BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/2004

Lumber Liquidators, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 366-4204Fax: (757) 259-72923000 John Deere Road, ToanoVA 23168 Send email to Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/2004

BBB has determined that Lumber Liquidators, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

All Locations are BBB Accredited
Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Lumber Liquidators, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Government action(s) against business.

Factors that raised Lumber Liquidators, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 929 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

929 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 288 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues93
Billing / Collection Issues9
Delivery Issues48
Guarantee / Warranty Issues132
Problems with Product / Service647
Total Closed Complaints 929

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 20
Total Customer Reviews 22 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (929)
05/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased hardwood floors and they also installed the floors in 10/14 they began to buckle-Lumber Liquidators on Raleigh Blvd in Raleigh, NC
I originally filed a complaint with the BBB some months ago, but I had to recover my purchasing information. date purchsed on 8/20/2014 $878.27 and $120.013 with my check card. The floors were installed in October 2014 by Lumber Liquidators. I paid the serviceman an addistional sum. And I'm 79 years old and have been ill while out of town. The floors continue to buckle and I request that the floors be installed correctly. As I hear, because the surface is concrete the panels require glue to avoid buckling. Whatever the resolution I want the floors restored and to receive the service I paid for.

Desired Settlement
Either a full refund or restored floors. I'm also afraid I may trip and fall.

Business Response
*** ******** thank you for contacting Lumber Liquidators regarding your concerns.

Based on the information you provided your concerns have been submitted to the Customer Care department for further review. You will be receiving and email regarding this matter as to how to proceed.

Thank you for your understanding.

Best,

******
Warranty Specialist

Consumer Response
I did not hear from the Lumber Liqidators as of today to resolve this issue. Please reopen the file.
Contact information

Cell-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Home-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Cell-XXX-XXX-XXXX-Daughter ***** *************
******************@aol.com

My daughter is also permitted to handle this issue.

Thank you


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I just sent the disclosure form and photos as instructed.

Final Business Response
*** ********

Thank you for submitting your photos and general disclosure statement. ******** has been notified that you have submitted this information. Once she has reviewed it, she will contact you. Thank you for your patience as we work toward a resolution.

Sincerely,

*******
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective material
We purchased morningstar ***** City ****** floor from Lumber Liquidator. After delivery was made we opened packages to let a floor to aclimate for 14 days before we started to install floor. When installation started we discovered, that about *** of floor planks are defective. There are small and large holes and cuts in the floor planks.We halted installation and contacted a customer service try to resolve the issue. After multiple phone calls, we finally have heard back from customer service representative. We filled out all the forms they required, but we are unable to get answer back from them. We keep hearing, that they need more time.

Desired Settlement
we would like to get non defective planks so we can finish our floor installation.

Business Response
Good afternoon Ms. *****,

Thank you for contacting us. We regret to learn that you are experiencing concerns with your flooring and contacting your assigned Customer Relations Specialist. Your comments and concerns will be added to your existing case file and we will notify your assigned representative and ask her to reach out to you as soon as possible with any information that she has available to her at this time. We appreciate your patience as we work towards a resolution for your flooring concerns.

Sincerely,

Janée
Warranty Services


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nobody is reaching out to us.

Final Business Response
Mr. and Mrs. *****:

Thank you for contacting us. According to our records, you received a courtesy store credit for the value of your flooring. This store credit was processed in our system on April 13, 2016 and is ready for use at any of our ****** ********** stores. This credit may be used at your convenience either in one transaction or in multiple transactions. Thank you for your patronage of ****** ************

Sincerely,

The Warranty Department
****** ************ Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought flooring from lumber liquidators on February 6,2016. There was a cancer concern about the flooring products they have from china. I want to take the products back, but they said there was a restocking fee for returns after 30 days. I contacted them on Friday, February 26th, told them I wanted my money back and I was bringing back the flooring. They insisted that I had to pay a restocking fee. If the product was safe, I would not have to return it. There are others that have the same situation. The flooring is still in the trailer we picked it up with. I want to return the flooring and get a full refund from them.
Product_Or_Service: Laminant flooring
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my full 4,204.39 dollars back, give them back there flooring and have no more contact with them.

Business Response
Mr. *******,

Thank you for contacting us. We have contended from the beginning that the media reports regarding our Chinese laminates are unfounded and have created unnecessary fear in the public. We have done the required CARB testing and are certain our products are all safe. In researching your flooring order the laminate flooring that you purchased was not sourced from China as Lumber Liquidators proactively suspended sales of all laminate flooring sourced from China in May of 2015. The vinyl flooring that you purchased, while sourced from China, are not made in the same manner as laminate flooring and does not contain the resins used to hold the MDF core board together.

Please refer to our return policy printed on the last page of your invoice which states the following:

"Returns/Exchanges: Exchanges are permitted within 30 days of product receipt without restocking fee. Returns are subject to approval and 20% restocking fee (no restocking fee for moldings, trim, and tools) and must be made within 30 days of product receipt. Returns or exchanges are not permitted on (a) opened boxes or special orders unless product is defective, (b) close-outs, odd lots, final sales, special deals, or clearance items for any reason, or (c) tools without original receipt. Product must be in original condition and have been properly stored."

As it appears from your correspondence that the store is willing to accept the return, per the return policy there will be a 20% restocking fee. While we certainly understand your concern we must point out that your purchased laminate and vinyl flooring were not involved in the allegation and no concessions will be made outside of what the store has offered you. Your invoice has been attached for your records and can be used for making the return if you choose to do so. However the only way to not incur a restocking fee when making your return would be to accept a store credit.

Sincerely,

*****
Warranty Services

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would rather take back the products I have, but your restocking fee is just a result of a bad judgement on my part to purchase your product in the first place. I will not be giving a positive feedback to anyone that asks about your products or your way of doing business. I am glad I was not one of the unfortunate ones to already have your product from china already installed in a new home. By doing business with china, your integrity and good standing has been compromised forever in the future of your business.

03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last year in 2015, I saw the news reports about the amount of formaldehyde levels in some their laminate flooring. I purchased laminate flooring from Lumber Liquidators back in January of 2014, so this news broadcast was a concern of mines. I called the local store to inquire if my flooring was one of the ones with concerns. The man who answered gave me a website to go on to get a testing kit along with my order number. I did just that and received the testing kit. I did the test and dropped the kit into the mail. The test kit goes to a lab called ED Laboratory directly. I mailed it off on May 2, 2015. To this day, I have yet to receive any information regarding my floors. Every time I call the lab, they read a script saying that they can take my information and someone will be in contact with me, without even taking the test kit id number. I also called Lumber Liquidators Customer Care department at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, because this is where the local store told me to call concerning issues with the test. I called last week on February 25, 2016 at 6:56 pm and spoke with ********* She advised me that they have been backed up with calls but **** is the one who handles the testing kit issues. ******** took all of my information along with my order numbers. ******** did state that there is no case number on file with me. But we figured out it was because I had not spoken to anyone in customer care yet. To back up just a bit, I had also filled a report on Lumber Liquidator's website about my issue and test results. I received a generic email back that basically told me the website to go on to order a testing kit. So whom ever received my email obviously did not read it. A week has past and I just called Lumber Liquidators and left a voicemail message for Asia, and I called the lab and they offered the same thing, to take my information and someone will get back to me. Please help. The flooring they are talking about can be linked to higher rates of cancer. I just want to know my results.
Product_Or_Service: laminate flooring
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want to know the results of my test kit so I can determine if my floor is safe for my family and I, and if not, what their plan is to correct the problem and replace my floors.

Business Response
Mrs. ******,

Thank you for contacting us. We sincerely apologize for the delay in the receipt of your test results. Your comments and concerns will be forwarded to **** and the management team so that your results can be located and expedited to you. We would like to extend our apologies to you again as we understand the severity of your concerns.

Regards,

*****
Warranty Services

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response because that was all I wanted from the beginning, actual test results. I do not agree with the way I had to go about to get this information. There definitely need to be some sort of organization so that this does not continue to happen to customers. Anything that could harm your family's health is a big deal and should be handled expeditiously as possible. Almost a full year should not have to go by before results are given and it should not take a complaint being filed to get that simple task done. Thank you BBB because without you, I seriously doubt that I would ever have received my air test kit results.

03/03/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My flooring was purchased at Lumber Liquidators in May 2015. The flooring started to come apart and chipping. We took the floor up in October 2015 we started again the same issues with breaking and chipping and seams not sticking. I called and paper work was emailed to me and I faxed in the paper work. The first time I called they had received my paper work, but no case was found when I first called in to have a claim put in. My second call of course the case manager I thought was mine ,was no longer assigned a new case a new case manager. She was not in. No supervisor to assist me. Now mind you, this case is going on two weeks now. This case should have been handled within 24 -48 hours. This is still on going. I can do nothing else in my kitchen as far as remodeling untiI my floor gets done. I am not at all happy with Lumber Liquidators at this time.
Product_Or_Service: Click flooring
Order_Number: 125178266

Desired Settlement
I would prefer a full refund back on this flooring. I prefer no store credit.

Business Response
*** ******,

Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for the confusion regarding your case file. Your comments and concerns have been recorded and attached to your file. ********, who was assigned your original case file, will be your point of contact moving forward as your returned Disclosure Statement and photos have been attached to the first file. She has been advised of the return of your paperwork and will be in contact with you shortly.

Regards,

*****
Warranty Services

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not choice in th I s matter. I have to wait for answer from the board at Lumber Liquidators. This is open

Final Business Response
*** ******:

Our records show that ******** is your assigned Customer Relations Specialist. Our Customer Care Department was established to address customer concerns and is the best avenue to address and resolve your complaint. We encourage you to follow-up with ******** regarding resolution at your earliest opportunity. You may reach ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ***** She will be happy to go over all the information with you and address any questions that you have. In the meantime, we will notify ******** that you are waiting to be contacted.

Sincerely,

*******
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I took their offer only because the length of time this would take. I am only receiving half the cost. I feel this I s is unnecessary and they will not send out inspection person to my home. Instead I have to package it up and fed x will pick it up an the it goes to to inspection. I feel that th uhh s is no w a y to do business and still feel that lumber liquidators is a bad company to do business with. Thank you for your assistance.

Page 1 of 48
05/16/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted LL on numerous attempts to resolve my issues immediately, sadly it is 2 months later and I still do not a resolution from them. To begin I had laminate flooring installed in my home for the entire downstairs (kitchen, living room, bathroom) last year and have never had ANY side effects. I purchased LL laminate flooring on 12/29/15 and had it installed on 12/31/15 in my daughter's bedroom (which looked beautiful and we loved it) although we began getting sick that same week. By the next week my lungs was filled with fluid, coughing, sneezing, couldn't breathe, had headaches and had to have a nebulizer treatment because I couldn't breathe properly and put on Prednisone because my lungs were in distress (which I have NEVER had prior). My daughter was suffering from extreme fatigue, nose bleeds, headaches, coughing, sneezing, trouble with breathing as well. We both had to visit the doctors due to being ill and not getting better. This was not allergies, this was respiratory problems which I have never suffered. I never smoked. The doctor diagnosed it with being a airborne disease which could only have come from having the new flooring installed. I contacted the store I made my purchase from, with no recourse there was directed to handle this with customer care. I e-mailed customer care 5 times and called numerous times with no response to my complaint. I know it was the flooring because as soon as it was removed from my house we both felt better instantly. I had to pay to have the flooring installed and removed, my complaint as an consumer is for a full refund on merchandise we were not able to use. I would have loved to keep this flooring as stated previously because it looked gorgeous in her room but we could not have gotten better if we opted keep it.
Product_Or_Service: 12/29/2015
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund on merchandise. I only had it for 2 months and have been going through so much since then. I am left with the financial burden to rectify this situation.

Business Response
Ms. ****,

Thank you for contacting us and bringing these concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you have been experiencing health issues. According to our records there is a case file in the system for you. We will reach out to your assigned Customer Relations Specialist to have her review the information received so far. You will receive an additional email which will include the contact information for your Specialist along with a disclosure form which will need to be completed, signed and returned via the outlets provided. We truly appreciate your patience as we work to provide you with a resolution.

Sincerely,

*****
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I want resolution for this situation as quickly as possible. I am still going to the doctor and specialist for my health issues. None of these symptoms occurred until we installed this laminate flooring in my home. I'm 45 years old and have NEVER had breathing issues in my life. This has been a HORRIBLE experience with my health and the way Lumber Liquidators has handled this situation thus far!

04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 7-8 boxes of laminate flooring from the Fairfield, NJ location which is not holding up. It is suppose to be pet and kitchen friendly, not
The store personnel recommended this product for my kitchen and said it was pet friendly. I use laminate cleaning products for up keep and the floor is peeling and it just looks terrible and I have not had for even three years. I purchased this on 11/30/2012 at the Fairfield, New Jersey Store. My floor is a sheer embarrassment, it has to be replaced.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete refund. $472.38

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******,

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with your flooring. Our Customer Care team is vehicle we have place to investigate any potential product issues. We have assigned your concern to a Customer Relations Specialist who will look into your product concern.
You will receive an additional email which will include the contact information for your Specialist along with a disclosure form which will need to be completed, signed and returned via the outlets provided. We truly appreciate your patience as we provide you with resolution.

Sincerely,

*******
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I should have followed my instinct and walked out of the store and listened to the second salesman that said I should go to Home Depot or Lowes. Now I have to go through hoops and hurdles to get my money back for a product that is not even three years old professionally installed with a 30 year Warranty.

04/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order with Lumber Liquidator (LL) agent for 3/8?x3 North Bay Oak engineered floors. The wood was discounted, but labelled as Natural (standard) grade. At the time of installation, the installer brought to my attention that approximately 70% of boards have defects, such as discoloration, surface damage or length that is less than 1-1.5 inch. Please note that the mill grade (Natural, Rustic, etc.) is routinely included in a label on a box, but this portion of the label was intentionally removed from the boxes that have been sold to me. I had to cancel an installation and filed a report to LL. In response to my concern LL stated that Odd Lot was sold to me and the sale was final.
Product_Or_Service: Lumber Liquidators
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a refund of $576.30.

Business Response
Good morning Ms. ********,

Thank you for contacting us and bringing these concerns to our attention. According to our records your assigned Customer Relations Specialist has been notified and will review your case file further. Please allow your assigned representative 3-5 business days to reach out to you.

Sincerely,

*****
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sick with flu like symptoms. Ear aches, sore throat, stuffy head and headache. Chills. Constantly going to Doctors. I feel good for a few days and then I'm sick all over again.

Desired Settlement
Find out if this is defective wood from China. It states on box: Product of China

Business Response
Ms. *******:

To reassure our customers, we are providing indoor air quality testing at no cost to qualifying customers as the fastest, most effective way to measure the total level of formaldehyde in the home. The home test kits are being provided as a step for customers with our laminate floors to help reassure them that their floor as installed is safe.

The testing is being administered and the results produced by an independent, accredited lab. The customer is in control of the process, with clear instructions on the test and its results. We will conduct an in-depth evaluation of air quality and potential formaldehyde sources for any customer whose results are inconclusive or above established thresholds. Our customer care team will work with our valued customers throughout the process.

Please fill out the form found at the link below to determine if your floor qualifies for the free test kit. If your floor does qualify, you will be walked through the process of ordering the test via an independent lab.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

We comply with all applicable testing and certification requirements regarding our products, including our laminates. We take numerous steps above and beyond what the law requires so that our customers get safe and high quality products. We believe our quality assurance and compliance processes are among the most advanced and thorough in the industry. We do not sell products that do not satisfy our own internal testing. If a product or supplier does not pass, we will not purchase or sell the product from the supplier.

We stand by every single plank of wood and laminate we sell all around the country and will continue to deliver the best product at the best price.

Sincerely,

*******
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

04/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased approximately 1400 sq. feet of Morningstar Bamboo from lumber liquidators - Williston, VT location in August of 2015. I had the flooring installed by a reputable and professional installer in October 2015. All installation was completed according to the guidelines in the provided instructions. In December 2015 my flooring started to shrink and separate, causing the locking mechanism to break. The floor has shrunk so much that my baseboard moulding no longer covers the edges. The flooring has a 30 year warranty but the company is stating my flooring issue is not covered. The company will no longer accept my phone calls or return my messages. I have over $10,000 dollars invested between purchasing the product and installation costs. I have done some research on this flooring and their are many other consumers having the same problem I am experiencing. Thank You for your time.
Product_Or_Service: Morningstar Bamboo flooring
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the company to stand behind their product. Lumber Liquidators need to resolve this matter by doing one of the following:1. Reimburse me for the cost of the flooring plus the money I paid in labor, or2. Credit me the cost of the floor so I could purchase a better quality flooring from them and also the cost of installation.

Business Response
Hello Mr. *******,

Thank you for reaching out to us. As noted in the Disposition letter sent to you on March 3rd, 2016, our investigation of your concern concluded that your gapping issue is not the result of a manufacturing defect. Your flooring is naturally hygroscopic, as such it will expand and contract while absorbing and dissipating moisture. The source of this moisture imbalance is usually relative humidity or subfloor moisture; and when the relative humidity drops gapping can occur.

Because gapping is typically not a manufacturing issue, we generally do not commission 3rd party inspections. However, in the interest of resolving your continual concern, we have asked ****** (the rep assigned to your file) to request a 3rd party independent flooring inspection company to contact you and set up a date/time to inspect your floor. The inspection company should be in contact within the next 48-72 business hours. Once the inspection has taken place the inspection company will forward the inspector's findings to us for our consideration. This process normally takes 10-15 business days to conclude, so we appreciate your patience as we work to resolve your concern.

Best regards,

******
Warranty Specialist
Lumber Liquidators Inc

Page 1 of 139

Industry Comparison| Chart

Floors - Hardwood, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Floor Materials - Retail

Additional Information

top

According to information provided by the company, the name "Lumber Liquidators" is registered and trademarked. The company started out as a merchandise liquidator, but are currently a retailer only of hardwood flooring.

According to information provided by the company, Lumber Liquidators operates a chain of approximately 197 stores throughout the United States. All complaints for this company are processed by the Better Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads, Inc.

In the aftermath of a piece airing on 60 minutes in March 2015, health concerns have been raised about allegedly high levels of formaldehyde in some specific laminate flooring that is manufactured in China and sold by Lumber Liquidators. In its report, 60 minutes claimed that test results from certified labs, some of which were commissioned by attorneys representing parties that are suing Lumber Liquidators, demonstrating formaldehyde emission results that were purportedly in excess of levels set by the California Air Resources Board (CARB). Currently, California is the only state that has these formaldehyde emission guidelines.

Lumber Liquidators maintains that its flooring products are safe and it has implemented controls throughout its supply chain designed to ensure compliance with all applicable regulatory and safety standards. Lumber Liquidators challenges the methodology used by the labs used the 60 Minutes piece and the interpretation of the test results. Among other things, Lumber Liquidators states that lab results cited in the 60 Minutes piece were determined using a "deconstructive testing" methodology which involves the removal of the laminate surface from the product in an effort to test the underlying composite wood platform. Thus, it does not measure a product according to how it is used by consumers and the interpretation of results using the deconstructive testing protocol is subject to significant debate. Further, Lumber Liquidators provided 60 Minutes with test results on the composite wood cores used on the construction of its products, which is the part of the product that CARB regulates, but such testing was not highlighted.

It is Lumber Liquidators position that certain individual's interviewed in the 60 Minutes piece and making accusations against the Company have a financial interest in harming the Company. Such individuals included a hedge fund manager that is shorting Lumber Liquidators' stock and a lawyer representing a separate party that is also shorting Lumber Liquidators stock. These short-sellers make money when Lumber Liquidators stock price decrease.

To reassure consumer that are concerned about the statement in the 60 Minutes report, Lumber Liquidators is providing indoor air quality testing at no cost to consumers who purchased and installed laminate flooring manufactured in China. The passive badge testing is administered by the consumer and the results are generated by an independent, American Industrial Hygiene Associated accredited lab and sent directly to the consumer. These tests do not identify the source of formaldehyde in consumer's homes and are not a substitute for a comprehensive, professional analysis of indoor air quality. The Company will use these results, however, as a tool to determine whether additional steps need to be taken with respect to each individual's flooring or indoor air quality. In such cases, the Company will work directly with the individual consumer to address any concerns.

As of April 2015, the U. S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is conducting tests on the specific Chinese manufactured flooring, and the agency states that they will not use the same destruction testing methods used by the labs hired by 60 Minutes. At this point, the company and the BBB are awaiting the test results of the USCPSC.

On May 6, 2015 Lumber Liquidators has chosen to cease selling Chinese laminate flooring while they continue to investigate the matter.

BBB file opened: 09/28/2004Business started: 05/02/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1999, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tom Sullivan (Founder / CEO)Customer Contact: Mrs. Shari Hall (Supervisor, Warranty & Chargeback Services)
Number of Employees

1500

Business Category

Floors - Hardwood, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Floor Materials - Retail

Industry Tips
REFUNDS AND EXCHANGES

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lumber Liquidators, Inc.

3000 John Deere Road

Toano, VA 23168

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lumber Liquidators, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Floors - Hardwood

REFUNDS AND EXCHANGES
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

There is a government action involving this business.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.