BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

Madison Jewelers

Phone: (757) 200-0609Fax: (757) 313-9144

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On -7-19-11 I paid Madison Jewelers,in **** ********** ***** ** *** ** XXXXX ******* ***** ******* ****** **** ******** for repair of my Rolex Watch.On 2-6-12,I brought it back, it was not working again I picked it up and paid another ***** I have a little doubt because the watch in not in correct time and date I made sure of the warranty she wrote it down two years, and she told me the watch will be okay as soon as I used it all the time . For few months I have to correct the timeevery three or four days and the following months I have to correct it every two to three days,on the following months, I have to correct the time every day, and A Rolex don't work like that so decided to bring it back on 11-14-13, it's under my two years warranty. He called me back,1-2-14 saying I have to pay another **** because my warranty expired. It will expire in 2-6-14.
Product_Or_Service: ***** ****
Order_Number: ***
Account_Number: ***

Desired Settlement
Refund my money they could not do the job anyway.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** - *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@cox.net
Wednesday, January 08, 2014 *** ****** XXXXXXXX

Dear Sirs,

This letter is a response to the complaint given to the BBB by *** ******* ********** ******** concerning her Rolex watch model XXXXX ****** # LXXXXXX.

Note: This was not a watch purchased from Madison Jewelers.

A PDF document of all transactions is enclosed with this response.

*** ******** brought in her Rolex to be repaired and was given an estimate of ******* which included a full service and to set and fit a new third wheel and a clutch. The repair was agreed upon and picked up on 07/19/2011 for the cost of ******** This service comes with a two year warrantee for parts and labor.

On 01/23/2012 *** ******** brought the watch back and we determined that the watch had probably been dropped as the oscillating weight axel was broken and due to the fact she just had the watch serviced with us we would do the repair at our cost to replace the broken part plus our round trip shipping which was ******** This broken part was not part of the original service and therefore not under warrantee. She agreed and picked the watch up on 02/06/2012.

On 11/14/2013 *** ******** brought the watch in again stating it was repaired in February of 2012 and she expected the watch to be repaired at no charge. We took it in and stated we would send it off to see what the problem was. We then got the estimate back that it needed to be serviced at a cost of ******* not the ******* she stated in her complaint. She called back and spoke to a new employee who was unfamiliar with her and the watch so he referred her to me. I looked all the information up and called her to discuss the watch and the repair estimate. While on the phone with *** ******** it was very difficult to get a word in edgewise and I was unable to make her understand that the repair on the oscillating weight axel was not part of the original repair which came with a two year warrantee and thus the watch was indeed out of warrantee with regards to the full service delivered on 07/19/2011. I tried to talk to her and let her know we would be willing to do the full service on the watch at a reduced cost of ******* but could not get her to stop fussing at me and insisting that we have to give her the repair for free under the two year warrantee from when she picked up the ******* repair. It got to the point where I really could not get her to stop talking and let me have time to speak. Then she started telling me that she had all her paperwork and that she was going to report me to the BBB if I did not give her the service for free. I had to finally tell her we had all the same paperwork and that I was okay with her reporting us as we have a great rating with the BBB and I really just had to tell her that if she did not give me a minute to talk I was going to respectfully hang up on her. After several attempts to tell her this I did have to just hang up on her.

She then came in a day later to pick up her watch, but as our watch maker is located in ********* ** we are having it shipped back to the store not repaired. We will contact *** ******** when her watch returns.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why should I not get it for free, when it is
repaired in 2-6-12 and the warranty will expire
on 2-6-14 and I need a full service again. I just
need my watch back I probably don't understand
what their meaning of warranty is?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail & Online, Jewelry Findings, Jewelry Engravers, Jewelry Designers, Jewelry Castings, Jewelry Buyers, Diamond Buyers, Appraisal - Jewelry , Jewelry Repair, Jewelry Polishing & Plating, Buyers-Unwanted Gold & Silver, Gavels, Internet Diamond Sales, Diamonds, Jewelry Manufacturers, Diamond Setters, Diamond Cutters

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.