BBB Accredited Business since

Cameta Camera

Phone: (800) 991-3350 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.cameta.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cameta Camera meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cameta Camera include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Cameta Camera
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1983 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1983 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

PHOTOGRAPHIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Cameta Camera Discount Photo & Video E&L Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 253 Broadway - Route 110

    Amityville, NY 11701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cameta Camera did not send the product that we purchased via order# ******* We ordered a Nikon P600 camera package in December. The package was planned as a Christmas gift to our son. Due to circumstances outside of our control our son was not able to open the gift until March. Upon opening the camera it appeared that the spare battery and charger were not correct for the camera. Come to find out they had sent us the Nikon P530 instead of the P600. Unfortunately our son had thrown away the box before we called and to our luck the trash had already been picked up. Cameta's Customer Service team refuses to send the correct camera or even the correct spare battery and charger for the P530. We are now stuck with a P530 camera and P600 spare battery and charger.

Desired Settlement: 1) We ship the Nikon P530 camera back to Cameta Camera and they ship us the Nikon P600 (preferred) 2) They credit us the difference in pricing between the P600 and the P530 AND exchange the spare battery and charger for the right ones

Business Response:

Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter. The order in question, *******, was sold via our eBay store on 12/*/2014 and was delivered to the buyer 12/*/2014.

The buyer was sold and shipped the Nikon Coolpix P600 Wi-Fi Digital Camera (Black) - Factory Refurbished (serial# ********) with a full kit. We have attached the invoice for your reference. The buyer did not contact our facility until 3/**/2015 stating that they received the wrong camera model. All cameras we sell as pre-packaged directly from the manufacturer, where the item barcodes and serial numbers are labeled on the outside box. Before an item is even shipped from our facility to the consumer, the UPC and serial number are scanned to confirm the proper item is being sent as well as log the serial number for warranty purposes. The buyer was stating that the incorrect camera, battery and charger were all inside the camera box. We requested pictures of the camera, shipping box and packaging and the buyer indicated they no longer had it. They indicated it had been thrown away with the trash days prior as they believed they had the correct equipment.

We, as the seller, are unclear as to how it would not have been noticed if the items were incorrect for a couple reasons. Back on 12/**/2014 (when the buyer claims the package could not be opened) the buyer called us and indicated the tripod received was broken. If the products had not been opened until March, how would it have been noticed that such a defect existed? A replacement tripod was mailed to them at no charge, no questions asked. In addition, if the buyer opened the package (finally in March) why were the boxes discarded if they could not immediately use the product? The consumer would have opened it to use it, and without the proper battery or charger would have been unable to do so.

We offer a 30 day advertised return period on our website, on eBay as well as on the receipt. Had the buyer contacted us within a reasonable time frame then the issue could have been addressed with the manufacturer. However given the fact that over 3 months had passed there is very little that can be done to research such an issue.

Kindest Regards,

*******

Cameta Camera 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The tripod they mentioned did not have to be opened. It was simply laying the box damaged just as I explained on the phone in December.  The camera was in its own box which we did not open and just wrapped assuming it was the correct model just as we had ordered.  When I called in March Cameta Camera asked me for the serial number off of the camera we had received at which time they confirmed that was the serial number they should on their system belonging to the order.  This confirmed that they know they shipped the incorrect camera yet they do not want to send the camera that was actually ordered.  This is fraud!  They are lower cost units to customers and keeping the extra money that customers pay.


 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have attached the same pictures of the camera that I emailed to ************************** on 3/**.  These images clearly show the wrong model of camera with the serial number that Cameta confirmed they showed as shipped for this order.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: Thank you for the requested images. This concern has been
escalated both internally at Cameta as well as with Nikon. It would appear that
Nikon erroneously packaged a Nikon P530 inside the Nikon P600 box based on the
details provided. This is why the serial number on the outside of the box,
which denoted a P600, matches that of the serial number on the camera. Although
Nikon is asking for the original box to be returned with the camera we have
explained the circumstances of this having been a gift of a refurbished model
and the box had been discarded. We have confirmed they are still able to have
the unit exchange accordingly for the proper model. As a result, a *****
pre-paid shipping label is being emailed to ********************** to return the Nikon Coolpix P530
Wi-Fi Digital Camera (Black) - Factory Refurbished with any accessories that
came with the camera specifically. We ask that a copy of the receipt be
included with the return. Once received back we will have it exchanged for the Nikon
Coolpix P600 Wi-Fi Digital Camera (Black) - Factory Refurbished and we will
deal with Nikon directly to rectify the inventory issue. We are very sorry for
the circumstances as this is an unprecedented situation but will have it
addressed as quickly as possible.

Tell us why here...

4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I perchase polariod 600 film, through ***********. ( market place ). The film see called Impossible film. There is NO indication of what impossible is. The film is bad, 1 picture out of 3 that I shot came out good. I return the film back to *******. There is no bar code, so ******* cannot refund me 28.48. Ithem called Cameta Camera. I was toldby *****, Cameta Camera doesnot have bar codes. ***** said the film is made for students to practice. I believed the film is out dated, they cannot sell it anymore, so they call it impossible film. You may get pictures,and you may not. I would like to get a refund. Or get me a bar code. If you like I can send you the three pictures, and the cardrige

Desired Settlement: Refund me and don't sell bad film

Business Response:

The order in question was sold and shipped exactly as the buyer ordered it. The buyer placed an order on 2/*/15 through the ******* ***********, with Cameta Camera as the seller on record. The order was placed for the “Impossible Color Instant Film (Color Frames Edition) for Polaroid 600-Type Cameras.” The item was processed, shipped and subsequently received by the buyer. The buyer contacted our facility via telephone and left a voicemail on 3/*/15 indicating that he had ordered the wrong film. *****, a customer service representative for Cameta Camera, called and left a message for the buyer on 3/*/15 indicating that as per our advertised ******* return policy…”Please be aware that we cannot accept returns for film, inkjet printers (once ink cartridge/ribbon has been installed) or underwater equipment once taken underwater.” This is due to the fact that once the film has been opened that the manufacturer will not take it back. Impossible Color Instant Film is in fact a brand name, not just a clever name Cameta Camera uses. We are including a link below to the manufacturer’s site:

********************************************

Impossible Film is warranted  by the manufacturer directly, so if the buyer feels as though the item is defective he may reach out to the manufacturer directly for confirmation. However we did in fact the exact “defect” to which the buyer is referring being addresses by the manufacturer in the link below:

********************************************************************************

We are unclear as to what the buyer is referring to as far as a barcode is concerned, as ******* cannot take back a marketplace item through their store.

 

Kindest Regards,

******* ******* ******** ******* ****

Cameta Camera 

3/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Nikon D5300 on December **, 2014 with a delivery date of December **, 2014. I tracked the package up until 720pm the date of delivery. No knock at the door or door bell ring. The item's status on ***** site said DELIVERED. There was a package at door across from me but it didn't have my name on it. i called ***** immediately but was told I had to wait to contact delivery driver next day. I called back the next morning and was told an investigation had to be launched by the shipper. I contacted Cameta and informed them. I was told by Cameta that I had to wait until ***** investigation was completed. 3 days passed and I called ***** again and was told investigation was complete and that driver claimed he delivered package. I contacted Cameta and was told they would start a claims to get refund and that it could take up to 2 weeks. I waited 2 weeks and called Cameta back on Jan ** after my email went unanswered only to be told since it was after Christmas to give ***** up to 5 weeks to complete the claim. I called back on Feb ** and was told ***** denied the claim and there was nothing they could do!! ****** told me to contact the credit card company to see if they could refund me. I informed her I had used a debit card and she said she didn't know about debit cards refunding people!! She then added that I should have told them I lived in an apartment therefore they probably would have requested signature on delivery. I told her that wasn't an option when checking out online. I automatically assumed it would be sign on delivery because of the price of the item.

Desired Settlement: Refund or delivery of order. I would also like the store policy to change where signature of delivery is an option when checking out online. Don't assume everyone isnt going to be available when order arrives!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *******


 

6/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i believe they have sell me a defective camera or returned by other costumer because its not working properly and they have refused to replace the camera and i have told by the person who i have place order with the camera was new but as soon i have receive the camera i start to face issues on it

Desired Settlement: i have paid for the new camera and they should replace the camera

Business Response: **** *** ****     **** *** ********

 

******* ******,

 

Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter. This response in concerning Case ID# ******** for which the buyer is stating that we shipped him a defective product.

The buyer was sold and shipped the order as it was placed over the phone with our sales representative. The order was placed on 5/**/14, shipped on 5/**/14 and was subsequently delivered on 6/*/14.

On 6/*/14, the date of delivery, the buyer contacted our location stating that the camera was not focusing with either of the 2 included lenses from his package. The buyer indicated he contacted Canon USA, the manufacturer of the camera and lenses, and that they indicated the camera unit was defective. As a result of the conversation we issued a pre-paid return label and asked the buyer return the Canon camera unit and the smaller lens with which it comes packaged for inspection. The buyer called back a short time later, about 2 hours, requesting that he return BOTH lenses. We reiterated to him that the second lens, which came packaged on its own, would not need to be returned. We explained that if the camera is defective then it will be defective regardless of the lens used. We did advise that if he felt more comfortable he could return the other lens but he ultimately decided not to. Then the buyer requested we pay for a plane ticket for him to come and test the units at our
facility. This was clearly a request that would not be accommodated.

The buyer then called our facility on 6/*/14 indicating he needed the replacement by Friday, 6/**/14.We explained to him that had that been the case he should have mentioned it on the initial call on the ***, and at this point we could not guarantee that this would happen. We explained again the unit needed to be tested for defect and the exchange processed if a defect did exist. We offered at that time if the buyer preferred for him to return the balance of the item he retained in order to receive a refund. This would provide him the opportunity to purchase an item locally so it would be guaranteed in his hands by Friday.   The buyer declined this opportunity.

The initial return was received from the buyer the following day, on 6/**/14. We had 2 different technicians (with years of experience) test the return and NO DEFECT was found. The camera unit was sent to a number of strange settings so it was reset to the default manufacturer settings and tested. This is the first step Canon has a buyer do when they confirm defect over the phone so we were a bit surprised to see the settings as they were. We called the buyer and left a message for the buyer to call us being there was nothing wrong with the camera or lens.

The buyer called back the following business day on 6/**/14 and he stated the settings on the unit were how he received it; we know this to not be the case as they all come from the manufacturer the same way. We advised the buyer the unit would not be exchanged being no defect was found. The buyer paid $12 to have the equipment returned to him.

The buyer calls back, again, on 6/**/14 stating that he received the return and is still having focusing problems. One of the technicians who tested the unit spoke to the buyer over the phone and again tried to troubleshoot the issue. Unfortunately it seems this is a matter of buyer error and their lack of experience with these types of units although he claims he owns another of the same unit. We instructed the buyer at that time to return the entire order for a full refund as we cannot keep going back and forth with him when the unit is not defective. To date, no return has been received to date.

We have tried to work with this buyer and provide instruction on how to use the unit. Unfortunately at this time the only resort we have is for the buyer to return the entire order and we discontinue our business relationship.

Kindest Regards,

******* *******

Cameta Camera 

Consumer Response: hey they refusing to take a order from me because i have file a complaint with you they take my order then they have cancel the order just because i have file a complaint 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought Night Vision Camcorder from cameta and the camcorder did not record, it only took pictures. SmartCare is handling the warranty side and as of today I have not yet to receive the refund check. I started this process in March, 2014, I brought the camcorder last year in April, 2013. I do not know who is responsible for my situation SmartCare (*********) or Cameta.

Desired Settlement: To know who should be responsible for my receiving the refund check, Cameta [(**********)order number] or SmartCare (*********). Thank you

Business Response: June *, 2014

 

Case  ID ********

 

******* ******,

 

Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter. This response in concerning Case ID#******** for which the buyer is requesting a refund.  

The nature of this complaint has nothing to do with our company, Cameta Camera. The buyer purchased a camcorder kit from our **** store over a year ago on 5/*/13. The buyer did NOT purchase an extended warranty through our company, although the camcorder did come supplied with a one year warranty with the manufacturer, Bell & Howell.  The buyer is referencing the purchase of a Smart Care warranty which is sold directly by **** when she bought the camera; the warranty is not an item sold by our store.  **** offers extended warranties after the purchase of electronics through their site and this buyer opted in.

The order which originally shipped on 5/*/13 was subsequently delivered on 5/*/13. No correspondence was received from the buyer since the delivery until we received a voicemail on 2/**/14. The buyer left a message stating they were awaiting a pre-paid return label from us. We called the buyer back the same day and left a message indicating we were confused since we have received no correspondence from them since the delivery nearly 7 months prior, and they are outside of the 30 day advertised return period. We requested they call us back to clarify, and to date, we have received no response or follow-up from the buyer.

If the buyer has been in correspondence with Smart Care then they need to reach out to them directly for repair/reimbursement. We have no affiliation with said company and are in no position to offer reimbursement for this order as a result.

Please let us know if any additional information is needed from our end to resolve this concern.

Kindest Regards,

******* *******
Cameta Camera 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a Niukon lens as refurbished and promised as fully functional and mint condition .But did not get the right product and in retuirn get verery very dab customer service and unnessesary hassle . The ******* named ******* I spoke to was screaming over the phone rather listen to me as customer who was not treated right by other customer service associate named **** .Even though the product was not satisfactory and return policy was really not as they advertised . Very very rude attributed as well as unprofessional . Please stay away from them!

Desired Settlement: I did not get the right product and the service was really bad and unprofessional. It waste my time and money. They did not provide any customer service they advertise for and very rude and unprofessional.
y
As a customer I just want the right product as they condition the advertise for as replace the the right one

Or

Take the product return and refund my money as full refund.

Consumer Response: They did not provide any customer service they advertise for and very rude and unprofessional.
y
As a customer I just want the right product as they condition the advertise for as replace the the right one

Or

Take the product return and refund my money as full refund.


Thanks



Business Response: March **, 2014
 
 
Case ID# *******
 
 
******* ******,
 
Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter. This response in concerning Case ID# ******* for which the buyer is requesting refund or exchange.  
The order was sold and shipped to the buyer exactly as it had been described on the ****** listing from which it had been purchased. We have attached a copy of the order in question for your review.  
On 3/**/14 the buyer contacted our facility stating concern over the package tracking details. We advised the buyer we would open an investigation with the post office, which we did.
On 3/**/14 the buyer called our facility stating that he had received the lens. However, after using the lens, the buyer claims the auto focus for the lens was not working. The buyer indicated the item was making a “cranking” noise. As a result, the buyer was issued a FedEx pre-paid return label to have the unit returned for an inspection and even exchange. The buyer indicated he could not open the link for FedEx so we paid even more money, and issued a USPS pre-paid return label.
The buyer then contacted our facility on 3/**/14 and spoke with our representative *****. The buyer again indicated he wanted to exchange the lens in question to which we advised him the item had already been authorized on 3/**/14 to come back for an inspection for an exchange. ***** was in the middle of explaining to the buyer that we will tests the returned unit and if they would like, we could test the replacement unit, and the buyer hung up on him.
The buyer then called back and got ***** on the phone again. The buyer began yelling stating he did not want this lens and was demanding another copy of the lens. We advised the buyer, again, that all returns are based upon inspection and if the item is found to be defective in manufacturer then we will certainly exchange it. We advised him is there is no defect found then we would either return the lens to him or issue a purchase price refund, less any original or return shipping costs. The buyer did not like that our returns are based on inspection and began yelling even louder that he wanted a refund instead of an exchange. The buyer clearly did not start getting upset until he was advised that the lens would be inspected upon its return. The buyer hung up on our representative again. The representative emailed the buyer and advised that upon the return of the lens that the item would be inspected and a refund would be issued based upon the confirmation the lens was defective in manufacture.
The buyer then called back and got ***** on the phone. The buyer claimed that ***** had hung up on him, when in fact we reviewed the phone call here and proved that to be an invalid statement. ***** again was providing details to the buyer about how the return process works and the buyer became very irate.  She tried to explain to him what an exchange is as it seemed from his correspondence he was not understanding. She reiterated all of the same information that had been provided both over the phone and email and confirmed it was going to be inspected and processed for a refund.
The buyer then called back again and requested to speak with a *******. I, myself, as acting ******** ******* ******* had the liberty of both reviewing the previous phone calls as well as speak to the individual directly. I attempted to get to the bottom of the problem as we have been actively working with this buyer since 3/**/14 to have the product returned and to date, no return has been received. The buyer tried to indicate that I was talking to him inappropriately to whom I responded that was not the case, but if he preferred that we could email. The buyer then started screaming that he was just going to return the lens because our customer service is not up to par with his standards and expectations. We stated that was fine and again to use the return pre-paid return label and the item would be inspected upon return. The buyer ended the call and now has started this BBB complaint.
We have done what we can to try and communicate with this buyer but it has been a fruitless effort. It seems the buyer is more interested in the fact we are going to inspect the item (which we do with all returns to confirm the buyer has not damaged the unit in any way or misused it) rather than actually sending the item back. We have done what we can to try and resolve this concern and chose no longer to do business with this buyer. We suggest the buyer have the item returned within the 30 day advertised return period. If the buyer does not use the pre-paid return label by today it will no longer be valid as it has a 7 day life, and was issued on 3/**/14.
Kindest Regards,
******* *******
***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I just response to last email that i have accept the business agreement that they will do a check the item as soon as they receive it and I have sent out the Item  by Fedex .Below is the tracking Number #  *****************

 

But my case has not been resolved yet , because I have not received my money back that they promised. So , Please do not close my complaint yet.

Until I have get my refund.

 

Sincerely,

**** *




 

Business Response: The item was received back at our facility yesterday. It is important to note that NO DEFECT was found with the unit in question. We issued a full refund to the buyer back through the original funding source, Amazon, so as to close this case and move on. Amazon indicates the refund will be posted within 1-5 days per their policies. As a result, the buyer should see the refund shortly.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company sent me a refurbished lens not upto standards and does not refund any shipping costs. This is unacceptable. The order was placed on phone, and the representative never told me anything about no refunds on shipping will be provided. We have received your order # *******. Your Salesperson was **** ******

Desired Settlement: I want full refund on my order including shipping costs both ways. I am entering 329.95 in amount disputed dependent on if I receive return shipping label from Cameta camera. If not I would like them to refund return shipping costs for which I will be providing the receipt.

Business Response:

Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter. This response in concerning Case ID# *******. The buyers complaint seems to be in relation to the shipping fees he is responsible for to return the item they purchased.

The buyer contacted our store and placed an order over the phone with our Sales Department for a refurbished lens with some accessories. The "refurbished" status of this items relates to the fact that it is anticipated the item may show signs of use or normal wear and tear. The order was processed, shipped and delivered on 1/**/14 under the FedEx Ground tracking number ************.

Today, 2/*/174, the buyer contacted our Customer Service Department via telephone stating that he did not like the lens; there was nothing indicated to be wrong with the item. When the buyer was advised that he could return the item for a refund of the purchase price, less the original shipping cost he became agitated. The buyer did not feel it right that he would have to pay to return the item. We explained that we are only responsible for shipping when the return is the result of defect or shipping error on the part of our store. The buyer understood the process and hung up. Legitimately 3 minutes later the buyer calls up and gets another representative in Customer Service and is stating "the lens make a noise" and has dust inside. We advised him that our notes reflected the call from 3 minutes prior where it was indicated no defect existed with the item. We also told the buyer that we inspect all items when they are returned, and if found to truly be defective, we would reimburse up to $10 in return freight.

The buyers statement that he was never advised he would have to pay shipping charges is inaccurate. We have attached to this response a copy of the buyer's invoice which was available for the buyer to print in their confirmation emails. The return policy clearly indicates that shipping fees are excluded from any refunds.

We, as a seller, do not find it right that a buyer wants us to be responsible for their error. Whether it was simply a matter of they ordered the wrong item or they are experiencing buyer remorse, that is still not our fault. We have accommodated the return and provided return instructions to the buyer, but we have no intention of paying shipping if the item is not defective.

Kindest Regards,

******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Thanks a lot for attaching the invoice. Now, please look at it closely. It says:

1 Kit containing the following:  1 $329.95 $329.95 (THIS IS THE PRICE OF THE ITEM)
Shipping Cost for FedEx Home/Ground $0.00                                 (THIS IS THE SHIPPING YOU CHARGED ME)

Your representative told me if I returned the product, I will receive $319.95 ($329.95 - $10(Shipping)). Where is the $10 shipping mentioned?
Also, I would have to pay for return shipping. I placed the order on Phone. Is it not the responsibility of your sales representative to explain the policy. 

I have wasted a considerable amount of time trying to explain it. Also, please do not claim that you explained me the policies on call. 
I am citing the following line in your responce : "
We explained that we are only responsible for shipping when the return is the result of defect or shipping error on the part of our store."
Please feel free to listen to the recording of the conversation I had on my call to your customer service and if this was ever mentioned. 

From my photography experience, I think that there is something wrong with the lens. From my shopping experience I think if I am informing you within a week of receiving the lens, I should be eligible for a free replacement or refund. 
The only buyers remorse I have is shopping at Cameta Camera.

If only writing in a huge font and bold letters mattered, I could have done the same. Just saying. I know you are really good with words, but don't bully your way around. 


 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

Business Response:

Thank you for your response. Please note that a details list of our shipping and return policies may be found directly on our website at ***********************************************

The return policy clearly indicates that if an item qualified for “free shipping” at the time of sale and is returned for reason other than defect, the original cost we paid for shipping will be deducted from the refund.

Had you been concerned about the return of the product and the policies associated with such, we would have suggested speaking directly with Customer Service or reading the policies provided. The salesperson is not going to read the entire return policy to a buyer when a sale is made; the buyer must take some accountability for researching this.  In addition, when you did call and speak with Customer Service the first time and inquired about return freight, this information was reiterated to you.

We had offered to test the unit upon its return, and if the item was found to be defective it would be a full refund including up to $10 in return freight. However, instead, you decided to post negative on the ******** ******, BBB< ****, etc. This is not going to change the stance of our return policies or the inspection of the unit.

We are sorry if you feel as though we are trying to “bully our way around” when in fact we are providing factual information.

 

Regards,

*******

******** ******* ****

Cameta Camera

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Camera from this company through Amazon.com on 2/4/13. I needed the camera to be delivered by 2/09/13 in order for my wife to have it in time for a trip to Australia. In order to insure that I got it on time, I paid $16.95 for Priority Shipping. At the time of order, the site stated that the shipping time would be 3 - 5 business days, so I followed my order with an email to Cameto Camera's Customer Service Department telling them it was critical I received the item by 2/9/13. They responded on 2/6/13 stating that my order would be received by 2/7/13. The item was not received until 2/11/13 which was too late - my wife was already on her flight to Australia. Cameta Camera has only offered to refund my purchase price, but refused to refund the Priority Shipping. In addition, I paid $10.01 return postage, however I did not ask them to reimburse me for this. If they had been honest with me on 2/6/13 and told me that it would possibly (or probably) not been received until 2/11/13, I would have had more time to buy another camera for my wife's trip. The least they can do is refund the Priority Shipping given all the trouble they have caused.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $16.95 paid for Priority Shipping (in addition to the product purchase price which they have already agreed to).

Business Response:

Thank you for your time and attention to this communication.  

The buyer placed their order through Amazon.com. In verifying the details for the order the following information had been provided by Amazon, an estimated shipping date of 2/5-2/6 and estimated delivery dates of 2/6-2/11. Proof of these details may be forwarded to the BBB for review. 

The order in question had been shipped from our facility on 2/5/13 under the following USPS Priority Mail tracking number: **********************

In confirming the tracking details it appears the package had been delivered on 2/11/13, despite the adverse weather conditions faced by the carriers from the storm which hit the east coast( Winter Storm Nemo). As the package was delivered within Amazon estimates, it would not qualify for the shipping costs to be refunded. The buyer even initiated an Amazon A-to-Z claim as an attempt to be refunded and was denied the claim. Evidence of this denial can be provided if needed.  

We advised the buyer that if they wished to return the product we are more than happy to accept it back for a refund of the purchase price (as previously offered). However we are not to be held accountable for shipping (original or return) when the package was delivered within advertised estimates. If the buyer wishes to perform the return it must be done within the 30 day advertised return period, and all items must be returned in complete resellable condition with original manufacturer packaging.  

Business Response:

We as a fulfilling merchant on Amazon do not set the estimated delivery dates which are provided to the buyer; Amazon provides these dates to the buyer on the order confirmation email. In addition this information was accessible if you had visited the Amazon order history as well. Unless a buyer is selecting a One or Two Day Air shipping option that is the only time we can guarantee a delivery date. In addition to the fact you must bear in mind that weather delays were experienced as a result of the Winter Storm Nemo. However, even with said delays, the package was still provided in the time frame given by Amazon. The order was subsequently returned to our facility on 2/20/13 and a refund of the purchase price was issued the same day. Amazon indicates that most refunds typically take 3-5 business days from the date it is initiated.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I don't know how else to say it or show it.  I attached the email with the previous complaint PROVING that Cameta Camera did, in fact, provide a date that the package would be delivered by.  They did not meet that date.  I even told them that if I didn't get it by Saturday, I would not need it.  It came on Monday.  Now they are stating that only Amazon provides that date.  Now they choose to lie about that too.  If they had been honest, I would have either paid for overnight or 2 day delivery or else tried a different option.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ********** 




 

2/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/20/2012 Delivery Issues