This business is not BBB accredited.

TheLadders.com

Additional Locations

137 Varick Street, #8, New York , NY 10013 http://www.theladders.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TheLadders.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TheLadders.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 22, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2003 in NY Business incorporated 12/01/2003 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

JOB LISTING & ADVISORY SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Ladders, Inc. TheLadders

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TheLadders.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    137 Varick Street
    3rd Floor

    New York City, NY 10013

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    137 Varick Street, #8

    New York , NY 10013

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with theLadders.com in March 2015. After two months of using them, I cancelled the account. But they keep posting my resume and personal details on their website which caused all the recruiters from the US to still access my details. I get at least two calls every day. Eventhough I tried cancelling the account on their website, the Basic Membership keeps coming back.

Desired Settlement: The Business has to contact me to agree that they deleted my information from their system.

Business Response: Dear ******:

We have received your letter, dated March **, 2016. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Our Senior Job Search Adviser was able to conduct an intensive search of the system and his information has been removed. The customer should no longer receive any further communications. She has contacted the customer informing him of this unsubscribe action and he seems satisfied with our efforts. 

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
Julia S*****
Staff Accountant/Contract Administrator

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon signing up for "The Ladders" website, I immediately started receiving 3rd party recruiting emails from three shady practices. One particular group requested $5K in fees to help find a job. I did not opt-in to share any of my information.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and an apology. The customer service representative I corresponded with online didn't have a clue -- appears to be another third party customer service support vehicle.

Business Response: We have received your letter, dated October **, 2015. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Our Senior Job Search Adviser has refunded this customer the disputed amount of $25.00, which is what was requested. The customer should already see the refund on their statement. Please note our customer service team had spoken to the customer about getting contacted by a third party. The customer was asked to send additional information in order to research the matter, however, no information was ever sent.

TheLadders apologizes to the customer for any inconvenience.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
Julia S*****
Staff Accountant/ Contract Administrator

10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Theladders.com claims they are a exclusive job listing service for executive level positions. This is a false statement. Most of the jobs that I have applied for re-direct me to a companies website which are available for free from several services. I have applied for at least 25-30 jobs and never even received a phone call or emails from the jobs that are listed by recruiters. There is NO quality control on whether these are real jobs or not. I escalated to there senior executives and got a call from a Customer Service Person who said they would send me statistics on how many people get hired by there service. Never received then. This company charges $49 a quarter and does NOT live up to there claims. This is a total SCAM and should be shutdown.

Desired Settlement: I would like a FULL refund for the 1.5 year of service I paid for with Zero Results.

Business Response: Dear ****:

We have received your letter, dated September **, 2015. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on September **, 2015 and had previously worked on it on August **, 2015 . The customer had been refunded on August ** the amount of his last charge from August **, 2015 equal to $49.00. He should have already received that refund .

Additionally, we want to take a moment to address a few of his claims, Dan receives a lot of hiring alerts and recruiters have been viewing and downloading his resume. According to our data, he hasn't been actively applying to positions. He applied to two in July and the next most recent is one in May. People with active applications usually get the most contacts from employers. We recommend applying to between 3 and 5 positions per week or that he isn't seeing enough relevant jobs to apply to.

He is looking to be a Vice President in IT. We have at least 500 results in all of the Saved Searches he has set up. If he is looking for VP of Infrastructure positions, based on his previous experience, we currently have 194 of those on site.

We reached out to him on August **, 2015 to give him the tips above and answer any questions he had. He did request stats on success rate and we let him know the most popular reason people cancel but he wanted in-depth statistics. His feedback was noted and as was the request that there be more statistics available.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
Julia S*****
Staff Accountant / Contract Administrator

6/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with the ladders for a few months in 2014 before I found my permanent full time job in May of 2014. I cancelled my monthly subscription with them a year ago, in April or May of 2014, I do not have the exact date. They had an auto billing payment plan of $25.00 I cancelled with them last year and I went to review all my activity for my credit card over the last year and they have been billing me, erroneously for the last year. I cancelled my monthly subscription over a year ago. I would have called them or emailed them but it is impossible to find any contact information including an email address or phone number. Their records will show I never logged in during that time period to the account and their company is a big scam and they know it. They do not send any email receipts of payment and when I went to cancel again as soon as I found out they were still billing me last week, they still did not send a confirmation of cancellation. Again, their records will show that I never logged-in to check my account and I did cancel my subscription

Desired Settlement: I want ladders to refund 100% of my monies since June of 2014, they billed me $25 each month.

Business Response: We have received your letter, dated May **, 2015. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Our ****** *** ****** ******* did an exhaustive search, and we did not locate any attempt to cancel the services. However, in the spirit of customer satisfaction, please note that we completely unsubscribed customer from the premium membership, thus cancelling any future automatic renewal payments. Furthermore, we have refunded this customer a total of $125.00, which is equivalent to all of her payments from 2015. The customer should see the refund in 3- 5 business days.

Additionally, we want to take a moment to address the auto-renewal policy. Please note that on the TheLadders’ website, under the Join Now page, it clearly states the automatic renewal terms. This information is located in plain sight, near the “Join Now” button. The terms of auto- renewal are also reiterated in the Terms of Use as well. There is language in the terms that clearly state our cancellation policy. Customer can cancel the premium subscription at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link noted below the cancellation policy or customer can call customer service.

TheLadders apologizes to the customer for any inconvenience.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
***** ******
***** **********/ ******** *************

6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried for at least 6 months + to stop the Ladders from debiting my credit card. No matter how many times I call in and say I want to cancel the service or dispute it with my credit card they still keep debiting my credit card. They stopped the service for a while but stated that because I opened their email that it restarted again??

Desired Settlement: I want them to STOP the service once and for all. I haven't used this service in years and don't want it any longer. I just want them to stop billing my credit card.

Business Response: Dear ****:

We have received your letter, dated May **, 2015. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Our ****** ********* ******* ********** was able to conduct an intensive search of the system and unsubscribed her from our email listing. The customer should no longer see any further billings on her credit card. He has contacted the customer informing him of this unsubscribe action and she seems satisfied with our efforts.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
***** ******
***** **********/******** *************

4/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January of 2015, I unsubscribed to the on-line Ladders job finding service. In my most recent credit card statement (March), I was charged $27 for a monthly subscription fee. I attempted to contact a representative at the Ladders about this unlawful charge but was not able to locate a means to call or e-mail my concerns.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $27 credit back to my credit card and an e-mail assurance from The Ladders acknowledging cancellation of the policy and that no further charges will be processed.

Business Response: We have received your letter, dated April *, 2015. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on April *, 2015. The customer was refunded the requested amount of $27.00. Customer should see his credit card refunded within 3-5 days. Also, customer’s subscription to our Premium service has been terminated and an email assurance acknowledging cancellation was sent to the customer. 

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company continues to charge me for renewal even though I cancelled their services last year. I've been through this six months ago when I disputed their renew charge. I have contacted my credit card company for another charge for June 2014.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from their customer list. Cease attempting to charge me a renewal fee.

Business Response: We have received your letter, dated July *, 2014. Our Job Search Support Center (JSSC) has researched this matter concerning ****** ********. Our records show that *** ******** unsubscribed on December **, 2013 under the email address: *******************. However, he has another account that he did not list under his name or the email address provided. We have identified the additional account registered under the following name and email address: ** ******** – ********************* 

A reminder email was sent to *** ******** prior to each renewal with the last email being sent on May **, 2014. Per the attached complaint, we have refunded the disputed charge and emailed *** ******** to explain what has occurred.

There will be no future charges to the credit card and an email was sent to him on July **, 2014 to confirm the refund.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,

******** ******* ***** ***********

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on TheLadders.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart