BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/1990

Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter

Find a Location

(757) 424-63801300 S. Military Hwy., ChesapeakeVA 23320 Send email to Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/1990

BBB has determined that Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new Used Vehicle (2013 Kia Soul). Once the papers were finalized and the payment was made, the entire staff's service became atrocious. During signing, I was assured (it was confirmed) that the vehicle had a bumper-to-bumper warranty for 5 years/60,000 miles. However, after the purchase was made and I signed the papers, the finance staff tried to sell me a 2 year bumper-to-bumper warranty because the proposed warranty did not transfer for this vehicle.Once purchase was finalized, the vehicle had to remain in Service because it was equipped with an after-market alarm that required removal. Once it was completed, I came back to pick up the vehicle and I was given the run-around because no one in the entire dealership knew where the vehicle was and who had the key to my newly purchased vehicle. I had to wait 4 hours to finally have the vehicle - detailed and with a near-full tank of fuel.What's worse is that the check I paid the vehicle for was more than what the vehicle was for. To this day, I have yet to be able to go pick up the reimbursement for the difference ************ Every time I contact the dealership, I keep getting told that the check isn't ready, the administration office is closed, or that I need to contact my sales person. I have already contacted my sales person four days ago, but nothing is resolved and I still do not have my refund check that needs to be paid back to my credit union that provided me with the loan for the vehicle.
Product_Or_Service: 2013 Kia Soul
************* *******
*************** XXXXXX

Initial Business Response
*** **** recieved his ***** refund and was given a copy of remaining warranty coverage of his car. Customer left happy and with a smile.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did successfully receive my reimbursement from the dealership's staff. My only other feedback is to have their staff improve their level of service for their clients if they wish to continue receiving business.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/21/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/07/1990Business started: 12/01/1989
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD
2201 W. Broad St., Ste. 103
Richmond, VA23220
(804) 367-1100

The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2014.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1990, VA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jeff Owens (General Manager & President of Sales)Ms. Sharon Moiye (Assistant to the CFO)
Number of Employees

140

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Greenbrier Collision Center, Southern Hospitality Auto Group
Industry Tips
NEW CARS
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter

1300 S. Military Hwy.

Chesapeake, VA 23320

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1300 S. Military Hwy. 

    Chesapeake, VA 23320(757) 424-6380

  • 2110 Smith Drive 

    Chesapeake, VA 23320

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Greenbrier Pontiac GMC Kia Supercenter is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.