BBB Accredited Business since

Chatham Motor Sales, Inc.

Phone: (912) 231-2020 Fax: (912) 231-2022 View Additional Phone Numbers 7 Park of Commerce Way, Savannah, GA 31405 http://www.chathamparkwaytoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chatham Motor Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chatham Motor Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chatham Motor Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in DE
Business Management
Mr. Rick Rondeau, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Rondeau, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chatham Parkway Lexus Chatham Parkway Subaru Chatham Parkway Toyota/ Lexus/Scion/Subaru Chatham Parkway Toyota/Scion

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chatham Motor Sales, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7 Park of Commerce Way

    Savannah, GA 31405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2016 Delivery Issues
10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Everyone please be very cautious buying a car or truck from Chatham Parkway Toyota. I posted a status minutes ago on their page warning everyone of how unprofessional and uncaring they are. I bought a 2006 tundra from them 14 months ago and it was one of the biggest mistake of my life. It has been in maintenance for 7 months out of 14 months of owning it without any success of being repaired. I attempted to drop it off for repairs last Friday to only be convinced that I could buy a 2015 tundra and get rid of the headache. Not even four days later I receive a call from my sales guy that the truck had to be returned. After returning the new truck I was still stuck with needing repairs to my truck. I asked for a loaner so my truck could be worked on. Guess what the General manager told me? They had a busy weekend with the holiday and couldn't risk not making a sale on whatever I would be driving. Knowing my truck was unsafe to drive. What I took from that is that money was more important than the safety of myself and family. I don't take that to lightly with my family. Now here is the big kicker, I have sent them $146,000 worth of business over the past three years between family and friends. With as much as I have done for them, they can't attempt to make something work for my family and I. They will show no loyalty to you once you sign the dotted line and money is made. Pleas everyone share so no one else becomes a victim. I will post this everyday on different pages to warn everyone and I will not stop there.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This letter is in response to the complaint submitted by Mr. John ***** to the Better Business Bureau. On April 30, 2014 John ***** purchased a 2006 Toyota Tundra here at Chatham Parkway Toyota. Since that day, the purchased vehicle has only been into our service department on 3 separate occasions with Mr. ***** being concerned with an issue he was having with the vehicle.

The first time the truck was brought in for service was July 8, 2014. He stated that the truck was “catching while going into gear”. The overdrive button seemed to be sticking so we replaced the part needed and it was listed as operating as normal by the technician when Mr. ***** picked up his truck on July 30, 2014. 

The second time the truck was brought to our dealership was August 27, 2014. Mr. ***** stated that the vehicle was “slamming down into gear”. At this time our technician reset the PCM and ECM which typically corrects the shift quality. The computer will learn how the customer drives and will adapt the shifting to accommodate. Once complete, Mr. ***** picked up his truck on September 9, 2014.

The last visit regarding this issue, other than now, was September 23, 2014. The customer stated again that his truck was “shifting down hard into the gear”. After several methods of testing by our lead technician at the time, we ended up replacing the driveshaft. Typically a bad driveshaft can cause noise on acceleration and deceleration from excessive play. Mr. ***** picked up his truck on November 12, 2014.

Each time Mr. ***** brought the vehicle in due to issues we not only paid for the service he was having on the vehicle, but we would put him in a rental vehicle, at no charge to him, or offer a vehicle off the lot for him to drive. At times, it would be difficult to get Mr. ***** to come back and pick up his vehicle even after completion. He would state he was out of town on work and wouldn’t be back for sometimes up to a month. In addition, he would bring the vehicles back with sometimes a few additional thousand miles on the vehicle.

In the latest situation, mentioned in the claim above, Mr. ***** brought his truck up here on Friday June 26, 2015 stating he was having the same issues with it. We were in the middle of an end of the month sales event. One of the event staff members struck up a conversation with Mr. *****, before he got to service, and told him we would try to trade him out of this vehicle that he was still unhappy with over a year later. We submitted the deal to the bank and let Mr. ***** take the new 2015 Toyota Tundra on a demo agreement while we tried to get the deal approved with the bank. At that time, Mr. ***** never checked his other truck into the service department to have it looked at. After submitting his application to the banks, the following week we were told by the lender that they would not be able to finance Mr. ***** due to his current credit and past credit history.

Mr. ***** came to return the demo 2015 Toyota Tundra that Thursday (July 2nd, 2015). He then spoke with our Finance Manager who explained the situation to him. Mr. ***** then stated he would need to put his vehicle into service at the time for the same issues he was claiming the week prior. At this time, he demanded we give him a vehicle to drive for the July 4th weekend while we look at his truck. He stated he had to have a truck and could not take anything else. Our Service Manager spoke to Mr. ***** and explained to him that we wouldn’t be able to provide him with a truck to drive as we only had a couple of Tundra trucks on the lot and none in our rental fleet at the time. His truck was never deemed “unsafe to drive” by anyone as he didn’t even check his truck into the service department due to not being able to get a loaner vehicle.

Since these 3 visits, Mr. ***** has only had his vehicle in our service department 3 additional times. Two times for regular scheduled maintenance, a 100k and 115k service, and now where it is currently in our service department today. When Mr. ***** purchased the vehicle it only had 89,286 miles and now the vehicle currently has 112,995 miles a little over a year later. We currently have a case open with Toyota in an effort to figure out why Mr. ***** is continually having these same issues with his truck. The case is still current and we do not yet know the outcome.

I hope this shed further light on the situation in an effort to assist with Mr. *****’s complaint. We have continued to try and help fix this issue he states he is having and should hopefully know something from Toyota shortly.

Please feel free to reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.


Regards,

Rick *******

General Manager

Chatham Parkway Toyota

Main: ###-###-####

 

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The last 4 digits of my *** were entered incorrectly three years ago when I leased my vehicle, so despite having three years of on time payments, my credit doesn't reflect that. I can't get a car now without a down payment. Also, my ** ********* co-signed on the vehicle for me, but he was made the Primary account holder (without either of us being notifeid) because he has better credit. I tried sending in a copy of my actual drivers license to the finance company inorder to have my credit updated (as I was instructed to), but a week later was told that only *** copy of my DL was received (despite calling EVERYDAY for 5 days, nobody notified me about receiving any documents or the status. On the 5th day, I was told that the copy was "illegible." I need my credit updated and I need the vehicle that was leased as mine to be treated as such so that I can trade it in.

Desired Settlement: I need my credit updated and I need the vehicle that was leased as mine to be treated as such so that I can trade it in.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

After further research and review of the claim by **. ******** ******* we have done the following.

Our ******* ******** / ******* ***** ******* pulled the original deal that was done here at our dealership and confirmed that **. ******** ****** was primary on the original deal with her ************ placed as secondary. In addition, he contacted her finance institution, ***** ****, to confirm that the vehicle she currently owns is showing under the correct name and social security number of **. ******.

After further conversation with the representatives at ***** ****, they advised us that we could not discuss personal credit matters via this letter and that all additional questions or concerns from **. ****** regarding her credit information should be directed to ******* directly.

Please feel free to reach me with any additional questions or concerns.

 

Thanks,

 

**** *******

******* *******

Main: (**** ********

******************

6/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 30, 2013 I leased a 2013 Toyota Sienna from Chatham Parkway Toyota. On February 21, 2015 I visited your dealership due to a mailed flyer that stating to come trade out of your lease early and lower your payments. I knew better, but stopped in anyway (not even close by the way). Before leaving, our salesperson notified me that I would be eligible for a refund of the non-used portion of the extended warranty that I purchased. My response was that “I did not purchase an extended warranty”. He then stated that he must have my “deal” mixed up with another. When we returned home, I looked through my paperwork, and I had a “Powertrain Limited Warranty” document which I had signed. It was explained to me while closing the deal that this is provided free of charge for every new car purchase. I called the warranty company to determine if there was any dollar value to this policy, and I was referred to the dealership. I contacted ******* in the accounting dept., and she stated that there was no dollar value to the Powertrain Warranty as this was offered free with every new car. She then stated that the additional warranty that I purchased could be refunded on a prorated basis. This is when I realized that something was wrong, as I had not purchased an extended warranty. The warranty was purchased without my knowledge (using a forged signature) for a sum of $2220.00. This warranty is for 39 months or 39K miles and covers minor items (i.e. windshield wipers, battery, light bulbs, brake pads). On 02/26/15, I visited the dealership to sign a cancellation form with one of the Finance Managers, and was informed that the refund would be prorated (which was of course, unacceptable). I asked to see the document, and this is when I realized that my signature had been FORGED, that’s right, FORGED. The Finance Manager stated that he would check into crediting the full amount. I asked for a copy of the signed page and left with a comment from the Finance Manager stating that I would receive a call from the General Manager. I called later in the evening on the 26th and was told that I would be called the next day after speaking with the controller (accounting?). I did in fact receive a call on the 27th stating that the full amount would be refunded although it was difficult to get them to agree (not sure who “them” is). I was informed that this would be sent back to the finance company, and would be added to the end of the lease. In other words, I will continue to make full payments until I get to roughly 4.8 payments remaining, at this point there will be nothing left due. As of 1400 on 03/02/15, I still have not heard from the General Manager, and the Finance Manger has not returned any of my phone calls. I have issues with how this was handled. Chatham Parkway Toyota has STOLEN $2220.00 from me by way of a forged signature for a warranty that I never would have been able to use because I was unaware that it existed. I requested to pick up a check for the $2200.00 plus the return of interest paid, and interest that I missed earning in my own account. I was told during my last conversation with that they could not do this because the warranty was financed into the lease. What!? it was financed into the lease without my knowledge! On 03/03/15, I did hear from the General Sales Manager (4 business days after this started) and was told that the entire amount was refunded and that I could not be issued a check since this amount was financed into the loan. When I asked about a refund of the interest paid as well as lost interest in my own account, he simply stated that we were fully refunded. He is wrong. The General Sales Manager also stated that he reviewed the signatures and they all match. Maybe they produced a better forgery? Either way, the document that I was given is not my signature. Trust me, I know what it looks like. All in all, the General Sales Manager was very rude and dismissed the issue stating that I was probably confused due to the number of forms I had to sign. I have NEVER purchased an extended warranty on a vehicle. This is no exception. For anyone reading this, Chatham Parkway Toyota offers an Unlimited Powertrain Warranty to the original owner of a new vehicle. I suggest if you have purchased a vehicle from this dealership that you call F******* ******** ******* and verify that you do not have more than one warranty if you did not (or think you did not) purchase one.

Desired Settlement: To reiterate - Chatham Parkway Toyota has STOLEN $2220.00 from me by way of a forged signature for a warranty that I never would have been able to use because I was unaware that it existed. I requested to pick up a check for the $2200.00 plus the return of interest paid, as well as interest that I missed earning in my own account. I was told during my last conversation with that they could not do this because the warranty was financed into the lease. What!? it was financed into the lease without my knowledge! I have lost the use of this $2220 for the term of 34 months of the 39 month lease. The remaining 5 months of the lease will not require a payment because the STOLEN money is refunded at the end of the term. I am happy to share the copies of signed documents that clearly support a forgery. I would simply like to have the dealership buy out the remainder of the lease, and return my stolen money. This will allow me to repurchase a vehicle from a dealership with integrity.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,


This letter is serving as a response to the Better Business Bureau complaint by Mr. ******* *******. I reached out to Mr. ******* in an effort to settle any type of issues or concerns that he had in regards to this complaint. At that time we discussed his main goal which was to trade out of his current Sienna van lease and lease a newer Sienna van. The dealership got the exact Sienna he wanted and worked out all the numbers in order to satisfy the customer. Mr. ******* came in with his family on March 9, 2015 and took delivery of his new 2015 Sienna van, traded in his current van involved in the complaint, and completed all paperwork. I again spoke with Mr. ******* at that time and made sure that he was satisfied with the deal we put together for him, and pleased with this purchase experience at our store.


The Finance Manager who did his original paperwork is no longer with the dealership due to events unrelated to the complaint at hand. In addition, I pulled the Warranty contracts from his deal that was completed in 2013. Unfortunately, the paperwork is illegible and we were unable to tell if there were any types of signature discrepancies. However, my main concern was for the customer to be satisfied with the outcome of this situation, which has occurred. At this time all parties involved are content and all issues are resolved.


Please reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.

  **** *******

General Manager

Chatham Parkway Toyota

Phone: ###-###-####

 

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 19, 2014 after be solicited to come trade in our current van we came into Chatham Parkway Toyota. After agreeing to a monthly payment and a down payment that they told us they could do and was able to be financed. They said we got approval and they let us think we bought a van, They even had us sign a contract with the terms that we had agreed on. We were allowed to drive it off the lot but weren't able to because of the need to transfer our current tag over. However, upon insistence by the finance manager he told my husband to "curb deliver" it which he said was to drive it off the lot and around the curb and back around into the lot. He said is made it ours officially. They had to correct our tag issue the next morning and repair 2 things on the van and then would get it to us. We were given the run around all day even with my husband showing up there twice. My husband finally demanded an answer and was told that we had to put an additional $2,000 or we could not own the van(the van that they told us we already owned). The then proceeded to tell us that the financing was not fully approved and so they needed more money from us. I believe this is a practice of "spot delivery" or "yo-yo practice" and they must be held accountable for their actions. We have a special needs child and needed a newer van with less miles on it than our current one to take him 5 hours to his dr appts. They knew this too and claimed to have sympathy for us and told us on the 19th that is why they were helping us. To make someone think they own a van, then to take it back from them unless they give more money is wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want a van that has lower mileage on that I can afford so that I can take my son to his dr appts because they basically robbed me of that today.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.  We always want our customers to know that we have their best interest at heart.  We understand why we are here today.  When we set up deals we always have a strong understanding about what the banks will do.  We had you take a delivery drive because we felt that the bank would give us the right approval.   Once we sent the deal to the bank they cut the deal back on the amount that they wanted to give you for the deal.  We have the deal approved but not for the full amount, that was the only reason we told you we needed more money to get the deal done.  We are not happy at all when we can’t sell a vehicle but we still have compassion for the challenges that you and your family face.  We will continue to see if we can find a less expensive van and will let you know what we find for you.   We truly want to help with your travel issue so our General Manager **** ******* has offered to loan you a van for the weekends when you have to travel for your doctor’s visit.  This  offer is good for 6 months from today, so please let us know if you have any questions.  We appreciate your understanding and we will continue to help make our relationship a positive one.

 

 

Thanks again,

 

******* *****t

Pre-Owned Director

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

 

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chatham Motor Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart