BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2001

First Team Toyota Scion

Phone: (757) 673-2345Fax: (757) 673-20753400 Western Branch Bvld., ChesapeakeVA 23321 Send email to First Team Toyota Scion

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2001

BBB has determined that First Team Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised First Team Toyota Scion's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on First Team Toyota Scion

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Extremely delayed repair of vehicle.
I filed an auto claim for my vehicle, a 2009 Saab 9-7x on January 25, 2015 due to a front bumper casualty incurred from a fire hydrant. I dropped the vehicle off to First Team Toyota on January 26, 2015 in the morning. The First Team Toyota Collision ********** ***** ******** wrote the estimate. I took off work for a week (I work in ***** to wait for vehicle. *** ******* told me after a week that the parts order had to be cancelled due to rough weather from his supplier. They re-ordered from another parts vendor and all of the parts did not arrive. They now are waiting on a bumper clip they told me is not available anywhere and doesn't exist. The latest update a week ago was that the part was still (a month later) on backorder. They refuse to call me and give me updates. They should be calling the parts supplier and asking when this part will arrive and updating me every couple of days. After one month of waiting and in February, I spoke to the collision center director who authorized me a free Toyota loaner vehicle which is not an SUV like mine which has made it difficult to drive in northern weather issues with snow and ice because my SUV was AWD. It is now almost two weeks away from April 2015 and I still do not have my vehicle back. This cannot last forever. I have not paid anything for the work being completed and am not required to until completion of the work; my insurance company, ***** has already settled the claim with the collision center at First Team. My share to pay is my deductible which is ***** From this point, Ive had to travel from ******** to *********** ** every two weeks just to get the loaner vehicle's paperwork renewed because the vehicle has Virginia dealer tags on it. I am a former customer of First Team and purchased a $39,000 vehicle from them. The least they could do is provide me excellent customer service, constant updates, and timely repair of my vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I desire my vehicle to be repaired and returned to me ASAP. I also desire that First Team Toyota be responsible for the deductible payment amount of **** that I am required to pay them. Regardless of First Team Toyota allowing me to use their loaner vehicle, its the principle of the issue that matters. As of todays date, March 12, 2015, they have had my vehicle 46 days and counting.

Business Response
Good morning,

We are sorry this has become an issue for *** *******. It is very frustrating I'm sure. However, this issue is completely beyond our control. *** ******* owns a Saab and Saab's haven't been produced or been available for sale in United States since 2011. This has created many issues relating to parts availability for SAAB owners across the country. We have tried ordering through GM and an aftermarket source. We are still trying to secure it.

We have provided a loaner vehicle to *** ******* at no cost to him to help with his transportation needs while we have been attempting to complete the repair. This wasn't required on our part, but we wanted to help in whatever way we could. I know it may not be like what he is used to driving, but we don't use utility vehicles for loaners, therefore we don't have any available. Again we provided the vehicle at NO COST.

In summary, this condition is not a result of any action or inaction on the part of First Team Toyota. We have done and are continuing to do everything we can to rectify the matter on the behalf of *** *******. There is no reason for First Team Toyota to waive the deductible *** ******* requested.

Thank you,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response. I clearly do understand that the loaner vehicle was provided at no cost to the customer, however, when a person drops off a vehicle at a collision center to be repaired, It is an expectation that the customer at the least receive an update from the collision center on a normal basis. Toyota could at the least, contact the entity the back-ordered part was ordered from to see when the part would be produced in or to give the customer a more tentative repair date. I have heard over and over for the past several weeks First Team can't help the issue, however they have not been calling to give me updates from the entity they ordered the part from on it's availability date. In summary, what am I supposed to do? Sit and wait for several more months in hopes of the vehicle being repaired when I NEED my SUV back? The least First Team could do is have the deductible waived.

Final Business Response
*** ******* was contacted on Friday, March 27th and informed the vehicle is completed. We finally received the necessary part and completed the repair right away.

I'm still not clear on what could have been done better in the way of communication. Our team stayed on top of the part needed throughout the process. Again we don't make the part and we are dealing with a vehicle that hasn't been produced or sold in the US since 2011. I don't see how that is in any way our fault.

In the end, the vehicle repair is complete. First Team is willing to accept half the deductible from Mr. *******. That would make the amount due from him ***** This is a goodwill gesture on our part to try and help with the inconvenience of *** ******* being without his vehicle.

The vehicle needs to be picked up, partial deductible paid and no charge loaner vehicle returned.

Thank you,

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Although I still do not agree with the response and how First Team doesn't step up and accept responsibility for their actions or have the employee addressed about speaking down to my spouse, I accept the partial deductible offer. Now they will have to wait for me as I can't just drop what I'm doing to drive 4 hours away until I'm available to do so. I've waited for them, so they can now wait for me. In regards to the vehicle not being produced any longer, that is correct; however, this is a GM-made Saab from 2009, stamped with GM, has GM parts, and looks like a GM so the excuse about not finding any parts is bogus because **** found the part First Team needed in only 1 day.

10/14/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
01/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars & Trucks

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/28/1992Business started: 01/01/1983New Owner Date: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

2201 W. Broad St., Ste. 103
Richmond, VA 23220
(804) 367-1100

The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Gerry Reust (General Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Sandra Scott (VP-Accounting)Ms. Stephanie Scales (Customer Service)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars & Trucks

Alternate Business Names
Tallahassee Automotive, LLC
Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for First Team Toyota Scion

3400 Western Branch Bvld.

Chesapeake, VA 23321

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3400 Western Branch Bvld. 

    Chesapeake, VA 23321(757) 673-2345

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*First Team Toyota Scion is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.