BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Ford Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Ford Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Ford Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 13, 1987 Business started: 10/01/1956 Business incorporated: 12/20/1995 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Robbins, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
AutoNation Ford Lincoln Orange Park Autonation, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 7700 Blanding Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32244

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (904) 777-3673(Phone)
  • (904) 317-7775 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The same day, right after I bought my 4runner on August 13t, 2014, I called the ******** to let him know about my problem. I told him that while I was at the dealership, I did not notice that the vehicle had 4 owners in one year according to carfax. I told him I do not want the car anymore. He told me it is ok and that happens all the time. I was scared because i do not want to get a lemon for close to $17000. next day 14th, early in the morning, I texted and emailed the ******* and the ******** to tell them the car does not fit my need and use too much gas, and I let them know that I do not want it. The ******* tried to give a crv, but the crv is more expensive and not fit my need either. Since I aready had business with them, I ve tried to take the crv. to tell the truth, the crv does not fit my need either because of its small engine. one problem is they will make me pay more for that vehicle, which I did not want to do. I get to the point where I do not know what to do. then again, the next morning august 15th, I texted the ******* to talk about my gas problem with the car, he told he will let me have the crv, but it will be more expensive. he asked me to come so we can talk. when i got there I saw the ******** went through the door, walked back and forth in front of the door, I felt a lot of pressure, so I just went away. Today, saturday 16th, I started to hear alot of noise coming from the the engine compartment, I took it to a mechanic at **** ****. he told me me it will be be very expensive to fix, so it advised me to take it back to the dealer and had me pay $104.00. the ******* and the ******** were not happy about that and told me the mechanics are wrong and gave me the car back. They told me there is no noise. **** **** mechanics told me it's very loud. the noise become so enoying . the ******* and ******** told me they won't fix anything and there is nothing wrong. I just paid almost $17000 for a car and now i have a major repair to do.


Update:  From: Gracia, ******

the problem here is I bought the toyota from the dealer. we both sign a paper saying for any reason if I am not satisfied I can retun it in 3 days or 150 miles. they refuse to honor their signature.

Desired Settlement: Since day one, I wanted them to get their car back. that's what I need. they always tried to have me keep it. if they have something for the same price that i like, I will take my time to look at it. If I like it, i will take it. Please, i need help.

Business Response: I’m sorry I have not responded before now on Complaint ID # ********, but as you can see by the attached
documents we have been trying since September 2nd to reach a reasonable solution to Mr. ******’s
complaint.
Mr. ******’s attorney, *** ****** and I presented what I feel were terms that would be reasonable for both
parties in trading his 2005 Toyota 4 Runner for the 2006 Toyota Sienna. Mr. ****** was not agreeable to any
of the terms or other vehicles that were presented to him. The text, e-mails and other documents in the
attached PDF file clearly show that Mr. ****** didn’t ask to exercise his “3 Day Money Back Guarantee”
option until well after the 3 day, 150 mile period had expired. Even though it was beyond the allowed time,
we attempted to resolve his concerns and find a different vehicle that would fit his needs, but he would not
agree to the terms.
As you can see by Mr. ******’s last e-mail to me, he is satisfied with our attempt to rectify the situation and
feels Mr. ****** may not have understood the terms and conditions of the 3 Day Money Back Guarantee and
he doesn’t have a legal claim against our company.
Please let me know if you need additional information from me to close this complaint.
Warmest regards,
****
**** *******
******* *******
AutoNation Ford Lincoln
Of Orange Park
**** ******** *****
************* *** *****
***** ******** Office

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am very happy that you give a lot importance to my case. To tell you the truth, I took a lot of time to analyze everything those guys say and try to know who I am dealing with. None of what they say is acurate. I can tell you that I am extremely angry in regard to how these guys handle everything.
1. To prove to my lawyer that I was happy to keep the 4runner, Mr ******* just took part of my text message, took the time off, and sent it to my lawyer.
2. They told my lawyer that I just wanted to exchange the 4runner for another car. This is completely inacurate. When I got there on August 14th, Mr ****** asked me about what I wanted. I told him in this language " please undo everything and I am willing to pay all fees if necessary". then they started making go to the parking lot and comparing gas mileage . I did ask to compare gas mileage, I just wanted them to take their 4runner back and undo everything.
3. when I told Mr ****** that I do not like anything here, he took me back and started picking another car for me. finally he showed me a CRV. I came back with the CRV and told another salesman, whom he said called MR ********, that I do not like it. when I took the 4runner to leave the place, Mr ******** told me that he wanted to know if Mr ****** had something to tell me. he came back with nothing.
4. According to an email, Mr ****** said I told Mr ****** that I drove 200 miles per day which exceed the "150 miles money back". this is completely inacurate. I never said that. I drive about 90 to 100 miles per day. I told my lawyer that it is simple to find that out, he can simply divide the miles on the 4runner by the number of days I have it. if it is a little bit higher it is because i have to go ******** and other places.
5. Regarding the CRV's text message, on my way back home I was fighting with myself. I said that they did not want to take the 4runner back and undo everything, the crv is too small for me, and the 4runner is using too much gas and there is not enough space. I text them for the crv which I really did not want, but after I realized that the price was going to be too high even after their discound, I decided not to take it. I went there, they all see me but decided not to discuss the CRV because I won't be able able to handle the bill and it won't meet my need.
6. what they are doing now is choosing part of the text message that they like and attach it to their letter.

I proposed them that I am willing to pay for miles I added on the 4runner and for the refurbish of my sienna, which they rejected. how can you ask me to pay that much for my car that I only owed about 5,300 dollars on? I really do not understand where Mr ****** come from with that proposition to pay me the extra 1MPG thing. I did not ask them to compare the 4runner with the sienna, I just asked them to undo everything and get their 4runner back. I am willing to discuss evrything with you about this matter. I mean you can ask any question about everything they say and I ll answer you. I have the complete text messages, not part of it.

my situation is very complicated now. I owe my lawyer a lot of money. I have other obligations, which make me uncapable to deal with the 4runner. I already called****** and asked them to repossess the 4runner. They already told me about all the consequences, which I cannot do anything about them. I should send the first payment on september 27th. They told me I am in grace period until October 7th. my english is not that good. please feel free to ask explanations for anything that is difficult to understand.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

We are very sorry that Mr. ****** is unhappy with his purchase, but we have dealt very fairly with Mr. ****** and his attorney in an attempt to resolve this issue. Mr. ****** entered into a legal contract when he purchased the 4Runner and we have honored all the terms and conditions of that contract, now he must do the same.  We will stand by our offer to trade the 4 Runner for the Sienna at the terms we presented to his attorney. We have held the Sienna for him, but we must dispose of this vehicle within the next 5 days, at which time the offer will be withdrawn. Mr. ****** is welcome to contact me at************ to discuss this issue.

Thanks,

**** *******

******* *******

AutoNation Ford Lincoln

Consumer Response:  

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Let's be clear about this, Mr ****** is not trying to fix anything, Mr ****** is just trying to make as much money as he can from this situation.

Mr ****** is not worried about anything and he does not have to, because he won't be affected by this situation.

I cannot do anything against them. For now, my only resort is Better Business Bureau.

I talked to the bank on Monday about repossessing the 4runner. the lady told me about all the bad consequenses it will have on me. I told her I do not have any choice. She also told me I am in grace period until october 7th.

here is my other proposition
1. I will pay the difference from the Sienna's loan payoff
2. I will discuss all the the non reimbursable fees with them
3. I will discuss the mileage I added on the 4runner
4. I want to get my $500 down back
5. they can keep both the sienna and the 4runner. with these two cars, they can make as much as they want.
I think this is a good proposition to resolve this  problem they created.

I cannot accept Mr ******'s proposition. If that is all Mr ****** can do, he does not have to wait for 5 working days to sell the Sienna.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

Mrs. *****,

We are very sorry that Mr. ****** doesn't agree with our decision on this matter. We have made several attempts to resolve this issue but unfortanetly, it appears we can not meet Mr. ******'s terms so we will move forward with disposing of the Sienna.

Regards,

**** *******

 

******* *******
AutoNation Ford Lincoln Orange Park

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ******* ****** ***************************
Date: Wed, Oct 8, 2014 at 5:43 PM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB of Northeast Florida in regards to your complaint #********.

to Better Business Bureau

1. Mr ******* has never made any attempts to resolve  the issue. All he wanted to do is to make me pay the consequences for what him and his team did, snd get the most out of this situation.

2. Mr ******* came up with all kind of things to justify what he did. All the messages he's sent are saved and almost all of them is not accurate.

3. I am not the one who created the situation, but willing to lose some money to save credit.

5. I owed about $5500 on the Sienna. Because of this situation, he asked me to pay around $15,000 for it. Noone will accept that. I am the one creating this  situation.

4. I would ask you to take the necessary action to make Mr ******* take his responsility regarding my situation.



****** ******


***** ******* ****** ***************************
Date: Thu, Oct 9, 2014 at 7:55 PM:

To Bettter Business Bureau
1. I went to the dealership on August 13th to trade my sienna for the 4runner

2. early in the morning on august 14, I realized the 4runner was not the right vehicle for me.

3. at around 7th on august 14, I chatted with a representative of Autonation online explaining my situation. she told me they might helped.

4. minutes after i chatted with that representative on August 14th,  I sent messaages to both ******* Mr ******  and ******** Mr ******.

5. Mr ****** was the one who answered first. he came up with comparing the gas mileage between the sienna and the 4runner. In addition to that, he wanted me not bring the 4runner back by saying " Your deal was financed by ****** last night".

6. later on, I received a different Message From Mr ****** saying to come so we can talk.

7. Around 3 pm on august 14th, when i got there Mr ****** asked me about what I wanted. I told him that i wanted him to undo everything and I was willing to pay any necessary fees for that to happen.

8. the answer he gave about that was to asked me to go out there to look for another car. I went out there then came back to tell him that i did not find anything. he met me on my way back to him. I explained him that there was nothing for me. Then, he took me back and started to pick other car for me. then he showed the CRV. after I drove, i came back to let him know I did not like it. I handed the key to another ******** and told him that I did not like it.

9. the ******** i handed the key told me that he was going to see if Mr ****** had something to tell me. tha ******** came back with nothing.

10. I was so stressed on my way home, because I could not keep the 4runner and they refused to undo everything. the next morning August 15th, I told Mr ****** that I could not keep the 4runner. I asked him about taking the CRV instead, but chose not to take it because of its price and I did not really want it. Both 4runner and CRV does not meet my need.

Please,those guys did bad to me and I really want your help.

here is what Mr ******* told my lawyer
1. my team is fast on refund
2. ****** wanted to exchange the 4runner for a CRV
3. when ****** came back, the 4runner have already had 200 miles on it
4. ****** was satisfy with the 4runner
to prove all that, sometimes he took the times off the messages or look for piece of text message that could help him. none of these messages is true.

Please, I want your help Better Business bureau.

Business Response:

*****,

Once again,  we are very sorry that Mr. ****** doesn't agree with the business decision made by me and my team. We provided all the documentation to Mr. ******'s attorney and the Better Business Bureau justifying our decision and several counter offers to provide Mr. ****** with a viable solution. Mr. ****** pursued legal help to resolve this issue and based on the information provided, the transaction was handled properly and his attorney felt we dealt with him within the legal parameters of contract law.

As I mentioned in my previous responses, we have offered several scenarios that we felt were viable and are still willing to work with Mr. ****** to get him out of the 4Runner, but so far he has rejected all offers.

Regards,

**** *******

 

******* ******
AutoNation Ford Lincoln

Consumer Response:

 Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr *******' proposition is just about to make as much money as he can, but not to solve the issue. I am the one who creates the problem, but still willing to lose some money to bring this matter to a close.

Here is what happened:

1. I went to the dealership on August 13th to trade my sienna for the 4runner

2. early in the morning on august 14, I realized the 4runner was not the right vehicle for me.

3. at around 7th on august 14, I chatted with a representative of Autonation online explaining my situation. she told me they might helped.

4. minutes after I chatted with that representative on August 14th,  I sent messaages to both ******* Mr ******  and ******** Mr ******.

5. Mr ****** was the one who answered first. he came up with comparing the gas mileage between the sienna and the 4runner. In addition to that, he did not wanted me to bring the 4runner back by saying " Your deal was financed by ****** last night".

6. later on, I received a different Message From Mr ****** saying to come so we can talk.

7. Around 3 pm on august 14th, when i got there Mr ****** asked me about what I wanted. I told him that i wanted him to undo everything and I was willing to pay any necessary fees for that to happen.

