants trade in vehicle (Infiniti G37). Claimant will return the purchased vehicle (Mercedes ML350).Fraudulent Non-Disclosure of Windshield Issue/Misrepresentation of Windshield Noise Approx. Damages: $500.00 - $900.00 (varies based upon repair company)

Business Response: In regard to complaint # 1******2, the consumer has been traded out of their Mercedes Benz, and we sold them a new Acura RDX.  The consumer left extremely happy and let me know that they would be recalling the complaint and would be contacting your office to do so.

Mark Lacovara mark.lacovara@duvalacura.com

3:54 PM (0 minutes ago)
Reply
to me
 
 
 
 
In regard to complaint # 10137582, the consumer has been traded out of their Mercedes Benz, and we sold them a new Acura RDX.  The consumer left extremely happy and let me know that they would be recalling the complaint and would be contacting your office to do so.  In the future please route any and all issues my way so I can take care of them in an expedient manner.

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues