BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

TheLadders.com

Additional Locations

137 Varick Street, #8, New York , NY 10013 http://www.theladders.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TheLadders.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 13
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 22, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2003 in NY Business incorporated: 12/01/2003 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

JOB LISTING & ADVISORY SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Ladders, Inc. TheLadders

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    137 Varick Street 3rd Floor

    New York City, NY 10013

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    137 Varick Street, #8

    New York , NY 10013

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Theladders.com, misrepresents themselves ***** having a strong database of job that the consumer would be interested in. They do not reveal these jobs until they receive a payment from the consumer. Once payment is made, the consumer realizes that Theladders.com does not know of any jobs that the consumer said he was interested in. Once consumer asks for his/her money back, Theladders.com refuses. TOTAL RACKET in a time of VULNERABLE out of WORK consumers

Desired Settlement: money back and Theladders.com shut down, or fined so that they represent themselves truthfully

Business Response: Dear ******:
We have received your letter, dated September **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have investigated this matter regarding customer’sclaim. On the claim, Customer noted that a product or service was purchased on September ***, 2013 and that a problem occurred on September ***, 2013. Customer also claimed to have contacted TheLadders on September *** 2013.

One of our Job Search Support Specialist ("JSSS") researched Customer's account into our systems, Please note the following:
• Customer currently has a Basic account. When people sign up for our services, they have the choice of one of two types of accounts- Basic or Premium. The website clearly states what access comes with the Basic subscription (free) and what access comes with a Premium (paid) subscription. Please see Exhibit A which is a screen shot of the sign up page, As noted on the screenshot, a Basic subscription provides customers with access to Job Titles only (see language circled in purple). If customer wants more details of the position, customer must sign up for a Premium subscription for full access. TheLadders offers different Premium subscription periods in which customers can pay month to month or pre-pay a discounted, quarterly, semi-annual or annual subscription fee. Also, the sign up page references our "Terms of Use." It is a hyperlink on the site that any visitors to the site can read prior to signing up for a membership account. The Terms of Use (attached as "Exhibit B") clearly discloses our policies pertaining to renewal, cancellation and links to third party sites/ content.

• Customer did sign up for a premium subscription in June 2011 for the fee of $30.34. Less than a month later, customer was given a. partial refund of $21.67 and the account was changed back to Basic. Please refer to the screenshot of customer's payment history ("Exhibit C"). This is the only payment history we have for this customer. At no other time do we see any fees that total $200 as noted on Customer's complaint. Furthermore, we do not see any record of anyone with the name of **** * *******  or the email address of ******************* *** upgrade to any paid premium subscription on or about September ***, 2013,

• Customer has been accessing TheLadders site as a Basic account user. Our  systems show that Customer last accessed his account on June **, 2013 (see "Exhibit D"). As noted above, Customer does not pay any fee for his Basic account. If Customer is dissatisfied with the access as a Basic Account user, but does not wish to upgrade to Premium  again, Customer can cancel his account altogether and no longer receive any emails, newsletters from TheLadders as well have no further access to the site. Customer can view the Cancellation policy under the Terms of Use or call **** ******** to cancel the subscription.

• Finally, in reviewing our communication records in ************** that tracks all phone calls and emails to and from Customers, our last record of communication from client was dated May **, 2012. Basic subscription customers receive  emails/newsletters  that  are periodically  distributed from TheLadders to customers. Also, anytime customers contact TheLadders to ask questions, log a complaint or discontinue service, it is noted in the Salesforce system. Please note customer's response to TheLadders May 2012 newsletter in Exhibit E.

Based on the "Desired Settlement" expressed in Customer's complaint, we already granted a partial refund (which was the majority of the premium subscription fee paid by customer in 2011). No other fees were charged to Customer's credit card since that date. As noted in Exhibit A and Exhibit B of this communication, it is clearly displayed on TheLadders website the subscription levels we offer as well as the terms of use that govern the service.

We hope your office deems this communication as satisfactory for its files. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
***********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I cannot get this company to stop sending me emails. Back in 2011 I set up an account with them. Now when I try to log in (to disable the emails), it says my login credentials are not correct. Okay that is "possible" (although I have the password written down so I do believe it is correct). So I looked for a "unsubscribe" type of link. The web page doesn't have one. I looked for a phone number to call them; there isn't one listed on any of their web pages. Next I used there "help" links and "support-email" links to which I have not received any response or action (after emailing multiple times). Their website also mentions a "Live Chat" but this does not exist on any of their pages either. This is the first time I've ever filed a complaint with the BBB and I'm not sure if this is the right way to address this. All I want to be removed from their mailing list but I don't know how else to pursue this.

Desired Settlement: Removal from their email list.

Business Response: Dear ******t:

We have received your letter, dated September *, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on our own. A member of our JSSC team went into our system and thoroughly unsubscribed the customer. This customer will no longer receive any further communications from TheLadders.  The JSSC has reached out to  the  customer via  email  to  confirm  that  l1e will no longer receive emails.

To clarify, when a customer terminates the premium subscription, the fees are cancelled, we no longer charge the credit card monthly fees and the membership is moved to a free basic account. The customer may receive communications under this free basic accou nt from ti.me to time. By completely unsubscribing the customer, customer will no longer receive any further communications.

We hope that your office deems this matter  satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
*************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and, although they have not reached out to me (as they stated), I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved since, at this point, I have not received any further spam from them.

Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,

***** **********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several months ago, I sent a request to TheLadders.com to cancel my auto-renewing subscription, which renews on a 3-month cycle. On 8/**, I noticed a $49 charge to my credit card, clearly indicating that the subscription had renewed, despite my previous request. I wrote a message to their help department asking for a refund, as I have not been using their services for several months, nor do I intend to. I received the following automated reply: ----- This is an automated response. Thanks for writing in. We did receive your request to cancel at which time we set your account to NOT auto-renew, which means you won't be charged again. Your Premium membership will now expire at the end of your subscription, at which point you will be automatically downgraded to our Basic (free) membership. Have a great day! ----- I sent a second message asking for a reply that specifically responds to my concern, and I received the same automated message listed above.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the $49 refunded for a subscription for services I have not used nor intend to use. It's irrelevant why a previous request for cancellation was not processed. Let's just get this refunded.

Business Response: Dear ******:

We have received your letter, dated August **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on our own. Our Job  Search  Support  Specialist ("JSSS") refunded the  fee of $49.00 and cancelled customer's premium subscription.. Customer's credit card will no longer be charged for the premium service.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
******** * ****** ******
Legal Administrator

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have emailed every month for the past year. It's not top of mind, but the I get my CC statement and it's on there. I signed up over 2 or 3 years ago and have emailed repeatedly to many email addresses listed on their site to cancel and there is never a response. I am getting charged $75 a month!!! for something I can log into because it was with an old email address and no way of getting ahold of someone. I am DONE!!! I want 12 months reimbursed, as they will see I haven't logged in for over 2 years!!!

Desired Settlement: I will start to go to social media if this is not resolved by August ****, which is more than fair. I worked in .com industry for over 8 years and can use it to my advantage as well.

Business Response: Dear ******:

We have received your letter, dated July **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on our own. Our Job Search Support Specialist ("JSSS") reviewed our systems and found that customer has not accessed our site in more than a year. The JSSS reached out to customer to offer a partial refund of $600.00 and customer confirmed acceptance of this refund. The Customer's card should be refunded within 3-5 business days. Furthermore, Customer's premium subscription has been cancelled.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved.  Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,

****** ******
 Legal Administrator

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to cancel theservice with TheLadders.com for the past 6 months. Their website does not provide a telephone number. I have sent emails via the email address on their website. They have not responded to my emails requesting cancellation of service. They bill my credit card $35.00 month.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the service, stop billing my credit card and refund the last 6 months of service (the amount of time I have been trying to cancel this service through their contact channels).

Business Response: Dear ****:
 
We have received your letter, dated July **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter on our own. Our Job Search Support Specialist ("JSSS") investigated the customer's claim of contacting us via email in order to terminate the paid premium subscription. The JSSS found that there were two accounts. The customer had a free basic account under his name. The premium account was under the name of ****** *****, presumably his wife. It was further discovered that a joint credit card in the name of the customer and ****** ***** paid for the subscription.

The JSSS called the customer to explain the above noted findings. The premium account has been canceled and customer has been refunded the last charge to the credit card. Customer should see a refund in 3-5 days. There will be no future charges to the credit card.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Theladders employs auto renewal of subsription without adequate warning and without confirmaton once billing happens. I would never have auto renewed.

Desired Settlement: refund and better disclosure of decptive techniques

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May **** 2013, I purchased a professional resume writing service product from TheLadders.com to have a professional resume written for $395. I was contacted by a resume writer ***** who proceeded to ask me a serious of questions as to what type of job I was looking to obtain. He said the resume would be available in about 5 business days. ***** asked me for a copy of the current resume that i had. On or about May ****, I was emailed a copy of the resume ***** wrote. I was abosultely appalled and shocked because ***** copy and pasted my resume and handed it off as the professional resume he wrote. There was absolutely no changes whatsoever to what I already had on my current resume and it was even worse than before. I have requested a refund numerous times from this company for scamming me out of $395 and to no avail. They refuse to give me my money back. *** ****** and ******** ***** were not willing to work with me for ***** copying and pasting my resume into a new one.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $395 i paid for the professional resume. As mentioned before, ***** copied and pasted my current resume and made no changes whatsoever and pawned it off as their product. They did nothing to add value to my resume besides copy it.

Business Response: Dear *****:

We have received your letter, dated March **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Despite our best efforts to work with Customer to create a resume to her satisfaction (as detailed below), we issued Customer a full refund of $395.00 011 this date. The customer should see the refund to her credit card in 3-5 business days. Also, we would like to address certain facts that were omitted from Customer's complaint.

Please note the details as follows:

1. The Customer purchased the service for her niece ****** on 5/**/2103.
She submitted a version of the resume to be updated.  Attached as Exhibit A.

2. Main contact has been with Customer and not her niece, ****** (with the exception noted in No. 3 below).

3. Customer in her letter claims that she spoke with our resume writer, ***** on 5/**/2013. In reviewing our records, it was ****** spoke with *****, not the Customer.

4. ****** received resume on 5/**/2013. The revised resume is attached as Exhibit B.

5. Customer  sent  Resume  Operations  the  first  escalation   on  6/*/2013.
Customer claimed that "resume isn't up to par for an executive level resume -to fix it or process a refund."

6. Resume Operations spoke with ***** on 6/*/2013. He informed us that he sent a message 5tating that he was willing to work with ****** and defend the work that he has created for her.



7. Resume Operations  gathered  the  necessary  information  to  investigate claim from June *** to June ***. Resume Operations found that the resume was  a different document than the original provided and agreed to allow the Customer to work with a new writer.

8. Resume Operations responded to Customer on 6/**/2013, informing her that it was willing to work with her and her niece to recreate her resume and set her up with a new writer.

9. Customer responded on 6/* */2013 and demanded refund.

1.0. Resume   Operations   resent   an  e-mail   on  6/**/2013   explaining   that Company does not issue refunds since the resume writer  completed the  process,  and  reminded  Customer.  that  this  is  stated  in  the  terms  and conditions. Again, Resume Operations offered to work with Customer and assign a new writer.

As noted above, Customer has been issued a full refund.  We hope you deem this matter closed for your files.

Regards,
*********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have cancelled my membership with this company more than once, but yet they continue to bill me via auto-pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the CEO and a refund of all payments for aggravations.

Business Response: Dear ******:
We have received your letter, dated June **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. The Job Search Support Specialist did an exhaustive search of our email systems, and we did not locate any email notice of cancellation from the customer. However, in the spirit of customer satisfaction, please note that we completely unsubscribed customer from the premium membership, thus cancelling any future automatic renewal payments. Furthermore, we have refunded this customer the total fee of $37.78. The customer should see the refund in 3- 54 business days.

Additionally, we want to take a moment to address the auto-renewal policy. Please note that on the TheLadders' website, under the Join Now page, it clearly states the automatic renewal terms. This information is located in plain sight, near the "Join Now" button (please refer to Exhibit A, a screen shot of TheLadders' website, with the terms of auto-renewal circled). The terms of auto- renewal arc also reiterated in the Terms of Use as well. There is language in the terms that clearly state our cancellation policy. Customer can cancel the premium subscription at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link noted below the cancellation policy or customer can call customer service.

TheLadders apologizes to the customer for any inconvenience.

We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,
********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

While there response is not accurate, I would expect nothing different from them.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used The Ladders "BASIC" Service and then I was Auto Charged $180.00 to my Credit Card Account for an Upgrade to "Premium Service". I contacted Customer Service Several times and requested information in the form of an Authorization Document where I "Personally" agreed to "Upgrade" to "PREMIUM" Service and "AUTO Charging of my Credit Card Account." I communicated with ****** and *** ***** on Multiple occasions and all I ever received were blank forms and "Terms of Service" statements without any indication that I had endorsed the "Auto Charging" of my Credit Card Account. After discovering the Charges aon my Credit Card I immediately terminated all my known accounts with The Ladders and was told I was only due a partial return of my fees or a $45.00 refund credit. I again asked for verification of authorization to "Auto Charge" my credit account and was unable to obtain any sign of authorization by me to place charges on my credit account. I advised *** ***** that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and then I was discouraged by *** ***** in writing to do so.

Desired Settlement: I anticipate a total 100% refund of any "Auto Charges" made to my Credit Card sinice The Ladders has failed to show any Authorization by me fr any such charges to my account.

Business Response: Please note that we issued a total refund of $180, representing the 2013 annual renewal fee for
customer's premium  subscription  to  our site.   Additionally,  customer has  been  unsubscribed  from  our Premium service.
 
Our Director of Customer Operations spoke to *** ******* regarding the annual automatic renewal charge. She informed him that every year prior to the renewal of his membership, our systems send customers an email asking customers if they want to make any changes to their accounts or if they want to discontinue their premium memberships. After conducting a search, we found that *** ******* has received such a system email between 2010 to 2013. Please refer to "Exhibit A" that shows the communication we send to customers prior to auto-renewal and the tracking history reflecting the dates and times we sent these system notifications to *** ******* email.
 
Furthermore, we would also like to address Customer's comment about the automatic charges. Please note that on the TheLadders' website, under the Join Now page, it clearly states the automatic terms. This information is located in plain sight near the "Join Now" button (please refer to Exhibit B, a screen shot of TheLadders' website, with the terms of auto-renewal circled). The language clearly states that all subscriptions automatically renew, and notes customer's obligations to follow the Terms of Use (attached as Exhibit C). The terms of auto- renewal are  also reiterated in the Terms of Use  as well. There is language in the terms that clearly state our cancellation policy. Customer can cancel the premium subscription at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link noted below the cancellation policy or customer can call customer service.
 
As noted earlier, we refunded customer the full fee for the 2013 renewal only. The annual renewal fees for the prior years are non-refundable because we did not receive notice of cancellation in accordance to the terms of use.
 
Please contact us if you have any questions.
 
 
Sincerely,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[The LADDERS Letter is dated from March 2013 and indicates that they are following up. and that follow up would be completed within a week - which would have been sometime late March 2013 - today is June **, 2013 and there seems to be no Respectively resolution as of yet.

Sincerely,

******* *******




 

Business Response: In reviewing the full history of the customer's account, the customer had a monthly subscription in 2008. Customer was charged a monthly fee of $30.00 from November 2008 to July 2008.  On July  **, 2008, the day after the customer's account automatically renewed, he was issued a refund. This Customer had to have contacted us to request the refund. Therefore, this customer was aware of our auto-renewal policy and the ability to terminate at any time since 2008. Sometime in 2009, this customer signed up for a premium subscription again at the annual fee of$180 per year. A screen shot of the customer's payment history is attached for your reference.
 
However, we have decided to refund the customer the total amount of $540, representing the fees from 2009 -2011. The customer should see the refund to his credit card within 3-5 business days. The customer has already been refunded the 2012 fee. For further clarification, we never charged Customer for the 2013 renewal fee.
 
As noted in our initial letter to you, dated March **, 2013, our automatic renewal policy is clearly stated for customers. They are informed at the time of sign-up that the fees will automatically renew AND that customers can terminate the premium at any time. Also, customers are sent emails reminding them of their pending auto-renewals.
We hope you deem this matter resolved for your files. Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TheLadders.com continuously bombards me with their e-mails, even though my account is unsubscribed in every category of the notification. The company ignores my multiple requests to stop solicitations and search result mailing. They violate our contract this way. TheLadders.com must publicly apologize and immediately correct their electronic mail filtering so that accounts that do not want to be solicited are not bothered with monthly e-mails.

Desired Settlement: This practice is a violation of the U.S. privacy laws and must be stopped immediately.

Business Response: Dear *****:
 
We have received your letter, dated March **, 2013. Please note for your files that we have resolved this matter. Our Job Search Support Specialist canceled customer's basic membership has been canceled and he should no longer receive any emails from us. The Job Search Support Specialist also reached out to the customer via email to confirm this.
 
We hope that your office deems this matter satisfactorily resolved. Please contact me if you have any questions.
 
Regards,
****** ******
Legal Administrator

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 
**** ******** 


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund from TheLadders.com due to their inferior job search service. They are misleading in their advertisements as well, stating that they provide career help with a premium membership, which they don't. At all. They provide a resume re-write service at the outrageous cost of $399, but aside from that, I do not know of another product of theirs which is helpful to my job search. I had a premium account and found the service to be severely lacking in personal attention, job opportunities, and their job search. Often, I received emails from the company with job matches that actually did not match my job whatsoever. I did better on my own job search using ******. I gave the product almost 30 days, and then requested by email to terminate my agreement and return my money. A return email from them assured that I would not be charged again for the service and downgraded to basic service, which I didn't want or ask for. When I called to inquire about the refund, I was told that they pro-rate refunds and I would get $4.17 returned to my credit card within three to five business days. I again requested a total refund due to poor quality of service, and the representative ***** told me that was not possible. I asked to speak with her supervisor. *********, who was not available.

Desired Settlement: Ffull amount of my premium membership returned to my card because of poor quality of customer service and poor quality of their product.

Business Response: RE: BBB Complaint #****** (***** **** *****)
 
Dear *****:
 
Please note that our Director of Customer Operations issued a total refund of $$20.83, representing the amount requested in customer's complaint. Also, the customer has been unsubscribed from our services.
 
We hope you deem this matter closed for your files.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
***** *****
Legal Administrator

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2013 Delivery Issues
12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/24/2012 Delivery Issues
7/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/24/2012 Delivery Issues
4/16/2012 Delivery Issues
1/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Delivery Issues
9/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/7/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1