8. the answer he gave about that was to asked me to go out there to look for another car. I went out there then came back to tell him that i did not find anything. he met me on my way back to him. I explained him that there was nothing for me. Then, he took me back and started to pick other car for me. then he showed the CRV. after I drove it, i came back to let him know I did not like it. I handed the key to another ******** and told him that I did not like it.

9. the salesman I handed the key to told me that he was going to see if Mr ****** had something to tell me. tha ******** came back with nothing.

10. I was so stressed on my way home, because I could not keep the 4runner and they refused to undo everything. the next morning August 15th, I told Mr ****** that I could not keep the 4runner. I asked him about taking the CRV instead, but chose not to take it because of its price and I did not really want it. Both 4runner and CRV are not the right vehicle for me.

here is my proposition:

here is my proposition
1. I will pay the difference from the Sienna's loan payoff
2. I will discuss all the the non reimbursable fees with them
3. I will discuss the mileage I added on the 4runner
4. I want to get my $500 down back
5. they can keep both the sienna and the 4runner. with these two cars, they can make as much as they want.

 

this is just a proposition.


 

 

Regards,

****** ******

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* *******, me and my wife ***** ******s bought a vehicle there back in November 2013, the vehicle is a 2014 Ford Fusion, Tuxedo Black. I wanted to contact you to express how unsatisfied I am with the way you do business there. I like the Ford product very much, I think the new models are just great looking high quality vehicles, however, the experience I'm having with my purchase from your dealership, is making me hesitate about buying another Ford vehicle, at least at that dealership. When **** ****, salesman, showed me the vehicle, i was told that the Protection Program for the paint and interior was included on the price of the vehicle, and in fact, there was this sticker on the windshield breaking down those charges and stating the final price for the vehicle. We spent more than 7 hours at the dealership that saturday, by the time we got to sign the contract, it was past 6pm, I'm a musician and I had a gig thay day, like every saturday for the last 4 years. The contract was presented to me, ******, the Finance Manager, convinced me of buying the extended mechanical warranty, and the contract that i signed was with **** Bank, which by the way, is the company I work for. A few days later **** told me that another Financial company had bought my contract, and the interest rate had gone down almost 2 points, which was good news, however, that's all the info I ever got in that regard. While working at **** Bank for 5 years, I've had the chance to work in Dealer Services, doing discounting on the contracts, reviewing stipulations needed to fund the contracts, etc. I know, as a matter of fact, that we should have received a correction letter and/or signed a new contract like I did with my other 2 vehicles. As of today, I don't have, and you don't, either, nothing that obliges me to pay ***** Credit Union, there is no binding contract, the GAP Insurance is under **** Bank, therefore, if the vehicle is totaled, the GAP Insurance won't cover any defficiency. I bought the car by the end on November, December and January went by and we never received the Registration, and could not drive the car as the registration and the sticker were expired. I went to see ****** on saturday February 1, and expressed my concerns, he said no new contract and/or correction letter was needed, and showed me a copy of the GAP Insurance with the name of **** Bank crossed out with a pen, and ***** Credit Union below, hand written, with a pen. The problem is, that doing the work I do with **** Bank, I'm aware of how ridiculous and unprofessional this practice is. As my concerns were even deeper after this, I asked ****** for written proof of the coverage for the paint and interior, and he said i had declined it. He showed me a piece of paper where this option was not included, what happened is, that they removed the options that were included without making me aware of it, to bring the numbers down and make sure I went in for the deal. What sense would it make, for me to knowingly decline the program that protects the paint and the interior, and then buy an Extended Warranty that costs twice as much?? I have 2 other black vehicles, and know perfectly how hard is to maintain the black paint, also, the interior is cloth, and i have children, I was happy to have that protection included!! I never declined it. I consider this a deceptive practice, and the operation there displays a very poor level of quality and honesty. I still haven't mentioned that there were scratches all over the door panels, they had to be ordered, it meant a couple trips to the dealerships, but they were taken care of to my satisfaction. I am contacting a lawyer, and will file a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau and Ford Headquarters, and I may be returning the vehicle to the dealership if no immediate action is taken to fix this situation, so I want to give you the chance to straighten this out to a point where I feel fairly satisfied.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle to be protected under the Paint and Interior Protection Program as i was promised it would be, a valid contract should be in place, and valid GAP insurance under the right Financial company.

Business Response:

February 27, 2004

 

**** *******

AutoNation Ford Lincoln Orange Park

7700 Blanding Blvd.

Jacksonville, Fl 32244

 

BBB of Northeast Florida

Response to Complaint # ******* - Mr. ******* and Mrs. *******

BBB,

I met with Mr. ******* in our dealership on February 11, 2014. We covered the concerns with his transaction from November of last year. After examinging all the documents in our file, there were several sales menus that were presented to Mr. ******* and his wife during the transaction and I can understand how they might have been confused with the final agreed upon numbers and coverages. I have included a portion of the documents that Mr. ******* signed during the transaction, along with the corrected Truth in Lending "RATE Adjustment Disclosure" from ***** Credit Union and the "Appearance Protection Product Guarantee" that we provided to Mr. ******* on February 25th. Even though our documents clearly show that appearance protection package was not included in his final sales menu or on the contract, I have extended this protection to Mr. ******* at no cost to him. We are sorry for the confusion with his deal, but the contract rate adjustment through ***** Credit Union was in his favor and will save him $2,300.42 over the term of the loan...and he now has the benefit of the protection package coverage. We appreacitate Mr. & Mrs. *******'s business and hope they will continue to do business with us in the future. I will fax over the related documents.

Sincerely,

**** *******

General Manager

AutoNation Ford Lincoln

Orange Park

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After four weeks of patiently waiting for truck repairs to be completed, I was called and informed today that ALL repairs were done, truck alignment was complete, and the truck was ready for pick up. I am sending a list with numbered pics and a video (1- 49) of completed repairs that need to be readdressed. These items should have been caught by at least one compitant repair technition. Whoever the Quality Assurence/ Head Mechanic who is supposed to check this type work before it is released to the customer should be FIRED. Autonation should be embarrassed by these pictures of completed work done by the Repair Department. Immediate Termination AND Serious Training should be given to all repair technitions concerning quality completed work IF they want to continue in this trade. I am blown away by the obvious oversites ,lack of professionalism and quality of finished work given to me today to accept as completed. Not only did I waist my afternoon today to pick up a truck with substandard work, now I am doing someone elses job looking over the repairs done, compiling a list, and spending my evening emailing the nessisary corrections that should have been caught by a qualified supervisor. I have serious concerns that other issues ( transmission damage?, bent frame?, wheel allinement /balance issues, etc.) are getting the very same Professional workmanship as the Items poorly addressed and corrected below. 1.Front Bull Bar that was bent off center to the right has not only been NOT repaired back strait OR replaced is now also loose. PLEASE straiten it up or replace it. (see video 38 of 49, PICS 1,2,3 of 49)2.New front bumper installed too far to the right. Almost flush on the left, sticks out on the right. PLEASE center and straiten bumper Also look at the left hand bottom front grill, space between front bumper and grill insert. (see pics 1,2,3 0f 49)3.Electrical wire hanging down from front bumper? Wire for left hand front emergency strobe lights not connected??? PLEASE secure wire.(pic 4 of 49)4.*** ******, rear glass door left hand shock clip still not replaced. Shock itself should be checked, I thought it was ok just clip was damaged? Shock connector base on topper still loose. This is an easy fixPlease show some effort.. (see pic 12of 49)5.*** ****** rear glass door latch cable cover not repaired or replaced. These should be the easy repairs (see pic 13 of 49)6.Red electric wire for rear topper break light cut by repair techs and left dangleingPlease connect wire and stow it away.( see pic 14,15 of 49)7.Tail gate right hand side rubber bump stop did not get reinstalled after removed to repair rear bed panel. Please find and install. (pic 16 of 49)8.Rear view camera for some reason was reinstalled facing trailer hitch? Please adjust facing rear. (pic 21,22 of 49)9.Truck *** AND ****** not installed correctly. Rear of the bed to angled TOO high in relation to the front of truck bed. This is why the topper is jammed flush against the top portion of the truck cab and overhangs the rear of the truck bed. ****** should fit flush all around the bed. Bent frame? Bent bed? ALSO If you measure the top of the rear tail light to the ground there is a one inch difference between the left (59 inches) and right tail light (60 inches). PLEASE check for possible impact bent components from rear end collision. PLEASE check, repair then reinstall bed and topper correctly. (see pics 23,24,28,30,32,37,42,45 of 49)10.Damaged Left hand license tag light reinstalled on new bumperwho does that? Please replace with a new one.(see pic 33 of 49)11.Right hand rear emergency strobe replaced in bottom red portion of tail break light instead of clear portion of reverse light. This is just lack of professional attention to detail. (See left hand tail light strobe as visual example to install right hand strobe correctly).12.Left hand front emergency strobes (TWO, see right side for visual example) not working. Wires possibly not reconnected after bumper repair???  From: ***** ******* [mailto:***************************] 
Sent: Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:50 PM
To: ************************; tevanoff@geico.com; info@bbbnefla.org; ***************************
Subject: ***** **** ******* LIFTED 2003 F-150 REPAIR LIST TO BE COMPLETED Wednesday   November 27, 2013 To: ***** ******* … AUTONATION COLLISION REPAIR       *** *******……….***** **** *********       **** ******* ………CEO AutoNation  Inc.       BBB of Northeast Florida and The Southeast Atlantic             After four weeks of patiently waiting for truck repairs to be completed, I was called and informed today that ALL repairs were done, truck alignment was complete, and the truck was ready for pick up.  I am sending a list with numbered pics and a video (1- 49) of incomplete repairs that need to be readdressed.  These items should have been caught by at least one competent repair technician. Whoever the Quality Assurance/ Head Mechanic that is supposed to check this type of work before it is released to the customer should be FIRED.  If my employees EVER gave my clients the quality of work I was expected to accept today they would all be terminated. Autonation should be embarrassed by these pictures of incomplete work done by the Repair Department.  Immediate Termination AND Serious Training should be given to all repair technicians concerning quality/completed work IF they want to continue in this trade. I am blown away by the obvious over sites, lack of professionalism and quality of unfinished work given to me today to accept as completed.  Not only did I waist my afternoon today to pick up a truck with substandard work, now I am doing someone else’s  job  looking over the repairs done, compiling a list, and spending my evening emailing the necessary corrections that should have been caught by a qualified supervisor. I have serious concerns that other issues (transmission damage?, bent frame?, wheel alignment /balance issues, etc.) are getting the very same “Professional” workmanship as the Items listed below which have all been poorly corrected.1.       Front Bull Bar that was bent off center to the right has not only been NOT repaired back strait OR replaced but is now also loose. PLEASE straiten it up or replace it. (see video 38 of 49, PICS 1,2,3 of 49)2.       New front bumper installed too far to the right. Almost flush on the left, sticks out on the right. PLEASE center and straiten bumper… Also look at the left hand bottom front grill, space between front bumper and grill insert.  (see pics 1,2,3 0f 49)3.       Electrical wire hanging down from front bumper? Wire for left hand front emergency strobe lights not connected???  PLEASE secure wire.(pic  4 of 49)4.       *** ******, rear glass door left hand shock clip still not replaced. Shock itself should be checked, I thought it was ok just clip was damaged?  Shock connector base on topper still loose. This is an easy fix…Please show some effort.. (see pic  12of 49)5.       *** ****** rear glass door latch cable cover not repaired or replaced. These should be the easy repairs… (see pic 13 of 49)6.       Red electric wire for rear topper break light cut by repair techs and left dangling…Please connect wire and stow it away.( see pic 14,15 of 49)7.       Tail gate right hand side rubber bump stop did not get reinstalled after removed to repair rear bed panel. Please find and install. (pic 16 of 49) see left side for   example.8.       Rear view camera for some reason was reinstalled facing trailer hitch...why? Please adjust facing rear. (pic 21,22 of 49)9.       Truck *** AND ****** not installed correctly. Rear of the bed angled TOO high in relation to the front of truck bed. This is why the topper is jammed flush against the top portion of the truck cab and overhangs the rear of the truck bed. ****** should fit flush all around the bed.  Bent frame? Bent bed?  ALSO… If you measure the top of the rear tail light to the ground there is a one inch difference between the left (59 ¼ inches) and right tail light (60 ¼ inches). PLEASE check for possible impact bent components from rear end collision. PLEASE check, repair then reinstall bed and topper correctly. (see pics 23,24,28,30,32,37,42,45 of 49)10.   Damaged Left hand license tag light reinstalled on new bumper…who does that? Please replace with a new one.(see pic 33 of 49)11.   Right hand rear emergency strobe replaced in bottom red portion of tail break light instead of clear portion of reverse light. This is just lack of professional attention to detail. (See left hand tail light strobe as visual example to install right hand strobe correctly).12.   Left hand front emergency strobes (TWO, see right side for visual example) not working. Wires possibly not reconnected after bumper repair??? Please reconnect. Please copy and use this list as a step by step guide to assist your repair technicians in the correct and complete reassembly of my truck. I will send pictures on separate e-mail.Please use ****** at *** ***** **** (AT EITHER LOCATION) to balance and align the ****s and wheels. He has worked on my truck for years and NEVER had a problem with alignment and balancing my oversize ****s or lifted truck to a smooth shake free ride.  I find it hard to believe your technicians even looked at it the way it handled today. They should all be retrained if they had the proper equipment to do the job correctly.Please complete list to a higher standard of workmanship, attention to detail, and as quickly as possible so I can return to work.Thank you,***** **** ************ 

Desired Settlement: I would like repairs done correctly. I have been out of work since OCTOBER 8th the day of the accident so repairs done in a timely manner the second time around would be nice. They had my truck for four weeks at least and still do not have my truck ready. They tried to give me my truck today and the quality of work is unprofessional. I did not accept it.

Business Response:

We are very sorry Mr. ******* has had problems with the collision repairs to his 2003 Ford F-150. The insurance company representative for ***** wrote the estimate to repair his vehicle and our job as a repair facility is to follow their "estimate to repair" and if the repairs are not as described in the estimate then interact with the insurance company and adjust the estimate if we find additonal damage that we can prove was caused by the accident. There were several items that Mr. ******* felt should be addressed that were not part of the original estimate, which we asked ***** for supplemental estimate to alter the orginial estimate. Mr. *** ******* with ***** submitted the following response to Mr. ******* to address the issues he had with the repair :

 

"From; *** ******* Dec 7th 2013

inspected truck for clmt *******, reviewed multiple concerns for customer that were addressed as follows:

1. rear camera corrected

2. rr taillamp bulbs changed.

3. bed assy aligned and fits correctly

4. frt bumper assy aligned to fit as properly as possible. unable to move over 100% due to lift kit on truckhas aftermarket sleeves for lift and are in the way.

5. frt brush guard is tight but has movement due to only one bolt in each side and is sitting out to far on bumper and 'L;' angle braces are not strong enough to hold aluminum brush guard from moving.

6. under frt header pnl, vehicle has aftermarket strobe lights with wiring fastened with electrical tape. and wiring under hood is not installed correctly with bare wiring showing and not insulated correctly. only frt damages to this vehicle were on the rt fender with repair and bent the rt corner of the frt chrome bumper. header pnl was not touch and either was the strobe lights and wiring and fogs lamps.

7. the cap assy on truck has prior damages with wiring holding the latch's to open rear cap.

8. ***** with Autonation ford is calling the **** ****** were customer states they take it to them for alignment to confirm this and then have vehicle align for them.

9. frt ****s have inside wear due to either hub assy worn and or lift kit on truck.

10. abs light is on, in dashboard due to possible part going bad which is located under hood,., not related also.

11. engine has miss possibly from bad plugs or spark plug wires or a combination of both,.

12. history of transmission problems, and rear main seal prior to date of loss.' with Autonation ford."

Once again we are sorry Mr. ******* had issues with our repair faciltiy, but we are very proud of our reputation and after 25 years in business have had very few unhappy customers. Our team in the Collision Center addressed the issues that Mr. ******* asked to repair over and above the estimate and Mr. ******* picked up his truck once those repairs that the insurance company approved were repaired. *****, Mr. ******* and our team explained why the other issues were not being addressed and hopefully Mr. ******* understands that we will be glad to repair the other issues that were deemed pre-existing by the insurance company, only if he is willing to pay for them...since the insurance company did not approve those repairs.

Regards,

 

General Manager

AutoNation Ford Lincoln

 

9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues