BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2008

Air Conditioning Specialists

Phone: (757) 558-9122Fax: (757) 558-1789View Additional Phone Numbers2618 Airline Blvd., PortsmouthVA 23701-2304 Send email to Air Conditioning Specialists

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2008

BBB has determined that Air Conditioning Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Conditioning Specialists' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Air Conditioning Specialists

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The company refuses to provide me with documentation of repair made to my air conditioning system.
My unit is under warranty and was not working properly. I called the office, and a technician was sent out to assess the problem on May 8, 2015. We were told a part needed to be ordered. When it came in they came out to complete the repair on May 13, 2015. The technician put the part on and after four hours he was unable to get the system work properly. He called another technician out and the after a short period the system was functioning well. They did not leave an explanation or paperwork describing what the original problem was. I called the office the next day to inquire what was wrong with the unit. After all, it is only three years old and expensive, but I understand mechanical systems are not indestructible and things happen. I wanted to know exactly what went wrong, possible reasons it went wrong, and if there was anything I could do to prevent it from happening again. ********* told me they do not leave invoices or paperwork when repair is covered under warranty. Only the manufacturer gets a copy of the issue. She read to me the notes left by the technician on the work completed. She continued to tell me, over and over, that I did not have to pay for anything, it was all under warranty. I attempted to explain I wanted documentation for my own records if and when the same problem or a new problem occurred. She told me she would have to speak to an owner to determine if I was allowed to have such documentation. Through emails over the last MONTH, I have still not received any information specifying what was wrong with my unit or what repair was completed. The only thing I received was a paper stating
"May 8, 2015 Customer called-was blowing warm air"
"**** ** went to property and diagnosed problem"
"May 13, 2015 Returned to property and repaired problem with system diagnosed on May 8, 2015."
They have made a very simple request into something ridiculously difficult. I don't think my request is unreasonable. I only want to know what was wrong and how it could be avoided if possible for future reference. I don't pretend to understand the workings of this system, I'm not trying to build my own air conditioner, I just want to know what was wrong with the one for which I paid. If I took my new car to the dealership with a problem covered under warranty, they would give me a work slip stating what they did, whether I owed anything or not. A doctor would not treat me and refuse to tell me what was wrong even though my insurance paid for everything. I would get discharge instructions or they would write it down if I asked.
I am, now, baffled why this has turned into this. I have to wander what happened that they are so reluctant to put on paper? Again a very simple request. And if I get documentation, will it be falsified or the truth?
I let this drag out for a month because I have always had great customer service. The work has appeared to be acceptable, staff has always been pleasant and accommodating, and things have been done in a timely and professional manner. I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt. Surely they were busy, something like this was not in need of immediate attention, but one month? It's become silly. On June 1, 2015 the last email I received stated that **** ***** will be giving you a call later this week to discuss" No further emails or a phone call has been received. Its great to know this is important.

Desired Settlement
I would like a copy of the technicians work detailing the repair and parts completed on my unit and an explanation of how this broke, if there is anything I can do in the future to prevent it, and the likelihood of this happening again.

Business Response
June 25, 2015

Better Business Bureau
586 Virginian Drive
Norfolk, VA XXXXX

Re: ********* ****
**** ********* ****
*********** ** XXXXX
***** - ***************
****** - XXXXXXCC4F

To Whom It May Concern:

I've attached an invoice detailing two service calls for *** **** from May 8 and May 13, 2015. There was a mechanical problem with the heat pump belonging to *** **** at the referenced address requiring us to order parts and to return when they came in from the supplier to replace the failed parts. Our company policy is not to leave warranty invoices as our accounting software tied in to our technician's iPad lists only 'Acowin Invoice' with no other details. We see the detail in the vendor file, which is simply the invoice number with a date and a dollar amount as well as a credit memo number with a dollar amount for the return of the failed parts once the repair is successfully made.

I apologize for the frustration experienced by *** **** and her having to contact the BBB for resolution. Due to the heat we've had since mid May and the number of customers with cooling problems, my husband (owner and President) has been out of the office and in the field. I needed his assistance in completing this information. I am not as familiar with the components of the equipment and did not feel comfortable providing *** **** with details I 'thought' may be correct. Today is the only day he has been in the office since the 15th of June.

Please contact me at ****** or ************ if you need additional information or have questions. I am in and out of the office but if you have questions or concerns, let me know. I'll return the call / email as soon as possible.


****** *****
Vice President / Co-Owner

02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/09/2004Business started: 03/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR-Dept. of Professional & Occupational Regulation
9960 Maryland Dr. Ste. 400
Richmond, VA 23230
(804) 367-8511

BBB records show a license number of 2705097301 for this company, issued by DPOR-Dept. of Professional & Occupational Regulation. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2017.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 2003, VA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Allan S. Smith (President)Mrs. Christina Smith (Vice President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Air Conditioning Specialists, Inc.
Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Conditioning Specialists

2618 Airline Blvd.

Portsmouth, VA 23701-2304

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2618 Airline Blvd. 

    Portsmouth, VA 23701-2304(757) 558-9122
    (757) 337-3474
    Fax: (757) 558-1789
    Fax: (757) 558-1789

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Conditioning Specialists is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (757) 337-3474

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.