BBB Accredited Business since

Acura of Orange Park

Phone: (904) 777-5600 Fax: (904) 908-5777 View Additional Phone Numbers 7200 Blanding Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32244 http://www.acuraoforangepark.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acura of Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Acura of Orange Park include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Acura of Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1987 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 06/02/1993 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Hanania, Owner Mrs. Lynn Bazemore, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lynn Bazemore, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Jack Hanania, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
HA Motors, LTD Hanania Automotive Group
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

  • 7200 Blanding Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32244

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter purchased a car on May 23, 2015 and needed a co-signer. I co-signed for the car and I was told by the sales lady ******** ***** and Finance officer ******** ****** that after nine months I would come off of the loan and she could refinance the car in her own name if she made the payments on time for nine months. At the time of me co-singing for the car I asked for a copy of the above mentioned statement to be on letterhead and signed. I take my credit serious and I didn't want any issues with my name coming off the loan and put totally in my daughter's name. I never received the letter. My daughter called week after week in the month of June and was constantly told that it was mailed to my home. Needless to say I never received the letter. The week leading up to June 12th my daughter called and spoke to ******** the finance officer for the 2nd time concerning the issue about the letter and ******** stated it was mailed. ******** assured my daughter that I would receive the letter that Thursday, June 11th. I still never received the letter. My daughter told ******** if we didn't receive the letter by Thursday, June 11th then she would go to the dealership to pick up the letter. On Friday, June 12th my daughter went the dealership to pick up the letter from ********. Once my daughter got in her car she opened the letter and discovered that the letter was not on letterhead as we had asked, and the letter wasn't signed. My daughter preceded back into the dealership and asked ******** why wasn't the letter on letterhead as we had asked for. ******** then explained to my daughter that it was something that the accounting department had given to her and it would not be on letterhead because that wasn't their rules of the dealership. ******** then stated that this type of letter would have to come from the finance company of the car "********". My daughter was never told that Acura could not provide us with the letter stating that my name would come off the loan after nine months and refinanced in my daughter's name after making nine consecutive payments on time. It wasn't until she picked up the letter and discovered that the letter wasn't on letterhead and it was copied from some other document and it had to come from the finance company "********". My daughter then asked ******** why the letter had all of these lines that made it look like it was copied and pasted. The letter wasn't on official letterhead cardstock period! After my daughter had the conversation with ******** about the letter, ******** assured her that she would have the finance company put the letter on letterhead and she would let her know when it was done? Two weeks had passed and still ******** never called my daughter or me to give us any regards about the letter.** I called the finance company ******** and asked them about the statement of the matter at hand and was told that they do no such thing and that is a rule of the dealership and it would have to come from the dealership. On June 25th I called Acura and made an appointment to meet with the general manager, ****** ****** on Monday, June 29th at 1:00p.m. My daughter and I meet with Mr. ****** on the above mentioned date and explained to him everything that I stated above and he knew nothing of a rule that a name could automatically come off of a loan after nine months. My daughter then explained to Mr. ****** again that we were told when we purchased the car that my name would come off the loan after nine consecutive payments. My daughter then gave Mr. ****** the letter that wasn't on letterhead and he proceeded to ********’s office to address the issue. When Mr. ****** returned he had the same letter which was now put on a piece of regular 8.5" x 11" (not card stock paper) and was scanned into ********'s email to be put on the 8.5"x 11" regular paper with her header at the top of the paper. The letter was not signed nor dated as well. Mr. ****** then called ******** into the office with my daughter and me and asked her did she tell us that my name would come off the loan after nine months; she proceeded with "No" (which was a lie). ******** then stated that she said "after 8 to 24 months my name would come of the loan if payments were made on time". My daughter then turned to ******** and told her that she did not tell us anything about 8 to 24 months of payments then my name would come off of the loan. Mr. ****** then called ******** into the office with him, ********, my daughter and me and asked her what was said. ******** then told the original truth that my name would come off of the loan after nine consecutive payments and then refinanced into my daughter’s name. Mr. ****** then stated to me and my daughter that he still knew nothing of the sort pertaining to nine months and that he believed what ******** said about it being 8 to 24 months then refinanced in my daughter’s name before my name would come off the loan. We then ended the conversation and asked him to sign the letter and left. I found it very suspicious that after weeks leading into a month of asking for a simple statement on letterhead that was originally translated to us and for Acura to have told so many lies that it couldn't be done had now been able to miraculous be put on letterhead. Lies were constantly told to make a sale and I found the behavior very asinine.

Desired Settlement: I would like my name removed off of the loan and solely put into my daughter's name.

Business Response: This customer had poor credit when she arrived and was advised by her financial institution that a co-signer was required for her loan.  At no time did any member of Acura of Orange Park advise her or her father that we would help them get his name removed from the loan after 9 months.  Acura of Orange Park is not a financial institution and is not responsible for the servicing of this loan.  Our team did, however, advise this customer that, after 9 months, they might be able to work something out with their bank, but would need to call them to confirm.  We also advised the customer that she would have to take the time to build up her credit in order for that to be a possibility.  Acura of Orange Park does not guarantee anything regarding a customer and their financial institution of choice.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: As it was stated in my first complaint, it was told to me that my name would be removed off of the loan in 9 months.  Acura of Orange Park stated "Acura of Orange of Park is not a financial institution and is not responsible for the servicing of the loan".  I do understand who the financial company is however, I felt like Acura of Orange Park gave my daughter and I the run around.  After all we went through to get a statement of what was told to us by the sales agent as well as the financial officer they finally in the end put together a letter they copied and pasted from somewhere and gave it to us. If this was the responsibility of the financial institution (********) then they shouldn't have made that statement in order to make a sale, and it shouldn't have been a problem when I called ******** financial to get a copy of the previous statement on letterhead.  ******** specifically said that is something they don't handle and that statement should've have come from Acura of Orange Park.  So, where Acura of Orange Park came up with the statement of my name coming off of the loan; I don't know. Again, I am very disappointed in the service as to this situation alone!

Regards,

****** ******

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off my automobile from ********* *** on August 29th and cancelled my gap insurance on the same day. I have contacted 2 managers ******* and ****** at Acura I have also spoken to ***** who was over the ********* department. I also spoke to ******** in ********** at Acura. I have spoken to ********* *** and ****** (who had my Gap insurance). Everyone is telling me that the other companies are refunding me the money, yet no one knows where it is. Acura says ********* has to issue refund, ********* is saying that Acura has to issue refund. ****** is telling me that it was cancelled on Aug 28th and was mailed out. It is now October 21st and I still don't know where my money is. I paid my bill on time and in full and would like my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call and the status of my refund. I was told it would take 30-45 days and that time has passed. I would like a detailed statement on my charges and refund amount and I would like it immediately. There should be no reason why I do not have my refund check. It should be $3,000 and I do need the money.

Business Response:

Company's response below:

 

?Ms. *****,

I am writing you regarding the complaint Ms. ******** ******* has placed against Acura of Orange Park.

I have called ********* (************) and spoke with ***** in the ******** department. ***** explained that their company did not receive the cancellation notice until October 21st. From the time of cancellation it takes 8-10 weeks for their company to send out a check to the customer. This is *********'s product and they will be refunding Ms. ******* directly. She should receive the refund in another 4-6 weeks. 

Please let me know what other information you might need from us. 

Thank you!

***** ** *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not received my refund from Acura.  This is my problem.  I was advised from ********, with Acura ********** that they would send me a check for their portion of the refund.  Acura and ****** confirmed that.  Now, Acura is stating that they aren't goint to give me my refund.  Per *********, on October 23, 2014, I am supposed to get $1200 from Acura and $2000 from *********.  ********* has issued my check but Acura has not.  Per *********, they have already contacted Acura on October 21st, and that they should have issued my check on that day with their portion of the refund.

I also received a copy of an email from ******* **** to: *******, **** with a CC to:  ***** ***; *******, ******: Subject Final Notice # ******** on Wednesday, November 19th that someone was asked to resign if I did not remove this complaint.  It may only be $1200 but this my money and should already be paid and not be held.  I would appreciate your help in resolving this issue.  All I am asking for is my insurance refund that was cancelled in August. 

Regards,

******** *******

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2011, I purchased a Certified Used Vehicle from this dealership. During my negotiations with the ******** I was presented with a "clean car fax report" which in hindsight seemed to be incomplete. They agreed to repair damaged rims and provide a supplemental warranty which would extend beyond the certified warranty. The warranty paperwork I received from them states 7 years or 100K miles and this is how they presented the warranty. They also stated that anytime I wanted my oil changed a Loaner Vehicle would be provided. Fast forward about 2 years, I take my vehicle in to a ****** dealership as I was interested in possibly trading it in for a truck. The gentleman runs a car fax report which shows a very lengthy history including wrecks. He also shows me overspray in areas which in his words are clear indications that this vehicle was wrecked and Acura of Orange Park likely knew this. Present day, I am having an issue with one of my locks, I need an oil change and my rims are pealing again (they had already been repainted twice at no cost since). I first call to set up an appointment in which they state they no longer provide loaners for oil changes, they also state my warranty has expired and so has my third party warranty which I purchased through them(I have paperwork which disputes this). After speaking to the ******* ******* I set up an appointment and given a loaner. He promised to work with me to set things straight. After dropping my vehicle off. They state they will cover the lock and not cover the rim. They also state the 7 years that is referenced is from the in service date and not what they represented during the purchase. I arrive to pick my vehicle up. At the counter they state my brakes are low which I asked them to check and I need belts replaced. This seems a poor way to handle additional work. Most places call you while the car is in the shop to let you decide to do the work that day which helps to avoid going to the shop a second time.

Desired Settlement: Honor the warranty, fix the rims.

Business Response:

The vehicle was certified and the customer signed the certification and understands the agreement.  We are currently working with the customer to trade the vehicle for something else. 

 

 

***** ***

********* *********

******* ********** *****

Consumer Response:

I am not satisfied with the response as the certification warranty is not what I am referring to.  I am referring to the third party warranty which was presented to me as a warranty which will extend beyond the certified warranty as that was one of my concerns when I purchased the vehicle.  I expressed to the ******** I wanted a warranty which lasted more than a couple of years. 

Regards,

**** *****

3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2013 my wife and I purchased a new 2013 TSX Acura. As apart of the deal of purchasing the new TSX the dealership was suppose to pay our trade completely off. The dealership did pay the note off but did not pay it in time. As a result of that my credit has been affected dramatically. During this process i contacted the dealership several times to assure that the payment had been sent. The bank during this time stated that the dealership sent a check but it had insufficient funds and could not be processed. The dealership eventually got a check to the bank *****) and it was paid but late. I was told from the dealership that they had spoken with the bank and everything was cleared and my credit would not be effected. But they were wrong and my credit has been lowered from excellent to an F grade ( Fair). I was totally not in control of this and feel that the dealership was very lazy about there process and now have put my credit in jeopardy. Lastly, I have called the dealership three times asking for a manager or someone to call me back.. I have not received a call and probably will not be returning due to this event.

Desired Settlement: Would like my credit restored in a speedy manner. Also, would like a call from an executive from the dealership. In addition would like documentation sent via email that the process has been taken care of. Also, I feel that the dealership should offer some kind of compensation for my trouble. I have tried to purchase something with my credit and because of them was denied.. Not a good thing when you have always had excellence credit and never been late on a payment and you did not even do it.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****’s concerns.

Mr. ***** purchased the 2013 Acura on Saturday, July 27, 2013.  On Tuesday, July 30, 2013 a payoff check was issued and mailed to ** * *.   On August 16, 2013, we put a stop payment on the original check and reissued a second check.  The second check cleared our bank on August 29, 2013.  The time period between when the vehicle was purchased and when the second payoff check was issued was 20 days.   Please see attached documentation reflecting the dates indicated above.

We have contacted Mr. ***** and he has received documentation from **  * * indicating they have reversed the delinquent payment.  We will continue to communicate with Mr. ***** to confirm this situation is resolved and will work diligently to provide the level of service he deserves.

***** ********* 

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/7 Called Acura of Orange Park because I wanted a certified ILX. A competitor offered me the car I wanted in Black, however, I wanted a different color. I spoke with ******* ****** (sales) who said they had a grey certified ILX and would match price. Tried to schedule appt to view but was told it was at the collision center since it was a lease turn in (but not to worry it wasnt in an accident). 12/13 arrived for appt to view ILX: was told still @ collision center. 1 hr later they let me test drive the car - all airbag lights were on - was told they worked however they needed to reset them since the battery died. After negotiating/signing docs to purchase I was told I couldnt have the car because they wanted to make sure it was ok. Strange. 12/14 ******** called to say that I could have car on Mon. 12/16 Called ******* ******* who told me car would not be ready until later in the week. *At this point I pulled the CarFax on the car & realized it was in an accident and bags deployed & I was lied to. Called and spoke to 2 mgrs (********** who just tried to sell me a new car. 12/17 My issue escalated to ** ******. 12/18 Picked up my trade-in car from dealership and canceled deal. 12/21 Met & spoke with ** who offered to reduce price of car to apologize for misleading info during sales process. Said they needed a part; most likely I could have the car by 12/26 but at the latest 1/3. 1/3 Never heard from dealership, called 2x that day to find out when I could take delivery. ******** told me that I could come on 1/4 even though this was after latest date promised by *** Called ***left message never heard back. 1/4 Went to dealership who handed me keys to drive off. After speaking to multiple **** it became apparent the car was NEVER CERTIFIED. ******* *** informed me he needed to order MORE PARTS and I could probably have car Tues 1/7 & promised to call me Mon to touchbase. Mon 1/6 spoke to ***who told me he was no longer *** Filed complaint w/ Acura corp. 1/11 Still not heard nor received any calls

Desired Settlement: As of this day, I still haven't taken delivery of the car I purchased nor had any proactive communication with dealership. I have a payment due in less than 2 weeks. I would like Acura of Orange Park to give me a NEW ILX in Gray at the same price as I originally agreed to pay for the "certified" car as I am not sure this car sold to me can even be fixed, and I am concerned about the quality of their repairs since it has been 1+ month and all I ever hear is that they need to order more parts.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Subject: ******** - *******


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. and Mrs. *********

 

The original purchase of a 2013 Acura ILX has been cancelled and Mr. and Mrs. ******** have purchased a new Acura ILX from us.  We are pleased we have been able to resolve the situation to the customer’s satisfaction and look forward to many more opportunities to serve Mr. and Mrs. ********.

 

Please let me know if you have questions or need additional information.

 

Thanks.

 

***** *********

 

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 17AUG2010 I purchased a 2009 Chrysler 300 Touring(so I thought) from Acura of Orange Park. When I went to trade it in to purchase a 2013 model, it was discovered that the VIN # listed the car as a 2009 Chrysler 300 LX. On the back of the car, when I purchased it, listed the car as being an "300 Touring". The trade in value for the Touring with 83,000 miles is listed as $10,000. The trade in value for the LX is $7500. In addition, I also discovered that on the actual contract, it listed the car are being a Chrysler 300C. After discovering this, I went to Acura of Orange Part and spoke with Sales Manager "****" about the matter. She gave me an offer of $8,000 which is $2,000 less than a Touring model, $5,000 less than the 300C. After talking to ****, the General Manager came in the showroom and basically was giving me excuses about why the 300 C was on the contract(clerical errors), how they do the best they can when selling used cars(after telling them they sold me the car). The GM did admit it was their mistake but in my opinion what was offered was not satisfactory to me because I thought I had a Touring model. The G.M. asked what he could do to make it right, and I told him he could give me the remaining balance of what I owe on the car which was $3300 and I keep the car, or he could give me $10,000 for the trade in. The G.M. than mention about him only working there for a few months and the owner would not approve of him writing a check for the amount. When I offered to speak to the owner myself, the G.M. just brush me off and keep talking about the depreciation of the car and other things. After talking to the G.M. for about 45 minutes, I finally left the showroom without solving the issue at hand. All I wanted was to receive the trade in value of a Touring, which I thought I had and that they sold to me. Later that evening a customer service representative of the dealership called and after explaining what happen, she agreed that my offer was reasonable.

Desired Settlement: Due to the Management at Acura of Orange Park not wanting to seriously consider making what happened right and since I traded the 2009 Chrysler 300 at a loss,I feel that Acura of Orange Park should reimburse me at least $3,000 to recoup some of the payoff cost. Due to what I received for the trade as an LX and not a Touring, my car note is a little higher than I wanted it to be and I also had to come out of pocket $1,500 to try and adjust for some of that.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******’s concerns. 

 

We were in discussion with Mr. ****** about the vehicle and working towards a resolution.  Prior to resolution, Mr. ****** traded the vehicle at a different dealership.  His action has negated our opportunity to resolve the situation since the vehicle is no longer owned by Mr. ******.

Consumer Response: In response to Acura of Orange Park. It was stated in my original complaint that I did have a discussion with someone at Acura of Orange Park and as a result of that discussion I filed a complaint. Again, I spoke to the both the Sales Manager and General Manager. I was also contacted by a customer relations person and never received a follow-up call so in my opinion there were no pending discussions. Acura of Orange Park made it clear that they had no intentions on making it right. The discussion prior to me leaving Acura of Orange Park that day was Acura of Orange Park wanted me to trade my car with them and purchase another more expensive vehicle from them or either give me $8K for it. The dealer that I traded it to was already offering me $8K for it as an LX so to me they weren’t doing anything but offering to take it off of my hands as an LX and not addressing the fact that they misrepresented what they sold me originally. Honestly because of what they did, whether intentional or not, I did not nor would I ever buy another vehicle from Acura of Orange Park. They knew that I was going to trade it in because I told them that and I was hoping that they would make it right. That was the only reason why I went to them first. The fact remains, whether I traded the vehicle in or not, to them or another dealership, an error was made on the part of Acura of Orange Park for not selling me the vehicle I thought I had (300 Touring instead of a 300 LX). The General Manager said that they do the “best they can” when selling used cars and to me that’s admitting that there could have been an error made. I just feel like Acura of Orange Park should also be held accountable.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Orange Park
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)