BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2002

American Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (757) 428-0651

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was charged for faulty repairs and when I called them to come back and fix it - they told me that they didn't do warranty work at night.
I called them on Sunday night because I couldn't turn off my hot water in my tub. A plumber came out and did repairs and charged me ***** When I took my shower last night, I again couldn't turn off my hot water. When I called the plumber to come back and make the repairs right - he said they didn't do warranty work at night, but maybe could get someone out to my house in 2 hours. This wasn't warranty work - this was making right what I had already paid for. I ended up calling another plumber who was there in 10 minutes and the problem is now fixed but I have had to pay quite a bit to get it fixed like it should have been. I believe that American Mechanical should refund my money.

Desired Settlement
What I paid - *****

Business Response
We have reviewed the complaint and contacted the customer directly; we are hoping to resolve this complaint to the customer's satisfaction.

We do perform what we call "warranty work" at night-we guarantee our work for 30 days after the repair has been made, so long as the repair is directly related to the work we performed previously; we apologize that this was miscommunicated to the customer, and we have reviewed with the technician who was on call to ensure that we are communicating the correct information.

We were prepared to complete any necessary repairs to ensure that the homeowner's faucet was working properly, but unfortunately the technician was at another home in the process of making a repair when the call was received. The technician finished that repair and immediately went to the customer's home, where another plumber was already in the process of completing the repair. We would have completed the repair, free of charge.

We are anticipating a response from the customer and hope that they will call us in the office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, as we wish to perform the highest standard of service and always hope that we exceed our customers' expectations.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did speak with someone at the company and they have agreed to reimburse me for the repairs. According to the representative that I spoke with, they will be sending out a check to me in the next few days. I am sure they will follow through with the agreement to reimburse me. Thank you so much for assisting me in this matter.

05/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues
01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plummer/ Company failed to obtain plumbing permit for work being performed. Work performed would never pass inspection.
I contacted American Mechanical to complete the plumbing rough in on my house. I had extensive water damage to my property which required the removal of multiple walls, fixtures, and systems. American Mechanical sent out a crew that failed to obtain a permit, and did a poor job at meeting the agreed upon terms of the contract. The shower pan was installed directly on the wooden slat floor without the required pre-slope. Concrete pieces from the previous shower pan are rubbing up against the new rubber membrane. Almost guaranteed to leak!
The fixtures in both bathrooms, and kitchen have not been moved according to the spec sheet. I originally had copper going to all my fixtures; however, now I have plastic. No one asked me what I wanted to have installed. They just put together a bunch of plastic that may or may not stay together.
The tub fixture that did get installed was installed careless. There is solder dripping everywhere including below the drain hole in the floor. There is a significant amount of solder that melted to the vapor barrier in the crawl space. This was just installed 2 weeks prior by the demo company. Now it is ruined. Thanks American Mechanical for having me incur an additional expense of replacing the damaged Vapor Barrier again.

Desired Settlement
I would like the owner or manager to meet me at my residence so I can show them the damage his crew caused and the work that was performed. I do not want the crew that created the issues to return to my house. I do not want that crew to step foot on my property again, if they do I will consider it trespassing. They are no longer welcome on the property.

If American Mechanical is unable or unwilling to make things right with another crew then I request that the signed agreement be "null and void". If we are unable to agree upon these remedies then I will file a formal complaint with the ***** *********** ********** and the ***** ********** ********* ******

Business Response
Company Wrote:

******* *** 2015

RE: **** **************** *****)

Mrs Ware;

Regarding the complaint of this case#, Mr ***** had expressed to us from the beginning of his job that he was quite unhappy. With several attempts to meet with this customer, to discuss his concerns; he was somewhat un-cooperative with scheduling this appointment.

We have refunded all of ** *****'s money (via refund to his credit card), as he had asked that of us. Without being able to meet with this customer further to discuss the issues that he has notated, we felt it prudent to credit him back.

With various email transmissions between the customer *** *****) and the American Mechanical office; a resolution has been met. We find this to be a most unfortunate experience for both the customer and for American Mechanical, as we would like all of customers to have a good experience with us; but had tried to make the effort to resolve directly with him.

With this being said, there isn't anything at this point that we can do...Mr ***** has all of his money back; we did not charge him for any of the labor that had already been done and with our apologies, he can now move on with his plumbing project as he sees fit.

Please feel free too call our office with any further questions/concerns.

Sincerely

*** ********
****** *******

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Consumer Wrote:

Better Business Bureau
586 virginia Drive, Norfolk, VA XXXXX


This us a complaint against the Tidewater Firm "American Mechanical, Inc."

On September 18, 2013, a representative of American Mechanical illegally removed a good part form my kitchen sink without my knowledge and with the intent to permanently deprive me of the part.

The sink has two compartments. One is large. The smaller one has a disposal. The sinks had matching off-white baskets, with the logo "MA." The large sink is not used.

On September 18, 2013, water was not draining from either sink. I phoned American Mechanical, Inc. and requested their services.

A representative of the above firm arrived, He signed the ***** bill **********

After ***** left, I saw that he had removed the metal part which had been permanently installed in the bottom of the large sink and replaced it with a stainless steel basket assembly. This is the sink which is not used.

Now one basket is off-white. The other basket is stainless steel.

Obtaining matching basket assemblies may cast **********


****** ** *******

Business Response
On 10/3/2013, we followed up with the customer as we do with all of our individual (not property manager) customers. We discussed the matter with him then and offered a partial refund for the service, which he did not want at the time. At the end of the call during which we offered the partial refund, he seemed to be satisfied with our response.

We received the complaint letter and followed up with the customer again on 12/19/2013. We offered to replace the part with a matching part (if possible-the part is extremely old), and only charge the customer for the part and not the labor.

The customer let me know that he would like to purchase the part on his own and will be calling to schedule the service for us to come out. He let me know that he is satisfied with our follow up and will be calling in the near future.

07/26/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/09/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Electric Heating Elements, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Bio Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Contractor - Electrical, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Mechanical Contractors, Electricians - Residential, Air Duct Systems, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Water Heater - Tankless, Fans - Household, Bathroom Remodeling, Landscape Lighting, Generators-Installation & Service, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Leak Detection, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Electricians

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.