BBB Accredited Business since

My Business Venture

Fax: (631) 863-2249 View Additional Phone Numbers 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302, Smithtown, NY 11787 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mybusinessventure.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer challenges and encourages clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com or contact them by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Business Venture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Business Venture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 15
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Complaint Information

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer complaints and encourage clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com, or by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on My Business Venture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Stridiron, President Mr. Joseph Kilgannon, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Stridiron, President
Business Category

INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES BUSINESS SERVICES (GENERAL) CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302

    Smithtown, NY 11787 (800) 639-6644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did an online search about business opportunities and was contacted by MBV.They told me if I sold one item a week I could make 2,000.They also told me that with my purchase I would receive a marketing package.I have asked them about the package several times.They have not responded.I gave these money grabbers 2,800 for the business and now they want a small fortune for additional advertising. Which was not what we talked about in the beginning. I find it hard to believe that these SALES oriented crooks have an A+ rating.Unreal! I have yet to sell one item. And all they want is more money.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like to get my money back. And also force them to be upfront about the business instead of being sales motivated!

Business Response: Hello:

After speaking with our valued customer, he apologized and agreed that he jumped the gun and filed a complaint without reaching out to us first for help.  

We have spoken to him, worked to provide him with all the tools he needs moving forward, and have set him up with some one on one training and help to get things going in the right direction and he is a happy customer.

Many times, there can be issues when working with any company but we pride ourselves in providing the best possible service and support out there and we are happy to report another satisfied customer after working through the areas he needed help.

I have attached a copy of our agreement with him for your records.

Have a great day!

MBV Support Team

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company keeps calling me and trying to collect money form me after I contacted them and told them that I DID NOT want to be in business with them. I don’t owe them any money, because from the start their representative provided me with miss leading inaccurate information and lies while I was franchising the company and while I was in business with them. After NOT making any SALES other than my family who I had to beg to buy something from me, I called and asked the representative to provide me with some type of prove that they were a profitable company and he told me that he COULD NOT provide me with that type of information, so I asked him, can you provided me with phone numbers to other franchise owners so I could call them an verify if they were profitable or not and he told me NO as well, that raised a RED FLAG for me. After speaking with him I was really skeptical of why he would deny me prove, even something as simple as a public phone number. I took it upon myself to do some research and google to see if I could find other website of other franchise owners, I found a few websites out there and I called the numbers listed on their site. I manage to reach out to few owners and after speaking to them, they told me that they were not profitable and some have been in business with this company raging from 1 month up to 3 years. We exchange story on what they were told by their representative and it turns out they are providing miss leading and inaccurate information to everybody just to sell them their company site and once they get you signed up all you do is pay them money and you make no sales what’s so ever. I have ALL the phone numbers and names of other owners I’ve talk to and I’m willing to provide you with all the information including emails. All I want is to be taken off their call list and taken off whatever paper work they made me sign because the representative was not truthful at all, lie to me to sell me the site and get me to sign a contract with a company that tell inaccurate information to possible customers. I’m a war veteran, with a child on the way, I work hard for the money I earn and I don’t want pay money to a company that lies and scams people.

Desired Settlement: I want be taken off any paper work I signed and I do not want to pay them or owe them any money that they say I owe them and I want to be take off their call list.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
******** ***********



 

6/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When going into business with MyBusinessVenture I was told that all of the prices I would be able to offer would be cheaper than most other places, therefore allowing me to make easy sales and wholesale to other businesses. When getting the site prices were pretty crazy, and not even comparable to any other sites or stores. This made it unable to make a single sale. I am very unsatisfied with the inability to provide prices that are even close to anyone else's. Another problem I have is that this company is supplying 1000's of others with then same exact website and products. I just discovered that someone else has the exact same site as me and they live just a few miles away

Desired Settlement: It would be greatly appreciated if I could be refunded the money I have paid to this company. I am not asking for any of my advertising costs, time, or web hosting expenses back. I just want back the amount I gave to the company. Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

5/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I requested information on a website business opportunity, I was contacted by *** ***** ****** it was the last week/first week of March/April 2015. *** ****** said that the business would cost $295.00 down to start, only if I got enrolled with him Today (he said that it usually cost $600 running a special). He said that it was a turnkey website. After I spent time making changes appropriate to my page (took about two hours), he then told me about the additional cost of “the business”, which was the cost of SEO advertisement ($300.00 - $2000.00 per month for the next 6 months) and that was before any money even came in. He never mentioned anything about SEO, before the signing of the “Contract”. I am extremely upset, to say the least, about this “bait and switch” type of practice from the MBV Company, as I am on SSDI limited income of $653.00. To resolve this I have requested a cancellation of the contract. Furthermore, I am demanding a full refund of the $299.95. The company refused to admit deceit and has refused a refund, but ***** ****** called me back the same day after 10 minutes and "told me I could cancel if I gave him $500.00 USD. I will provide a copy of said “Contract” Only upon request. Side note I also found out that this company is using ***** ****** ************ Products (formerly ***) which only cost $39.95monthly w/ FREE web address and no other cost except the cost of purchase of products and S&H, this also had no fee for merchant account, so I then purchased items from both websites to find out if the products were different and they were absolutely the same items. So I got curious and decided to look for other companies doing the same type of services and found several like SLC, all w/similar pricing and S&H, no fee merchant accounts, I am only asking to be refunded what was deceptively taken from me, “I DO REQUEST” that the web address named (*********************) be retained by me as I came up with the name and it belongs to my intellectual property, and I will call it even (considering the problems) along w/ a full refund of money paid to MBV by Me.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract, due to Misrepresentation of contract, I was Specifically told "this is a turnkey business". It is no such thing. I also wish to retain the name of website named ********************* as it is created by me and is my personal itellectual property

Business Response: Hello.

We have received the inquiry from *** ******** and have reached out to him to settle the matter.  We have emailed him 3 times and called and left him several messages but he has not returned any of our calls.

We have agreed to his settlement request and have sent him the necessary forms to sign so we can complete his request.  However, he has yet to sign them or return them.  Please have the customer reach out to us toll free at ###-###-#### so we can finalize his settlement request.

I have attached a copy of the paperwork the client needs to sign so we can cancel out his services.

We are happy to have resolved this and wish the customer nothing but the best in any future endeavors.

Best regards,
MBV Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 

5/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with MBV . Upon signing up I was offered a fully functional Website that I am able to use as my online store. Along with this I was given products from a vendor to sell and was also told I was going to be able to post my merchandise along with those from the vendor to the website. On January ** 2015 I tried to upload my own merchandise to the site as we discussed. I was unable to do so I called technical support who told me they would send me an email with the instructions I received none. January **, 2015 I called again asking for ways to upload my good on the website. The tech personal told me it was a mistake on the part of the sales person because they do not offer that service yet. I was transfer to the sales person who told me I could not because he put me on new platform and they were going to eventually offer the service however he does not know when I will be able to get the service. They said they had an older version of a website they could give to me. I did not pay for that so I refused it. They are selling a product they do not have. I am stuck with my merchandise not being able to sell my own stocks for a store I have paid for. They have no idea when this will be possible.All they have offered me is wait and maybe one day soon I will be able to upload my merchandise when they clearly told me I would be able to do so pior to me signing the contract with them

Desired Settlement: I would settle for cancellation of the contract without penalty with the rights to use domain name as my own without cash refund. if I cannot have the rights of the domain name then I would like a full refund and exit out of the contract without penalty

Business Response: Dear BBB.

We are familiar with this client and the issue at hand.  We had just built her a website to her specifications containing over 12,000 items.  The website has every feature imaginable that a website owner would want.  In fact, our site has been featured as one of the most technologically advanced websites available out there for a very affordable price.

Unfortunately the option this customer was looking to utilize is in its final testing phase and we asked her to give us a few days to complete testing so she could utilize the feature.  She agreed and we did not hear from her until we received this complaint.  It was quite upsetting because we were working with her to resolve this and she never gave us the time to respond to her issue.  

On a positive note, we have spoken to the customer and worked out an agreement together.  Both parties are happy with the agreement and we wish this customer nothing but the best in any future endeavors.

I have attached a copy of the signed settlement agreement with the customer for your records.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,
MBV Support

1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had consulted with marketing rep concerning an online web store. From November **, 2014 to December **, 2014 a total of $776.65 has been aid out of my pocket toward this so-called business that has not produced any sales. I had called marketing rep. explaining to him that I have not had any sales out of this total of money that I have paid to My Business Venture on November **, 2014, marketing rep. told me he could get a 6 month package involving search engines to drive traffic to my site. None of this money has driven any traffic to my site (no business at all). I called again to talk to marketing rep about no sales and no traffic, his reply was that the packages would be going up at the first of the year and he could get me a deal for $300.00. It seems as though this company wants me to continue to pay money with no results at all. Here is a breakdown of what I have paid: November **, 2014 $219.95 to get started, **** $25.00, **** $18.95, **** $300.00, December *, 2014 $25.00, $25.00, $25.00, $24.95, *** $25.00,**** $25.00, $**** $25.00, **** $37.80 Total $776.65 have sold nothing. I have no evidence to show where all of this extra money has gone. I also let him know that I no longer had a job. With as shady as this business venture has been, I would not personally recommend anyone to get involved with this so-called venture.

Desired Settlement: To refund me back all of my money, because it just seems like every time I talk to this company they want more and more money.

Business Response: Dear BBB.

We are well aware of the challenges with this client.  We were contracted to build a website, merchant account, and payment gateway so she could sell her products online.  Once her site was live, she made a small additional investment in a search engine program.  We did this at our cost because the customer claimed they had very limited funds.  

When a website is live on the internet, it needs to be marketed, just like any business.  The customer believed that by spending $300 marketing her business that within days she would receive sales.  It does not work that way and takes a good 30-60 days for her website to appear in the search engines.  We explained this to her but she said she needed to make sales now.  She did nothing on her own to market her business and we continuously explained to her that SHE needed to run her business if she was to be successful.  It takes real time and effort and she did not have the resources, time, or willingness to put in the work needed.

After speaking with her, we are happy to report that we have resolved our issues and both parties are happy with the outcome.  It is disappointing that she felt the need to report this as a complaint and she said apologized and she would retract it since we resolved our issues. It was simply a case of a person not understanding that it takes real commitment to run a business of any type and success is not quick nor guaranteed.  Hopefully the client has learned a valuable lesson and we wish her nothing but success in the future.

We have attached a copy of a signed settlement agreement with this client for your records.

Thank you very much.

MBV Operations Dept.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to ** ***** ****** several times on the phone and he promised me the World to me that I would make more money than ever he guaranteed sales from day 1 of the website going live and he also promised me that traffic would be directed to my website from My Business Venture and would be making sales from that advertisement, ** ****** aslo promised me that I would have Gold Membership pricing and one of the upgrades that would normally not come with the program he said he was going to include ,and so from the guarantees that he was making with me it sounded good so I agreed to go along with the business and paid 175.00 up front to get started I was also charged 18.95 for the merchant account totaling 193.95. After signing up I find out that the upgrade was never put through and it would cost ,me 395.00 to upgrade to that package and that the Gold pricing was not included and that there wold be an additional 19.95 per month fee to have that which originally ** ****** said this would be included with my initial investment, ever since i joined this company I find out there are additional costs for everything that was initially promised to me that would not cost me money. ** ****** is well aware of my financial situation and I told him I do not have the money to keep paying for additional services that if he wanted me to join that the services mentioned above would be included and he told me that would be fine. I am not happy about this opportunity. The bottom line is that ** ****** did not fully disclose to me that there was going to be additional costs through my business venture after the initial investment to guarantee traffic and to have gold membership and other services that they offer thinking that was all included in the initial investments of 2.875.00 that would cost me over 36 months. He basically lied to me just to get me to sign up so that he could most likely make his commission/ I cannot believe that this company has an A rating with the BBB because of the false statements they are making to customers They are not being fully transparent with the customer and they are promising services to the customer they cannot deliver on just so that the sales person could make a sale. .

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of the money that i have invested into this company. I have had several conversations with *** ****** and every time he has lied to me. I do not trust this company anymore and do not want to do business with them any longer. I have a very bad taste in my mouth about them. So I would like to have the 175.00 refunded back to me along with the 18.95 for the merchant account charge that was charged to me also and we can separate as business partners and not have any other charged to my account. So i am looking for have a total of 193.95 refunded back to me and the would satisfy me and would like to separate myself from doing business with this company

Business Response: Hello;

Good afternoon.

We are happy to say that we have reached an amicable settlement with this client.  There was a lot of misunderstanding on his part as to what was involved and what was required of him.  As evidenced by the customers letter, we were clearly on a different page than this client and we take great pride in making sure our communication with our customers is second to none.


After speaking with the customer,  it was apparent at this point that the client was not going to be able to effectively run a website and we felt is was prudent for us to move on, so we agreed to take a loss on the account, refund him any money he paid, and cancel out his agreement with us going forward.

We wish him nothing but the best in the future and hope he is a little more diligent reading the agreements before entering into a financial obligation with a company.

I have attached a copy of the clients settlement and release paperwork showing that this has been resolved amicably.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
*** ********** **** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* **********



 

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January of 2013, I fell for lies and false promises of E-Commerce Exchange, I invested $2495.00 which was put on my American Express card for a set up fee and all inclusive website for an online retail store, that was to generate a profit within 60 days and to have earned my full amount investment back within 90days. I was told that the cancellation period was 3 days after signing, I took the reps word and went forward with the transaction. But, after the three day period I was informed that it wasnt ready and the excuses started. The web team was busy and it would be up the next day, etc. Finally when the site was up, I had been promised that I could add my own products and change prices, add coupons and other customizations. But after the site was up and the cancellation period expired, I was told by the rep. ***** ***** that I couldnt change prices or make changes according to our prior discussion, he then told me that they were part of the up grade, so if I wanted this feature which he strongly suggested I could spend $790.00 for the up graded package 1 and 2. I went along with his suggestion and put the charges on my Visa Credit card. Several weeks went by and still no sales, I was getting very angry with ***** *****, but some how he coned me into spending more money, suggesting that I buy a social media package for $568.42, this would give me the tools I needed to generate sales. As it turns out, ***** ***** lied to me again, this package did no good and has not contributed to generating any sales. As of this day I have not made any money with this program. This program was sold to me as a turnkey business with all the tools needed to make it a profitable business. It turns out instead, to be a fraud, using corrupt and deceitful business practices.

Desired Settlement: 100% refund of $3853.42

Business Response: Hello:

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by *** **********.   We have since spoke with the customer and there seems there were some issues regarding the customer understanding how to effectively run and promote his business.  After speaking with the client, we have come to an agreement and have offered to assist him with free training with our corporate trainer at no charge for 2 full months.  During this time, we will help educate and train him on how to utilize social media, and other marketing techniques that are integral to running his business.  This educational program will be provided by us at no charge to the client as our ultimate goal is always a satisfied customer.

We are happy to report that *** ********** is going to continue working with our company and we look forward to making him another happy client!

Attached find his letter of retraction regarding this complaint and his satisfaction with the ultimate resolution.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Support Team

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/**/2013 I made a down payment of $195 and then started paying $99.95 a month for a website to sell a wide range of products. I was told by ***** ****** that I wasn't making money because I needed to get some thing going money wise to bring enough traffic to my website. He said that if I would get their package to own the site that they'd be able to give me what was needed to get the traffic and make sales. 8/**/2013 I was told if I spent $295 that that would help me increase my sales to get traffic and make sales.10/**/2013 I spent $349 and told it would also help me.11/**/2013 spent $1979.48 to have the site officially mine. Told all that I got with that money would also help me.5/*/2014 spent $479 which was suppost to help me. I have not made any money and was under the impression all of this would help me make money. I wasn't promised to get rich but, was suppose to be able to make money. Today is 8/*/2014 and Wed. 8/*/2014 will be a week that my website has been down for the third time. They say I keep going to places that are causing the overload of hits to my site. I occasionally click on a video msn has on their home page. A video on ********. Promote my webstore on the following: *********** ****** ******** ****** *** *******, ******** and merchant circle 6 days a week. As far as I am concerned that is the main things I do on the computer. I do not see any place that I would be going to cause the issue of the site going down as many times as it has. I don't open up emails that I don't recognize the sender. My husband wants me to get my money back. I am going through you so I can get help if they deny me the money back. They were miss leading. How many times do I have to give money to get at least a few sales to start out with. ****** ********* is the customer support *******, you can contact hime at ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: My husband isn't expecting to get the monthly payments of $99.95 and the down payment of $195. However, the amount requested back is $3102.48. That is the amount total of what I mentioned above.

Business Response: Hello.

We have read *** ********'s complaint and have contacted her.  *** ********s has had some issues getting her website up and making sales and was frustrated by that.  After speaking with her, we have put together an educational package to assist her at no charge to her.  We will be having our corporate trainer contacting *** ********s within the next day or so to find out what she needs help with, what she does not understand, and what we can do to educate her on running her website.  We will enroll her in our training package at no cost to her.  In addition, we have agreed to provide her with free hosting on her website through the remainder of the year to help alleviate the fees and help her get back on her feet.

We have always had a great relationship with *** ********s and we have spoken to her regularly.  We are happy to retain her as a happy customer and resolve this issue.

Attached find a copy of our settlement letter showing both parties are agreeable and happy with the outcome.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,
MBV Operations Team

5/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when I joined this co. I informed Mr. ******* that I only made 721.00 a month and he failed to disclose all conditions required to take advantage of this offer. I was told by MR.******* that he would make sure that the business he would set up for me would pay for itself. He promised me that I would be able to make enough money to more than cover the initial cost of 219.95 and then the following monthly costs of 153.45 a month They promised me traffic but didn't tell me I had to pay for the traffic. They offer programs to generate traffic but you must pay for them. for my web sight to generate sales. I would have had to pay more money to generate a lot off traffic which is needed to pay bills and succeed and he did not tell me that when I signed the package. If I had known that I needed to spend some real money (which I didn't have) to get traffic to my sight I would have never signed the contract and without those packages its impossible to sell products and make money. Mr. ******* gave products for the website 800.00 worth, which is worthless if there is no traffic to the site. Its nothing for the traffic which only works if you have enough traffic. Then when time went by I got no sales I started to complain and he finally gave me a package for traffic and I don't Know how good that would work after I am so far behind. and the problem is I need 18.95 for to pay for the gateway to let credit cards go through before any of his packages will work which he knows I don't have, and wont give it to me. Now I m 295.00 indebt with my lease . All this happened because Mr. ******* didn't disclose all conditions required to take advantage of this offer. He said that he and me would work together to make the traffic happen. But no all he gave me was 50 ways to make traffic happen and 75% was with money. I worked what I could of the fifty ways but the traffic was so measly amount, I never sold anything but finally went to ebay and sold one product on ebay. I couldn't stress it enough to MR. ******* when I was signing up for this offer that I need traffic and he assured it to me without telling me I had to pay for it up to1400.00 for what the good packages are and I have no money like that and the cheep packages are 300.00. I don't have that kind of money and he knows that.

Desired Settlement: I been misrepresented which is not fare. I took out a loan on my own bank account for 219.95 to make the initial payment and I want that returned and the lese canceled of 3600 which I have no money to pay and they know that. and my 295.00 that I owe on my lease to the business as well as all other fees that I owe to be cancelled. I have no more money to take out any more loans I thought the business would pay for that!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ** *****



 

Business Response: Hello:

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by *** *******. After reading the complaint, it is apparent that the client did not adequately prepare herself financially to start a business. If she needed to secure a loan for the $200 start up as she states, she should of passed on getting started. As anyone understands, it takes capital to run a business and some kind of advertising budget. In fact, the customer could not pay the $18.95 fee to activate her merchant account so if anyone went to her website to purchase, sales would not have happened anyway.  She asked us if we could just pay it for her or lend her the $18.95 and we said that we cannot do that as we provided her with over $800 of free marketing tools and traffic programs to assist her since she had no money to pay for any of it.

We wholeheartedly refute all of her claims, insinuating we never disclosed the terms, yet she signed and initialed our disclosure form that she understood all of the terms and conditions. We told her we were very unhappy that she would make up false claims to try to prove her case and asked her why she would do that, and she had no answer.  We believe Ms. ******* simply wanted to get out of her obligation once it was clear she could not afford to make her payments to us.

In the end, we spoke with her and she said she had no way to afford the website or keep up with the payments. We agreed to alleviate her of all responsibility and take the loss on the account.  We hope Ms. ******* uses better judgement in the future when undertaking such an endeavor.

This complaint has been settled amicably and both parties are satisfied with the outcome.  I have attached a copy of our settlement and release agreement for your records.

