BBB Accredited Business since

Page Publishing, Inc.

Phone: (866) 315-2708 Fax: (646) 607-4560 101 Tyrellan Avenue Suite 100, Staten Island, NY 10309 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pagepublishing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Page Publishing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Page Publishing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Page Publishing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 2013 Business started: 09/12/2011 in NY Business incorporated 09/12/2011 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dustin Roberts, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dustin Roberts, President
Business Category

PUBLISHERS-BOOK


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Page Publishing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 Tyrellan Avenue Suite 100

    Staten Island, NY 10309

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Page Publishing Company almost $4000, plus $74 for a words that they mis-spelled. I am under contract with them and they have had me cancel two book signings, because of this sloppy service. Now they are charging me $150 to clean up their mistakes and they will not tell me when the book will be revises, nor are they telling me when a radio broadcast and a website broadcast which is offered to me free, last Nov 2015. I have written to the President of this company and spoke with the Manager of of a coordinator. He has been obstinate to me and I need to have this book revised without my paying any more fees to them.

Desired Settlement: I need a billing adjustment for the last payment of $295 if I am made to pay $150.00 and I need this book revised before September **. I am always calling this company , it seems as though they take your money , stand on ceremony until you call them

Business Response:

Hi ******,

It is regrettable that you experienced such delays in receiving a final version of your book. By including authors in every aspect of the process from editing through cover design and printing, we try to mitigate postponement to a book's publication date due to revisions. Requiring our authors to approve each step along the way helps prevent the need for reprints and additional fees. Requesting back-to-back revisions as you have done impedes print and distribution timing. Changes made to a publication are always possible, but unfortunately not instantaneous. Please keep in mind that the revision fees incurred with each reprint are instituted by our printer and distributor. Changes made to an author's book prior to printing are absolutely free.

Regarding your recent request for a revision, please send the corrections directly to myself *************************) and I will personally see that they are completed as expediently as possible. You will not be responsible for the fees associated with this revision, however future changes will result in corresponding charges, so please be thorough when submitting your revisions.

With regards to your free radio interview and trailer, you are scheduled to receive these items within the next 30-60 days. These take place after a title has entered the publicity stage of our process.

 

Best Regards,
Dustin R******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Page Publishing accountant claims that he will cancel the contract to publish my book The Kingdom of the Flowers, because I do not like the illustrations, but I have only received one illustration. He wants to cancel the agreement but he refuses to refund the full amount I paid for the publication, and he refuses to show me the “bulk of the work” he claims Page has already done. The only two things done: 1) is a very light editing on a four page manuscript which had already been professionally edited. Only 3 words were modified by Page editor. 2) I have only received one illustration out of the 18 stated in the agreement, and I was told that until I approve this one we can then move to the next. The accountant claims that the illustrators are already working on the 18 illustrations but he refuses to show them to me. I asked him to either refund all my money, or to continue with the publication of my book, but he refuses to do either except to keep my money without anything in return.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a full refund.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

I believe there is some confusion on what was discussed with our representative, the extensive work that has been completed on your behalf resides in the exhaustive revisions to your initial illustrations. As you know, your requested artwork is very intricate and borders on fine art, not illustrations. Our art department has spent many hours revising and redoing your artwork per your specifications, that is why the representative that you spoke with was reluctant to offer a full refund. He did mention that should you discontinue your publication, a partial refund would be agreed upon (which would have been the bulk of your investment). Regardless of this decision, I am authorizing the requested full refund and I wish you the best of luck in your future publishing endeavors. I am sorry that your experience with us did not work out, but I hope that you do see your work published in the near future!

Best Regards,

Dustin R******


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Please state how he refund will be issued and when should I expect to receive it.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 


Business Response:

Hello *****,

Your refund and publishing agreement release will be mailed to you today.

I believe there is some confusion on what was discussed with our representative, the extensive work that has been completed on your behalf resides in the exhaustive revisions to your initial illustrations. As you know, your requested artwork is very intricate and borders on fine art, not illustrations. Our art department has spent many hours revising and redoing your artwork per your specifications, that is why the representative that you spoke with was reluctant to offer a full refund. He did mention that should you discontinue your publication, a partial refund would be agreed upon (which would have been the bulk of your investment). Regardless of this decision, I am authorizing the requested full refund and I wish you the best of luck in your future publishing endeavors. I am sorry that your experience with us did not work out, but I hope that you do see your work published in the near future!

Best Regards,

Dustin R******


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ****



 

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE WRITE A BOOK AND ON MY REGISTRATION OF COPY RIGHT ARE NOT SAME ON THE BOOK OF SALE S AND I DONT KNOW PUBLISHING BUSINESS BUT IT SEEM SOMETHING NOT RIGHT THE PBK NUMBER IS NOT SAME OF MY COPY RIGHT PBK NUMBER IS ISNB - **************** REGISTATION NUMBER ****************** AND I CAN FIND OUT MY BOOK SALE S IN LESS IT WHAT THEY HAVE ON THERE CHART NAILSON BOOK SCAM COULD NOT FIND MY ISNB NUMBER OF COPY RIGHT COULD NOT BE FOUND NAME OF MY BOOK IS ****** * ******* WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW

Business Response:

Hi ******,

I am sorry, I am not sure I understand your complaint. You have two ISBNs assigned to your book (one for each edition as is required), ***************** is a valid ISBN registered to your title and on file with the Library of Congress. Your issued U.S. copyright protects all editions of your work. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.


2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have all of the emails, if you want them. I paid over #3,000 for Page Publishing to publish my book. They assigned a "publicist" named Katie J********* to me. This woman never helped me through the process, she just sent me emails every now and then when part of the process was complete. And that's fine, even though a publicist should do more, I don't care. After the book was released, there was no help at all. Again, that's fine, I paid for my own promotions. After the first quarter, I noticed that my page on ****** and ****** *** ***** were receiving high amounts of "hits" but the book wasn't selling. People were giving me feedback that the price of the ebook was too high. I asked if it could be lowered to $3.99. Katie's response was that "the lowest they can lower the ebook price to was $6.99." Okay fine. I agreed since there was nothing that I could do about it. That was on January ****. On February ***, I asked what the status was of the price reduction. Katie responded on February *** and stated that they made a mistake and that they accidently lowered the paperback price instead of the ebook price. She said she would take care of. No apology or anything. On February ***, I discovered that not only was the ebook price still not reduced, but my paperback version on ****** *** *****, that was $12.95, was increased to $36.26. I was livid! I demanded that they fix the issue. Instead of Katie resolving the issue, this is what I received in response: *** ******* ******* **** ****** ********** **** ***** *** **** ********* ******** ** *** ******* ** ************ * ***** ** **** ******* *** ********* ******* ** **** ***** *** **** ** *** **** ***** ** **** *** ***** ** *** ****** * ***** **** ****** ***** ****** ******* ** * ******* *** ** **** *** ****** **** ****** ** *** *** ** **** ********** **** *** ******** * **** ****** ** *** *** ***** ** ** ******** **** *** ********** ** *** *** ** ****** ******* ** **** **** **** *********** * **** ** ***** ** ****** *** ************ ** **** ******** *** **** ** ******* *** **** ***** ** ****** ** ******* *** **** *** *** ***** *** ******* *** **** ** ******* ***** ******* ******* ****** ******** ******* **** *********** **** ###-###-#### ********************** I had no choice but to accept his rude response and the fact that he took zero accountability. I waited until today and asked Katie again for help, this was the response: There should be contact information on all of those sites for you to call. Kind regards, Katie J********* Publication Coordinator Page Publishing, Inc. ###-###-#### So now I am left to try to deal with their vendors to try to fix a book price that they messed up. I don't even know how to do this, and I feel like I have been "had". It is not fair that they can just take my money, not help me and come through with what they promised, and my only choice be a contract break with no refund.

Desired Settlement: I wish for Page Publishing to fix the prices of the books, as they promised. If not, then I am requesting a full refund!

Business Response:

Hi *******,

I have reviewed your account and our records show that your Publication Coordinator (PC), Katie, made sure that your project was completed in an error free and timely manner per our agreement and her role as your PC.

I do see where there was an error made in changing the retail price of your ebook post-publication. For that I do sincerely apologize. I have personally looked into the matter and have made sure that the situation has been rectified. Your paperback price was immediately corrected upon discovering the mistake, unfortunately metadata changes (such as a price update) are not reflected in real time on vendor websites. Book retailers receive their data from our distributor at a frequency that they determine, and it can sometimes take a couple of weeks to update a book's listing. The new pricing will appear shortly as promised.  Regarding the $36.26 price you saw on the ****** * ***** website, upon investigation I found that to be the price for a used copy of your book offered by one of ***** marketplace vendors. This price was never set by Page Publishing.

Our staff will continue to monitor your price update and you will be notified the moment your retail price is updated at all major retailers.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

I sincerely thank you for your assistance with this issue. You resolved an issue in less than 24 hours that I have been trying to get resolved for over a month! Thank you so much for your help!!!

Sincerely,

******* *******



 


1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint against this publisher, because I believe strongly that I have been swindled in that they have made it so that I as the author do not have total control of the situation pertaining to MY book that had taken a decade for me to write. I feel strongly taken advantage of. My contract with them has been violated which has caused restlessness knowing these people have preyed on my ambitions and excitement to be known. For starters, in the late part of December 2014, I entered into a publishing agreement with Page Publishing because of a televised advertisement of their company. Their cost to publish my book which is 376 pages long was a little over 2,600 dollars. I paid them in increments. They assigned me a representative that stuck with me along the entire way until I finished paying them off in May five months later. Their customer service then was impressive. This is when my book was put on the platforms: ******* ****** * ****** ****** ****, and ******. Their signed agreement stated that they would only claim .20 cents per copy sold, and that each quarter, they would send me a report. They would also cut me a check for every $100 earned. Here's the issue. I have earned money. People have come to me to purchase my book from offline using my business card. In fact, ****** has verified that Page Publishing had been "earning money" per the words of the representative I spoke with who lost the tone in his voice while telling me that. He said this is now a "legal issue". This was a total shock for me, but again I wasn't surprised because I have built my own clientele. I sell, sell, sell and advertise my work. ****** * ***** already has a used copy of my book. So between ****** and ****** * *****, surely I have earned $100, yet I have not received a dime while Page has earned dimes on my behalf and from my hard work with a lie that all they are going to do is take .20 cents per copy sold. Additionally, there has been total silence, no communication of my sales whatsoever. It's like they don't exist. No report was sent to me at all. I have reached out to them about this. They sent an email back to me that was rather rude and smart-alecky denying ever saying this and ever saying that. I paid them a lot of money only to have them talk to me as if I'm a nuisance. Overall, I have an issue with their practices. I AM accusing them of stealing my money two times; the first, $2600 for no reason to be that expensive and any sales that I have accrued. What I received for $2600 was merely ten copies of my book and them setting up profiles on my behalf on those sites and apps. So they gave me only ten books, and pocketed the rest. What they did was not worth over two grand I learned. In addition to all of this, on the site and apps they have my book under their credentials which makes it difficult for authors to learn exactly what's going on with their books, because customer service for these platformS won't speak to anyone aside from the uploader. Lack of follow-up, Thievery, and Total CONTROL they have is violation of the contract that I signed. I, as their customer, to DON'T trust them. The way they treat authors is not good.

Desired Settlement: This is about to be a legal issue. I had money to pay them and I have money to sue. I want to avoid that if we could. Really, I want no more part of them. By law, by them violating their contract, it has cancelled itself. There is no point in me upholding my end when they have neglected theirs and exploited the situation. I WANT MY MONEY BACK all $2,600. This is not about anything other than that. They guaranteed that they are not responsible for any sales. Sure I knew this. That's a fair statement, but I have earned my own sales and they have taken them from me. I'm starting with ****** and ****** **** who have both given me the processes on how to file a legal claim against them using their company's lawyers. I will win this case, because I have laid in wait, in absolute utter disbelief at my treatment for six months when I called and emailed demanding to know what is going on with my novel. I have waited now to Jan 2016 with nothing but a cold shoulder from Page Publishing. I also want my book OFF EVERY SINGLE SITE. This is also proven that I have no control over my stuff. Not one of those platforms were willing to remove my OWN book due to it being registered to Page and not me. I demand a refund of my initial investment and earnings. I demand my book be removed from all of the platforms. And I want no further contact by their business. If not, we can chat about it in court. I have patience. I spent ten years on that book.

Business Response:

Hi ********,

I am sorry that you feel dissatisfied with our service, more specifically the sales reports issued for your title. I have carefully reviewed your file and have ensured that your quarterly reports issued by Page Publishing match the reports provided to us from our distributor. I have attached the referenced reports for your examination, as you can see there is no discrepancy. We make accurate sales reporting one of our top priorities and we will be glad to investigate this matter further upon receiving more information about the sales in question. 

Unfortunately the publication process does cost money, and in the case of new or unknown authors, an investment by the author is often required to offset the cost of production expenses, such as page design, cover design, ebook production, website hosting, etc., all of which were completed on your behalf per your publishing agreement. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Best Regards,

Dustin R******

10/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After submitting my manuscript titled: Own Worst Enemy, for review and consideration for publication, to no surprise, about a week later, I was contacted by Richard R*** over the phone and told that Page Publishing would like to publish the work and would e-mail me a contract offer. After reviewing the contract, I decided to continue my search elsewhere, and I e-mailed Richard R***, asking that my file and any subsequent copies made (for the review board) be deleted and (or) destroyed. Hours later, I received an e-mail response to my request from Richard R***, stating: "most manuscripts are kept on file for a year and then destroyed, should the author not partner with us." This sort of craziness forced me to convey dissatisfaction and demand that my wishes regarding their possession of my property be respected. As of this day Oct. ***, 2015, now several days since last contact from Page, I have yet to receive a response advising me that my request has been met. They have no right whatsoever to retain possession of intellectual property that does not belong to them, and should be respectful enough to advise unsuspecting authors of such practice, before requesting a manuscript for review and (merely) consideration for publication. Very unhappy, to say the least. In this particular case, the posturing is actually quite disturbing, considering the value of ideas contained within this incredibly valuable manuscript, for the record, I do add. And I submit my complaint to the Better Business Bureau in an effort to make record of the instance and to have issue resolved peacefully and intelligently.

Desired Settlement: Page Publishing, announcing in answer to this complaint that the material has indeed been destroyed and (or) deleted from file and to as well provide me with such claim in writing, mailed to my home address. The same address they mailed their company brochure to, acknowledging both name of author and book title, for the written record.

Business Response: Dear ****,

Your manuscript has already been deleted and a signed letter of confirmation will be mailed as requested.  The policy of retaining unsigned authors manuscripts for a period of one year is a matter of convenience ?for our authors. Often enough, authors who initially decline to enter a publishing agreement right away subsequently contact us many weeks or months later requesting to move forward with their proposed agreement.  The signed Non-Disclosure agreement that is sent to authors prior to any manuscript submission to our company prevents any usage by Page Publishing unless the author is in possession of an executed publishing agreement and desires to publish their title with us.  Manuscripts are always destroyed upon request regardless of the manuscript storage policy.

Best Regards,
Dustin R******
President/CEO
Page Publishing, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ****



 

3/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered into publishing contract changed contract, in the middke of process and aft money was taken, also selling my copy written material in bookstores and on line. With no compensation. Will not answer calls or emails

Desired Settlement: Either honor contract or refund my money

Business Response: I have spoken with *** ******* via telephone today and have confirmed that we are executing the terms of our publication agreement as originally promised, there has been no modification to the contract.  I also provided him with my direct line as well as our ********** *******'s contact information should he experience a communication breakdown with any of our representatives.

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well, I am an unpublished writer, and I sent my manuscript ******* ** *** ******* to Page Publishing company in N.Y.C. I was in contact by phone with a *** ****** *********, Literary Development Agent at Page publishing company. ************************* ###-###-####. The conversations went quite well. I was impressed at the literature the company sent me. I was also quite impressed at their web-site. ** **** ********* personally informed me that my book was accepted by their review board. He also told me that they receive about 8000 submissions monthly, and only accept the top and very best manuscripts for publication. I was naturally excited and told everybody that knew about this great news. Then *** ********* e-mailed me the literary agreement. It was five pages long. It looked good until I saw the financial commitment on the part of the author on page four. My mouth dropped in massive disappointment. I have heard that companies do this, charge authors for editing, etc, etc,and that is how they make up the bulk of their business, and not from legitimate book sales. Then after they get their money, they then reject the work. This is a very terrible scam, that takes advantage of new vulnerable authors. I;looking for 30 dollars in copying costs and 30 dollars in U.P.S. costs for a total of 60 dollars within one week or I will contact every major news network

Desired Settlement: $60 Dollars. $30 dollars for copying costs and $30 Dollars for U.P.S. costs. This was my bad decision, in getting involved with an internet fraud company, and I'm not asking for all the time I spent getting this work ready for them. If no response to this small refund, well maybe Fox News, CNN MSNBC, ETC, might be interested in this underhanded and sleazy business practices of companies like Page Publishing Company.

Business Response: Dear *** *****,

I apologize about any confusion regarding the minimal investment that we require from some authors to publish their books.  All of our development agents are very upfront about the possibilities of such costs and any fees that we do require are clearly outlined in our publishing agreement which is presented before any transaction is made.  Furthermore, our review process takes place before we offer an agreement.  There is no possibility of us accepting money and then subsequently rejecting a manuscript.

I am sorry that this process frustrated you and I will of course reimburse you the requested $60 incurred from submitting your manuscript.

Best Regards,
****** ******* **** *********** ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

9/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently sent my book manuscript to page publishing. I was not told that I would have to pay 3000 to publish my book. I was not informed of this until I sent my manuscript and was told that I would receive a contract via email. I received the contract and there was a cost of 420.00 plus additional payments of 295.00 for ten months. I do not think a person should be mislead or have to pay to publish. An agent should make commission or want the book to sell. That's how they make money. I am asking that my book not be used or copied by page publishing and that my manuscript be sent back. This is a vanity publisher and I do not approve of how this situation was handled by the agent. It was misleading and underhanded. I even asked what the contract would entail and nothing of a cost was mentioned until I read the fine print.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my manuscript to not be used or copied and returned to me!

Business Response: The literature that we mailed to *** ****** and our web site both state that there may be an investment on the part of the author if their book is accepted after review.  He submitted his manuscript to us digitally, we will send it back to him immediately without retaining any copies as requested.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I never received my manuscript back via email by page publishing. Also I got a message from your literary agent **** ********* to discuss if I wanted to sign the contract and if I had made a decision after I filed my complaint.No I did not get the issue resolved and No ... I did not get my manuscript back! I am still waiting on it. In response to them saying it is an investment. I did not hear or see a price or a fee until they saw the manuscript and apparently they loved it. I have noticed that this is the case with everyone who has also filed a complaint. This is misleading and false advertising to take a persons or peoples money without the full details upfront! I have not received my manuscript nor has anyone as the literary agent addressed my complaint. He still tried to get me to sign the contract!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

Business Response: Hi ******,

I have already sent a link for you to download your manuscript, I am resending again now. Please check your email for this link.  Your manuscript is too large to send as an attachment, thus you must click on the secure link to download it.  Once you have received it, please confirm so that I may delete all copies from our server.

Best Regards,
****** *******

7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business has a commercial on TV telling people that they will publish their book, etc. There is zero mention of any cost to the author, me. I contacted the business per the commercial. I was sent a volumous piece of mail back in all that the company does for someone they select to promote their book. Again, there is no indiaction of any costs to the author, me. Someone by the name of "******" repeatedly contacted me by phone. He left messages most of the time. I left messages back, unless we were actually talking. My messages stated the name of my book, "*****'s ******", and that it was already published by me, and that it was already copy-writed by me. My messages also stated I do not want my book edited. My messages stated if there is any costs to me at all, I am not interested. I made that last comment more than once, since *** ********* never addressed anything I left him by message, including all the information I just mentioned I left, down to the fact it was a book, and its title was "*****'s ******", etc. He would talk to me about the "manuscript" I am "working on" which I thought odd considering all the above. After some time of his asking for it to be sent to Page Publishing and my word beinmg good, and considering that he has agreed there is no cost to me in that he said he received my calls, I sent him copy of my book at a near cost of me of $3 and considerable time. The weight of the book requires me to stand in line at the Post Office to send it. He called still waiting for it. I said I aleady sent it. He called again when he receieved it and said he would hand the matter over to the publishing department or whatever to see if they were interested and called back stating they were and that I would get a contract in the mail. There was one last thing I did. On the front page of my book I wrote exactly the same, that if there is any costs I am not interested, nor am I interested in copy writing or editing of my already copywrited and edited and published book, as per my messages to *** Blackburn. So nobody could miss that. *** ********* telephoned and told me my book, him finally knowing the name of it, was accepted and that I would be receiving a contract. On 2/**/2014, according to the metered mailing, Page Publishing, Inc. sent me a contract that does not acknowledge much of the above including, it has been published, it is copywrited, and it is already edited, in that the contract reads Page Publishing will do that for me, STILL. And there is a substantial costs required by me of a total of $3345. They don't seem to like their own contract in that President of Page Publishing, Inc., ******* ********, never signed it. I have not read the rest of the contract when the paragraph requiring me to pay them $3345 came to my attention. Every inch of the contract violated my correspondences and statements and written statement on the front page of the book. The front page is exposed and without cover so no one could miss it and signed by me.

Desired Settlement: I want my book sent back to me and the nearly $3 it cost me to send it to them and to never hear from them again and for them never to use it in any way or copy it. I do not want them to have the my email address your complaint required me to enter.

Consumer Response: it is fine if you want to include my email address on the complaint

Business Response: We will gladly reimburse *** ***the $3.00 that he spent to mail his book to us. He has not requested this of us, but if he did we would have immediately done so. The literature that we mailed to *** ******** and our web site state that there may be an investment on the part of the author if their book is accepted after review. Beyond reimbursing *** ******** the $3 that he spent to mail us his book, we are not sure what else we can do in that *** ******** is not a client and has never remitted any moneys to us for any services. 

Business Response: We are reimbursing ******** for the $3 that he spent to mail his book to us, as we stated previously, and we are returning his book as well. Beyond that, we do not know what we can do for him in that he is a not a client of ours. We are sorry that he is upset we will return his book along with a $3 postage reimbursement immediately. We hope that this will suffice to bring him satisfaction.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved, when I receive the book and $3. Thank you, and regardless of the situation, I thank them also for addressing the issue correctly.

ason for the complaint was as written: I would call and leave messages and the messages were not being addressed incuding if there is any cost to me I am not interested nor for that matter interested in sending them my book, *****'s Victim. And it should be noted the day I made this complaint to BBB I again called the contact at the business and they have denied they have heard from me. So there ya have it. I was given a person and a phone number and left messages and for the most part was ignored even to the last call I made.

Sincerely,

****************



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on Page Publishing, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart