BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crucial Vacuum Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Crucial Vacuum Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Crucial Vacuum Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 21, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Rubin, CEO
Business Category

VACUUM CLEANERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Gates Rd Suite C

    Little Ferry, NJ 07643

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    39 Broadway (Former)

    Cresskill, NJ 07626

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order (#*********) on October *, 2013 for filters for my vacuum cleaner. I initially received an order confirmation a few hours later and an immediate charge to me credit card. Exactly one week later, I emailed the company requesting an update to my order. I received an email apologizing, stating they did not have the item in stock and if I wanted, I could wait until the following friday when the item would be available or receive a refund. I worked out an agreement that I would keep my order if they expedited the shipping of my order due to the lack of communication. Assuming the order was shipped when they stated it would be, I emailed again this past Saturday (10/**/13) to see if they would be providing me with a tracking number, as I had not received the product yet. However, I received an email today stating the item is now on "extended backorder" and will not be available until this Friday. At this point, I have asked for a refund and am left to believe they do not carry this item. They are unable to provide me with a specific date when the item WILL be available, leading me with the understanding they are making false advertisements.

Desired Settlement: I expect that this company will refund the payment as requested and remove these filters from their website.

Business Response:
Dear T****:

We have received your letter of complaint, concerning billing issues for *** *****f, a claimant under the TRICARE Dental Plan, which is a fully insured group dental plan, sitused in DC.

As you may be aware, Federal law requires a HIPAA authorization from a participant, in order to release claim details to a third-party.  At this time, MetLife does not have an authorization on file from the participant to release information to your office.  As such,  we have reviewed the concerns brought forth and have issued a written response directly to the complainant, explaining our position, which he should expect to receive within the next five to seven business days.
  
Please address any subsequent correspondence regarding this complaint to the following address: 
***** ****, Director 
Corporate Customer Relations 
MetLife 
* * *** ***  ********** **  *****  ***** ******** ***
We hope this clarifies our position in this matter and will enable you to close your file. 

Sincerely,
  
******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered on 6/**/2013. Received email with tacking number that we could never track. As of 6/**/2013 had not received item. Called on 6/**/2013 they were rude and condescending, didn't know what happened to package, but would send out another one. As of today 6/**/2013 5:55 ET no email confirmation to see if they even reordered, but they didn't have any trouble taking our money.they have basically stolen our money from us!

Desired Settlement: For their rudeness and condescending way they spoke to my wife.#1) an apology. #2)the product we paid for.#3)the charges refunded for they way that they handled this matter. If they can't do these things then I want my money refunded.

Business Response: Dear ***** *****, 
Thank you for contacting us in this matter. We have addressed this customers concerns and this case has been resolved (see the below resolution). 
Crucial Vacuum’s Statement of the Problem
The customers order was placed on 6/**/2013. We supplied him with tracking and it was then discovered that it was in fact lost in transit (**********************). This was brought to our attention and we immediately sent out a new order (**********************).  This tracking information shows that the order will be received by July ***, 2013.
Crucial Vacuum’s Statement of the Resolution
We immediately contacted *** ***** and gave him the updated tracking. We also let him know that we will refund him his money for his inconvenience. We do value *** ***** as a customer and it’s our goal to maintain a Happy and Healthy relationship with all of our customers.
 
**** *****, CEO

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The order process from the beginning was bad. Not only did the company give me invalid shipping tracking information, but crucial vacuum NEVER answered any of the phone calls I attempted to make. After sending numerous e-mails I gave up in ever hearing from the company. Over a month later from the order date...I got a generic thank you reply email from them. Several days after this I finally received the replacement pump I ordered. After installing the product into my carpet shampooer I was very disappointed to find out the pump does not even work. It comes on but does not move ANY fluid. I spoke with Bissell customer service and they advised me that I have a lemon and I need to return it to the seller. I contacted crucualvacuum and they gave me a generic reply stating that because it was after 30 days they cannot even help me. By the time I even received the product...the order was already out of warranty? The product was a lemon from the start. And they are not even making an attempt to make the situation right by swapping it out for a replacement

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to answer their phones and e-mails like a normal business for starters. When someone offers a product...they need to stand by that product. If a product happens to be a lemon... a hassle-free exchange should take place. That is the American way.

