BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arlington Toyota Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Arlington Toyota Inc include:

  • 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Arlington Toyota Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 08/02/1978 Business incorporated 08/02/1978 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kelly Jester, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Doran, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Arlington Scion Arlington Toyota & Scion Eyrie Brooks Co.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arlington Toyota Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10939 Atlantic Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32225

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last June 2015, I purchased a used vehicle along with a co-buyer. When Arlington Toyota checked our credit and drivers license for validity, they advised everything was good to go, sold us the vehicle, renewed the tag and sent us on our way. One year later, when I went to renew my registration for the vehicle's tag, the DMV advised I could not renew the vehicle as the co-buyer's driver license was suspended and had been suspended for over a year. To my surprise, I was unaware that there was a problem with either of of drivers licenses (mine is actually fine) since we successfully bought the car, was financed and drove it away. Now, the co-buyer may have known, but that's a separate issue. How can a company like Toyota endorse such unethical business practices, lead a buyer to believe everything is on the up and up and not disclose there was an actual issue with one of the licenses and allow a financial commitment to be approved and go forward? This is not only unethical and unprofessional but borderline illegal. I mentioned this to the Used Car Sales Manager, ***** **** and his exact response was "your right, but almost illegal isn't illegal". Is this the way a multi-million dollar company wants to appear to the public? Unethical and almost illegal in order to sell a car. Very disappointing and discouraging. I'm sure the owner of Toyota would be interested in these practices as it is ultimately her name being raked across the coals.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Toyota make this right and either allow me (the primary buyer) to turn in the current car with both names on it and get another vehicle in my name only, with no down payment or refinance the car in my name only. I have been making the payments over the last year, they should want to make this right from a consumer standpoint. I did try to go into their place of business to discuss these options and all they wanted to talk about was placing blame elsewhere, the fact that I was happy when I got the car and I should be mad at the co-buyer for withholding this information. I can tell you, I am mad at the co-buyer and blame him for this situation as well and yes I was of course happy when I got the car, not knowing there was a hidden problem. But for a dealership as big and as well known to Jacksonville as Arlington Toyota is and for them to actually condone and allow this type of practice to go on, they should be not only ashamed but accountable for their part in this situation as well. At least if they would have declined us for the car, I could have had the opportunity to pursue it further as to why and made a better decision to purchase a car on my own. They didn't even give me that chance. I am not the smartest or wealthiest person they have had to deal with but I'm not an idiot either. If I would have known one year later that I would not be able to drive my car legally because of the registration not being able to be renewed, I would have never purchased the vehicle. They didn't even show a courtesy to advise me of such a problem, so in my mind, they played an active role in this situational dilemma I am faced with today.

Business Response:

We are currently investigating as to whether or not there is a plausible remedy for this customers issue. We will follow up when a fair  decision has been reached.

Thank You for your patience regarding this matter.

8/30/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two weeks ago I bought a van from Arlington Toyota, or so I thought. I signe what appeared to be legitimate paperwork with the low interest rate we agreed to as well as the break down in terms and payment date. I drove it home that night. Nearly two weeks later I was informed that they had yet to secure financing for me and all the while I thought it was done. When I drove the car back to return it they offered me an older van at four times the original agreed upon interest rate. It actually went from 2.9 to 13%. They apparently thought they had me in a position where I had no choice. I say this because the car I traded in the original agreement had actually already been detailed, tuned up, oil change, New tires put on, and even new breaks. All of this before they were sure I had financing. My old van even had a Toyota certified used sticker on it and their emblem on the back. I couldn't believe it. Needless to say I refused to take the new deal and I drove my old van home, new brakes and all. They are pulling a scam called "spot delivery and their finance manager says it is a common practice for them.

Desired Settlement: They need to be investigated. I don't know how this practice can be legal and it certainly is deceptive by all definitions.

Business Response:

I apologize for the delay in responding to the complaint. Arlington Toyota was unable to secure financing on the vehicle Ms. ****** wanted to purchase. We regret her dissatisfaction but Arlington Toyota does not finance vehicles. The vehicle was serviced assuming her loan would be approved. Please let me know if we can provide any further information.

 

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: absolutely nothing was resolved. Until the business stops being deceptive and dishonest I am not obligated to accept any response and an apology, for my dissatisfaction is backhanded and insulting.

I'll spare any regards,

******** ******

Business Response:

We regret Ms. ******'s rejection however due to her credit history and the advance on the vehicle she chose, the lender decline to finance her at the rate offered, We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. We have documents she signed we will be happy to provide that enforce all actions.

**** *****

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck in because it was acting up. Thry diagnosed a bad fuel injector. Fuel injector was replaced, but car still had trouble which was explained to be a knock sensor not working properly, which was hinted to be possible rat damage. Not trusting the dealer I went to an independent dealer and they let me know the lock sensor did have rat damage but so did the fuel injector cable ( which had a bad repair which needed to be done). When I confront the dealer thry tell me the mechanic broke it and failed to let me know he did this repair which was not done properly. I find it hard to believe that both my fuel injector failed the same night as my knock sensor got chewed by a rat. When I try asking the dealership to call me back in regards to the repair that want done by the book they never did. It has been over 3 business days and I finally got my repair done by another shop. I want some sort of refund to pay for this repair that was not done by the books.

Desired Settlement: Some refund for the work not done correctly

Business Response: Mr. ***,

We regret Mr. **********'s dissatisfaction regarding his experience at Arlington Toyota. Mr. ********** brought his 2014 Tundra to Arlington Toyota on April 4, 2016. The customer presented a print out from R.P.M., an independent repair facility, stating R.P.M.  diagnosed the truck as needing a fuel injector  replacement and a knock sensor code was present. The customer did not request a diagnosis from Arlington Toyota, only authorization to replace the fuel injector. The repair was $436.15

The service advisor did present a quote for the knock sensor replacement, our technician did verify the sensor code was present. The customer declined the repair. While the technician was replacing the fuel injector he noticed two small wires leading to the fuel pump were damaged. The technician repaired the damaged wires in an acceptable manner with no additional charge to the customer. The fuel injector was properly installed and working as designed. Based on my investigation I don't see why the customer is expecting a refund.

**** ***** 
General Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 11390323

I am rejecting this response because:

Good Afternoon ****,


The reason I am expecting a refund is because I was lied to about the fuel injector being broken as well as the knock sensor being broken.

I originally took my truck into rpm for diagnosis which they let me know my truck fuel injector wasn't working properly and that it should be covered under warranty which is the reason I took it to your location. Once I got there I asked ******** if they could do a full diagnostic of what was wrong with my vehicle which he let me know the fee would disapere if I got it fixed. I left him my rpm paper work becuas I figured that would help him diagnose the vehicle, apparently this was a mistake since it seems no diagnostic was ever done. 

What I think is really funny is that I have 2 different stories know on how my fuel injector cable was broken, ******** told me the mechanic broke it and now you are telling me the mechanic found it broke. I would assume in a diagnostic you would find the cable broke. 

 

It's seems like everytime I call over there I get a different story from your service team, I do suggest that when they lie to the next customer they all get on the same page to reduce the amount of confusion.

And I still expect a refund

Regards,

******* **********

Business Response: Mr. ***,

We do try hard to satisfy our customers at Arlington Toyota. We regret Mr. ********** comments and wish him the best in the future with his vehicle. 

**** *****
General Manager

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last August 2015 I received an E-Mail advising me that there was a recall for the dash board on my 2005 Toyota 4 Runner Vin: *******R*********. Since then I was contacted that the dash board was in only to find out later that it was not and cancelled the appt. The crack in the dash board goes from the drivers side across the entire dash to the passengers side. Although I have made a complaint to Toyota's National Headquarters Case *********** and Incident #************* at Arlington Toyota, I still do not have any resolve to this recall. I cannot sell my vehicle because the cracked dash reduces the sale value. I feel this is a deliberate attempt by Toyota to put it on a low priority because of the year of my 4 Runner. My Service Advisor Mr. ***** ***** at Arlington Toyota has been very helpful trying to resolve this issue. He even ordered the part on directly on 02/08/16 to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Please advise Arlington Toyota that a complaint has been filed against them. I am hoping that this complaint will have them order the replacement dash board as required ASAP.

Business Response: ******,

We regret Mr. *******'s dissatisfaction with the 2005 Toyota 4Runner warranty repair. The part that is recalled is a dashboard that is on National back order. Arlington Toyota has no control regarding availability of parts by the manufacturer. Mr. ******* is 12th on the list for the dashboard recall. The original order date was 02.02.2016. However, if Mr ******* wants to sell his vehicle we will be happy to purchase knowing the dashboard is ordered. We appreciate Mr. *******'s business and hope to solve his issue soon.

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*****l *******

 

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had service done on tundra, had wheel come lose while driving 3 different times... As a result of negligence on the dealerships side I have other damages to my vehicle. I tried to talk to dealership manager , but he kicked me off the property with out trying to come up with a solution to the problem. I wanted to trade the broken vehicle the broke in for exchange of purchasing a new vehicle. But again he was rude and unprofessional and kicked me off the property for no reason.

Desired Settlement: Because my vehicle has been damaged due to negligence we no longer trust the integrity of the vehicle and want them to buy back our truck and let us purchase a new one.

Business Response: *******

I apologize for the delayed response. i do not show any record of receipt of this complaint. Mr. ****** purchased the Toyota Tundra at Coggin Toyota and had aftermarket added by a third party. We did service the vehicle but are not familiar with the aftermarket additions. We suggest he return to the selling dealer Coggin Toyota to resolve this matter. 
**** *****

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded a 2010 Mercedes in on Oct. 13, 2015 at the dealership. I purchased a 2009 Lexus from Arlington Toyota. They were suppose to pay off my the existing loan of my Mercedes that I traded in of approx. 22,181.33. According to their accounting dept., they mailed the payment but the check was never received in SC. I notified them in Nov. about this and they have yet to pay off my car. I have called and left messages multiple times for the accounting manager and the owner of Arlington Toyota. The interest has continued to accrue and is effecting my credit report. I needed money in Dec. for a medical emergency and could not borrow because I now have two loans on my report.

Desired Settlement: I want them to get the loan they agreed to pay, paid off immediately. It is approximately $2000. more now because of accrued interest. They told me they have been trying to agree on a payoff with Springleaf in Greenville. The phone number for Springleaf is ###-###-####. My cell is ###-###-####.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in responding, we are currently working with the bank to resolve this matter. We have record of sending a check to payoff the vehicle and the bank lost the check. I will update when the matter is resolved.

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted for an out the door price twice by two different ********. When I told them I would need another 10-15 minutes to look it over or think about the offer the first time, they said okay. When I came back inside, they said they would never honor that price. I then left the dealership and was contacted multiple times in a very inappropriate manner. I was texted and call multiple times at all hours of the day and night, trying to get me to come back in. I finally agreed to another offer they sent me. ("you got a deal. 21,134.32 final price" was in text form) and when I walked into the dealership expecting to sign the papers for that price, he came back and gave me a price that was 4 thousand dollars more. I proclaimed that he had sent me an offer and should honor it. (this is a ******* that I've been speaking to for a week now) He would not honor it and I went to speak to his ******* and he would not honor the promised price either. When I asked if they are affiliated with the Better Business Bureau. I was asked to leave... Two ******** not honoring a promised price.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to honor the price that they promised me when communicating over text.

Business Response:

Company's response below:

From: **** *********************************>
Date: Thu, Dec 17, 2015 at 10:42 AM
Subject: RE: ******* ******* *********
To: ***** ***** ********************>


According to the complaint I received there is no response due at this time. We do value all of our customers at Arlington Toyota, however in Mr. *******’s case we feel it is better he purchase a vehicle from another dealer or individual. There has been too much confusion with this purchase. If I missed the email to respond I apologize. Have a Happy Holiday Season!!

**** *****
******* *******

Arlington Toyota

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not a solution to the problem. The company needs to recognize the techniques that they are teaching are not good business practices. It is not a viable option for a company to bait and switch people. I have already purchased a car from a dealership and these people would rather sweep my concern under the table because they don't have the time to fix their problems. Also I was refused the car because of my age and the miscommunication of the sale. Saying there was confusion is poor diction in this case. Please follow up with me so that we can find a middle ground.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: We regret we were unable to sell Mr. ******* a vehicle. We do strive to satisfy all of our customers but in this case we failed. We are happy Mr. ******* found a vehicle to purchase.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well I bought a used car from arlington toyota...Frank was my salesman...I really have to hand it to the guy...he tried really hard to please me...he can't help it that the dealership made it impossible to do it....my car is a 2014 chevy sonic with 20,000 miles on it...part of my deal was that the rear bumper be repainted...after 2 attempts the paint job is still not up to par..it is better but the paint is a little foggy and it still has 1 run in it...talked to allan fryman (director of pre-owned cars)..he gave me his word that it would be right when I got my car back...he still has not returned my phone call...I guess his word is not worth much...to top it all off my car was being painted outside on the lot next door...I could not believe it...DO YORSELF A FAVOR AND DO NOT BUY A USED CAR HERE...I AM NO FAN OF SHADE TREE PAINTING....SEEMS THAT THEY ARE SATISFIED WITH THE SUB PAR JOB THAT THEY DO ON USED CARS ON THEIR LOT..

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to pay for the repainting of my bumper by the paintshop of my choice...I do not want my car painted there by their shade tree painters

Business Response: Have Mr. ***** set an appointment with Arlington Toyota Collision Center and we will be happy to repair his vehicle. In addition we will provide him with a rental vehicle at no charge to him, Please let me know the appointment so I can follow up with the collision center. Rick Doran

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***l *****

 I talked to ********* at the collision center, set an apt.for October 5th at 3:30 pm...thank you for resolving this

8/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Toyota part off of ********** and received a poorly packaged, damaged product. Took numerous calls to reach someone, and I'm still waiting for resolution.

Desired Settlement: Could have purchased locally, and saved a lot of hassle. I'd like a refund and a replacement.

Business Response: The customer purchased the item on July 22, 2015 via ****** order# 115-***********4212. He received the item on July 29, 2015 according to UPS tracking# 1**********2958217. The customer contacted Aaron ***** on July 31, 2015 to report the item damaged in shipping. The customer had claimed he had also called once on July 30, 2015 but reached a voicemail box and did not leave a message to be contacted back. The customer was told we would issue a pick up via UPS to return the product back to us and that we would ship out a replacement part for him the same day. This has already been carried out under UPS tracking# 1ZF1************65 and 1Z***************4. This process is at no cost the customer.

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Utilizing the Arlington Toyota website, I reserved a rental vehicle for a RAV 4 from Arlington Toyota for the period of July 15-21, 2015. I had initially requested a VENZA vehicle, however the Arlington Toyota website would not allow the VENZA rental because that vehicle was not available for rental. When I requested the RAV 4, the Arlington Toyota website requested my credit card information, which I provided. I immediately received a confirmation email from Arlington Toyota that the RAV 4 or similar vehicle was available. On July 14, 2015 I contacted Arlington Toyota to ask a question about my rental. At that time, the Arlington Toyota employee informed me that she did not have a RAV 4 for my rental. I explained to the Arlington Toyota employee that for health reasons I required a SUV style vehicle for my extended trip. She offered a Camry vehicle. Again I explained that for health reasons I could not drive the distance involved in a Camry. (The Camry sits low to the ground, and because of circulation issues with my legs. I needed a vehicle that sits higher off the ground and allows my legs to be extended. ) I was traveling over 1000 miles and would have serious circulation problems if I traveled in the Camry. I asked to speak to the manager and explained the situation to include my need for a RAV 4 or similar vehicle for health reasons. The manager informed me that he would not honor the written rental agreement I had with Arlington Toyota. I asked again for a SUV style vehicle and was told that by the manager they would not provide the RAV 4 or other similar style vehicle.

Desired Settlement: That the Better Business Bureau takes the appropriate corrective action against the Arlington Toyota car dealership for false advertisement and for refusal to honor a written agreement.

Business Response: We would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for the misunderstanding that occurred yesterday. We do strive to ensure that our customers are satisfied. This situation specifically, the vehicle Ms. ******* reserved had an outstanding recall and was down waiting on parts and not drivable. Also, we were unaware of Ms. *******'s health condition. We tried to resolve the matter amicably by offering her a significant discount on another vehicle, as well as extending that discount for another rental visit. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope to see Ms. ******* again very soon.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: the company's response states that they were unaware of my health condition.  That is not true.  I informed both the first employee that I spoke to and the manager that I could not ride in the Camry for health reasons. After advising the manager of this he still stated he would not honor the agreement.

Regards,

******** *******

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The nature of my complaint involves several issues: 1. A sales presentation that had a verbal and written representation that failed to disclose key conditions of the offer; 2. A sales presentation with unethical sales practices; and 3. Inappropriate behavior by ******************* ************* personnel. On 5/30/2015, at approximately 3:30 pm, I went to Arlington Toyota in ************* ** with the intention of trading in my 2015 ***** *** 1500 ******* for a smaller truck, a 2015 ****** ******. I was greeted by **** ******. He was very helpful and showed me several ****** trucks. I decided to go with a 2015 ****** ****** *** ***** ****** *** they had on the lot. My wife then met me at the dealership with our 8 year old son to proceed to the showroom to negotiate price, as she would be the co-buyer. After negotiating back and forth with Mr. ****** and eventually his *******, **** ***** we settled on an out the door price for the vehicle and a trade in value for my 2015 ***** ***. This negotiated price included a $1,000.00 military discount (I have the paper copy to prove this). Everything was good and we felt good about the deal. As we waited for **** *******, ******* *******, to prepare the required documents to finalize the sale/financing, our ********, **** ******, approached us 20 minutes later and advised us that we needed to sign this document stating that we understand that the military discount only applies when the vehicle is financed with ****** ***** ******. This is the first time this was mentioned and the mention came in the form of a signed document. We declined to sign the document, as financing through ****** ***** ****** was not a condition of the final price we all agreed upon. The price we agreed upon included a $1,000.00 military discount without ever mentioning special conditions related to financing. Also, we were pre-approved for financing through **** at 2.49% APR and currently have 1.99% APR through ****** ****** ***** for both my *** and my wife's vehicle. Mr. ****** then advised us to discuss the terms of the military discount with Ms. ******* when she was ready for us. If she could get us approved at 1.99% or better we would have accepted it. We both have credit scores over 700, we both have college degrees, neither of us has ever filed for bankruptcy or have ever had a repossession, we have manageable minimal credit card debt and we make just under $10,000/month. Our mortgage is only $837. We are what the industry refers to as "Well Qualified Buyers". When Ms. ******* brought us into the office, we immediately asked about the interest rate. She advised us that we are at 5.99% APR with ****** ***** ******. We were advised that they could not honor the military discount, even though I am an active duty service member, unless we financed with Toyota. Financing with Toyota would add approximately $4,250 over the life of the loan ($38,060 for 75 months at 5.99%=$610/month, at 1.99%=$540/month, a $70 difference per month. 75 months times $70=$5250 minus the $1,000 "military rebate"). This is the reason we decided against continuing with the deal. She later offered us 3.99%, an addition to the loan of $2550 and then it went down to 2.84% all of the sudden, an addition of $1050. Meaning they wanted me to pay them a $50 fee over 75 months once the $1000 discount was applied for being a member of the Armed Forces. **** ****** is a former member of the **** **** too. At the time the deal fell apart it was 10:30pm. We left the building and walked out of the door and realized that my truck, the ***** ***, was no longer in its original parking space where I left it, where it had been since 3:30 pm. My wife asked Mr. ****** where the truck went. Instead of an answer, we were met by *** *** *******, **** *****. Known in the industry as a "******* TO (take over)". He advised us that they were able to offer us 2.84% APR with ****** ***** ****** and we'd be able to "qualify" for the military discount. We declined again, as we had better pre-approved financing terms with **** and we would not have to pay $799 for GAP insurance, which they mark up over 200%. Mr. ***** continued to try to talk us into the so called better terms, and continued to ignore our requests to get my truck so we could leave. This continued for about another 20 minutes, until Mr. ****** finally walked from the Arlington Toyota parking lot, over to the strip mall next door, where Arlington Toyota's personnel moved my vehicle. At no time did I give any employee of Arlington Toyota permission to move my truck. They do not own that vehicle until I no longer do. They had not even given me the opportunity to remove my personal belonging from the *** prior to moving it hundreds of yards away. Mr. ****** handed me the keys and I extended my hand to shake his hand as I felt bad for him that this deal fell through. Once I got in my *** I saw a shiny, bubbly substance that I believed could be hair gel in the concave portion of my center console. I shave my head and nobody in my family uses hair gel. When I touched it, it was clearly saliva. I did not know what to think of this. It was a small pea-sized drop and there was no splatter around it, as if perhaps someone had drooled. It just seemed like the final frustrating phase of my long day at the dealership. I cleaned it with a tissue and decided to let it go and to move on as my wife and my son and I had not eaten dinner yet and it was almost 11:00pm. I didn't tell my wife because I wanted to put that day behind us. The next day I drove my truck to pick up my daughter from a sleepover. It soon became clear why I had found the saliva in my center console the night before. There was splatter going from my interior rear view mirror, across the center dash and finally landing in a pool of spit on the forward portion of the passenger side dashboard, close to the defrost vent. There was also clear signs of a liquid trickling down my navigation touchscreen. Someone had spit from the driver's seat across the forward cabin, from left to right. Upon further inspection, I noticed that the plastic portion covering the instrument cluster had appeared to have been keyed. The scratches are in the bottom right hand corner, right on top of the fuel indicator and the speedometer, the two most regularly viewed gauges on the cluster. I know for a fact that the substance I touched on Saturday night was saliva, I've raised four babies and I also know for a fact that those scratches were never on the cluster prior to me going to Arlington Toyota and handing over my keys to their employees. My truck had 1900 miles on it. Once I realized that my truck had been vandalized I went home and called my wife to come outside and inspect what I had found. From there we decided there were two things we could do, call the ****** and have them come to my house and fill out a property damage report or I could go to Arlington Toyota and give them a chance to agree to fix the damage. When I got there, I asked Ms. ******* for my license plate and registration from the previous night as I had given it to Mr. ****** to put on the ****** and hadn't gotten it back. Ms. ******* called Mr. ******'s cell phone. Mr. ****** said that I had never given it to him and he didn't have it. I insisted and Ms. *******, to her credit, continued to search her paperwork and the receptionist desk. After a few minutes, I suggested that we check inside the ****** as I had looked earlier and knew that it was not installed on the back of the truck. Sure enough, the brand new tag and registration (I have only owned the *** since May 6, 2015) were on the back seat of the ******. Mr. ****** had been adamant that he did not have possession of the plate at anytime, that I had never given it to him, clearly showing his propensity to lie to avoid dealing with this situation. If I hadn't received that back it would have cost me close to $400 to replace that brand new plate. Knowing that I needed to take care of the license plate situation prior to discussing the property vandalism, I then asked Ms. ******* if I could talk to the ******* *******, specifically stating that I did not want to talk to anyone else as I wanted to keep this low key and resolve it rationally. She brought me to **** ***** one of several *** *** managers. Mr. ****'s immediate reaction was, "*****, what do you want"?, indicating that this was a ploy to get a more favorable deal on the ******. From this point on there was never a time I was given consideration or treated with dignity. If spitting in your own vehicle and keying the instrument cluster is the latest consumer trick to improve the value of your trade-in and get a better deal the following day, then show me where that would work. I'm a rational, married, father of four, college educated (currently working on my online Master's Degree at ***** ******** ***** ********** Graduate School), 12 year veteran of The United States Armed Forces. I can assure you that this is not a $141 (discount price I found online for the plastic cluster cover) plus labor plus get my interior detailed scam I run around town. The reasonable person theory that we base our justice system off of in the country would point to the disgruntled ******** who just spent 7 hours and made zero commission as opposed to the ***** of the vandalised property. Following our inability to come to a conclusion, I told Mr. **** that I would be calling the ************ ********* ****** to file a report of property damage. Two ******** responded and one followed me to assess the vandalism. He then suggested that he would try to mediate a resolution to the situation. I agreed and we proceeded over to talk to Mr. ****. After some discussion, including the ******* saying to Mr. ***** "the man's not going to spit in his own truck", to which Mr. **** had zero response, Mr. **** said, "no, I will not authorize any payment". He also said that "it was all too convenient that I knew the price of the cluster cover", to which replied, "yes, it was convenient, I just ******* it on my phone". Mr. ****'s stance was that I had been "angry for hours last night" during the negotiating process. I reiterated that I was simply negotiating a price for my car that I thought was fair. What is shocking about someone fighting for the best price at a car dealership? Seeing that this was going nowhere, the ******* asked both of us if I could speak to his **** and he said, "yes, his name is ******* ***** and he'll be in around 2:00pm". Once again I wanted to see if Arlington Toyota was willing to take care of this vandalism reasonably. I went home, briefed my wife, found a babysitter for my two youngest children and headed back up to Arlington Toyota around 3:00pm. I asked the ************ to speak with Mr. *****, who was outside talking to Mr. **** at the *******'s table. He came in, shook both of our hands and I asked if we could speak in a private office. He took us to an office and I started off by saying, "I'm sure you know why we are here", he said, "you are saying you found what you believe to be spit" in a very condescending tone. My wife said, "not believe to be, what we know is spit". We didn't even discuss the cluster scratches, he said "nothing is going to be done, you are free to contact your insurance company". The meeting lasted less than one minute and was very unprofessional. I found out that Mr. ***** is not the ******* ******* as Mr. **** led the *** ******* and myself to believe (I have a handwritten piece of paper from Mr. **** to prove this) but simply the ***** *******. The ******* ******* is a man named **** *****. I emailed Mr. ***** at 9:51am on Monday morning. I also sent him 8 pictures of the vandalism. I never threatened him with a BBB complaint or litigation, choosing to keep that as a last resort if he never responded or refused to meet with me. I remained professional throughout the entire email stating once again that I wanted nothing more than payment for parts, labor, detailing and an apology. I do not even want to see Mr. ****** fired as he is a ** **** *** young man who was frustrated because all of hard work he had done over the previous 7 hours fell apart in 10 minutes in the finance office.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of one Genuine Mopar Instrument Cluster Cover, labor costs to have said cover installed at a business of my choosing and reimbursement for detailing my **** *** **** (interior only) at a business of my choosing. I will only go to the media if I do not receive my desired resolution.

Business Response: We regret the misunderstanding Mr. *****. After investigating the situation we do not feel his accusations are correct. However, we will offer him a $150.00 Visa gift card.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Enclosed you will find an invoice for the vandalized part, plus labor, plus tax and a transaction printout from my credit union showing the detailing I had done at *** *** ** ********. I went with a basic detailing, not a $150 version, it's a brand new truck.

Thank you for the help,

***** *****

LENS INST, Part # ***********....................$110.21
**** ****** ***** Labor Quote.....................$58.35
*** *** ** ********* Interior Only...................$32.79
Cash Tip for *** *** ***********.....................$10.00

Total Sought...............................................$211.35

 Also attached are pictures one which is a picture of the saliva on the window.

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2013 ****** ********** a few months back. Car had a small ding in the door which we negotiated to have removed. Upon the first attempt at removal, the dealership failed to straighten the door, causing a significant bend in the body line. This required two additional trips to the business in order to finally get resolved, at a distance of 80 miles round-trip. Upon receiving my car back, the car had heavy paint over spray all over the body, which I could not remove. I had also had my watch stolen out of the vehicle, which is a completely separate complaint, but it still happened nonetheless. Finally, a few weeks ago, the ***** ******* called me back and stated that he would reach out in a few days. To date, I've called him multiple times to no avail. I'm continuing my efforts but haven't received any sort of feedback, even though the ******* told me he would contact me shortly. As of right now, I can get no responses from the dealership, only calls soliciting me to buy a new vehicle (which I obviously don't want). Furthermore, the entire vehicle was misrepresented. The entire front end of the car had been repainted, but the dealership failed to inform us of this at the time of purchase. As usual, any attempts to contact the dealership have failed, and the ***** ******* originally denied that the car had been painted, he even questioned whether or not I knew what I was looking at. Overall, we're fairly pleased with the quality of the vehicle. But honestly, we would not have purchased it if we had known it had A) been wrecked, B) had residual over spray all over the body, or C) if we had realized that the customer service would be so terrible and nearly impossible to contact. Overall, this has been the absolute worst car buying experience of my life.

Desired Settlement: My main focus is getting the car restored to original condition, meaning that all of the residual over spray will be removed from the car free of charge. Second, I think a market price adjustment would make sense. The vehicle was sold under the assumption that the condition was "like-new" and never altered, which turned out to be false. As I said before, my wife and I wouldn't have purchased the vehicle had we known the experience would be this bad. With the mentioned damage, the car would have sold for 27,000 instead of the 30,000 we paid.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and he will be here Saturday to resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The business has refused to respond to the most significant part of my complaint, which is the fact that they misrepresented the condition of the Certified Pre-Owned Vehicle I purchased. According to the Toyota Certified website, a certified pre-owned vehicle is:

  • Vehicle is free of improper paint repairs or mismatched color

The front bumper has been repainted and is not an exact match. The reason this wasn't noticed immediately was due to the poor lighting on the day we bought the vehicle. In the sunlight, the two shades are completely different. This difference will have a $3,000 difference in price at time of resale, and as such, the (2) $50 gift cards provided by Arlington Toyota barely make up for the gas we've spent driving back and forth trying to get this resolved. On Saturday, when we picked up the car, they didn't have the courtesy to fill up the gas tank. This is after countless trips to ************ and dozens of emails, texts and phone calls. 

The overspray has been buffed out of the body and is no longer present. They also fixed the issue with the glove box which was covered by warranty.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

***** ******** came to Arlington Toyota this past Saturday, March 14, 2015 to address the issues he has previously spoken about to the BBB.  Arlington Toyota addressed the issues with the ********** and fixed them including removing the over spray on the **********.  Before leaving on Saturday the ******* talked to him to be sure all of his issues had been addressed and the customer was happy before leaving.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The ******* stated that a "very generous gift" was in the mail. They sent it in the mail to ensure that I didn't receive it on the spot and dispute the amount. The gift totaled $100, which doesn't even cover my time and gas dealing with this entire situation. At the very least, a $250 gas card would be sufficient to solve this matter. I live in ******* and it's a complete hassle each time I have had to report back to Arlington to solve these issues, one of which (the paint color difference) is still not resolved. 

Regards,

***** ********

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Arlington Toyota to purchase a **** ****** ***** *. At the time the offer was 0.0% financing for 36, 48, 60 and 72 months in order to get the 2014 vehicles moved off their lot. This was advertised on the internet, on their website, in the newspaper, and in the showroom on large banners all over the walls. I was given a paper showing the different financing by my sales consultant - ******* ** ********** All showed 0.0% financing. I selected the 72 month option. When my **** ********** brought back the paperwork with the ******* ******* - **** ******* - the interest rate on the paperwork was 3.90% When I asked why I got this interest rate instead of the 0.0% rate - they said I did not qualify even though my credit score was over 730. While I was still questioning the issue I knew I needed a vehicle because my vehicle was leaving me stranded. I went ahead and sighed the contract. The ***** ********** came up with 4 warranties he said I HAD to purchase because this was a hybrid vehicle. Prior to the 30 days being up, I cancelled all 4 warranties. I have called the dealership and the financing company every single day to resolve my issue of the 72 months 0.0% financing as advertised. I was told every time the situation was out of their hands as the loan had already been funded by ********* ****** ********* dba ***** **** ********* ****. I called and spoke with ******* from ********* ****** ********* at ************ and she told me this situation was the responsibility of the dealership. I finally was able to speak with the ******* ***** ******* - ******* ***** - who explained that in order to get the 0.0% financing another $4000 needed to be added to the cost of the vehicle and paying full sticker price. I already financed 4447.89 and they did not give me the window sticker so I do not know what the actual sticker price was. This practice is fraud, deceptive and high pressure tactics by the dealership and finance company. I called every day but did not get to talk every day.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this contract nulled and voided and remove this purchase and contract from my credit report. The total cost of the vehicle and warranties I was charged was $38595.75, at full window sticker at 0.0% financing my estimate would be the cost would have been $42595.75.

Business Response:

***** ***** came to Arlington Toyota on January 20, 2015 to purchase a ***** *.  The incentives that were available at the date of purchase were $1,750 dealer cash OR 0% for 36, 48, or 60 months or 1.9% for 72 months.   The dealer cash is money from the manufacturer to the dealer which the dealer can then choose to keep for the store or pass on the savings to the customer which is what we do with our customers including Mrs. *****.   The MSRP of the vehicle Mrs. ***** purchased was $31,669.00.  The price that Mrs. ***** paid was $27,169.  Even after reducing the price by $1,750 the purchase price is still considerably lower than the MSRP.  This is the price Mrs. ***** agreed to with Arlington Toyota.  Because a customer’s rate has many variables Arlington Toyota has never put a rate on the worksheet that is used to negotiate vehicle pricing between sales and the customer. 

The process is to have the customer circle and sign the worksheet once all numbers are agreed upon which was the process with ***** *****.  Please see attachment.

Arlington Toyota has a 0% tolerance rule for any fraudulent or deceptive practices and have strict process in place to insure the safety of our customers.  We apologize for any confusion between Mrs. ***** and Arlington Toyota. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because

as a customer I am allowed to negotiate the sale price of the vehicle, which was I did.   I was not told the incentives that were available at the date of purchase were $1,750 dealer cash only that the financing available was 0% for 36, 48, or 60 months or 1.9% for 72 months.   I not told the financing would be 3.9% which is what I received, nor was I told what they were using was dealer cash for the price I negotiated.  I based the financing on the percentage rate that I was offered.  I want this corrected on my contract.


Regards,

***** *****

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in for accident repair & a complete detail. Upon pick up of my vehicle I was dissatisfied with the outcome of the detail. I has specifically pointed out various areas that needed "special attention" and greater buffing/waxing due to scratches incurred from my accident. ALL of those scratches were NOT waxed/buffed to the extent that I asked (as they are still highly visible/noticeable.) I paid for a complete detail, at a cost of $237.49, as well. Upon pick-up and immediately sitting in my vehicle, it was apparent that I got nothing more than a wash & vacuum (and NOT a very good one at that.) The head-liner still had several spots on it; the door panel on driver's side has some liquid streaked down it; the trunk was not even touched, and several of the "storage compartments" in the interior (cubby under the stereo; storage behind the gear shifter; door handles) also still had dirt/dust/hair in them; the windshield was foggy & streaked. I brought these things to the attention of the employee in the body shop from whom I picked the car up. She offered to have someone look at it but said with "only 20 minutes left of the work day, I doubt they will be able to fix anything." No further offer was made to correct the mistakes and I was not asked to bring the car back. I definitely DID NOT receive at $238 detail job. I received little more than what I'd receive at a car wash for a school fund-raiser.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a proper $238 detail job performed correctly (to include the items mentioned above) or a refund in full of the detail job paid for. The accident repair was performed correctly and is not in question.

Business Response: Arlington Toyota is in the process of redoing the vehicle to her satisfaction. We apologize for the issue. **** *****

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 15, 2015 I was in a car accident. I was 26 weeks pregnant, the airbag deployed causing me to have an emergency c-section. Our son was born weighing only 2lbs and passed away the following day in my arms due to internal injuries from this accident. My husband and I went to look at a used car at Arlington Toyota on February 7, 2015 late in the evening thinking the sales team wouldn't bother us as I was still not ready to purchase anything. Unfortunately this was not the case, the sales person and sales manager were pressuring us the whole time to make a purchase even after I had told them I was not ready and after knowing our situation with the accident. This dealership preyed on our weakness as a young couple grieving the loss of our son to make a sale that night. My husband and I feel very taken advantage of. After we came home we realized that Arlington Toyota performed a spot delivery scam that night by having us sign paperwork without the car even being financed through a bank. They did not have all of our information or paperwork to finish the process but they let us leave with the car. Nothing was explained to us, including the final price that they increased after adding other charges to it. When we came back the following day, the sales manager, Roger was very aggressive and disrespectful to my husband who is active duty in the US Navy. When my husband asked him questions about everything, he gave very limited, shady responses. For example when asked about what bank we were supposedly financed through,his reply was that it was none of my husbands business and he did not like his attitude therefore they needed to cut the conversation short. When my husband mentioned leaving the car there because we were not providing the rest of our information to submit to a bank because there was no bank, he threatened him that we would end up with a repossession in our names. We are now being harassed by sales stating we are the owners and if we do not come pick the vehicle up it will be towed to us and charged to us. I called Toyota Headquarters to file a complaint also and the vehicle isn't registered in my name in their database. This has been a horrific experience for us. I did not want my car buying experience after just being in a traumatic accident 3 weeks ago to be this way. Neither one of us were emotionally ready to deal with such aggressive, harsh sales tactics and as individuals who try to make an honest living by serving in the military we cannot grasp the unmoral ways of how this dealership operates. Even writing this complaint takes a lot out of me emotionally as my heart is broken from losing my son but I feel that it is necessary to report these acts. I hate that I have to file complaints, contact attorneys, etc. to be able to be heard and understood when they could have just taken the car back and actually financed and sold it to some other poor, misinformed individual.

Desired Settlement: Take the car back, do not contact us about it and move on.

Business Response:

2.16.15

 

RE: ***** ***** Purchase at Arlington Toyota

 

On February 7th Sara and Christopher ***** came to Arlington Toyota and purchased a vehicle.  A few days later it was discovered by an employee at Arlington Toyota that a vehicle that had been previously sold was in the parking lot at the dealership.  Once discovered it belonged to the *****s Arlington Toyota called them to inform them that the vehicle they purchased was here at the dealership. 

The Florida State Law clearly states there is “No Cooling Off” period and after a customer signs a contract the customer cannot cancel the contract simply because they changed their mind.   Arlington Toyota sympathized with the *****’s and made an exception to the law and immediately called the banking institution to cancel the contract to keep from a repossession showing up on the *****’s credit.

All paperwork was signed by the *****’s including the Retail Installment Contract which includes a section labeled “Sellers Right To Cancel” which states the seller has 60 days to verify your information, locate financing for you on the exact terms shown on the front of the contract, and assign a financial institution.  Not sure what a “spot delivery scam” is meant by Mrs. *****, but Arlington Toyota takes compliance of every law including the Truth in Lending Act and Chapter 520 of the Florida Statues very seriously.  We have many procedures in place to be sure “scams” do not happen at Arlington Toyota.

We regret we were not able to do business with the ***** family and wish them all the best in the future.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that as long as the transaction has been canceled, then this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

1/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 1st 2014 approximately 858pm Monday night **** *** called and informed me that I, Mrs. *******, needed to come in Tuesday to re-sign some papers that they needed for the paperwork to be complete. I then informed him that I was on the phone with a call from Jamaica so I cannot talk to him long and, I cannot come in on Tuesday because I have class but however I will be sure to come in on Wednesday after I get off from work. **** *** said ok no problem, sorry to bother you. They then sent a sales rep to my house at approximately 1045pm saying I needed to sign some papers that needed to be submitted for the end on the month paperwork on their behalf, and my sale was included in It. I told them I was not going to sign any papers and for them that night and do not ever come to my house again. The sales rep, **** said ok sorry to bother you ma'am it will not happen again I was just doing what I was told. As soon as he walked away I then received a phone call from *****, he was talking to me in a stern aggressive manner, demanding that I open then door and sign the papers that the guy had that was at my front door. I informed him that I would not sign any papers at my house at 1045 at night. I would be in on Wednesday like I had previously discussed with **** ***. He then stated, well how about I come and get my vehicle. I advised him that instead on him coming that night I would just bring it in on Tuesday. He said ok and that was the end of the conversation that night. Tuesday when I got there I spoke with ***** about what upset me About how they came to my house late at night and him making threats about coming to get the vehicle. I told him I was returning the van like I said I was, and I would like my car back so I could make it to school om time. He then tried to bribe me with $1000 cash to take along with the van and leave. I then told him that I only wanted my car back like we agreed to the night before. He left for a few minutes and came back and said your not getting your car, you should have taken the money and left when you had the chance, now your not getting anything. I then talked to **** and he said that my car was theirs now and I'm not getting it back. I asked how can you keep my car if the paperwork is not complete. **** then stated that " i made a few phone calls this morning and now I don't need you to sign any paperwork, it has all been taken care of". Then i requested for copies of the papers I signed Saturday night. The papers that was provided by them to me for the second time was not the same papers I originally signed and that I have copies of. Meaning they forged my signature.

