BBB Accredited Business since

Cops Plus Inc.

Phone: (718) 267-7026 Fax: (718) 267-7029 38-01 23rd Avenue, Astoria, NY 11105 http://www.copsplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cops Plus Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cops Plus Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cops Plus Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2003 Business started: 10/01/2003 in NY Business incorporated 10/09/2002 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ion Hatzithomas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ion Hatzithomas, President
Related Businesses
ModelCars.com
Business Category

POLICE EQUIPMENT


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cops Plus Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase online with this company on Feb *,2015 order #******. Item showed it was in stock. I have waited 4 weeks for delivery but still have not received order. I have contacted customer service on 3 occasions and have been verbally promised an update via email but have never received any replies.Item showed it was in stock when I placed order. The typical response from this company is 'We apologize the item you ordered was on backorder from the manufacturer, We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order at any time.'Problem is, website never says item is on backorder. Just a very long estimated ship date.If I had known item would not be shipped in a timely manner, I would not have purchased from them.

Desired Settlement: An apology other than the typical response, item shipped free of charge or cancelled if it can't be delivered in a timely manner.

Business Response: Our site does not advertise stock status, but customers are welcome to contact us via phone or e-mail to inquire about stock before placing an order. Once an order is placed, our system creates an online order status page which updates with shipping information. The customer can log on to this page via the customer service page under View Order Status using their order number and e-mail address. If an item has not shipped due to a backorder, ETA's will be updated and posted to this status page. If an ETA is not readily available, the status page directs the customer to our 800 phone number to call customer service, who can then research the delay with the manufacturer on the customer's behalf. All of the above is what is being referred to by the customer service representative in the quoted statement, “We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order order at any time.”
The notes in this order show that *** ******** contacted customer service once via e-mail on Monday 3/* (or possibly over the weekend – we are not open on weekends so e-mails received after hours and over the weekend are addressed in the order that they are received on the next business day). The responding customer service representative researched the delay with the manufacturer and responded on Wednesday 3/** with an ETA of the end of March for these shoulder pads.
The options currently available are either that we will ship the items as soon as they arrive from the manufacturer, or the customer can request a cancellation or substitution from customer service, with which we will be happy to assist. We can be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Your website should say that it does not advertise stock status, but customers are welcome to contact us via phone or e-mail to inquire about stock before placing an order. I am still wondering why a company would sell a product they do not have in stock and make a customer wait two months to receive it.  Cancel my order as there are other companies that have much better sales practices.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ********



 

Business Response: Dear *** *******,

We are in receipt of the second response today 3/**, and acknowledge *** ********'s disagreement with our website set-up that does not advertise stock status but our customer service contact information is listed in detail and reps are available Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST to answer any and all questions about products and orders, as well as to resolve any problems.

At this time, we are unable to grant the request, made in the BBB complaint, for a cancellation of this order as it shipped to the customer yesterday, 3/**, and is already in transit. If *** ******** no longer wants the order, he is welcome to contact us to arrange a return or exchange. The best and most efficient way to conduct all of the above transactions is to contact us directly, be it via phone or e-mail:
Local: ************
Nationwide: ************
E-mail: ****************************
Sincerely,
CopsPlus Inc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

What a great way to use the internet for commerce.  Look at their website, view the item you want to purchase, don't purchase on line because you don't know if it is in stock. Call them and order based on availability.  If you complain about this process, CopsPlus says too bad for you, all we want is your money.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
**** ********




 

4/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in January of 2013 (not a miss type) I placed a order for 4 knives thru cops plus online order. Within about two I received two of the four knives I ordered. Inside the box there was a note from this Company. It said that there was a back order on one of the two knives that still need to be sent to me. That part I was fine with then about 4 months later I received the item that was on back order. But there was still one that I never got. I called the customer service phone number and talked to a guy named ****. He looked into the order and told me that the item I was still missing was on back order. Then he said that it should be about another 2 to 3 months before I was to get it. I was never informed that the last item I was waiting for was on back order till I called this company in May of 2013. I waited that additional 3 months and when I realized that I still was missing the item I paid for I called them back and requested that I get It for free since it was now the end of August. The told me that they were not going to do that but also stated that they it should be getting shipped out soon. So I just took it for what it was and here I am today on March *,2014 still without my final item that I ordered and payed for over a year ago. There is no reason for it to take this long for me to get an item that was ordered back in January 2013.

Desired Settlement: I have been patient this whole time and been very respectful so I would like to have the item I ordered and paid for and since it has taken this long for me to hear anything back from them or to get my order filled fully then i really would like to have the item for free since it's been well over a year that I placed my order.

Business Response: Sorry about the long wait, apparently the manufacturer was having an issue getting these produced so they were pretty much completely unavailable to anyone until this March.

 
Where as I do understand that a year is a very long time to wait for an item, the customer was under no obligation to keep the order with us and it could have been cancelled at any time. We hounded the manufacturer for these for months, but unfortunately it did not speed up the process.
 
The knife has been shipped via USPS Priority Mail with Tracking Number: ******************************
 
Unfortunately, we cannot refund payment for the knife if the customer is keeping it, but if the customer cannot use the item after the long wait we can have it returned to us at our expense for a full refund if the customer desires.
 
Sorry for the trouble
Customer Service
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 I'm sorry but the explanation that was given by the people at cops plus gave about not being able to get the item because of the manufacturer having complications is ridiculous. If they were having that hard of a time getting the item then they should have removed the item from their website. Not only that but I find it really ironic that as soon I file a complaint about it taking so long for my order to get filled and shipped to me, that's when they contact me and finally get the last item that I ordered over a year ago. So do I accepted their explanation on why it took so long for me to my full order the answer is no I don't. Beside in the company I work for we strive ourselves on our customers being completely satisfied in any way necessary.  

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-**-2013, I placed an order for a Picatinny rail bayonet lug mount for my Uzi. At the time of my order, I examined the web site and could find nothing to indicate that the item was not in stock. Due to a VERY negative experience in the past with a different merchant, I will never again purchase ANYTHING that is backordered. After ordering the mount, I did not receive any message stating that it was not in stock. Cops Plus emailed me a receipt which also made no mention that the mount was backordered. I should mention that this was the first time I had ever purchased anything from Cops Plus. After one week passed with no delivery, I decided to track my purchase via Cops Plus' web site on 11-**-13 and was informed that the mount would not ship until 11-**-13. Thinking that this odd, I sent an email to Cops Plus requesting clarification. On 11-**-13, I received an email from Cops Plus informing me that the mount would not ship until MARCH of 2014. Thinking this to be an error, I immediately emailed Cops Plus asking for this to be confirmed. On 11-**-13, Cops Plus replied and confirmed that the item was backordered and was not expected until March. I immediately canceled my order. There is absolutely NO reason why Cops Plus cannot have live inventory. Advertising an item and then not stating that it is currently out of stock is a deceptive and dishonest business practice. I understand that the Uzi is a popular firearm. However, you will not be able to convince me that the rail mount is in such high demand that you can't always have a certain number available.

Desired Settlement: After reading other BBB complaints about Cops Plus, I have learned that Cops Plus cannot always be trusted to cancel orders when customers request it even if they claim that they have canceled it. I will not do any further business with Cops Plus and recommend that no LEOs do until Cops Plus implements live inventory. I will be purchasing the mount from a different merchant and do not wish for Cops Plus to "unintentionally" bill my credit card in March and ship the mount to me. Furthermore, I demand confirmation from Cops Plus that my personal information has been removed from their system as I do not wish to receive any advertisements of their products or sales. I am not interested in a generic and insincere apology for my "inconvenience" nor do I care to hear Cops Plus blame the manufacturer. My complaint is not about the maufacturer, it is about Cops Plus misleading customers by indicating that an item is in stock and available when it is not.

Business Response: I am not sure why this complaint was entered in the first place....

 
Yes, the item he ordered was on backorder.
 
but, we did NOT charge the customers as the item was not available for immediate shipment.
 
The customer states...  "Cops Plus misleading customers by indicating that an item is in stock and available when it is not."
 - We did NOT indicate the item was in stock, and again we never charged the customer for anything as we only charge for items that ship.
 
The order is currently cancelled at the customers request and will not be shipped or charged to the card.
Furthermore, to address the concern in this complaint, we do not send any type of advertising emails to our customers.
 
If there is anything else we need to do please let us know.
 
Customer Service.
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

On 11-**-13, I placed my order for an Uzi pistol rail mount.  Nowhere on the website did it state that the rail mount was out of stock and on back order.  When the mount did not arrive by 11-**-13, I went to the website to check the order status and was informed that the order had not shipped and would not ship until 11-**-13.  I immediately sent an email asking why the mount did not ship promptly.  On 11-**-13, I received a reply which stated "I am checking on the status of your BACK ORDERED item.  I am waiting for a reply from the manufacturer".  This was the FIRST notification that I received that the mount was not in stock at the time I placed my order.  I examined the receipt that Cops Plus emailed to me on 11-**-13 and could not find any information on it which indicated that the mount was not in stock.  Later on 11-**-13, I received another email stating that the mount would not be available until March of 2014.  I went back to the website to check the order status again and the shipping date had changed from 11-**-13 to 12-**-13.  Had I not contacted Cops Plus on 11-**-13, I doubt that they would have ever contacted me and would have just kept moving the shipping date back. 

Under absolutely no circumstances will I place an order for a back ordered item.  It is almost 2014, there is NO EXCUSE for ANY online merchant to not have live inventory.  By failing to advise the customer that an item is not actually in stock, Cops Plus misleads customers into assuming that the item is available for shipment and they place thier order.  Cops Plus hopes that customers in this situation will decide to just wait for their item since they have already placed their order instead of canceling and looking elsewhere.  While this may not be illegal, it is deceptive.  Anyone who is considering doing business with Cops Plus needs to be warned that they may be purchasing merchandise that Cops Plus does not actually have and to not trust the dates that Cops Plus provides in regards to when an order will be shipped.  If they must buy from Cops Plus, I recommend contacting them by telephone to confirm with a live representative if an item is really available or not.  This was the first and last time that I will ever attempt to conduct any business with Cops Plus and I demand confirmation that all of my personal information has been removed from their database.          

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Cops Plus did knowingly advertise an item for sale that it did not have in stock and then allowed me to place an order for that item without having the decency to inform me that it was back ordered.  Did they seriously believe that I would wait for over three months for it without checking the delivery status or entering a complaint?

I am done with Cops Plus and they will NEVER see a penny from me.  Furthermore, I will advise all of my coworkers in my agency to avoid doing business with Cops Plus as well.  Cops Plus needs to accept responsibility for its actions, remove my personal information from its database and invest in and implement a live inventory system for its website or at the VERY least, post a disclaimer to advise potential customers that any item that they intend to purchase may not actually be available and could involve a excessively long back order.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response:

Customer keeps rejecting response.
 
Is there something the customer is looking for from us?
 
There is no active order for this customer at this time.
Please let us know what we can do to resolve this issue at this point.
 
Customer Service

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/**/13 I ordered a Fobus ROTO Self Locking Belt Slide Holster from the Copsplus online store. When I finished placing my order it was stated that the item was on backorder for 2 weeks which turned into 1 month which turned into 2 months when I finally cancelled my order over the phone 06/**/13. I received an email conformation letter the same day. But the item was still shipped to me on 06/**/13 and was charged even though I cancelled the order and Copsplus confirmed it. My debit card charge is $39.71 on 08/**/13.

Desired Settlement: I just want a hassle-free resolution to a mistake made on Copsplus' end. I didn't order it, I shouldn't have to pay for it.

Business Response: This order was shipped and received by the customer. If he does not want to keep the item we will gladly take it back and will pay return shipping.

 
As long as the item returns in unused condition with original packaging we will issue a full refund to the customer.
 
Customer Service
 

Business Response: As I said before...

 
We will gladly take the holster back and will pay return shipping.
 
As long as the item returns in unused condition with original packaging we will issue a full refund to the customer.
 
Just contact us to make the arrangements.
###-###-####
 
Customer Service
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
**** *****



 

9/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CopsPlus.com has promised on several occasions to deliver products I have ordered. They only send the items partially, and when I call about the whereabouts of my remaining order, they claim that the outstanding items are on back order. This has been going on for 3 months now. My first order was placed in May 2013 and my second order was placed in June 2013. I still have not received my items. My card was charged the moment I placed the online order.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of all items or complete refund of my debit card.

Business Response: As far as I can tell this order is complete.


This customer had 2 items on Backorder, which he decided to eventually cancel. We did not charge for these items as they never shipped, no refund is due

Customer service


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Cops Plus Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart