BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acura of Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Acura of Orange Park include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Acura of Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1987 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 06/02/1993 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Hanania, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Hanania, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
HA Motors, LTD Hanania Automotive Group
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 7200 Blanding Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32244

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 561-7929(Phone)
  • (904) 777-5120(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off my automobile from ********* *** on August 29th and cancelled my gap insurance on the same day. I have contacted 2 managers ******* and ****** at Acura I have also spoken to ***** who was over the ********* department. I also spoke to ******** in ********** at Acura. I have spoken to ********* *** and ****** (who had my Gap insurance). Everyone is telling me that the other companies are refunding me the money, yet no one knows where it is. Acura says ********* has to issue refund, ********* is saying that Acura has to issue refund. ****** is telling me that it was cancelled on Aug 28th and was mailed out. It is now October 21st and I still don't know where my money is. I paid my bill on time and in full and would like my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call and the status of my refund. I was told it would take 30-45 days and that time has passed. I would like a detailed statement on my charges and refund amount and I would like it immediately. There should be no reason why I do not have my refund check. It should be $3,000 and I do need the money.

Business Response:

Company's response below:

 

?Ms. *****,

I am writing you regarding the complaint Ms. ******** ******* has placed against Acura of Orange Park.

I have called ********* (************) and spoke with ***** in the ******** department. ***** explained that their company did not receive the cancellation notice until October 21st. From the time of cancellation it takes 8-10 weeks for their company to send out a check to the customer. This is *********'s product and they will be refunding Ms. ******* directly. She should receive the refund in another 4-6 weeks. 

Please let me know what other information you might need from us. 

Thank you!

***** ** *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not received my refund from Acura.  This is my problem.  I was advised from ********, with Acura ********** that they would send me a check for their portion of the refund.  Acura and ****** confirmed that.  Now, Acura is stating that they aren't goint to give me my refund.  Per *********, on October 23, 2014, I am supposed to get $1200 from Acura and $2000 from *********.  ********* has issued my check but Acura has not.  Per *********, they have already contacted Acura on October 21st, and that they should have issued my check on that day with their portion of the refund.

I also received a copy of an email from ******* **** to: *******, **** with a CC to:  ***** ***; *******, ******: Subject Final Notice # ******** on Wednesday, November 19th that someone was asked to resign if I did not remove this complaint.  It may only be $1200 but this my money and should already be paid and not be held.  I would appreciate your help in resolving this issue.  All I am asking for is my insurance refund that was cancelled in August. 

Regards,

******** *******

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2011, I purchased a Certified Used Vehicle from this dealership. During my negotiations with the ******** I was presented with a "clean car fax report" which in hindsight seemed to be incomplete. They agreed to repair damaged rims and provide a supplemental warranty which would extend beyond the certified warranty. The warranty paperwork I received from them states 7 years or 100K miles and this is how they presented the warranty. They also stated that anytime I wanted my oil changed a Loaner Vehicle would be provided. Fast forward about 2 years, I take my vehicle in to a ****** dealership as I was interested in possibly trading it in for a truck. The gentleman runs a car fax report which shows a very lengthy history including wrecks. He also shows me overspray in areas which in his words are clear indications that this vehicle was wrecked and Acura of Orange Park likely knew this. Present day, I am having an issue with one of my locks, I need an oil change and my rims are pealing again (they had already been repainted twice at no cost since). I first call to set up an appointment in which they state they no longer provide loaners for oil changes, they also state my warranty has expired and so has my third party warranty which I purchased through them(I have paperwork which disputes this). After speaking to the ******* ******* I set up an appointment and given a loaner. He promised to work with me to set things straight. After dropping my vehicle off. They state they will cover the lock and not cover the rim. They also state the 7 years that is referenced is from the in service date and not what they represented during the purchase. I arrive to pick my vehicle up. At the counter they state my brakes are low which I asked them to check and I need belts replaced. This seems a poor way to handle additional work. Most places call you while the car is in the shop to let you decide to do the work that day which helps to avoid going to the shop a second time.

Desired Settlement: Honor the warranty, fix the rims.

Business Response:

The vehicle was certified and the customer signed the certification and understands the agreement.  We are currently working with the customer to trade the vehicle for something else. 

