BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dan Vaden Chevrolet Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dan Vaden Chevrolet Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dan Vaden Chevrolet Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Daniel, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Dan Vaden Chevrolet-Oldsmobile, Inc. Dan Vaden of Brunswick
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 121 Altama Connector

    Brunswick, GA 31525

  • PO Box 14217

    Savannah, GA 31416 (912) 265-3540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2013 to Dan vaden ********* due to some mechanical issues and the engine light being on. They looked at my car and I was informed that I needed a new catalytic converter and a new gauge. I was told that they were both covered under warranty. They replaced the gauge and told me that they had to order the catalytic converter and it would be in the following week. ****** went over the paperwork with me regarding the work that was done on my car and stated that it was covered under the warranty. She gave me a copy of the statement detailing the work that was done and it also said n/c under the amount owed. She gave me my keys and I was on my way. The next day, I receive a phone call from ****** stating that she had made a mistake and the gauge was not covered under warranty. She then asked when I would be in to pay. I informed her that I wouldn't. I was told it was covered under warranty otherwise I would have declined the work to be done at this time. The following week I take my car back to have the converter replaced. They put me in a loaner car. I left the dealership and went straight to work, 5 min from the dealership, and I locked the keys in the car. I called the number to the person that I have been working with to set up the times to bring my car in. I told her what I had done and asked her if possibly on star could unlock the vehicle. I was placed on hold for a few minutes and when she returned she informed me that the on star was not activated in the vehicle, so the ******* is going to bring the second set of keys and unlock it for me. When he arrived, he called to tell me he was there so I could come out to the car. When I came out I apologized for him having to come out and thanked him. When my car was ready to be picked up, I am informed that all I owe is $50. When I ask why I am told it was a lockout fee. I explain that I was never informed of a lockout fee and if I had been, I would have had triple a come and unlock it for free. I am told that I cannot have my car until the $50 is paid. I asked for a ******* but there was not one available. He tried to contact one by phone and was unsuccessful as well. I left in the loaner vehicle and asked him to have his ******* call me. As soon as I left, I called Chevys home office and explained the situation. They also called the dealership and tried to get a ******* but was unsuccessful. I was told to keep the car until Monday when somebody would contact me to resolve the situation. The ******* of the ********* Dealership called me yesterday, Monday, to inform me that I owe the $50 and I will not get my car back until it is paid. I explained the situation that I was never informed of a $50 fee otherwise I would have had triple a do it for free. His response was that he already had to eat the money from the repairs done to my car that I refused to pay for. I let him know that I was told that it was covered under warranty and the paperwork that I was given that also stated that was in my car that he had. I called Chevys home office again and explained the situation and they called and spoke with him. He told them that I was informed when I called about the lockout fee, which I was not, and that it was also in the rental agreement that I signed. I was never given a rental agreement to sign. I paid the $50 to get my car back. I called and asked to have the rental agreement that I signed emailed to me and I was told that they do not have one. That is because I was never presented with one to sign.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my $50 to be refunded to me

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for bringing this customer's concerns to our attention. We are familiar with this individual. We find it hilarious that Ms. ********* is asking for $50 when we have been advised to pursue legal action against her for theft of services.

But, for $50, it's not worth our time.

 

  • We will mail her a check for $50 per her request.

 

  • But, we also have a request: that she never come back to any of our businesses. We want nothing further to do with her.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will accept this as soon as I have the check in hand. I have already informed them that I will never do business with them again, so there should be no issue there.  If they would like to pursue legal action against me for theft of services, I would welcome that. I would like to know what services they believe that I haven't paid for because I have all paperwork detailing the work that was done and what I was responsible for, which is $0.00. If they would like to continue this, I will be happy to sue them for defamation. 

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

In response to her rejection, the check should go out tomorrow.

With regards to legal action, as previously stated, she's not worth our effort.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I would like to know what services mr ******** believes that I received unlawfully. I will be more than happy to pay any outstanding bill that he can provide proof of me owing. I have everything on my end showing that I owe $0.00. I would like to see documents from mr ******** regarding what he believes I owe to his company.  If that cannot be provided, I will not accept this response until I receive the check in hand along with an apology for accusing me of theft. 

Regards,

****** *********

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* *******. I purchased a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 on February 21, 2015 from Dan Vaden Chevrolet located in Brunswick, Ga. I'm an iron worker and my job requires me to travel. I was scheduled to be in Oxford, MS that following Monday for a job. During the purchase the truck was making an unusual noise so I was advised to take it to a dealership where my job is located to see what was going on and report back to them concerning the issue and they will take care of it. I finally had the time to do that and took the truck to a Dodge dealership located in Oxford, MS, ***** *******, paid them to inspect the vehicle to let me know what exactly was going on. ***** ******* advised me that it need the ball joints replaced, the power steering line has a leak, and the vacuum doors that control the heat and a/c vents need to be replaced. I notified Dan Vaden to let them know and ***** ******* faxed them a copy of those particular issues associated with the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. Dan Vaden is refusing to take care of the issues and I'm taking the necessary steps to get this problem resolved in the most legitimate respectful way as possible. Someone recommended me to contact Better Business Bureaus to look over the this issue and to see is it anyway possible that I can come to a resolution. The vehicle is financed through GM Financial and supposed to had went through a thorough inspection before even putting it on the lot for sale. Please get back in contact with me to let me know what else I need to do. My email address is ******************* ******* ** **** *** ***** ********* ** ****** or you can contact me by phone at ###-###-####. If I'm unable to be reached you do have my permission to speak with ****** **** at ###-###-#### and she is well aware of the problem. I work during the day mostly so Ms. **** will be the best person to speak with because of my schedule. 

                              
                                                    Thanks in advance,                              
                                                     ******* ** *******





Desired Settlement: Desired Settlement:
 I was advised to take it to a dealership where my job is located to see what was going on and report back to them concerning the issue and they will take care of it.    It needs the ball joints replaced, the power steering line has a leak, and the vacuum doors that control the heat and a/c vents need to be replaced.

Business Response:

Company's response below:


Dear BBB ,

Regarding Id 1******* as the customer requested a check has been issued and was picked up by the customer on 4.10.2015

please let us know if any further information is needed .



Thank you

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman told me that I had to sign paperwork to view a car that was coming from another dealership. He had me give him a blank e-check that was issued to me by the financial company that I was approved through. I also had to give the salesman a personal check made out for a couple thousand dollars. The salesman told me if I did not like the car he would tear up the paperwork. When I returned to the dealership to see the car. I told the salesman I did not want the car. The salesman refused to tear up the paperwork. He then took me to see the manager in which I told him what happened. He said that they weren't supposed to do that. When I left the dealership, Approximately two hours later the manager called and said that he was going to prosecute me for signing a contract. I do not have there car. I never even took it for a test drive.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop embarrassing me with threats of prosecution over the phone. They have no business contacting me ever again.

Business Response: Dear BBB, Thank you for contacting in regards to the concerns of Mrs. *****. Having visited several of our different dealerships and purchased a vehicle from one, we would like to be able to contact her with regards to her new vehicle. If that is amenable, we will continue. However, we will certainly put a "do not contact" request for any other non-selling dealerships. Sincerely, ***** *******

9/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 29th 2013 I spotted a 2005 Cadillac Escalade EXT that your dealership had for sale. I made a phone call to the dealership and spoke with ***** *****. I asked ***** about the vehicle specifics and she was very professional and answered all of my questions. I then asked her for an out the door best price on the vehicle, she replied let me get you over to the sales manager. The asking price on the vehicle was $15,987.My call was transferred to ***** ******* sales manager, Mr. ******* asked what my offer was and I responded $15,500 out the door, he said done! He asked what the tax rate was for vehicle purchase in North Carolina. I responded 3%, he said thats ok sold $15,500. I then asked ***** to fax a bill of sale to my local financial organization and gave him the fax number. Two hours later the Loan Officer called and said they had not received the bill of sale. I contacted Mr. ******* back and let him know, he said I just faxed again with confirmation. I told Mr. ******* that I would be at the Dealership at 9:00am on Saturday morning, and to please have the vehicle clean and ready to go. He said It would be ready, I then asked how are the tires on the truck he said their great. I said good, well see you on Saturday morning. The Loan officer called me back twenty minutes later and said she had everything and we were fine on my end. On Thursday August 1st 2013, the loan officer called and said she had left a message for Mr. ******* but he had not called back. She was inquiring as to who the check should be made out to, so I too contacted Mr. ******* but did not get a return phone call.On Friday August 2nd 2013, I contacted Mr. ******* again with no response, and then I got in contact with **** *****. I introduced myself and Mr. ***** and explained my business with Dan Vaden Chevrolet/Cadillac of Brunswick. He asked how he could help me. I asked if the check should be made out to Dan Vaden Chevrolet and he said that is fine. I told Mr. ***** the arrangements had been made and I would be coming in town Friday night and would be staying at the Embassy Suites right behind the dealership. I asked him to make sure the vehicle was clean and ready to go for a test drive at 9:00am. He said it will be taken care of. On Saturday August 3rd 2013 9:00am, I arrived at the dealership. A salesman greeted me and asked who I was working with I responded ***** *******. He said let me look it up for you, after a few minutes he said youre working with ***** ***** let me get her for you. Ms. ***** walked up and greeted me and asked what I was there to see? I explained that I had been working with Mr. ******* and had spoken to Mr. ***** on Friday about the Vehicle. She said let me get with Mr. *******, a few minutes later she came back and said we have a problemThe keys are actually locked in service as we had to finish up servicing the vehicle. I asked what was changed he replied the rear shocks were replaced. When I got Home it was discovered the factory ride control (Option Code ***) was deactivated and aftermarket non-air ride shocks were installed. We are trying to get in contact with the service manager to unlock the service department. Lets go ahead and get started on the paperwork Mr. ******* replied. My response was not until we have keys for a test drive. Ms. ***** got out a what we owe you document and wrote nothing owed, nothing promised and asked me to sign. I laughed and said that I hadnt even seen the vehicle inside as it was locked and indescribably dirty. She said it will be about an hour before we can get the keys here for the vehicle. At 10:40am Ms. ***** came back saying the keys had arrived lets go for a ride. We took a test drive, and came back. I asked for the vehicle to be filled with fuel, cleaned up, the adhesive strip to be removed from the top of the doors from missing vent visors, and for the sunroof shade to be installed. Mr. ******* said he couldnt repair the sunroof shade as it was $1100.00, which was unbelievable.Two hours later Mr. ******* came to me stating that it was going to take awhile for the guys to get the adhesive off the doors. Forty-five minutes later I asked ***** just to get the vehicle washed and cleaned and I would be on my way. I left the dealership at 1:45pm. Just as an FYI. The tires didnt match and the two rear tires were dry rotted, the vehicle had been involved in some type of accident as both rear quarters had been painted and the body work was sub-quality at best. These were areas that couldnt be examined due to the lack of being detailed properly. This was the most un-professional business experience I have ever had when purchasing a vehicle. It will most certainly deter any future out-of-state car purchases in the future.

Desired Settlement: Would like compensation for time wasted and the second set of keys sent to me for the vehicle.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Thank you for contacting us with regards to our customer. I contacted our General Manager at our Brunswick location, Mr. ***l ******, who had already been in communication with Mr. ********. They agreed upon a reimbursement of $250 to assist in Mr. ********'s travel expenses. It is our understanding that the customer is satisfied with this agreement.

Certainly do not hesitate to contact me should you have any more information regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Nothing has been received as of 9-3-2013 from the dealer besides broken promises. The temporary registration has now expired and the DMV of North Carolina has not received the title information from the dealership.

Once again the dealer has dropped the ball. If/When the promised compensation, and tag arrives at my residence the complaint will be closed.

If nothing is received by Friday September 6th from the dealership, this will be submitted to my attorney for suit. 

 

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

 Date Sent: 9/11/2013 2:25:29 PM

Complaint is not resolved still waiting for  Title/Tag from dealership to be sent to the NCDMV for NC tag/registration so the truck will be legal to drive. 

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint is not resolved still waiting for  Title/Tag from dealership to be sent to the NCDMV for NC tag/registration so the truck will be legal to drive.

Business Response: I am currently in the hospital I have been for the past 12 days hoping to get out in a few more days I had a part of my right foot amputated from diabetes complications. I am going to try to get everything done as soon as I can there has just been a short delay that I was not expecting

 

 

Above is a copy of an email from the 3rd party  we use to expedite our paperwork in N.C., as you can see things have come to a standstill but hopes to be out in a few days. We are hoping to have this tag completed for Mr. ******** next week. We are so sorry for all these delays and things like this cannot be predicted. I will have a new temp tag overnighted to Mr. ******** today.

 

Thank You

 

*** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dan Vaden Chevrolet Cadillac
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)