BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1970

Checkered Flag Toyota

(757) 490-11115301 Virginia Beach Blvd., Virginia BeachVA 23462 Send email to Checkered Flag Toyota

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1970

BBB has determined that Checkered Flag Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Checkered Flag Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Checkered Flag Toyota

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a Toyota Sienna 2013 Van from Checkered Flag Toyota. My window sticker stated that my vehicle was XM Radio ready. My salesman also told us that we simply had to call an "800" to subscribe to the service. My husband took our van to the dealership as we could not find the radio ID number. Again we were told by both the salesman and the sales manager that we just needed to call the "800" number for service. After further investigation at Checkered Flag, we found out that it would cost over $600 to have the service for the XM radio. When my husband told the saleman and the sales manager what we learned, their response was, "You learn something new everyday. We've always told customers you just had to call the "800" number." The General Manaager has offered to install the equipment needed at his cost of only $480. I feel like I'm paying for this radio twice. If we were told that the van was XM radio ready, then I feel Checkered Flag should cover the cost. We were told that the staff has now been educated on the quipment. That's great for future customers but does nothing for us.
Product_Or_Service: Toyota Van

Desired Settlement
I would like the radio that I purchased installed.

Business Response
*** ******** spoke with Mrs.****** on friday 01/10/2013 and agreed to split the cost of the parts and labor to have the XM radio installed.
Parts manager will be ordering Parts and will contact customer when we recieve everything to install. Customer stated that this resolution is acceptable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle brought in for transmission fluid flush. After flush transmission is now inoperative.
05 Sequioa, Mdl SR5 4WD. Approx 2nd week in June 2013 brought in vehicle for routine maintenance. Later that day I was told by serv advisor that they were unable to perform the transmission flush due to equipment used in the shop was broke and to make another appt. Dropped off vehicle Friday evening, July 12 for a simple transmission flush. I was contacted during the day by serv advisor telling me the transmission is not working properly and is in "limp mode". I went to dealership and paid for the trans flush. I left and notice vehicle was not shifting properly. I immediately returned the vehicle. I spoke with Serv Mgr. I was told the transmission was messed up when I brought it in. I WILL NOT ACCEPT THIS!! There was absolutly nothing wrong with my vehicle when I dropped it off. Technician came to my vehicle and when he went to open the hood he was unable to. They broke the hood latch too!!! Serv Mngr stated they will fix the hood latch however, I am will have to pay over $3,000 for the transmission. I will fight this issue tooth and nail! All they had to do was perform a transmission fluid flush but instead they ended up causing over $3,000 damage to my vehicle and broke the hood latch and expect me to pay for their incompentence.

Desired Settlement
Simply properly repair the transmission issue and hood latch that the tech damaged.

03/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues
11/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/15/1988Business started: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

2201 W. Broad St., Ste. 103
Richmond, VA 23220
(804) 367-1100

The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1964, VA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Marti Demarco (Executive Assistant)Customer Contact: Mr. John Steeper (Director of Customer Experience)Mr. Josh Hamilton (General Manager)Mr. Edward Snyder (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Checkered Flag Toyota

5301 Virginia Beach Blvd.

Virginia Beach, VA 23462

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5301 Virginia Beach Blvd. 

    Virginia Beach, VA 23462(757) 490-1111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeastern Virginia & Northeastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Checkered Flag Toyota is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars & Trucks


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.