BBB Accredited Business since

Jewels for Me, Inc.

Phone: (718) 361-2898 Fax: (718) 361-6528 7105 3rd Ave  Ste 507, Brooklyn, NY 11209 http://www.jewelsforme.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jewels for Me, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jewels for Me, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2006 Business started: 07/18/2002 in NY Business incorporated 07/19/2002 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Thomas Izsak, President Mr. Sammy Barsano, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Sammy Barsano, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Thomas Izsak, President
Business Category

JEWELERS-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
JFM Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jewels for Me, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7105 3rd Ave
    Ste 507

    Brooklyn, NY 11209

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an emerald solitaire ring online from ***************. It did not match their advertised specifications. I have purchased jewelry online from other merchants and have never had a problem; plus, I felt I was safe because it was BBB accredited. During my online purchase, I had to go through an International Checkout because I was from Canada, not US. I contacted *************** as soon as I received the faulty ring. They told me that I was actually an International Checkout customer ?? I then contacted International checkout and sent them photos of the emerald, they immediately sent to *************** "store" for review. The "store's" response was this: "The store has reviewed your photos and advised us the following: "We're very sorry the customer is not satisfied with their ring! As per the information on our website, the emerald fits the standard of the quality of emerald we sell. Please know to find an emerald with no inclusions is not possible here as perfect emeralds are extremely expensive. If she wants to return the ring for a merchandise refund, we will accept. For future reference, we do sell lab created emeralds which have no inclusions and look perfect for customers that want an emerald that looks perfect at a low cost. Thank you for understanding!" I found this to be hurtful and condescending. To me, it felt like I was being mocked for buying an item that they considered "low cost"; it also implied that I had no knowledge of natural inclusions/cloudiness of emeralds or knew the difference between genuine vs. lab created stones. This emerald had two very large black spots (one right in the center) that can be seen with the naked eye from a distance. I could have accepeted the cloudiness and perhaps the smaller dirt/dark spot on the side, but not the large black dot in the center of the stone. When all was saId and done, I had been charged $1791,77 for this item after it had been converted to US Funds, after Shipping & Handling, and after I had paid $440.00 in Customs/Duties. Even if the company allows me to return the item after January *** 2016, I still lose $440.00 plus their $10.00 charge fro a return. It is a scary decision being as I don't trust this business at all at this point. I can send all email threads and photos of ring if you would like; I had waited for an emerald solitaire for decades and it was a legacy from my mother's estate ~ she always loved emeralds. I am truly heartbroken about this and feel like I have had to stand up to a "bully" in the form of *************** ~ whoever they are ... I would hope that you can investigate this further and that nobody else has to have this experience. At one point, the merchant actually emailed and asked my to contact in first week of January 2016, at which point they would assign one of their representatives and perhaps replace the stone as an option. Then they reneged. This is why I have finally made a formal complaint. ** Jan **/2016

Desired Settlement: Replacement of Emerald Stone or ring, at NO FURTHER COST (including S&H/Customs/Duties) to consumer.

Business Response: This is nothing more than an unfortunate miscommunication on the part of International Checkout. The last thing we had told them is to offer the customer the option of a replacement ring. We are not sure why they proceeded with an offer of a refund only. We have contacted them, and they should be reaching out to the customer shortly to arrange for the replacement.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I do not trust this merchant, and I am already out $440.00 ~ do I risk losing even more?  I have been patient and waited for a response that would not leave me out of pocket.  I will consider replacing the ring, but only if *************** pays the Shipping and Handling PLUS Customs/Duty Taxes this time.  I should be able to exchange without losing any money at this point.  I was hesitant to spend so much, but the item was purchased in good faith and had BBB accreditation.  It would be nice if there was a phone number, or a supervisor, or a real person to contact.  My experience was to have been a happy one, not a negative and deeply unsettling one.

Sincerely, *

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

What about the exchange?  I will have to pay another set of duties on the exchange? I would prefer to have the replacement sent to me first, then I will return defective item.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ********




 

Business Response: In order to send a new ring without paying any additional taxes or duties, we have to process this shipment as a repair. The postal service allows for repair work to be shipped without additional duties being charged. Shipping a new ring first would constitute a separate shipment, and would result in new duties being charged.

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a ring and I was charged but when I go to see the status it was cancelled yet I was charged $500 still I tried contacting them threw the website and phone nothing I would like my money back cause I have proof and a lawsuit is possible

Desired Settlement: I want the ring but if its impossible to be done like advertised then I want my money back

Business Response: *** ****** was not charged for this transaction. His credit card was authorized in the amount of $494 on *****. His order was cancelled for suspicion of fraudulent credit card use. *** ******'s order was placed from an IP address located in ********, with a billing address in *****, and a shipping address in *******. An e-mail was sent to him on ***** to notify him of the cancellation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have no such email for cancellation I have proof the card is mine I have moved to ******* 2 moths ago my cards and bank are in Texas I am not in ******* for I'm dealing with family issues right now if there is a way to prove to you these are not fake and I am the sole person who is paying please let me know I am buy this ring for my girlfriend of 2 years the stones are set for her sapphire for her bday emerald for mine and her recently deceased mom I will provide any and all info you need to prove these are my cards and info

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******



 

Business Response:

It is our policy to refuse business to any customer who is belligerent, rude, or makes disparaging remarks and gestures towards our company. This customer placed an order on our website, which was cancelled due to routine security checks. In response to that cancellation, the customer filed a complaint with the BBB and has twice threatened legal action against us. We take pride in our excellent customer service, and we are not willing to accommodate a customer who chooses to attack us with no provocation. 

As we stated earlier, the customer's credit card was never charged. It was only authorized when he initially placed the order. That authorization has now been voided.

To avoid further conflict, we have asked the customer to take his business elsewhere. We would recommend ***********, which has many items similar to those on our website.

Thank you,

*** *****

President

***************

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I did not threaten I stated I was not belligerent nor rude and made no such gestures the business claims to have given me a cancellation email which was false but I took my business else where and apologized for my action but I wont let someone claim false accusations against me plus the business I went to is way more respectable to there customers

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order on 10/**/15 and have been waiting for some type of confirmation of my order. I called the phone number listed and was given a recording of that they are upgrading their phone systems and to use their website. I tried to use the website chat option, but after 5 mins of waiting on a response I closed out. After the transaction had pended for more than 5 days my credit card company dropped the transaction. That's why I have been trying to reach them to see if they are going to honor the request, recharge my credit card, or do I need to placed the order again, or simply go somewhere else? This situation also leaves me to wonder if they are a legitimate business or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my order or be given the information to move on.

Business Response: We have no record of an order from the person named in this complaint.We do not have her credit card information, nor do we have any other information in regards to the order she said she tried to place. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I don't understand how they did not have my order or info. So I included a copy of the order in an attachment.  The order number is ******.  I also have included a copy of the correspondence that I had with Jewels for Me via ***********************  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response:

The previous response to this complaint was an error. The wrong name was researched in our system. We did not have the ability to edit our response via the BBB system.

The following is the record we have of this order:

 

The order was placed by the customer on 10/**. An e-mail confirmation was sent to: **********************.

On 10/**, we received a question from the customer and responded immediately, as shown below:

 

10/**/2015 10:09:25 AM
**********************

Hello, I have placed an order, for a ruby red elephant yellow gold with chain on 10/**/15 which your website order status tells me that its still pending. However, my credit card provider has dropped the transaction because of the length of pending days. Please let me know whats going on with my order. ********************** ***** Sent from my ***** ****** *****.

10/**/2015 10:10:05 AM

Hello- when you initially placed your order, the charge was authorized to your credit card. The day the order ships, the charge will actually go through and you will receive an email with your tracking number. If you are using a debit card, your bank may remove the authorization before the item is shipped, in which case the card will be charged the day the order ships, which will be today- thank you for your patience.

 

The order was shipped on 10/** under the following tracking information, and an e-mail confirmation of the shipment was sent to the customer later that day.

 

USPS: **********************

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jewels for Me, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart