BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1978

Atlantic Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (757) 838-1036

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Numerous visits to home for same issue, involves substantial payment against limited income. Final paid service commitment remains unfulfilled.
Atlantic was the chosen service company against a strong reputation. However, with the alleged discovered discrepancy with the HVAC system, it took numerous visits to the home with each service requiring payment. The last known issue was with 3 possible leaks in the freon line. The technician left the home by stating the work is incomplete because he needs to verify with the office on the appropriate means of repair. The technician has not returned to the home nor have numerous calls to the office produced any results. I am unable to get past the female receptionist who is now being dismissive of my complaint of service. I have requested on numerous occasions a copy of the paid receipts (via fax or mail) and this has also gone unrecognized. My last known receipt is #XXXXXX dated 13 June 2013. They are failing to produce the pre-paid receipt for the 3 leak fix. My remedy is to, (a) Atlantic finish the service as paid for, or (b) refund the monies for lack of service. This is not an old system as it was installed under 5 years ago. I also do not care to be taken advantage of as an elderly person with limited income against an Atlantic solution of total system repair; costing thousands of dollars.

Desired Settlement
My remedy is to, (a) Atlantic finish the service as paid for, or (b) refund the monies for lack of service.

Business Response
To ***** *****
Thank you in advance for the assistance on this customers complaint. *** *******

On 6-6-13 **** ******** called us with a complaint of air conditioning not working. We sent serviceman out and found her ****** ***** of air conditioning unit and air handler had been installed by **** air conditioning was low on Freon and not cooling. We quoted her to recharge with Freon and dye to get her unit cooling and would return in about in about 30 days to find the leak, in the mean time we can check with ****** on the unit that **** put in because the installation was improper to see if they would cover us fixing under some type of warranty. The charge for that call was ******* On 6-13-13 she placed another call to us to say ac was not cooling we on that day found that **** had not put in a proper check valve on system when unit was installed by them. We turned off manually the heat valve so she would have cooling and checked the Freon again that day and it was ok. The charge that day was ****** and she had a ** dollar credit with us so she paid out of pocket ****** On 7-11-13 we went on the follow up visit to check Freon level and find leak with the dye that we had installed from 6-6-13 visit. Found multiple leaks on solder joints that were done by **** installation and also the coil inside attic showed signs of dye also.There was no charge for this call. ****** said that due to improper installation the unit could not be warranty for them to pay us for some other contractors poor installation and poor workmanship. **** ******** needs to call **** and have them fix the installation. It is not up to code and never was inspected and we have declined to be responsible to fix some other contractors improper workmanship.
*** *******
Atlantic Plumbing Heating and Ac.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water & Sewer Line Protection, Water Well Drilling Equipment & Supplies, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Sewer Pipe, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Electric Heating Elements, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Water Supply Systems, Water Companies - Utility, Natural Gas Companies, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Engineers - Mechanical, Air Duct Systems, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Gas Water Heaters, Water Heater - Tankless, Propane Gas Plumbing, Gas - Propane, Water Leak Detection, Heat Exchangers, Generators - Gas & Gas Logs, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating & Air Conditioning, Basement Waterproofing, Water Works Contractors, Water Main Contractors, Water Heaters - Repairing, Ventilating Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Contractor - Electrical, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.