Business Response: Dear ***** *******,

Thank you for contacting us in this matter. We have addressed this customers concerns and this case has been resolved (see the below resolution).

Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Problem

The customers order was placed in January. ***** was in contact with us about his product. We looked into it and he informed us that it was delivered February * 2013. He then emailed us in May (3 months later) saying that he just got around to using his product and that it was not working. We have a 30-day return policy.

Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Resolution

We immediately contacted *** ******* to find out if he would like us to ship him out a new one or if he would like a refund. I have not heard back from *** *******, we are going to ship his new order out today! We Reshipped *** *******'s item June **, 2013. We do value *** ******* as a customer and it's our goal to maintain a Happy and Healthy relationship with all of our customers.

Consumer Response:

They claim in their letter they tried to contact me to see if I wanted a refund or a replacement.  I have received no phone calls or E-mails from this company.
 
They stated they re-shipped my order on ** June.  I will allow it time to show up.  If it does not.  I would request a complete refund.
 
Thank you.
 
 
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a power head from them in aug 2012 it is so noisy that you can hardly stand it. I have emailed them two times and have left two voice mails in the past three weeks and still no response. I want info on what to do to claim a warranty.

Desired Settlement: get it fixed or repaired.

Business Response: Hello *****, 
 
We apologize for the delay in sending a response back to you. I was trying my hardest to find the order in question but to this date we have yet to find this order. If the customer would be able to provide us with more information such as an order number, shipping zip code, or even the order number. 
 
We would like the opportunity to get this situation correct with customer. 

 
--
****** *.

Business Response: Dear ***** ***** ,

Thank you for contacting us in this matter. We have tried our hardest to address this customer’s complaint. Unfortunately we are still unable to locate *** *******’s order. I have gone ahead and contacted Amazon and tried to get the history of order # ***-###-###-####***. Amazon is stating that this order number for *** ******* was an item that was sold by GoVacuum. They further instructed us to let *** ******* that they would be able to assist him if he contacts them directly.  Amazon’s customer service number is ###-###-####
 
**** *****, CEO
 --
****** **

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

 

I am not surprised at the outcome of my complaint, I will not order from that co. again  and I will tell my customers not to use them either. ***** 
 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******* 



 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two products from their online business. Was sent notification item has been sent. The tracking number they provided me does not coincide with any shipping business I can find. Contacted them 3 times through email asking where my items were and have had no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive what I paid for!

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us in this matter. We have addressed this customers concerns and this case has been resolved (see the below resolution).
Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Problem
The customer first contacted us about the tracking number not showing information. We informed them that the order was shipped and to please allow 7-10 business days for the item to be delivered. Once the item was not delivered the customer contacted us to let us know that they did not receive the item.
Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Resolution
We immediately reshipped *** *********** order. We emailed her to follow-up, stating that we apologize for the delay and we would ship her items that she ordered. At this time when we were notified about the situation we went ahead and expedited the order so that there was not an additional wait time. We do value *** ********* as a customer and its our goal to maintain a Happy and Healthy relationship with all of our customers.

**** *****,

Business Response:
Thank you for contacting us in this matter. We have addressed this customers concerns and this case has been resolved (see the below resolution).
Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Problem
The customer was issued a replacement order because her original order was considered lost in transit. Upon receipt of her replacement order she contacted us that an item was missing from her order and her order was incomplete.
Crucial Vacuum's Statement of the Resolution
We immediately reshipped *** *********** missing item. At this time when we were notified about the situation we went ahead and expedited the order so that there was not an additional wait time. As I checked into her order I see that the package was delivered on 3/*/2013. We do value *** ********* as a customer and it's our goal to maintain a Happy and Healthy relationship with all of our customers.
**** ******
**************************** 
###-###-#### 
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order, and was billed, on December **, 2012. I received a shipment notification on December **, with a link that was not valid. I did not receive any product, and notified Crucial via email to that effect on January *. They responded, and said that, if I did not receive anything by January **, I should contact them. I sent email on January **, **, and **, and have not received any reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund in the amount of $37.47, which is the amount I paid. I would also like this complaint to go on record to warn future potential buyers.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. I have received a PayPal refund for the complete amount of the order.

I thank you for your help in this matter, 

****** ******* 



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/4/2012 Delivery Issues
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1