BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1970

Checkered Flag Body Shop

Find a Location

(757) 490-11115255 Virginia Beach Blvd., Virginia BeachVA 23462 Send email to Checkered Flag Body Shop

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1970

BBB has determined that Checkered Flag Body Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Checkered Flag Body Shop's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Checkered Flag Body Shop

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Left car at the body shop (01/08/14) and they haven't fixed car as of yet. Tried to call them and they are not returning calls.
Had a car collision (1st week of January of 2014) and ***** left my car at the Checkered flag body shop for repairs. Checkered flag customer service is terrible. They are good to give me excuses about the status of my car. They told me they needed to order parts. In 01/17/14, I was told by customer service that all parts were received, but couple of days later we received another call indicating that they were still awaiting for parts. We called them again, and the customer rep told me to expect the car completed by 01/24/14. But this data was moved on 01/24/14. The delivery date has been changed in multiple ocassions. The manager told me to give them 2 additional weeks and my car will be ready on 02/14/14. I called them on 02/12/14 to request the status and I was told that the car was not going to be ready. ***** already paid them almost $12,000.00. I no longer have rental car because I've exhausted my benefit coverage of $1,000.00. Manager was supposed to provide another status on the afternoon of 02/12/14 and to tell me about Checkered Flag giving me a rental car, but he failed to call me.

Desired Settlement
I need Checkered Flag to give me a rental car and the truth about my car. Why is it taking more than a month for the work compleition? Thanks

Business Response
In response to referenced complaint XXXXXXXX. Checkered Flag has maintained communication with this customer based on documentation that we have on file. The customer has a vehicle that was involved in a collision in the front. An estimate for repairs are at this time is in the $12,000.00 range.
Though the unfortunate circumstance happened, the vehicle arrived as an unscheduled tow- in, as most tow-ins do. Once all the paper work is complete in the initial stage of this process and the parts have arrived it is not uncommon that work on the vehicle starts as soon as all these components come together. Other vehicles that arrived before this one, that are in the same similar state as this customer or have the same extensive damage are also being worked on. These vehicles that have the extent of damage as a result of a collision are very time consuming to repair and repair properly. Though the communication of the customer being informed of these circumstances cannot be verified, it is not the responsibility of the repair facility to provide transportation.
The customer had rental reimbursement on their insurance policy. They had exhausted the limits of their policy based on the extent of the damage to their vehicle and the type of rental they chose to drive. As a result of these circumstances the rental limits may have been reached prematurely.
Prior to the arrival of this complaint, in the interest of goodwill, Checkered Flag management had contacted the customer and though not responsible for providing a rental in this case, Checkered Flag has provided this customer with transportation to assist in their immediate needs. Checkered Flag has the best interest always in mind for our customers. We strive to go above and beyond to meet the needs of our customers in the best way possible and we will continue to do so.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is not completely accurate. We were told by our ***** adjuster and the manager at the repair shop that they were unable to repair our car on time because they did not have the man power to repair the type of accident that had our car. ***** paid them almost 12k because we told ***** that we wanted original parts. We have a VW Toureg and the parts are very expensive. They told us that if by Feb 14 the car was not repair then they will assume the responsibility to give us a loaner because it was their fault that they haven't done any type of repair to our car. The car was left at their facility the 1st week of January and it took them 3 days to give ***** the costs associated with the repair. After the car has been sitting at their shop waiting for someone to start the repairs. They have provided a rental car and we are now waiting for the completion of our car

Final Business Response
The Reyes family was placed into transportation by Checkered Flag and the vehicle was delivered to them today 3/6/14.

03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/15/1988Business started: 01/01/1964
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1964, VA

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Tessa Schneider (Executive Assistant)Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Evans (Body Shop Director)Mr. Edward Snyder (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE REPAIR

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Checkered Flag Body Shop

5255 Virginia Beach Blvd.

Virginia Beach, VA 23462

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5225 Virginia Beach Blvd. 

    Virginia Beach, VA 23462

  • 5255 Virginia Beach Blvd. 

    Virginia Beach, VA 23462(757) 490-1111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Checkered Flag Body Shop is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

AUTOMOBILE REPAIR
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.