 

 

***** ***

********* *********

******* ********** *****

Consumer Response:

I am not satisfied with the response as the certification warranty is not what I am referring to.  I am referring to the third party warranty which was presented to me as a warranty which will extend beyond the certified warranty as that was one of my concerns when I purchased the vehicle.  I expressed to the ******** I wanted a warranty which lasted more than a couple of years. 

Regards,

**** *****

3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2013 my wife and I purchased a new 2013 TSX Acura. As apart of the deal of purchasing the new TSX the dealership was suppose to pay our trade completely off. The dealership did pay the note off but did not pay it in time. As a result of that my credit has been affected dramatically. During this process i contacted the dealership several times to assure that the payment had been sent. The bank during this time stated that the dealership sent a check but it had insufficient funds and could not be processed. The dealership eventually got a check to the bank *****) and it was paid but late. I was told from the dealership that they had spoken with the bank and everything was cleared and my credit would not be effected. But they were wrong and my credit has been lowered from excellent to an F grade ( Fair). I was totally not in control of this and feel that the dealership was very lazy about there process and now have put my credit in jeopardy. Lastly, I have called the dealership three times asking for a manager or someone to call me back.. I have not received a call and probably will not be returning due to this event.

Desired Settlement: Would like my credit restored in a speedy manner. Also, would like a call from an executive from the dealership. In addition would like documentation sent via email that the process has been taken care of. Also, I feel that the dealership should offer some kind of compensation for my trouble. I have tried to purchase something with my credit and because of them was denied.. Not a good thing when you have always had excellence credit and never been late on a payment and you did not even do it.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****’s concerns.

Mr. ***** purchased the 2013 Acura on Saturday, July 27, 2013.  On Tuesday, July 30, 2013 a payoff check was issued and mailed to ** * *.   On August 16, 2013, we put a stop payment on the original check and reissued a second check.  The second check cleared our bank on August 29, 2013.  The time period between when the vehicle was purchased and when the second payoff check was issued was 20 days.   Please see attached documentation reflecting the dates indicated above.

We have contacted Mr. ***** and he has received documentation from **  * * indicating they have reversed the delinquent payment.  We will continue to communicate with Mr. ***** to confirm this situation is resolved and will work diligently to provide the level of service he deserves.

***** ********* 

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/7 Called Acura of Orange Park because I wanted a certified ILX. A competitor offered me the car I wanted in Black, however, I wanted a different color. I spoke with ******* ****** (sales) who said they had a grey certified ILX and would match price. Tried to schedule appt to view but was told it was at the collision center since it was a lease turn in (but not to worry it wasnt in an accident). 12/13 arrived for appt to view ILX: was told still @ collision center. 1 hr later they let me test drive the car - all airbag lights were on - was told they worked however they needed to reset them since the battery died. After negotiating/signing docs to purchase I was told I couldnt have the car because they wanted to make sure it was ok. Strange. 12/14 ******** called to say that I could have car on Mon. 12/16 Called ******* ******* who told me car would not be ready until later in the week. *At this point I pulled the CarFax on the car & realized it was in an accident and bags deployed & I was lied to. Called and spoke to 2 mgrs (********** who just tried to sell me a new car. 12/17 My issue escalated to ** ******. 12/18 Picked up my trade-in car from dealership and canceled deal. 12/21 Met & spoke with ** who offered to reduce price of car to apologize for misleading info during sales process. Said they needed a part; most likely I could have the car by 12/26 but at the latest 1/3. 1/3 Never heard from dealership, called 2x that day to find out when I could take delivery. ******** told me that I could come on 1/4 even though this was after latest date promised by *** Called ***left message never heard back. 1/4 Went to dealership who handed me keys to drive off. After speaking to multiple **** it became apparent the car was NEVER CERTIFIED. ******* *** informed me he needed to order MORE PARTS and I could probably have car Tues 1/7 & promised to call me Mon to touchbase. Mon 1/6 spoke to ***who told me he was no longer *** Filed complaint w/ Acura corp. 1/11 Still not heard nor received any calls

Desired Settlement: As of this day, I still haven't taken delivery of the car I purchased nor had any proactive communication with dealership. I have a payment due in less than 2 weeks. I would like Acura of Orange Park to give me a NEW ILX in Gray at the same price as I originally agreed to pay for the "certified" car as I am not sure this car sold to me can even be fixed, and I am concerned about the quality of their repairs since it has been 1+ month and all I ever hear is that they need to order more parts.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Subject: ******** - *******


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. and Mrs. *********

 

The original purchase of a 2013 Acura ILX has been cancelled and Mr. and Mrs. ******** have purchased a new Acura ILX from us.  We are pleased we have been able to resolve the situation to the customer’s satisfaction and look forward to many more opportunities to serve Mr. and Mrs. ********.