Desired Settlement: I want to reverse the trade, give them the van back and i just want my car back!!!

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

Arlington Toyota's finance department was able to negotiate better terms for Mrs. ******* then what she had originally agreed to and signed up at the time of the sale (This is a common practice because every finance deal cannot be negotiated with our banks before the customer completes their transaction at the dealership).  On December 1, 2014 both the sales person, ****, and the finance manager were under the impression that the customer, ******* *******, was OK with Arlington Toyota coming to her house in order to re-sign paperwork that was in favor of Mrs. *******.  Once the sales person arrived and realized Mrs. ******* did not want to interact with the the sales person, he quickly apologized and left her house.  When Mrs. ******* came to the dealership on Tuesday December 2, 2014 she declined to sign the paperwork with the better terms.  Arlington Toyota apologizes for any miss-communication with Mrs. *******.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: Monday when **** *** called from Arlington Toyota at 8:58pm and asked if I could come in Tuesday. I told him I was on a costly international call. I could not speak with him long at that moment and I could not come in Tuesday. I would be able to come in on Wednesday because it was more convenient for me because I'm a single parent. I have to make sure my kids are situated after school. I also have class Tuesday night that I must attend, he said ok. Approximately 45 minutes later I began receiving calls from a 904 area code. Which I later for out was ****. I did not answer because I did not know who it was and I was still on the phone. At approximately 10:35p.m. I realized I had a text message that was sent at 9:58p.m. from **** saying he was ALREADY in route to my home. A few moments later I received another call from **** *** saying that there is a salesman circling my neighborhood trying to find my residence. At the very moment I was terrified because I'm a single mother and I had my children with an addition of four others in my home also. I told **** *** to tell him do not come to my home. I am not comfortable with this situation I will be in on Wednesday like I advised him earlier. He said ok BUT I really need your signature for the paperwork that needs to be turned in first thing in the morning. The paperwork was for the bank. They approved G.a.p. but they did not approve the 100,000 mile extended warranty. So my monthly bill would be cheaper. Instead of me paying $457 a month my bill would be $449 a month. Again I told him I understand his needs but do not send anyone to my home. He said ok. 

At no time did I say it was ok! There is no way neither of the two could/should have assumed that sending a man to the home of a single mother would be ok at 10:45p.m. especially after I had clearly stated to **** *** twice already not to send anyone to my home. He said ok both times. 

At 10:45p.m. **** arrived to my home. The kids were terrified and ran in my room saying there is a stranger outside. I looked out the window and he started yelling saying I need you to sign these papers. I was speaking through the window and then open the door for him to get a clear understanding for him to leave my home immediately it's not ok, it never was ok and it would never be ok for him to come to my home ever. Shortly afterwards I received a phone call from ***** (which was on speaker phone) the attorative disrespectful manner of his voice sent us all into immediate fear. He demanded me to open my door. And sign the papers or else he was going to come get his vehicle back that night.  I said do not come back to my house tonight. I will bring your vehicle back to you tomorrow in return for my car. He said ok and disrespectfully hung up the phone.

When I arrived the next day, I spoke with *****. I told him i didnt like the way they unprofessionally conducted business by sending a man to my home at 10:45 and night. Nor did I approve of how he called me disrespectfully demanding me to open the door to sign a paper and threatening me that he was going to come get his vehicle back. So that's why I was there the next day that day to bring the vehicle back for the vehicle exchange as per Mr. ****** statement, due to the fact that I didn't sign the documents. He asked if I had all of my things out of the van. As if they were going to bring my car around for me. Then he tried to bribe me with $1000 for me too take the van and leave. I continued to say no I just want my car back and I never want to do business with you people again. He then came back and said you should have taken the $1000 and left. Now your not getting your car or the $1000. I followed him outside to ****.  ***** then said ain't that right **** she don't get her car back do she. Tell her that car is ours because she signed it over to us, **** agreed. I then asked what happened to the paper that they needed me to sign so bad that it couldn't wait until Wednesday. Since I didn't sign the paper. All of the paperwork isn't complete so therefore I should be able to get my car back. **** stated he no longer needed me to sign any papers. He made a few phone calls that morning and everything I agreed to Saturday night is the paperwork that went through. Everything is fine and they don't need my signature for anything.

They never showed me the paperwork that they needed my signature for that night. So therefore there was no way I could refuse. I still stand without clear understanding on why Mr. ****'s appearance at my resistance was necessary.

Regards,

******* *******

12/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Camry on 11/08/2014 and put down $400.00 on the vehicle. I was financed through **************. I was due a refund $140.00 on the down payment and do have a receipt stating that fact. I have attempted to contact them numerous times and have had zero success. I have called several times and am always cut off.

Desired Settlement: All I want is what I am due! This is rediculous. They should have cut me a check on the spot. I can stop by there anytime to pick up my refund. This is really a hardship on me as I am disabled. Thank you, Capt **** * *****l (ret)

Business Response: I am in receipt of the complaint from Mr. *****l. Mr. *****l financed the vehicle thru a third party source. Arlington Toyota does not issue and disbursements until the funds are cleared. Mr. *****l has received a refund of $140.00. This was completed on 11.24.2014. We apologize for the confusion. **** *****

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have NEVER been treated as badly while making a purchase as I was treated at Arlington Toyota. There is a long time frame of events, I will try to make it as short and to the point as possible:Arlington Toyota wrongfully put a tow request on the Ford Edge I was trying to purchase, and haven't returned my $530 cash down payment.8/20: Bought 2010 Ford Edge (was contingent upon getting approved for the loan, but they were confident enough to let me take the almost $20,000 car home). I had put down $530 cash.8/27: Found out I needed a co-signer, which wasn't what upset me. It was how long they took, and how they acted as if my ***** would jump at co signing for a 20k car (that he never agreed to do).Contacted my salesman (**** ******)Then began weeks of being ignored, and promised a lower price to influence my ***** to co sign.9/8: Finally speaking with **** who asks if my ***** will co sign if they knock $500 off the price. The answer was no. Shortly after, a **** ****** leaves me a voice mail and I call him back.**** was hostile and rude. I asked about the $500 off, was told that I needed to "bring car back, they would "re list" it on the lot, and I could try and buy it again! I said NO and we agreed car be returned the 13th (I was in *******). I was so upset about how **** spoke to me that I called HIS boss, ******* ****** ******* was worse than *****, ended up "accusing me of saying I wasn't going to return the car" He ended up hanging up on me. I IMMEDIATELY, because I had such a bad feeling, EMAILED to VERIFY that I was not in fact, stealing the ford, and it would be returned as discussed. I still have email of course.******* ***** called a tow request on me anyways! As if I'm a criminal! Car was returned 9/13 as promised! I've been trying to contact **** **** regarding my $530, I just left my FOURTH voice mail for him, still haven't heard back. I have so much more, but no more typing room. I have TONS of texts, emails, vm's to prove my case, and will go to court if necessary.

Desired Settlement: I want my full $530 back. I can read a contract, I understand the costs of a tow request, & the daily $49 fee, but ONLY if it was the customers fault for having the car for so long. When it's 100% the fault of the dealership, the SALESMAN, the manangers, and of NO FAULT to the consumer, then the DEALERSHIP needs to pay those costs. They need to own up to what happened, and DO THE RIGHT THING!

Business Response: We regret Ms. ****** dissatisfaction. We do strive to have total customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It wasn't even a response. I was very upset and emotional after this happened, and I spent TIME typing out my complaint. I have no criminal record, I've never filed a complaint against anyone in my life, AND I have email messages/voice mails/ etc to prove they were wrong.... And that's the amount of care that they had? To send a comment saying "We regret Ms. ****** dissatisfaction. We do strive to have total customer satisfaction"? Not enough time to even proof read your comment and see that your sentence had an error?

I'm very bothered by the fact that they couldn't even take the time to acknowledge anything that I had said at all. I have two toddlers, ages 4 and 2. My little girl is disabled, and Arlington Toyota was well aware of that, yet still they put a false tow on me not even giving a second thought to the fact that on top of being wrong, they were possibly going to strand a mother with her 2 young children out at who knows where.

I am saddened that a company of that size, could have such low customer service. 

I don't know what the next step is, but no, I do not, and will not be dropping this complaint. Like I said, I'm more than willing to take my proof, that they won't even take the time to look at, to court and prove my case against them.

Regards,

****** ******

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the 2009 Black Lincoln Town Car for almost $18k after 3 hrs drive to the Arlington Toyota dealership on Sat with 2000 mile or 2 months guarantee. I asked the sale man if the black paint on the car is the manufacture original paint since it looked so dull and uneven. He said yes since I have been looking for the black car for months with the original paint. On Tuesday I brought the car to the auto detailing shop for polishing and applied the clear coat to protect the paint. I asked the technician if the car was repaint, he said he didn't know until he cleans and works on the car. He told me to pick my car up on Wed evening. On the day I picked up my car, he told me the original color of the car was white and has been repainted with very thin layer of black paint without clear protected coat. He showed me several places that still has white paint on it. I called the dealership the same day to tell them about the paint color and fault advertise. They told me that I liked the car so much so I bought it and nothing they can do for me. They also told me if I don't like the car then sell it. I was so disappointed. All I want is to have the paint job redone to look like original paint instead of some white paint show here and there. I looked at one of the black Lincoln at the different dealership but they told me the car was repainted so I didn't buy. I bought this car because they told me the paint was original. Please help me to get my justice. It was not right that I got lie to. I would not spend that much money if I knew the car was repaint.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for the price of the paint job redone by professional or dealership.

Business Response: We are trying to resolve the issue. We have been in contact with the customer.

Consumer Response:  

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had put too much money into the car since I bought it. I don't want to return the car. I only want the company to repaint the car or reimburse me for the cost of repaint as they said the black paint is original manufacture. In fact the black paint is just a thin coat applied on the top of the white paint.

Regards,

******* ***

Business Response: Arlington Toyota is willing to offer a complete refund for the misunderstanding. We take these matters very serious. The car can be resold without repainting the vehicle. This offer is good for six business days and shall expire at 5.00 p.m. on September 10, 2014.

Consumer Response:  

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I have put too much money into the car since I bought it. Therefore I don't want to return the car, I also have been out of town and will not be home until the end of October. My daughter has told the ******* about my situation but he seems not much of concern. I firmly told them from the beginning I don't want my money back, I only want the car repainted as requested when I complains, but the ******* refused.

Regards,

******* *** 

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 9, 2014 approximately 930AM, I left my 2006 Toyota ****** at Arlington Toyota Service Dept to have the oil changed, alignment, drive belts, timing belt, and water pump replaced. The service advisor called me about 230PM and said the motor mount snapped during the process and it would cost an additional $80, which I had no choice and agreed to pay it. I had a rental and returned it and picked the van up about 10AM on July 10, 2014. On the way home, as I was hanging my garage door opener on the passenger visor, I noticed a crack in the dash facing the passenger's seat that ran from the passenger window to the glove box, picked up on the opposite side of the glove box and went to the radio/ac control panel in the middle of the van. It was a jagged hairline crack that absolutely was not there when I dropped off the van. I called the service advisor as soon as I got home and he said to bring it back in. I went back to Arlington Toyota about 12noon the same day, July 10, and the ******* ******* **** **** came out. He said the work I had done would not cause the crack and he also noticed the crack continued on the driver's side from the ac/radio control to the dash with the gas gauge. **** said he had not idea and would google it and call me. I don't know anything about mechanic work, but I do KNOW something was done while the van was at the dealership that caused this damage.

Desired Settlement: I told the ******* that I plan to trade the van or sell it at the end of this year or whenever 2015's are out and want it in top shape and that's the reason I'm making sure all the maintenance is up to date. Now the vehicle is worth a lot less in value with a cracked dash, plus I'm concerned the passenger air bag may deploy unexpectedly with the crack. This car is one owner with less than 80K miles and always garage kept. I want it fixed and the same condition as when I left it.

Business Response: We have contacted Ms. **** regarding her issue with the 2006 Toyota Sienna dashboard. After researching the issue it is a problem with the dashboard. Toyota offered to split the cost of a new dashboard. Arlington Toyota offered to pay half of her cost. At this time she has not decided to have the vehicle repaired.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  My vehicle's dashboard was damaged while being serviced at Arlington Toyota.  Last Monday, ******* with Arlington Toyota offered to replace the dash and charge me half, which was $1100.  Today, ******* called and offered the same thing, but his ******* ******* said my part would half of the $1100, or $575.  This is their fault and I shouldn't even have to pay $575 to fix it.  They should cover the entire bill or compensate me because my vehicle is now worth less in value as a trade or a sale because of the condition of a cracked dash.  Even though I've taken excellent care of the van, the best I will get is a 'fair' value on it.  I shouldn't have to spend another penny to get this fixed.  That's why I'm rejecting the offer.  It's not because I don't want it fixed.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: We regret Ms. ****'s rejection. This is a manufacturer issue in which they offered to pay 50% of the problem. In the interest of customer satisfaction we offered to pay 50% of the issue. I will inform Toyota that Ms. **** wishes to reject their offer. We do try to satisfy all of our customer's at Arlington Toyota.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

According to Toyota *** ************,  this is not a Toyota issue and if it was, they would do a recall.  They said they've had some complaints about cracking dashboards, but it's been nothing to indicate a manufacturing issue.  They also told me that Arlington Toyota is independently owned and so is the Toyota distributor that offered to cover the dashboard part.  They said they have no jurisdiction over independently owned dealers and could not help me.  Then I have Arlington Toyota saying it's not their fault, it's a manufacturing issue.  They said Toyota will give them the part, but the labor will be $1100 and they don't provide free labor.  Then the amount was changed to my part being half of the labor cost, which ******* said would be $575, and that was because the ******* ******** **** *****, said I've been a loyal Arlington Toyota customer.  I absolutely know the dash WAS NOT cracked when I left my van at Arlington Toyota to have belts replaced and it WAS cracked the next day when I picked it up.  I know because my mother passed away in March and every day I go to check on her house and reach across to the glove box to get her garage door opener.  I did this prior to dropping my van off at Arlington Toyota on July 9 and the dash was not cracked.  I also reach to the passenger visor every day to pull it down and open my own garage door and I would have noticed it.  The damage is more evident from the driver's side of the van than anywhere else.   Why would I pay $575 to fix damage that occurred while my van was at Arlington Toyota?  I can't make any sense out of this, but I do understand they don't want to take responsibility and I don't want to pay $575 to repair damage they caused.   I just spend over $900 to keep this van in excellent condition, but I don't think it's fair to spend more money because they damaged my vehicle.   

They'll win because I can't do anything else about it other than stay away and let people know of my experience.  I've been a walking advertisement for Arlington Toyota and a loyal Toyota owner since 1997, 4 vehicles including a 1997 4-Runner (my ***** bought it in 2010 after my husband died and she still has it with no cracked dash), my ******* had a 1997 T -100 (we sold it in 2005 with no cracked dash), 2001 Tundra (gave it to my *** and still no cracked dash), and last, my 2006 Sienna bought in Oct 2005 ( cracked dash suddenly appeared when I picked my van up at Arlington Toyota's service department on 7/10/14).  All these vehicles were purchased and maintained with Arlington Toyota without any major incidents, and I planned to purchase a 2015 Toyota when they come in.  So it all comes down to how they feel about me as a customer because it's obvious my options are limited by the power of a big business.  Bottom line is my van is worth less as a trade or a sold vehicle because of the damage endured while at the Arlington Toyota service department and I'm at their mercy for assistance.   

