This business is not BBB accredited.

A. Stevens Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (845) 496-5903 Fax: (845) 496-2519 135 East Main Street -Unit 4, Washingtonville, NY 10992

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A. Stevens Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1986 in NY Business incorporated 04/17/1986 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Stephen Annunziata, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Annunziata, Owner
Business Category


Additional Locations


    135 East Main Street -Unit 4

    Washingtonville, NY 10992 (845) 496-5903


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They quoted originally $950 for the pump and installation. They stood around wasting time and tried to bill me for an extra 10 hours of labor. The total bill was now $2675. After the pump was replaced water in the bathroom is not working properly it was working properly before they replaced the pump.

Desired Settlement: I have paid the original amount which includes the price of the pump and installation in the form of $950 for a partially working water flow in the house.

Business Response:

Preliminarily, it is worth note that only after A. Stevens Plumbing & Heating (hereinafter “Stevens”) began collection efforts against this client for past-due monies, did the client file this retaliatory claim.


This contract began with client complaining about low water pressure despite recent check-valve replacement by another contractor. Without more, we recommended pump replacement, quoted a price, and client hired us. After install, pressure still low.


Stevens told client the next step would be to access and assess the check-valve, via the well-head. Client subsequently located well-head, called Stevens, and we recommended a course of action entailing specified additional charges, which client approved. Our tech began work at the well-head, and subsequently found a hole in the below-grade pipe serving the house.


The discovery of the hole in the pipe explained the low-pressure issue, and allowed us to present client with a lower additional-cost repair strategy / course of action. Client provided written authorization to our tech to proceed, and said “do whatever it takes to fix the problem.” The repair was accomplished, and pressure was restored in all but a bathroom, traceable to a fixture issue.


Client now claims amnesia regarding his authorization to us to provide additional labor and material at additional charge, notwithstanding his signed, dated authorization to do so.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I will sum up my response in five unresolved points:


In response to the low-pressure issue, a hole was found in the pipe leading to the well, and I was informed by the technician that replacement piping was .70 cents a foot. The technician then drove to the Plumbing supply house (A. Stevens Plumbing billed me for this time as part of their “10 hours as well”) to buy the pipe to fix the hole. They claim a “lower cost repair strategy” but the cost was additionally 2.5x times over what I was originally quoted to replace the pump. In addition, A. Stevens Plumbing already charged me $500 above the cost for the pump and installation (which the technician completed in about one hour).


The bathroom problem was not traceable to a single fixture issue; the fixture is new as is all the plumbing in the house and affects the shower and sink, and not one source. Also the “fixture” was working 100% with the old pump before A. Stevens Plumbing replaced it.


Also there is only sufficient water pressure to run one water device in the house at the same time. If multiple sources of water are used such as the outside hose and then the kitchen sink, water from these sources is reduced to an amount making it unusable in comparison to when only using a single device.


In addition the company, wants to charge me 10 hours of additional labor for something that does not work correctly. After 10 hours of labor the expectation would be their product to work correctly so either the work A. Stevens Plumbing provided or their pump is at fault. One of their workers was an 18 year old “helper” brought along to help dig a hole for access to the well. The hole was mostly dug out before A. Stevens arrived (or course not a problem for A. Stevens Plumbing they billed me another $125 hour for this “helper”).


Since A. Stevens Plumbing product does not work correctly, I now have to seek repair or replacement for their faulty equipment and/or work by a reputable and reliable third party. Which will provide a completely working source of water in every room of the house regardless of the number of water sources in use.





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


**** ******


Business Response:

By way of follow-up response to the client’s reply to A Stevens’ response to the client’s complaint, please be reminded that only after A Stevens began collection efforts against this client for past-due monies,

did Client file this retaliatory claim. For four months after Stevens completed the work, Client was apparently satisfied with the work, but made no effort whatsoever to pay for it.


Client’s reply restates his initial complaint. Inasmuch as A Stevens previously addressed same, a restatement by A Stevens is unnecessary. Suffice to say, it is counter to all good business practice, to continue in

the employ of a client who authorizes work but refuses to pay for it. Marc Bosser is such a client.


To sum up, Client had another contractor perform work, prior to A Stevens’ involvement, which Client deemed unsatisfactory. (Modus operandi?) Client next contacted A Stevens, who identified issues,

provided a price to remedy same, and, once work began, identified additional issues unknowable beforehand. A price was provided to Client before work on the additional issues commenced.


The additional work was undertaken by A Stevens at Client’s request, only after Client’s verbal and written authorizations to do so were received by A Stevens. Those authorizations belie Client’s claims to the

contrary, and form the basis of the litigation A Stevens will commence, absent full and immediate payment for all labor and materials provided Client by A Stevens. No amount of subterfuge will avoid either

payment, or collection. A Stevens is a long established, well regarded regional company, secure in the knowledge that Client’s libelous rants are without basis.


It is all well and good to put up a smokescreen after the fact, however, this is quite simply a case of a client who is attempting to avoid a contractual obligation to pay for labor and materials provided.

Resolution of his home plumbing issues apparently exceeded his means, and he now seeks to have someone else subsidize his cost of living.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

It seems A. Stevens waited many months and now advised me I owe additional funds.


On the day when the work was completed A. Stevens advised me to pay the bill and at that time I apprised them on the phone that charging me almost three times  the original estimate was unacceptable. After the owner of A. Stevens harassed me on the phone for over one hour, he informed me to pay what was “fair”. I responded to the owner the amount originally quoted for the work as fair. I paid this amount in full on that day and the issue was closed. Likewise, I advised A. Stevens the work was not completed satisfactory and on the Job Invoice itself, I wrote the words pending alongside Work Acceptance.


With your efforts of deflection of the real issues aside and a desperate defense of a losing argument, the original issues have not been resolved.


First, the Goulds J-5 pump installed by A. Stevens on 6/*/2016 does not work properly. Water flow does not function correctly in every room in the house. Additionally, using more than one source of water simultaneously reduces the amount making it unusable.


Second, A. Stevens is trying to collect money almost “three times” the original quoted amount for an installed Goulds J-5 pump which is similar to a “Bait-and-switch” tactic.


I would also like to respond about “A Stevens is a long established, well regarded regional company”. A quick check of the reputable which publish crowd-sourced reviews about local businesses shows that A. Stevens has 71% unsatisfactory reviews and on a scale of 1 to 5 rates as a low 2.5.







In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


**** ******


3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The serviceman was dishonest and did not provide the service he claimed he did. I thought he fixed the problem but in fact he did not. My wife signed the receipt and thinking the problem was taken care of due to our lack of knowledge on air conditioner repairs. The next day we had to have another company come out and work on the air conditioning unit again for a much lesser charge and found out that the first serviceman did not do the work stated on the receipt.

Desired Settlement: I was deceived and charged for services that were not done. I would like for the company to accept that their serviceman wrote false information on the receipt and accept partial payment of $116.00 which is half of the bill without any collection or legal actions.

Business Response: After talking to the Homeowner they had said that we where the Company that came after the first Company. We where the Company that put there Furnace in before this work and have a relationship. The homeowners told me that they will remove there complaint with you as they got the wrong Company. Please let us know what we need to do from here. We are the most honest company out there and take pride in that. The homeowner also paid there bill in Full

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A. Stevens Plumbing & Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)