Best regards,
My Business Venture

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An advertisement misrepresenting a service. An advertisement that failed to disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer. An advertisement with unrealistic/unsubstantiated claims. A sales presentation that misrepresents the product. A sales presentation that misrepresents the service. A sales presentation that did not disclose complete pricing information. A sales presentation that failed to disclose key conditions of the offer.

Desired Settlement: It has to end before I go broke trying to do the impossible and they know it. I am not happy with the preloaded products. The SEO & Marketing, The Catalogues, The 36 month -Lease - and its "ton of finance charges" Unending Fees

Business Response:

Hello:

We have reached out to *** ****** and have addressed her concerns.  She had an issue with finance charges so we have allowed her to buyout of her agreement early at 25% of the amount due and have cancelled her leasing obligation to our organization for the services we have provided.

We also had *** ****** email us a list of challenges and we have addressed each one.  We are now in the process of working with her to make changes to her website that she requested. 

We believe the matter is now resolved amicably and we look forward to working with *** ****** in the future.

If you have any questions, please call us at ###-###-#### or email us at ******************

Best regards,

ECX Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The site is not searchable/ratable on the web - on any [US] browser.

This is an important component of success for any online business. The products?

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

Business Response:

Dear BBB.

We are in receipt of the issue in question and are happy to report that *** *****'s website is now submitted, verified, and indexed in ******.  If you search her domain name **************** you will see that not only does her main page come up but also various indexed pages for her website as well.  If you specifically search "inetshoppers" (with the quotations), you will also see the site comes up first on the ****** page.  As stated previously, search engine submission is not a perfect science and it can take time to get sites indexed properly at times.  I have attached a printscreen of our findings and are continuing to work with *** ****** to make her business a successful one.

Regarding the products, I understand *** ****** still would like more variation and we addressed that in our other responses, how she can add any other products to her site and work with other drop shippers if she so chooses.  While she felt misinformed by the representative, she did initial the disclosure form agreeing to the product line that we were going to be stocking on her website.  As time goes on, more and more items will be added that she may find a good fit.

Thank you and if you have any further questions, feel free to have *** ****** contact us via email or toll free at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with e commerce exchange for the amount of $219.95, they where also going to charge me $28.95 for a monthly merchant fee and $99.95 for a monthly lease along with $24.95 for web hosting I cancelled 4 days later and they said I didn't do it on time within there 8 day grace period and I now owe them $12000 I then had to change my banking account number so they did not have any further access to it because they had me give them my account number because they said my earnings go directly into my bank account and then they had told me to make business cards and I had to purchase merchandise from them 1st and try to sell it at a flee market at first they said they would build me a web site so customers could buy from my web site they would design for me and do all the shipping for aswell and now I see on line they are a complete scam in wich I did not see in the 1st place I found out about this company they are in the home business magazine

Desired Settlement: I would like my $219.95 back and make sure they can not sue me for the $1200 they are saying I owe them and if they could just go away and leave me alone instead of harassing me 4 times a day with phone calls and threats

Business Response:

Hello:

We have reached out to *** **** and we are pleased to report that we were able to solve our dispute amicably.

Both *** **** and ECX are now happy with the resolution and both have agreed to move forward. 

We have alleviated any further obligation *** **** has to our company and terminated his services with our company.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact us at ****************** or at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

ECX Support Dept.

6/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to cancel my contract with these guys just 1 day after siging due to the fact that I started to look at there sample webiste and didnt like the prices. ***** called me up and said that those were the retail price and that my wholesale prices would only be about a quarter of that price. I told ***** the only way I would stay in, is if he could guaranteed me that the wholesale prices was a steal of a deal, he replied and told me that they order hunderds of thousand of units all at once so they can get the wholesale price at the same price Walmart and Best Buy was getting there wholesale price and then the company would pass that same price on to me. I then asked *****, to give me an example and said how much does a 40inch TV cost at wholesale and he said that my price would be only $105. This in fact was a lie. The price is actually over $280. Just about $50 under Walmart. These guys dont order anything in build or buy the hundreds of thousand of units, they partner them out to a third party company which I could of joined for only $30 a month on my own instead of paying these guys $3600. They lie to you, and then make you sign a contract, and tell you that within the next 5 days they will have your back office all uploaded and you will have access to THERE WAREHOUSE so you can view the products and see the wholesale prices. After 5 days they send you the memberships and then you find out that you are getting bad product and also the prices are almost the same prices at walmart. Big SCAM!!!

Desired Settlement: Since I was lied to about everything and deceived, I want a full refund of $220. I have not even had my website or membership with the wholesaler longer than 3 days.

Business Response:

Hello:

We have been in touch with Mr. ******* throughout the whole process and even before he filed the complaint.  He says that he did not read his emails from us and filed the complaint prematurely.

In any event, we have decided to issue a refund and cancel out all related services that were provided to this customer, as per his wishes. 

We consider the matter now closed amicably. 

Attached find a copy of the settlement agreement signed by Mr. *******.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

ECX Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, ***** *******



 

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: ECX Stores After requesting information on a business opportunity, I was contacted by Mr. **** ********. The initial contact with Mr. **** *’****** was on or about Jan. 22, 2013. Mr. ******* said that the business would cost $219.95; Only if I got enrolled with him now (he said that it usually cost $500) . He said that I could be making money in a week. What was NOT DISCLOSED during any discussions was the additional cost of “the business”. After I sent Mr. ******** the $219.95 on Feb, 5th, 2013. the “Store” was set up. The next day he disclosed that there is the monthly fee of “Only $99” for 36 months to pay for the business. Or I can pay a “discounted” $2500 now. Had I known this up front, I would not have given him the $219.95. I had to set up a credit card account. ECX took $18.95 out of my account on Feb. 12th. This is before any sales and I was not notified of the withdrawal. The store was set up and I had to make many changes to the pages of the store before it was ready to go on-line. After I spent time making changes appropriate to my page, Mr. ******** then said that I now need to buy the “advertising package”, that’s another $600. I am extremely upset, to say the least, about this “bait and switch” type of practice from the ECX Company. To resolve this I have requested a cancellation of the contract. Furthermore, I am demanding a full refund of the $219.95 and the $18.95 with a total of $238.90. The company refused to admit deceit and has refused a refund.

Desired Settlement: Immediately send me a total of $238.90 via Federal Express to my home address. Make sure there are no other automatic debits from my credit card.

Business Response:

Hello. 

We have reviewed the customer's challenge, have contacted him, and we have worked out our differences with him.  Mr. ***** and ECX consider this matter resolved and even more importantly, closed in an amicable manner.

Mr. ***** as well as E-Commerce Exchange are happy with the outcome and wish each other the best of success in any future endeavors. 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us. 

  

Thank you. 

E-Commerce Exchange 

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: E-commerce exchange advertised that they had a e-commerce store that: 1. They warehouse and ship the products. We found out that they go through athird party that is free to sign up for nad e commerce exchange does not warehouse or ship anything. 2. We pay a monthly price an dit comes with everything we saw on the demo website set up. This was false because after we signed up we had to pay severl hundred dollars to get half of the features they advertised and they did not tell us until after we paid that w ehad ot pay more just to receive half of the features. 3. The company did not tell me that I had to receive financing for the website. 4. We were overcharged and they misrepresented th emerchant account and said they would give us free hosting despite they overdrew our account. Not one claim regaridng billing was correct, then they said we owed them money. 5. We sent aletter to their place of business canceling the product within the money back guarantee time, then 2 months later we recieve notification form the finance company that we were financed without knowing it and that they never cancelled and gave us our refund as we were promised in the guarantee by our rep **** *******. 6. They said we would have 100% to 200% markups when on some of the products it was not even a 30% markup.

Desired Settlement: We closed our bank account due to the charges they were trying to pull out so we would like a full refund of the extra add ons as wlel as the money we invested into this scam immediately. If we do not, then we will be filing a complaint with the attorney general for New York on their unlawful business practices. We also will seek legal action for the scam. They cna make the check out to ******* ***** and send it to my address that I have listed.

Business Response:

Hello.

We reviewed the customer's challenge, have contacted him, and we have worked out our differences with him.  *** ***** and his ECX representative had a good relationship and we are glad we were able to work everything out. 

Mr. Phair as well as E-Commerce Exchange are happy with the outcome and wish each other the best of success in any future endeavors.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

 

Thank you.

E-Commerce Exchange

 

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues