BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2015

Farmers Septic Service, Inc.

Phone: (804) 725-9645Fax: (804) 725-1361125 Blue Crab Drive, MoonVA 23119 Send email to Farmers Septic Service, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2015

BBB has determined that Farmers Septic Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Farmers Septic Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Farmers Septic Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CONSIDERED SETTLEMENT

We are seeking the cost for the entire removal of our septic system, Clearstream 600NC3T, in question. This includes all mechanical components, drain lines, water lines, pumps, valves, control panel, switches. and entire tank. We are also seeking the entire cost of the proper re-installation of a completely "New" Clearstream 600NC3T septic system according to the engineered drawing by Mr. **** ******* which is on file at the Gloucester County Health Dept., in Gloucester Virginia. This system must be equal to or greater than the ******* already received by Farmers Septic Service, Inc., whom we are very dissatisfied in the quality of their expertise in the installation of septic system in question. This includes all mechanical components, drain lines, water lines, pumps, valves, control panels, switches and entire tank. We are also seeking the cost of the proper maintenance and web monitoring required by the Virginia Dept of Health in accordance with section 19-17(s)(IV). We are seeking the cost of any and all incidentals that may occur during the removal and re-installation process in this matter. Thank you for your time in the consideration of these requests.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the cost of any and all incidentals that may occur during the removal and re-installation process in this matter.

Business Response
Business Wrote:


This is in response to the complaint. Case #XXXXXXXX

First and foremost Farmers Septic Service Inc. never entered into a contract with the complainant for the installation of the septic system located at XXXXX ******** Farm *** Our company contracted with the builder. The builder was satisfied with the quality of work and paid for the installation. Our company has installed over a 100 septic systems for the builder since this installation. The installation cost for the septic system and ASDS agreement was considerably less that stated by the complainant. I have records but feel this is between our company and the builder at this point.

Secoondly the septic system at XXXXX ******** Farm ** is an "alternative septic system" which requires special care in the way it's used and maintained after installation. In order for the builder to get a permit for the alternative septic system they had to contract with a Professional Engineer(PE) to design it. Once the design was approved by VDH a construction permit was issued. That's when our company installed the system for the builder.

There is an "inspection process" when an alternative septic system is installed. Our company calls the local health department and lets them know when we are starting construction and when to complete construction, the PE is also notified. The PE that designed the system has to inspect the entire septic system and send a letter to VDH stating that the alternative septic system was installed in substantial compliance with his designs and specifications. VDH has to recieve his letter of approval before the county will issue an OP. The home can't be occupied until an OP is issued. All inspections were made, approved and on record.

The complainant did enter into a contract with Farmers Septic Service Inc. on October 13, 2011 for operation and maintenance. I have the maintenance records. This is the only contract we have with the complainant. Our records show outstanding invoices, invoice **** dated X-XX-XXXX in the amount of ******* and another invoice **** dated X-XX-XXXX in the amount of ****** totaling ******* not including interest. The invoices were for yearly service to the septic system. The complainant breeched the contract by not paying.

The complainant called out office in June 2015 and asked to have someone come out and pump her tank and see what was wrong there was effluent coming out of the top of the tank. We checked her account and found she had not paid us for 2 years. I told her we could not do any more work until the outstanding invoices were paid in full. She became very mad and threatening over the phone and said she was going to *** our company.

I appreciate the efforts of the BBB trying to settle this matter.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint.

***** S. ******
President
******'s Septic Service, Inc.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Soil Testing, Appliances - Installation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/12/2010Business started: 07/01/1987
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1998, VA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Allen S. Farmer (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Cathy R. Farmer (Secretary/Treasurer)Mr. Roy L. Farmer, IV (Vice President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Soil Testing, Appliances - Installation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Farmers Septic Service, Inc.

125 Blue Crab Drive

Moon, VA 23119

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 125 Blue Crab Drive 

    Moon, VA 23119(804) 725-9645
    Fax: (804) 725-1361

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Farmers Septic Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.