BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

FIG Stores

Phone: (800) 380-9344

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
08/23/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waited 6 weeks, never received sofa. They missed 3 scheduled delivery dates. I filed a claim with *****
I ordered a sofa from Fig Stores Online website on 3-23-13,on 5-1-13 I filed a claim with **** to get a refund because I still had not received the sofa. Fig Stores missed 3 scheduled delivery dates in April and repeatedly lied to me about the status of my order. They falsified documents to say that:
1. I rejected a delivery
2. That it was a special order
Both of these claims by Fig Stores are TOTAL LIES! Never did I reject a delivery and the sofa was not a special order, no changes were made to it in any way. Fig Stores committed fraud when they submitted false records to ***** On July 3, 2013 **** awarded them the payment even though I never received the sofa. I have lost all faith in Fig Stores and their products. They are unethical people and have unethical business policies that remove all rights from the buyer. I have emails and voice messages from ***** ******* in shipping that state different delivery dates and offers of upgraded shipping because of their mistakes. I requested this order be canceled before it was shipped because it did not ship on time. I was repeatedly told that it had shipped and therefor I could not cancel...only to find out days later that it still had not shipped. Again, I have emails from ***** ******* stating it had shipped, when it had not. On July 2, 2013 I spoke with ***** ******** he tried to get me to schedule another delivery for the sofa, I explained that waiting over 3 months was unacceptable and that I wanted my money back that they have had since March 23, 2013....he said that would not be possible. At this point they have stolen ******** from me and wasted months of my time.
Order #XXXXXXXXX
Order Date:3-23-13
Item # NU-XX-XXXB
Payment Amount ********
Payment Method: ********* ***** ****

Desired Settlement
I paid ******** on March 23, 2013 for a sofa that I never received. I am requesting the full amount of ******** to be refunded to me.

Business' Initial Response
The customer is correct in that the order was made on our website at midnight of the 23rd of March as the attached order confirmation will show. The customer's order is in fact a custom order because after it is processed the manufacturer has to build it. That is why the product was not ready until 15th of April to ship. If it was an item that was in stock and sitting in a warehouse we would have been able to ship it immediately. On March 27th we sent an email to the customer letting them know that we estimated to have their order ship out from the manufacturer between the dates of 4/8 to 4/10, and made it clear that it was the best "estimate" we had at that time. Based on the response of the customer, we believe that they misunderstood the dates given to be delivery dates, which caused them to be frustrated. However, the Customer service policy that had to be agreed to at the time of purchase, and is attached, clearly states that all time periods given in our shipping estimates are estimates only; they are not binding. We don't have that in there to give us an immediate out in any shipping difficulty, but FIG Stores is at the mercy of the production of its manufacturers, and unforeseen delays can occur at any time beyond our control. That is why dates given are clearly given as estimates. The FIG Stores customer service policy is not there to take away the rights of our customers, but is there to inform them and provide transparency in how our Shipping, Cancellations, Deliveries, and Returns are performed. Before completing the order online, the customer had to agree to the customer service policy of their own free will. Every business operates this way. The customer stated that they waited 3 months to receive the order, however, this is incorrect as the tracking information attached clearly shows that the distribution center was trying to set up a delivery appointment on 4/23. That is only one month after the purchase date not 3 months as the customer stated. The issue with delivery at this point was that the customer kept requesting a future delivery time because they had difficulty finding an opening in their schedule. So our shipping department got authorization for the delivery company to perform the delivery after normal business hours and upgraded the customer to the highest level of delivery for free due to the difficulties they were experiencing. This delivery appointment set up by FIG Stores was the only one ever made. The customer never set up delivery appointments themselves. Tracking shows that the delivery company attempted to set up one multiple times. However, the delivery did not occur according to the customer because they never showed up. The distribution center then made contact with them again to try for another day and the customer rejected setting up a delivery appointment. The customer then requested a refund of their order and FIG Stores was willing to do that in accordance with our Customer Service Policy. Our shipping department spoke to the customer multiple times and tried to find a resolution that pleased the customer that involved the delivery of the items they purchased, but the customer refused.

Consumer's Final Response
I received the check from Fig Stores on August 21st, 2013, it was mailed on August 16th, 2013. However, I WAS NOT NOTIFIED THAT IT HAD BEEN MAILED. Another lie by the ***** in *** people.

Business' Final Response
Hello,

In regards to this customer, after meetings and discussions we have decided that once her credit card ************** has closed the dispute we will refund her 100% of her money back only if they(********** ********* & her husband) removes the reviews she has left on all of the different forums and review places. We will only do this after we have received an email from the customer stating that they will remove all feedback left in the online review forums and we have verified this has been completed. We agree to at that point refund the customer 100% of her transaction with no fee's applied. We cannot as of now refund the customer though due to the chargeback that was filed. ****** and the customers credit card company are in communication and the chargeback is in dispute standing. We do not have this customers money as of now due to the Chargeback and neither does the customer have her money. If the customer agrees to do what is stated here then we agree to refund her 100% of all her money. We can both learn a lesson from this experience and both improve how we handle these situations in the future as a business and as a consumer. Please let the customer know to notify us as to whether she would like to accept this offer or not.

06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2014Delivery Issues
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2014Delivery Issues
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/31/2014Delivery Issues
03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail and Online

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.