Regards,

******* ****

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 10, 2013, my wife purchased a 2009 Mercedes Benz C300 from Arlington Toyota. The initial contract included the purchase of an extended warranty (Silver coverage) for 3 years or 36,000 miles. Due to issues with financing, a second contract was initiated, again issues with financing, a third contract was initiated including myself as a co-signer. We received a call from the finance representative (we best recall his name being ********) stating that he worked a much better deal, it contained a much lower finance rate and an upgrade on the extended warranty to Platinum coverage, however it was reduced to 2 years or 24,000 miles. Needless to say, we accepted the deal, signed the new contract and all associated paperwork. During the first week of December, we experienced problems with the car, the wiper reservoir motor required replacement and the tire pressure monitor sensors are faulted. I call the extended warranty company to verify that these items were covered and was informed that they were not, because we had Silver coverage, if we had Platinum, they would be. I told the customer service representative we indeed had Platinum coverage, my in-hand contract indicated this. They instructed me to contact Arlington Toyota to assist with correcting the matter. I contacted Arlington Toyota, took the contract, the extended warranty (clearly marked Platinum coverage) and all other associated documents for their review. I spoke with two finance representatives,(the latter I recall his name as Ryan) the results was that the finance representative who handled our sale made a mistake on the contract, and they would not uphold the contract. I expressed my concern and asked that they make a good faith effort to resolve the matter, nothing was offered.

Desired Settlement: We want Arlington Toyota to uphold the contract we agreed upon and signed. We look forward to resolving this matter, negotiation to resolve is an option.

Business Response:

   Ms. ****,

We regret Mr. *****r's dissatisfaction with Arlington Toyota. After investigating the complaint we have learned that the only Service Contract that is available on a 2009 Mercedes-Benz C-Class with 70,721 mile is a 2 year/24,000 mile Silver Service Contract. Arlington Toyota made an error in coverage and did charge the correct amount for the Silver Coverage. These charges are regulated by the State of Florida. There was no intent to misrepresent the contract. Arlington Toyota will reimburse the full amount of the charge for the Service Contract due to the error. We will mail the proceeds to the lender upon Mr. *****r's acknowledgement in writing to cancel. We apologize for any inconvenience this error has caused.

**** *****

Consumer Response: Ms. ****, Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Please forward this reply to Mr. **** *****/Arlington Toyota: Mr. *****/Arlington Toyota Team, Thank you for conducting your investigation and your admission of error. HONESTY in business, along with ETHICS is what we thought may have led you to uphold your mission statement; WE ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING OUR CUSTOMERS WITH THE FINEST SERVICE AVAILABLE. WE WILL TREAT OUR CUSTOMERS WITH THE UTMOST RESPECT; DEALING FAILY WITH THEM AT ALL TIMES AND RECOGNIZING THE IMPORTANCE OF DELIVERING PRODUCTS AND SERVICES THAT FIT THEIR NEEDS. WE ARE TRULY COMMITTED TO GIVING OUR CUSTOMERS VALUE, QUALITY AND SATISFACTION, AND IN RETURN, RETAIN A PROFIT THAT IS FAIR. We walked out of your dealership and drove away in a vehicle we thought had "Platinum Warranty" coverage, to later discover we did not have; need to add, our second vehicle purchased from your business in less than a six month period. We expected at minimum a "Good Faith" offer to assist with the repair, this is our issue, not dissatisfaction with Arlington Toyota. We have no desire to cancel the "Silver Warranty" contract. ***** *****r

Business Response:

Ms. ****.

I thought the repair had been made to the Mercedes. I will need the repair to see what would be covered under the Platnium Service Cotract. I will submit to the Service Contract Company for their review and advise me what is covered. Once we receive the confirmation from the Service Contract Company what is covered we will pay the claim minus any deductibles or non covered repair.

**** *****

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

***** *****r

 

 

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2007 ***** SC 430 from Arlington Toyota, 10939 Atlantic Blvd Jacksonville, FL 32225, ###-###-#### on August 10, 2013 for a total price after trades, money down and extended warranty of $26211.35. This dealership was proud that this was Toyota Gold Certified.The Carfax provided to me by Arlington Toyota at the time of purchase stated that the car was serviced at ***** of Jacksonville. Its first oil change which was supposed to be at 5000 miles. On Friday Oct. 18, 2013, I took the car to ***** of Jacksonville at 4000 miles just too make sure all was well before we left on a 2600 mile trip. At this time they were to perform the 45,000 service.I was very disappointed when contacted by ***** *********, the ***** Certified Master Service Consultant assigned to me, that the car needed to have the drive belt, timing belt, Front Pads, Rear Rotors and pads replaced.He stated that the belts were due to cracking from the age of the vehicle not due to mileage. The total price for that was $528.79. We did have this service done and paid for it ourselves due to the fact this motor is a valve inference motor.As for the front brake pads, rear rotors and pads, I told Jomar that I need to call ******* ***** the General Sales Manager for Arlington Toyota to discuss these issue with him since this car was just Toyota Gold certified 4000 miles ago. The total cost for these items totaled another $776.00.My husband called and spoke to ******* ***** twice. I did not call because I hate dealing with sales and service managers as a woman. The first call my husband made to ******* was to inform him the car was at ***** of Jacksonville and explained the issues that were found. ******* told my husband to have Jomar call him on his cell and then he (*******) would call us back after he spoke to Jomar. Jomar called us back about 1:00 PM to let us know that he had spoken with ******* and that ******* indicated he would be contacting us.After not hearing back from *******, my husband called him again about 4:30pm. ******* point blank stated that Arlington Toyota would not pay for any of the brake service. ******* offered no help at all but made plenty of excuses. ******* was very unprofessional and I am sure he not an example of what Toyota would like to portrait. It is very sad that I have to file this complaint for a $28,000.00 car that was Toyota Gold Certified 4000 miles ago by Arlington Toyota. My cost for their Toyota Gold Certified car to this point is $528.79 with another $776.00 on the next service for the front brake pads, rear rotors and pads.I will settle this complaint simply by Arlington Toyota standing behind their car that they GOLD CERTIFIED by paying for the unexpected cost of $776.00. I want them to pay ***** of Jacksonville for the front brake pads, rear rotors and pads cost that was determined by ***** of Jacksonville. I am sure dealer to dealer would cost them even less.

Desired Settlement: I will settle this complaint simply by Arlington Toyota standing behind their car that they GOLD CERTIFIED by paying for the unexpected cost of $776.00. I want them to pay ***** of Jacksonville for the front brake pads, rear rotors and pads cost that was determined by ***** of Jacksonville.

Business Response:

Ms. ****,

I am in receipt of the complaint from Ms. ****************. I spoke with my service manager, Russell Graff regarding the statements from our customer. Arlington Toyota did Gold Check the vehicle. According to the standards set forth by Gold Check all of the inspected items were in compliance with the standards set forth by Fidelity Warranty Sevices, Inc. Arlington Toyota must comply with the Inspection Check Sheet in order to maintain good standing with Fidelity Warranty Services, Inc. Arlington Toyota does not set the standards on the Inspection Check Sheet. Also, the scheduled maintenance log from ***** states that the replacement of the timing belt is due at 108 months or 90,000 miles. In summary, if Ms. Larmon-Fotzgeral wanted to do preventative maintenace on her vehicle she should have contacted Arlington Toyota before spending the additional money at Lexus. We do regret her disatisfaction but do appreciate her business.

 

**** *****

 

Business Response:

Ms. ****,

I apologize for the misunderstanding. The brakes were also within the parameters required by the Gold  Check Service Agreement. If there was an issue the vehicle should have been returned to us for inspection. The brakes were inspected and did meet standards. I will be happy to send you the inspection. According to our records the repiars were not required. Ms. **************** is welcome to contact Gold Check Vehicle Service Agreement for assistance in this matter. Arlington Toyota believes we sold Ms. **************** a very nice vehicle and regret her dissatisfaction.

 

**** *****

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  They have not addressed the problem.  You can close this as unsatisfactory.  I have directly contacted Customer Service with the Toyota Corporation since this dealership is not upholding the Toyota standards.

Regards,

***** ****************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Arlington Toyota Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart