BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/1996

Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC (Headquarters)

Phone: (757) 519-9300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1429 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 384 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1270
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service151
Total Closed Complaints1429

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1429)BBB Closure Definitions
01/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Inaccurately and incompletely furnishing negative information to the major CRA's in violation of the reporting requirements.
Account Number:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
I have disputed the listed account with the CRAs and received a notice of dispute from the credit reporting agencies advising me that the account had been verified. I proceeded to dispute the information and request verification directly from the furnisher of information for which the FDCPA provides for. After the mandated time frame of 30 days, they have failed to provide any proof or respond in any way. The FDCPA states that information reported must be accurate and complete; updated and verifiable. I have exhausted all recourses provided for resolution of erroneous information and still the information remains on my consumer report. It is evident that the information reported cannot be verified and therefore must be deleted as required. Pursuant to the FDCPA, if no proof of debt exists and the information reported is not verifiable, it may not be furnished to the consumer reporting agencies nor reported by them.

Initial Business Response
This communication is from a debt collector: it may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information intended solely for the use of the Better Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB") toward resolution of a consumer's complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA") by the BBB; dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

PRA furnishes account information to the national credit reporting agencies in accordance with Section 623 of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Appendix A to Part 660, Title 16, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Consumer Data Industry Association's Credit Reporting Resource Guide. We do not furnish information "inaccurately and incompletely . . . in violation of the repoting requirements."

PRA has initiated an investigation into the allegations made in the consumer's complaint and issues presented by the consumer's complaint. We will review all relevant information, including the information provided by the consumer, we will resolve the complaint and we will mail our response to the consumer.

A full response to the BBB, however, may necessitate PRA's disclosure of the consumer's nonpublic personal information and communications in connection with the collection of a debt. PRA is, accordingly, requesting that the consumer provide the Authorization and Consent form together with a copy of the credit report or reports which has the information to which the consumer is referring before PRA provides the BBB with either a copy of our response to the consumer or a full response to the consumer's allegations and issues.

***** *******
Disputes Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC
140 Corporate Boulevard, Norfolk, VA 23502


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
PRA should delete the account from my credit file at all the credit bureaus as I have already requested that the business provide validation that shows I have some contractual obligation to pay this company the reported amount and they have failed to do so in the 30 day alloted time.

I have attached a copy of the original letter which shows the account number in question. Additionally, I have also attached the Authorization and Consent form.

Final Business Response
December 23, 2013

******* *****
Better Business Bureau
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Re: ****** ******, Case #XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

This communication is from a debt collector: This message may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information and is intended solely for resolution of a complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA") by the Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB"); dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

PRA has received the consumer's Authorization for Release of Information and I am writing to respond accordingly to the consumer's complaint. As that complaint alleges without substantiation that PRA has been "inaccurately and incompletely furnishing information" to the credit reporting agencies and that PRA "failed to provide any proof or respond in any way" to the consumer's requests in regard to the information, however, PRA emphatically expects that the details of neither the complaint nor the responses will be published on the BBB website.

PRA purchased the ** ****** private-label credit card account ending in **** from ** ******* ****** ***** According to ** ******* ****** ******* business records which verified the account in connection with our purchase, the account was opened on December 8, 2010 for ****** ****** whose social security number ended in ***** the account became delinquent on October 19, 2011, the last payment in the amount of $20.00 was posted to the account on March 12, 2012, the sum of $455.61 was charged-off the account on May 16, 2012, and the balance of $455.61 was due when PRA purchased the account on March 26, 2013. By our letter dated April 12, 2013, PRA notified the consumer that we had purchased the account, that PRA would assume the information was valid unless disputed within 30 days, and that PRA would be furnishing information to the credit reporting agencies in regard to the account. The foregoing verified information, further validated by copies of statements from the account from September of 2011 through May of 2012, was furnished to the nation credit reporting agencies, ******** ******** and ***********

The consumer first disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ********** on September 6, 2013, PRA responded to ********** with our verification on September 25, 2013 and responded to the consumer with our verification letter and dispute instructions dated September 26, 2013. The consumer disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ******* on September 21, 2013 and PRA responded to ******* with our verification on October 7, 2013. The consumer disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ******** on September 23, 2013 and PRA responded to ******** with our verification on October 7, 2013. The consumer disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ******* again on November 20, 2013, PRA responded to ******* with our verification on December 6, 2013 and again responded to the consumer with our verification letter and dispute instructions dated December 7, 2013. The consumer disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ******** again on November 22, 2013 and PRA responded to ******** with our verification on December 6, 2013. The consumer also disputed the account information in her letters to PRA dated October 9, 2013. PRA had already responded to the dispute with our verification letter and dispute instructions dated September 26, 2013 and later responded to the consumer with our verification letter and dispute instructions dated December 7, 2013.

Clearly, PRA was providing accurate and complete information to the credit reporting agencies. Clearly, too, PRA provided proof of the information and responded to the consumer's inquiries. As an accommodation to the consumer, when the consumer disputed the account information with the credit reporting agency ********** again on November 21, 2013, PRA responded to with our request that the credit reporting agencies ******** ******** and ********** delete our trade line for the account on December 11, 2013.

Finally, allow me to reiterate that as the complaint alleged without substantiation that PRA has been "inaccurately and incompletely furnishing information" to the credit reporting agencies and that PRA "failed to provide any proof or respond in any way" to the consumer's requests in regard to the information, PRA emphatically expects that the details of neither the complaint nor the responses will be published on the BBB website.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Disputes Counsel

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Portfolio Recovery is reporting false payments on my credit reports.
I have never made any payments to Portfolio Recovery for account # XXXXXXXXXXXX. They are falsely reporting $136.00 payments for every month from November 2011 to June 2013. This has been disputed via the credit reporting agencies which Portfolio Recovery verifies the information is correct.

Initial Business Response
This communication is from a debt collector: it may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information intended solely for the use of the Better Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB") toward resolution of a consumer's complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA") by the BBB; dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

PRA furnishes account information to the national credit reporting agencies, ******** ******** and *********** in accordance with Section 623 of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Appendix A to Part 660, Title 16, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Consumer Data Industry Association's Credit Reporting Resource Guide. We do not "report false payments."

PRA has initiated an investigation into the allegations made in the consumer's complaint and issues presented by the consumer's complaint. We will review all relevant information, including the information provided by the consumer, we will resolve the complaint and we will mail our response to the consumer.

A full response to the BBB, however, may necessitate PRA's disclosure of the consumer's nonpublic personal information and communications in connection with the collection of a debt. PRA is, accordingly, requesting that the consumer provide the Authorization for Release of Information form provided by the BBB together with a copy of the credit report or reports from ******** ******** and/or ********** which has the information to which the consumer is referring before PRA provides the BBB with either a copy of our response to the consumer or a full response to the consumer's allegations and issues.

***** *******
Disputes Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC
140 Corporate Boulevard, Norfolk, VA 23502


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Complaint isn't resolved.

Final Business Response
December 23, 2013

******* *****
Better Business Bureau
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Re: **** ******, Case #XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

This communication is from a debt collector: This message may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information and is intended solely for resolution of a complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA) by the Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB"); dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

PRA has received the consumer's Authorization for Release of Information and I am writing to respond accordingly to the consumer's complaint. As that complaint alleges without substantiation that PRA had been "falsely reporting" consumer credit information, however, PRA emphatically expects that the details of neither the complaint nor the responses will be published on the BBB website.

PRA purchased the ****** **** *** & **** private label credit card account ending in **** from **** **** ******* N.A. According to **** ******* business records which verified the account in connection with our purchase, the account was opened on June 1, 2007 for a **** ****** whose social security number ended in ***** the last payment on the account in the amount of $136.00 was posted to the account on February 7, 2008, the account became delinquent on April 3, 2008, and the sum of $1,025.31 was due when PRA purchased the account on March 26, 2009.

PRA furnishes account information to the national credit reporting agencies in accordance with Section 623 of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Appendix A to Part 660, Title 16, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Consumer Data Industry Association's Credit Reporting Resource Guide. We could not "falsely report" credit information as we only furnish credit information to the credit reporting agencies and we furnish account information strictly in accordance with the industry guidelines.

PRA did not furnish the credit reporting agencies, including ********* with information that "$136.00 payments" had been made on the account "for every month from November 2011 to June 2013." PRA has not received any payment on this account since we purchased the account on March 26, 2013. Indeed, when we received the consumer's one and only dispute of the account information from the credit reporting agency ******* on November 21, 2013, we confirmed with our response to ******* that PRA had no actual payment or date of last payment to furnish in regard to this account. A copy of that dispute and our response is enclosed.

The only information PRA can locate in regard to any such payment is the $136.00 payment posted to the account on February 7, 2008, when **** **** still owned the account. As an accommodation to the consumer's concerns, PRA has closed the account and requested that the national credit reporting agencies, including ********* delete our trade line in regard to the account ending in *****

Finally, allow me to reiterate that as the complaint alleged without substantiation that PRA had been "falsely reporting" consumer credit information, PRA emphatically expects that the details of neither the complaint nor the responses will be published on the BBB website.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Disputes Counsel


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Keep receiving bills for a debt that is almost 20 years old and was charged off in bankruptcy. I have advised them in writing this is invalid.
I have advised company in writing that this debt is far beyond the stature of limitations for collection. They continue to harass me with phone calls and letters. I want this to stop! I realize they purchase these old debts for pennies on the dollar but this is not my concern. The law protects people from predators like this and I stand behind the law on this one.

Initial Business Response
This communication is from a debt collector: This message may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information and is intended solely for resolution of a complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA") by the Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB"); dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of this office. PRA has reviewed all relevant information, including the information provided by the consumer, we have resolved the complaint, and we have mailed a responsive letter to the consumer.

Any further response to the BBB by PRA may necessitate PRA's disclosure of the consumer's nonpublic personal information and communications in connection with the collection of a debt. PRA will, accordingly, wait for the consumer's completed Authorization for Release of Information form before PRA provides the BBB with a copy of our response to the consumer and/or a full response to the consumer's allegations and issues.

***** *******
Disputes Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC
140 Corporate Boulevard, Norfolk, VA XXXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any letter from them. I have returned a relapse of information to you (BBB Norfolk) via email. Thank you for looking not this matter.

Final Business Response
Re: ****** ********, Case #XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

This communication is from a debt collector: This message may contain confidential and/or nonpublic personal information and is intended solely for resolution of a complaint forwarded to Portfolio Recovery Associates, LLC ("PRA") by the Business Bureau of Greater Hampton Roads ("BBB"); dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

PRA has received the consumer's Authorization for Release of Information and I am writing to respond accordingly to the consumer's complaint. As that complaint alleges, without substantiation, that the debt "was charged off in bankruptcy" and that the consumer had "advised them in writing" that the debt was "invalid", PRA emphatically expects that the details of neither the complaint nor the responses will by published on the BBB website.

PRA purchased the ******* *** ***** **** accounting ending in **** from ******* *** ***** **** on July 28, 2011 and on August 27, 2011 we sent our initial notification letter, advising the consumer of our purchase and her consequent rights, to the last-known address provided by ******* *** ***** **** of *** ****** **** **** ******** ** XXXXX,

PRA has no record of receiving any written communication from the consumer and was unable to find any record that the account had been discharged in bankruptcy. As an accommodation to the consumer's complaint, however, PRA closed the account and on November 22, 2013 we sent our letter, advising the consumer that the account was closed, to the consumer at **** ***** ***** **** ********** ** XXXXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Disputes Counsel

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues
08/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 263
08/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues
08/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 24

Industry Comparison| Chart

Distressed Debt Purchaser

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.