 

Please let me know if you have questions or need additional information.

 

Thanks.

 

***** *********

 

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 17AUG2010 I purchased a 2009 Chrysler 300 Touring(so I thought) from Acura of Orange Park. When I went to trade it in to purchase a 2013 model, it was discovered that the VIN # listed the car as a 2009 Chrysler 300 LX. On the back of the car, when I purchased it, listed the car as being an "300 Touring". The trade in value for the Touring with 83,000 miles is listed as $10,000. The trade in value for the LX is $7500. In addition, I also discovered that on the actual contract, it listed the car are being a Chrysler 300C. After discovering this, I went to Acura of Orange Part and spoke with Sales Manager "****" about the matter. She gave me an offer of $8,000 which is $2,000 less than a Touring model, $5,000 less than the 300C. After talking to ****, the General Manager came in the showroom and basically was giving me excuses about why the 300 C was on the contract(clerical errors), how they do the best they can when selling used cars(after telling them they sold me the car). The GM did admit it was their mistake but in my opinion what was offered was not satisfactory to me because I thought I had a Touring model. The G.M. asked what he could do to make it right, and I told him he could give me the remaining balance of what I owe on the car which was $3300 and I keep the car, or he could give me $10,000 for the trade in. The G.M. than mention about him only working there for a few months and the owner would not approve of him writing a check for the amount. When I offered to speak to the owner myself, the G.M. just brush me off and keep talking about the depreciation of the car and other things. After talking to the G.M. for about 45 minutes, I finally left the showroom without solving the issue at hand. All I wanted was to receive the trade in value of a Touring, which I thought I had and that they sold to me. Later that evening a customer service representative of the dealership called and after explaining what happen, she agreed that my offer was reasonable.

Desired Settlement: Due to the Management at Acura of Orange Park not wanting to seriously consider making what happened right and since I traded the 2009 Chrysler 300 at a loss,I feel that Acura of Orange Park should reimburse me at least $3,000 to recoup some of the payoff cost. Due to what I received for the trade as an LX and not a Touring, my car note is a little higher than I wanted it to be and I also had to come out of pocket $1,500 to try and adjust for some of that.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******’s concerns. 

 

We were in discussion with Mr. ****** about the vehicle and working towards a resolution.  Prior to resolution, Mr. ****** traded the vehicle at a different dealership.  His action has negated our opportunity to resolve the situation since the vehicle is no longer owned by Mr. ******.

Consumer Response: In response to Acura of Orange Park. It was stated in my original complaint that I did have a discussion with someone at Acura of Orange Park and as a result of that discussion I filed a complaint. Again, I spoke to the both the Sales Manager and General Manager. I was also contacted by a customer relations person and never received a follow-up call so in my opinion there were no pending discussions. Acura of Orange Park made it clear that they had no intentions on making it right. The discussion prior to me leaving Acura of Orange Park that day was Acura of Orange Park wanted me to trade my car with them and purchase another more expensive vehicle from them or either give me $8K for it. The dealer that I traded it to was already offering me $8K for it as an LX so to me they weren’t doing anything but offering to take it off of my hands as an LX and not addressing the fact that they misrepresented what they sold me originally. Honestly because of what they did, whether intentional or not, I did not nor would I ever buy another vehicle from Acura of Orange Park. They knew that I was going to trade it in because I told them that and I was hoping that they would make it right. That was the only reason why I went to them first. The fact remains, whether I traded the vehicle in or not, to them or another dealership, an error was made on the part of Acura of Orange Park for not selling me the vehicle I thought I had (300 Touring instead of a 300 LX). The General Manager said that they do the “best they can” when selling used cars and to me that’s admitting that there could have been an error made. I just feel like Acura of Orange Park should also be held accountable.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i traded my damaged vehicle to acura of orange park for a new car, i was guaranteed, verbally, that i did not have to pay for any of the damages. furthermore, because of the damages i was not able to obtain a "good" deal on the vehicle i wanted, a TL. instead i was told the best they could do was a tsx model. reason given was that the dealer will pay for some of the damages and having to pay the last 4 payments on the lease. in June acura financial services started billing me for $1,263.19 for the damages. i contacted the sales manager that made the promises, *** *******, and he never did anything about it. i later contacted the administrative assistant, ****, for the owner of the dealership, **** *********, and she agreed to work with me. three months later, most of the fees are gone but i still have to pay a residual balance of $64 in order to protect my credit which acura financial services is threatening to hurt if i dont pay, their answer was to handle the issue with the dealer. i dont feel i should pay anything since i was advised i wouldnt have to. this is unfair practices of behalf of acura of orange park to get me to sign and drive with a car they wanted me have.

Desired Settlement: $64 paid to acura financial services

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******'s concerns.  In the interest of good will, Acura of Orange Park  will reimburse Ms. ****** for the $64.00 that is owed to ***** ********* ********.

The check will be mailed to her residence and should be received by mid to late next week.

We regret any inconvenience and frustration this may have caused.  We hope to continue serving Ms. ******'s future automotive needs.

 

Respectfully,

**** ******

Internal Auditor

8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called from MN to purchase a 2013 BMW 135 used car with 1340 miles. I was told it was for sale. then a day later they indicated it was sold to a private party. I then received a call that the car was available, it did not sell at the auction. I asked the condition of the car and the sales associate said perfect, showroom condition. He indicated he would have it cleaned and detailed and would go around the car again. He sent me a text, sent me an e mail, and phoned me that he reviewed it and the car was perfect. I called him just prior to booking airfare and he again indicated that it was showroom. I flew in and looked at the car before the sales dept opened. It was dirty, and had scratches on the trunk. I talked to the people cleaning the cars and he indicated that he could not resolve one scratch completely. The car was Black and it also had swirls or fine scratches. The GM said 50% of black new cars on his lot had the swirls because of cleaning twice a week.He may want to establish some process controls. I had no problem getting my initial deposit and the GM said there were other people interested. I had asked the salesman if there were scratches, dents, swirls, interior condition etc. He never even had the car detailed and yet he was able to see through the dirt that it was perfect. He had the car on July 30th and I did not visit until Aug 3rd. That lesson learned cost me $900 in airfare and car rental, but more then that it again demonstrated that it is difficult to trust a person with a vested interest. The GM responded to my e mail and asked what I wanted. I stated the car in mint condition at a MN.BMW Dealer. He has not replied.

Desired Settlement: That he take the car to a bodyshop, rebuff to the condition that he stated, and ship it to me for my review.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *********'s concerns.

We regret Mr. **********s experience and wish to offer $425.00 as a goodwill gesture towards reimbursement of his travel expenses. 

Respectfully submitted,

**** ******

Internal Auditor

 

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact Acura Service Department to get information on a remote start. ***** the service manager transferred me to parts. I spoke to a gentleman and he said the remote start would work the same as my original remote with the exception of rolling down my windows, sunroof or my tailgate and of course the valet key. I asked if I would need to carry both around or would it allow me to lock and unlock with the handles. He said yes you will have the same functions except for what was mentioned. I spoke to ***** again and we set an appointment up to have it installed on a Saturday July 20th 2013. That Sunday I went to my SUV and could not unlock the doors with handles or button had to use my remote. Got in to start would not start with the push start. Had to get my original remote to start it unless I wanted to start it with the remote start key fob which you will have to do every time. I have spoken to five people at the dealership and have made 13 phone calls to have this corrected and no one will help or return any calls nor wants to take responsibility for the lack of training, knowledge and brochures on this product. The only person in the dealership that knows anything about the remote start is ******. Sales people as well as the Acura website makes it seem you have all the same functions as well.

Desired Settlement: I want the item removed and my money credit back to my account seeing as a consumer I have asked all the questions and the parts department, service department and sales department are not trained on this product or its functions and the brochures are misrepresenting as well.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *******'s concerns.  We regret this unfortunate circumstance and will be happy to refund Mr. ******* the requested amount of $632.36. 

We appreciate his patronage and look forward to serving Mr. *******'s future automotive needs.

 

Respectfully submitted,

**** ******

Internal Auditor

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I wanted to say not many dealerships would take responsability for misunderstandings and knowledge. This says alot about this dealership and that it respects its customers and will help them in any way. They have earned my respect back and my buisness as well.

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service