This Business is not BBB accredited

Vantage Press, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (212) 736-1767 Fax: (212) 736-2273 271 Main Street, Great Barrington, MA 01230 http://www.vantagepress.com ! There is an alert on Vantage Press, Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm will print books if the author agrees to pay for the production. The firm notes that fewer than 10% of all the books it publishes sell well enough to earn back a significant portion of the author's fees.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vantage Press, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1949 in NY Business incorporated: 07/22/1949 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Lamb, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Lamb, President
Business Category

PUBLISHERS-BOOK


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    271 Main Street

    Great Barrington, MA 01230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    419 Park Avenue South Floor 18

    New York, NY 10016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ****, publisher & owner of Vantage Press closed the company in November 2012 without proper notification to any of the authors and without paying the authors royalties due in October 2012. Just weeks before in October 2012, ***** **** was a keynote speaker at the Independent Publishers Convention held in NYC and Vantage was a major sponsor of the event.Since that time attorneys for ***** ****, not representing the company as they state in their letters, has sent out a release agreement to the authors on behalf of the company,Vantage Press, with a two week window to sign to regain rights of their book, with no claim to royalties earned, and the severance of additional rights. Upon signing the release, Vantage would provide full accounting of the books sold to the author.***** ****/Vantage can be contacted via his attorney: ****** * ******* ****** *******, ****** *******, attorneys located at *** ***** ******* *********** ** **********. Tele: ###-###-####; Fax: ###-###-####.His attorneys have allowed for ****/Vantage to continue receiving income from books sold past November into January with no intention of paying any of the authors.**** resides at *** ******** ******* ***** *********** **.**** has disconnected all business & home telephones, mobile phones, websites, LinkedIn, email accounts. He has reinvented himself on LinkedIn as a Media Consultant.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel that I am legally entitled to a full accounting of the sales of my book, "In Search of Princess White Deer," regardless of Lamb/Vantage's financial situation. I should not be blackmailed into signing a release that is not in my best interests to obtain rightful information.I have also filed a complaint with: FBI, NYPD, Great Barrington PD, IRS, Fox News - ****** **** tipline, NY Times tipline.Notified: Amazon, Barnes&Noble, Ingram Publi

3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vantage Press,Inc *** **** ************* Received over $6,000 from me for a book publication. From 1/**/07 to Present and want reimbursement. *** ****** ****** **** ***** **** ******** ** ***** TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, On 01/**/07, I sign an "Contract Agreement" with Vantage Press,Inc. *** **** ********** ***** **. From the original time to present, I have made every effort to pay $200.00/ month. But for the last few months, I was not able to be consistant. The company was notified about my financial problems. On March **,2012 I was notified that my balance was only $3875 of $13,875 was paid. That means Vantage Press,Inc was paid $10,000 at that time. Some of the person employed for the company: 1.) ****** ***********,President 2.) ****** ********, Editorial Director 3.) ******** ****** My last money order was sent on 11/**/12 and returned twice. Please help me to recover my book sent to them and my manuscript, along with reimbursement of money paid. Sincerely, *** ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I am asking for reimbursement on all fees paid, along with my manuscript and book sent.

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vantage Press published my book in 2009 for $14,000.00. I haven't seen a dime in royalties and this is 2013. Now they have gone out of business. How do I get my book back from them.

Desired Settlement: Since I haven't received any royalties from the sell of my book, "Through My Sisters' Eyes", I would like my $14,000 dollars back and the right to be able to let some other publishing company publish my book.

1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service