BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audi Jacksonville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audi Jacksonville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Audi Jacksonville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 24, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 05/04/2007 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ihab Samrout, General Manager Mr. Glenn Sharp, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Hanania, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Hanania AOJ, LLP Hanania Automotive Group
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 231-9996(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Audi of Jacksonville to get a complete overview/ checkup of the vehicle prior to a long scheduled road trip to the Midwest and to look into an air condition issue. ( Not that I needed the air condtion where I was headed). The Service Repairs department sent a courtesy car to my job on ********** and ******* ** to pickup my vehicle and drop off a loaner car for me to drive while the car was in the shop. I received a call two days later with recommendation of several repairs. The estimated repair fee was around $2,500.00. I asked if these repairs where major that they recommend. Asked if these repairs could holdup until I can get the vehicle to the mechanic that originally working on the car prior to Audi. I just wanted Audi to put the car on their system to check it out, before my long road trip, but that I had a mechanic. They stated that they topped up all the fluids and would have the car to me tomorrow since it was late in the day. Upon them returning the car by driving it to me the car over heated. They didn't notify me right away but I had to contact them to find out. As the car was being driven to me, the Audi drive stated the car started smoking and it over heated. He (the Audi courtesy driver was broke down on the side of the road (** and ************). Now, long story short my engine is shot and I have been sent an invoice over $8,000,00. After talking with the ******* ******* about their negligence of driving the car over heated I recommend for them to submit a claim against their ************** policy. They stated they have a $5,000.00 deductible. The Audi ******* ******* met with the Audi ******* ******* and was able to get the invoice down to under $7,000.00. However, they are still not taking responsibility for blowing my engine. I have tried to resolve with no success which has now lead me to seek legal counsel (more expense on me) . I just want what is fair to be done in this situation.

Desired Settlement: Remove engine replacement fees from invoice. Come up with a reasonable settlement.

Business Response: Company's response below & attached documents:

Ms. ***** called to make an appointment to bring her car in to replace the air conditioning compressor that her local mechanic had diagnosed. Once the car was here, we performed a diagnosis on the system and found that the air conditioning compressor was operating correctly.  We performed a full safety inspection on the car and notified Ms. ***** of several issues we identified (see attached repair order).  Ms. ***** chose not to have the repairs done.   The customer informed us she was going to take the car back to the repair shop that had been trying to fix it. 

 

Ms. ***** chose not to have the repairs done on a timely basis resulting in the mechanical problems.

 

Please let me know if you need additional information.

 

*****

 

***** *********

******* ********** *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The company is not addressing the facts:

It was never recommended that the vehicle not be driven during the first exchange of the two vehicles (Audi tt and dealership courtesy car).  The only time it was express not to drive the vehicle was after the engine was blown which happened during their return of the vehicle to me.

In addition, when this accrued the driver was between ********** and *********** on highway ***.  Every vehicle is built with a warning light when it is getting over heated, which allows the drive time to stop the vehicle and assess the issue.

Also, since a courtesy car was provided to me, and to prevent liability to Audi why didn’t they request for me to return the courtesy vehicle and pickup my vehicle.  Then upon my arrival of picking up the vehicle they could have clearly stated the condition and recommendations.  If, I was aware of the possible risks in driving the vehicle I could have requested a tow truck. 

Again, the statement not to drive the vehicle or the risk was not told to me before the blown engine repairs were applied.  However, the statement not to drive the vehicle did appear on the invoice then why did they (Audi drive the vehicle)?

I was never told I need a new compressor.

The attached invoice from Audi seem to have been modified form Invoice ***** Duplicate 2 page 1  , Parts Request, and Invoice ***** Duplicate 5 page 1. 

Faxed attachments to ************ ATTENTION: Mrs. ***** ***** Complaint: *******

(number of faxed pages 5)

 

***Bottom line:  Driving the vehicle after notating the risks holds them liable of the damages accrued during their possession of the vehicle and clearly when they had other options.

 

Regards,

******** *****

************* cellphone

Business Response: Company's second response below:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms.  *****’s concerns.

 

After our inspection of the vehicle, Ms. ***** was told repeatedly that the vehicle should not be driven.  The ******* ******* warned her about the potential damage to the vehicle if it was driven.  After she declined to have the repairs done, she refused to come and pick up the vehicle or to pay and have the vehicle towed.  She insisted we bring the vehicle to her even though we advised her against driving the car.  Ms. *****, with full knowledge of the potential damage, instructed us to drive the vehicle anyway.   In order to satisfy her demands, we attempted to return the vehicle to her as she instructed.  When the vehicle broke down on the highway, it was towed back to the dealership.  It was determined the engine had failed and needed a replacement engine.   Ms. ***** was provided an estimate of the repair cost and she agreed to have the repairs done.   With the full understanding we would be paid by Ms. *****, we completed the repairs.    After these repairs and some other work she requested were completed, Ms. ***** refused to pay the repair invoice.  Had we known she had no intention to pay for the repairs when she ordered them, we would have not done the repairs to the vehicle.  She misled us into believing the repairs would be paid for when she obviously had no such intent.   Since Ms. ***** has contacted an attorney, our policy is to refer the complaint to our attorney and insurance company.   Please copy our attorney, **** *******, on all future correspondence relating to this matter.  His email address is ************************** and his address is *** ** ******* ******* **** ** ******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The company has falsified documentation, misleading of events and statements to cover up their negligence.  I would ask that the BBB take a stance and leverage the BBB rating to hold this company liable for misleading and falsifying docrments..  The company has danced around the true issue of this claim.   

Regards,

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2010 Audi A4 from this dealership and the car had pre-existing problems. The day after I bought the car, the low oil light came on and within the first week of driving it the car had burned through 3.5 quarts of oil. The manager tried to tell me that it was normal for Audis to use oil, that I should have expected it, and that it was impossible for my car to have gone through that much oil in a week. The problem was sent to Audi ** ******* and they approved an oil consumption test which eventually replaced the pistons, rings, and cylinder walls in the engine. After realizing that Audi's 2.0T engine had enough problems for Audi to come up with a specific oil consumption fix for it, I traded the car in for a new Lexus and ended up losing roughly $2000 over the whole deal. I am lucky that Audi ** ******* approved the oil consumption fix for my engine but the local dealer did absolutely nothing to help my situation. When I told the manager that I was unhappy with my vehicle and pointed out the sellers right to cancel a sale within 45 days that was clearly stated in the contract that both myself and the dealer signed, he told me that it didn't matter what the contract said and that he couldn't take the vehicle back. I was very disappointed with the dealer's customer service and the fact that they sold me a car with a problem that could easily have been detected with any decent inspection. If anyone from Jacksonville wants an Audi I would recommend making the drive down to Audi of ***** ********

Desired Settlement: When I traded the car in, the only money I lost out on was the dealer fees and the protection package I purchased for the exterior and interior of the car. If those two items were refunded to me due to the fact that the dealer sold me a car with major mechanical problems I would be happy.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****’s concerns.

Mr. ***** purchased a preowned 2010 Audi A4 from our dealership in January.  When the engine issues were identified, we performed the repairs on the vehicle at no cost to the customers (see attached).   A warranty of 12 months or 12 thousand miles was also included as part of the repair process.  Mr. ***** originally purchased the vehicle As Is – No warranty (see attached). 

When Mr. ***** still expressed concerns about the vehicle, we offered him the opportunity to exchange it for a different vehicle.  Since Mr. ***** no longer has ownership of the vehicle, we are no longer in a position to work with him on his concerns with the vehicle he purchased from us.   

Sincerely,

 

***** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2005 **** ** was brought in for extended warranty service and they discovered that there was a campaign/recall on the intake camshaft. The dealership replaced the intake camshaft with a new one and also replaced a couple of other parts that were still under an existing extended warranty. Upon the initial disassembly, they discovered some wear on the exhaust camshaft journals but no wear on the intake side. I was told that it was not significant wear to cause any worry. The **** was driven just under the 1000 mile mark and had catastrophic failure. The car was returned to Audi of Jax. to diagnose the problem. I was quoted 3 hrs of labor time and then charged for 4 hours. Upon the discovery of the problem, the service advisor had told me that the vehicle had starved for oil to the top of the motor causing the intake camshaft to lock up. This is the exact part they just replaced under warranty and exact same side of the engine that did not show oil starvation. After the ******* ******* (*** ) told me that they were not at fault, he promised to put the motor back together in the same condition they received it. He also told me that **** corporate authorized the removal of the oil pan for inspection. There is no evidence that they removed the oil pan. The vehicle was pick up by our tow company and returned my office. Upon arrival, I discovered the numerous parts missing, the engine was not re-assembled as promised and I also discovered the oil passages to be clogged with a green silicone that was applied by the **** technician. It is imperative that these oil passages should not be filled with any type of silicone. This would prevent the proper flow of any oil to lubricate as required for proper function. This is the primary cause of engine oil starvation. I believe that Audi of Jacksonville should be responsible for all damages and they should pay for all repairs.

Desired Settlement: I believe Audi of Jacksonville should pay the full cost to replace my engine. Its imperative that consumers of Jacksonville know of this incident so we can prevent this from happening again.

Business Response: The customer (*********** *** *** *) sold this car to their
customer. The car came into Audi of Jacksonville’s service lane because it had
an open campaign which was a high pressure fuel pump. Part of that campaign was
to remove the valve cover, my ********** (at this point) noticed damage on both
cam shafts which control the intake and exhaust of the engine. We replaced the
intake cam as part of the campaign and took pictures of the exhaust camshaft
and notified the customer (that the car had oil starvation to the cylinder
head) and our contact person (customer ***** *********  declined stating”
he was not going to put any more money into the car” ), the campaign was
completed and car returned to the customer with a list of recommendations from
the safety inspection. Which included the following

 

Exhaust cam

Tires

Engine mounts

Serpentine belt and tensioner and

Vacuum pump. All declined

 

  Then the car was towed back in to us 997 miles and
approx. 4 weeks later.  We inspected the car and found that the top end of
the engine was not spinning freely (intake cam frozen because of oil
starvation). We called the customer for “Tear down” to inspect the lower end.
At the same time we contacted Audi about a possible motor situation, they asked
us to report back on findings. Once lower end was torn down we found “foreign
material in the lower pan, lack of servicing ?” Which had clogged the oil pick
up, Starving the top end of oil. At this point we notified Audi of our
findings, Audi they informed us that in their history of this vehicle there had
been notes made that leading them to believe  a “Used engine” was to be
installed by an aftermarket warranty company. Audi said they would not
participate in the repairs because of their notes. We notified the customer and
they informed us they would be picking the car up, the car was not reassembled
because we only had tear down time. The engine did not fail (as the customer is
stating) because of sealant, the engine failed because the lower end (oil pump)
did not supply oil to the cam shafts. In my professional opinion this car had
signs of neglect and had not been cared for by previous owners. Thank you for
your help and time.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They told us the oil pan was removed for inspection. Based on inspection by a qualified ** technician at local ********** dealership, the oil pan on the motor does not appear to be removed as there are no tool  marks on the bolts and the factory sealant on the oil pan is still present. **** also states that they were only paid enough to remove and inspect and not to re-assemble the engine. If so, why did they re-install the oil pan after they supposedly inspected the bottom of the engine? If they removed the oil pan, it would have been still been off of the engine. Also, the ********** Certified Technician gave us a written statement signed stating in his professional opinion this engine failed because an oil passage way was incorrectly filled with sealant that was meant for the cylinder head cover. As a result, oil was unable to reach the camshaft and a cam bearing was damaged causing the camshaft to seize. This is the same green silicone the **** technician applied on our engine. Based on his findings, we believe the **** dealership has not been truthful. Also on ****'s initial inspection, they noticed damage to both camshafts and replaced one camshaft. I was told on initial inspection that there was some wear on the exhaust camshaft but I was never told that if we do not replace the other cam that we would have catastrophic failure. My question is why would they replace one camshaft knowing that my car would fail.

Regards,

******** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration

4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1