BBB Accredited Business since

Claude Nolan Cadillac Inc

Phone: (904) 642-5111 Fax: (904) 642-9573 4700 Southside Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32216 http://www.claudenolan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Claude Nolan Cadillac Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Claude Nolan Cadillac Inc include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Claude Nolan Cadillac Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Claude Nolan Cadillac Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1905 Business started locally: 01/01/1905
Business Management
Mr. Marc Helmick, Owner Mr. Bill Sheffield, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Helmick, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Marc Helmick, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 4700 Southside Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found a listing for a used Lexus RX online yesterday (via **** *** ****** service) and contacted Claude Nolan Cadillac. They immediately called me and scheduled a test drive of the vehicle yesterday evening and confirmed via email, including pictures and a vehicle description. When I arrived I was stalled and then finally informed that the vehicle in question was not in their inventory. I was immediately offered to test drive a similar model, but which was about $8,000 more expensive. Classic bait and switch.Also, the car in question is still being advertised as of this morning.

Desired Settlement: The dealership should at least stop advertising the car so other buyers are not suckered in to their blatant bait and switch attempts.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* was given inaccurate information on the vehicle he inquired about. We apologize for this and have taken steps for this not to happen again. We started a business development center (BDC) in August to facilitate the sales department. When Mr. ******* sent a request for the specific vehicle the BDC had not realized the car had been sold. It takes until the next day after the deal is finalized for the vehicle to be scrubbed from our inventory.

As to other sites ie. ***** they pick up inventories and are not scrubbed as promptly as an individual dealer website is scrubbed. I watched different sites when Mr. ******* made his reference to the **** site and they came off those sites on different days. We do not pay for these sites to show our inventory they pull them from different sources.

Again I apologize for his inconvenience and we have set new guidelines to follow when vehicles are sold.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******k

GM

Claude Nolan Cadillac

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1******3, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

********* *******

 

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* ****** and I would like to launch a complaint with you for your Service department in ************ (********* **** ********) I took my car into your service department where I was assited by ***** ******* on 06/20/2013. She ran a diagnostic on my Cadillax SRX and told me that the diagnostic had came back, and that it would cost $1,500 to for them to fix it, myself and my husband advised ***** that we would pay the $1500 as long as it fixed the problems. ***** called us around 5pm and told us that the car was ready and had been fixed, we left and got aboout 20 minutes up the road and the check engine light came right back and and was doing the exact same thing that it did when we dropped it off. I immediately called ***** back and advised her that the check engine light was back on and that it was doing the same things, she said that it shouldnt be, their service department had closed, but to bring it back to them on 06/23 and they would take care of me. I woke up first thing that Monday morning and took my car back to them, I was told that ***** was on vacation and that her co-worker **** ***** would handle for me, at about 3pm that afternoon I received a call from **** and he said that I would need to pay an extra $234 for a valve, I advised **** that I paid $1500.00 and they never fixed, I had already had a conversation with ***** and she said that they would take care of me. **** said that he would reach out to ***** and call me back. About 15 minutes later **** called me back and told me that ***** said she never had that conversation with me, at that point I begin to cry and relaize that I had been scammed out of $1500 and this company was asking me for more money when they never fixed it. I asked **** why were these items not listed on the first diagnostic done on 06/20 and he could not give me an answer. **** was very nonchalant and so was his ******* *******. My car is not fixed and I feel like I was taken a woman taken advantage of. Not only did they scam me out of

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO BE REFUNDED THIS COMPANY TOOK $1500.00 FROM ME AND DID NOT FIX MY CAR, CAME UP WITH MORE ISSUES THAT DID NOT SHOW UP ON THE FIRST DIAGNOSTIC AND ASKED FOR MORE MONEY

Business Response: Mrs. ****** brought her vehicle to Claude Nolan Cadillac on June 20th 2014 at 9:09 am. Her vehicle had a service engine soon light on, blinking at times, rough ride and low power, worse with the air conditioner on. In doing a computer scan, the Technician discovered diagnotic trouble codes P0300, P0301, P0303, P0201 and P0203. Testing revealed that fuel injectors #1 and #3 had failed, as well as the engine control module. ***** ******* contacted Mrs. ****** with an estimate of repairs to replace those parts. ****** also made Mrs. ****** aware of the fact that some of the trouble codes were "history codes"- not currrent and would not be addressed with this repair. During the Multi-Point Vehicle Inspectio (visual and audible), the Technician noticed that the rear brakes were worn, the shift linkage was worn and noisy and that the vehicle had multiple oil leaks, some to the point of dripping. He also heard a clunk noise under the vehicle which would require diagnosis. The vehicle was running too poorly to safely test drive when it arrived. Mrs. ****** approved the replacement of the two injectors and the engine control module only. Upon completion of the repairs and subsequent test drive, the Technician noticed a loud grinding noise coming from the transfer case. He noted this on the repair order also. ***** told me that Mrs. ****** called her after leaving the dealership to tell her that the service engine soon light had come back on and was blinking. ***** advised her that all of the parts that we replaced carry a warranty and that if any of those parts had failed, we would replace them at no charge. ***** also told her that we would check the vehicle for her for free.. When Mrs. ****** returned on June 23rd 2014 at 9:26 am, the Technician found codes P0496, P0430 and P0420 set. The evaporative purge valve was malfuncioning. This was not related to the previous repair. **** ***** called Mrs. ****** ( ***** was on vacation) to expain the needed repair. She said she was not paying for anything and became beligerant. **** asked me to call her. I did. I offered to replace the part with no labor charge (a savings of $132.00 + tax). She was not happy with that. I explained to her that there are over 100 circumstances that can cause the service engine soon light to come on and that we could not be responsible for all of them, especially on a vehicle that is 10 years old with over 179,000 miles on it. She said she did not agree with me. She asked me to arrange a ride to get her here and I did. When she came to pick up the vehicle she told the ******* that she would not pay for the part ($84.00) because she told me to take it off of the vehicle. At no time did she tell me to take the part off of the vehicle. She told the ******* she had no money. I removed the charge for the part and she left in her vehicle. I do not feel we owe Mrs. ****** any refund or future repairs. Her vehicle is in very poor mechanical condition, is 10 years old and has over 179,000 miles on it. We have no way to predict when a service engine light will come on. We can only advise what a current diagnosi reveals and what we can see and hear.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: ***** ******* never told me about any history codes, she advised that $1500 would fix my vehicle, and it did not. I got 5 minutes up the road and experienced the same exact issues as when I bought it in. When I called ****** she told me that I should not be having those same issues and to bring it back in "and we will take care of you" see **** because I will be on vacation. A separate diagnostic was ran with 3 totally new codes. If my check engine light came back on as soon as I left the delaership then that means that the problem was not fixed. I alerted the dealership in a timely manner, and they wanted to charge me more money. If you diagnosed my car and "fixed" the problem, then the check engine light should have never came back on. When I spoke to the ******* ******* he was very nasty and arrogant and told me that if I didnt have the money then he would remove the parts from my vehicle, that is when I advised him that I would be there to get my vehicle. If the service deopartment in fact felt as though my car was old and had a lot of miles, and this would prevent them from doing a satisfactory job, then why take my money, why take $1500 from someone, no consumer would agree to a "MAYBE" this will fix your vehicle. I was never advised of any history codes. I was told that $1500 would fix the problem and it didnt. This dealership is very arrogant, rude, and they lack integrity. I had another diagnostic done and the mechanic clearly advised me that all the dealership did was take my money. I still have to get my car fixed. If you look at the first diagnostic that was done, it says nothing about history codes that would remain.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

The original concern was corrected as related to the diagnostic trouble codes. When the vehicle returned, none of the codes were the same. Even the history codes did not return. A brand new vehicle can show a service engine light , be properly repaired and later have the light come on again with a completely different code or codes. This was the case with Mrs. ******'s vehicle. A Certified ASE Master Technician/ GM Master Technician could not possibly read the repair order for Mrs. ******'s vehicle and say "all the dealership did was take your money". The Technician who performed the repairs on Mrs. ******'s vehicle is a Certified ASE Master Technician/ GM master Technician. I would like to see the paper work from another repair facility stating that "all the dealership did was take your money". The vehicle is in need of additional repairs unrelated to the service engine light. Mrs. ****** was advised of that.

in her original complaint, we were " nonchalant". In her rejection of my expalnation, we were "rude and arrogant". I do not understand this thinking.

On July 16th, we were notified that Mrs. ****** had disputed the payment to Claude Nolan with her card carrier to recoup the $1,488.52 that she paid. She has also requested a refund directly from Claude Nolan in her original complaint. Perhaps she is attempting to make a profit. i do not know.

Sincerely,

**** *********

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Another subsequent diagnostic had to be done the following week since Claude Nolan did not repair my vehicle. When my car was finally repaired, the dealership ran a diagnostic for me before I left, to show me a before and after. The problems that Claud Nolan claimed they fixed was fixed by another dealer. My check engine light has not returned as Claude Nolan has referenced severeal times that it would return. My car is fixed, and as a consumer thats all I wanted in the first place. I am seeking no profit from your company. I digress, Ive made a discision to not do business with the devil anymore. Best of luck

Regards,

******* ******

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues